Gboard – the Google Keyboard App Negative ReviewsGoogle LLC

Gboard – The Google Keyboard Negative Reviews

3.9
3.97709 star

Total 103 Negative Reviews

Gboard – the Google Keyboard App Complaints & User Negative Comments

Gboard – the Google Keyboard app received 103 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Can you share your negative thoughts about gboard – the google keyboard?

Please wait! Gboard – the Google Keyboard Facebook comments loading...



What happened?This used to be an amazing keyboard. I can’t type on it now, and I’m not sure what happened. Gboard is so glitchy it’s totally unusable. I have seen many reviews about it (some even going back to August of 2019), and many updates have rolled out since, yet the problem persists. What bugs exactly are getting fixed in these updates? Uninstalling until further notice..Version: 2.3.10

Not compatablie with new updateNot compatablie with new update.Version: 2.3.11

FIX THE BUG.The google keyboard is my default when typing. It’s smart and dynamic. However, in the past two weeks the keyboard keeps on crashing and flashing back to the Apple keyboard. Please fix this bug and I’ll update this review with more stars..Version: 2.3.4

Excellent app, but needs one change to be perfectPressing on the Google colored button on the bottom should stop the listening input. Sometimes if music is playing in the background then it will continue to listen for voices, even though I stopped giving the voice input 20 seconds earlier. This is a really annoying future, and there needs to be a way to stop the listening input in case music is playing in the background or something..Version: 1.11.0

Performance DegradingThis used to be a no-brainer. It made typing and using my phone much easier. But recently the performance of the app has gone through the floor. I can’t type without it switching to some form of default keyboard. I can’t access emojis. I can’t swipe to type. I’m quite disappointed as this used to be one of my favourite apps. I hope this is fixed soon..Version: 2.3.2

Great idea if it worked. Clumsy and buggy.IPhone user here. IOS 13.4 I have been using iTranslate but once I started translating the result back to English I found their translation engine was horrible compared to Google Translate. So I was happy to discover Google GBoard now had Google Translate. Too bad it doesn’t work well. Cursor problems abound. Tried to place the cursorbetween two words that needed a space added between them. No matter how much I pressed the space bar, it would not insert the space. The interface is clutzy. Compare the GBoard interface to iTranslate. ITranslation: Highlight my text with select all and cut to the clipboard. Switch to iTranslate KB where there are two buttions. Translate from clipboard or translate from text typed or pasted into the iTranslate text box. After translation, the inset button appears moving the translation back into the text box of the app for sending. One tap on the icon swaps the source and target languages. iTranslate understands that once I start a message with a language pair, say English to Spanish for example, the language choices for other languages are hidden. The program assumes if I'm conmunicating with a Spanish speaker for example, I will continue with that pair for that message. ITranslate has a superior interface but lousy translations. GBoard is just the opposite. Accurate translations but a clumbsy interface. I will happily switch once Google gets GBoard working with a smooth workflow..Version: 2.3.4

Buggy and does not work with all apps, crashes a lot.Great idea, and when it works out is a Time saver... BUT It doesn't work in all apps and often wigs out and the standard Apple keyboard has to be reactivated. If the bugs and compatibility are solved it would be a 4 star app. Why only 4 star? Well to work properly g board needs "full access" which means everything you type is transmitted to Google. If you value privacy of what you type you have to disable Gboard before you type anything confidential (such as passwords, credit cards betc)..Version: 1.41.0

ErrorIt’s working fine but the stroke function isn’t working for Chinese anymore for some reason, the words aren’t showing properly.Version: 2.3.13

IlovegboardThe Gboard for iPhone needs to be user friendly and consistent as the apple keyboard. The keyboard click sounds do not sound like the apple keyboard which is a bummer and there should be an option to remove the globe or emoji button in the keyboard because there's too much clutter and it becomes compact to type..Version: 2.3.2

It hurts to use it at timesI use the voice part of the keyboard, I have to because I’m starting to lose my eyesight and I can’t type anymore. The voice part of this keyboard has gotten atrocious since I got an iPhone and I added it to my iPhone. I have typed words or said words that are not the words that it came up with. I actually send voice and it typed in boys, this is just now when I did this. So as you can see if you use the voice part of this you’re going to absolutely get frustrated and want to throw it through the window because nobody’s gonna understand what you’re talking about. We use the slide or the typing it works absolutely fine and that’s why I got a three. So now when you read this in your thinking wow this doesn’t make any sense it’s probably because of the voice part of it trying to type what it wants to type and none of it makes a bit of sense because it doesn’t understand what I’m saying 9 out of 10 times..Version: 2.3.10

There are so many problems.Keyboard can get very laggy with multiple apps are open. But why is this a problem I'm 2020? I understand Apple is funny about third party keyboards but it is a joke how often this happens (Frequently everyday day). Voice dictation is very rocky, and I expect much better from Google if, they're going to flex how much better G assistant is over Siri. Keep trying harder. This is my favourite keyboard to use on phones, but with a obvious lack of support since the newer IOS updates/releases I'll have to move to another..Version: 2.3.4

90% great, but horrible predictive text is a deal breakerThe layout and abilities of Gboard are so superior to the competition. But, as so many other reviewers have pointed out, the predictive text when using the glide entry is TERRIBLE. For example, when gliding my finger from T to H to E to enter the word THE Gboard will frequently enter THREE instead. THE is probably in the top 1% most frequently used words in English. Why would the program logic select THREE over THE, especially when it makes no sense in the context of the other words in the preceding and following it? I have seen other keyboards that will actually go back and change a word it suggested 3 or 4 words earlier in the sentence once the context of the sentence becomes clear. If things like that are possible why can't Google fix this ongoing problem? I believe the problem had to be addressed in some fashion. The frustration levels I'm reaching over having my flow interrupted every 5 to 7 words to backspace out another wrong word have me ready to jump to a competitor..Version: 1.30.0

Why does it change words after the factThis thing has problems. I like it but far too many times it changed words after the fact and after I've moved on to what out this I want and total changes the sentences. Such it keeps changing 'under' to Uber. 'in' becomes 'Inn'. 'it' becomes 'out'. And it does this after I have moved down the sentences so that initially it is correct (for example I typed 'so' above to look and see it's changed it to 'sou' (wth is that even a word) and I send then and in the mean time it's changed again. Really starting to p me of big time enough to try the Apple version. I've even had to go back and correct this several times.Version: 2.3.2

Better then apple but has glitchesWorks well, handy having the Google for quick searches. However, when my phone drops below 20% the keyboard drops in usability quite sigbificantly. Becomes unusable as it gets very laggy with the letter remaining popped up when typing. Also has recently stopped autocorrecting well within the last day hopefully it is improved on because I like the keyboard but only when it's functioning properly but should be able to function correctly no matter the %battery on my phone..Version: 2.3.1

Keyboard doesn’t cover bottom of the screen completelyThe overall features are great, but it doesn’t completely cover the bottom of the screen while using a custom theme which gives it a not-so-nice look. (I’m on IPhone XR).Version: 2.3.16

FrustratingGBoard might be ok if I had fingers the size of a ten year old girl. As it is I actually have hands so small that it required me retiring from piano when everyone realised I was never going to grow so they could span an octave on the keys. That said, the frustration levels of hitting the wrong keys due to their sizing issues is massive and and it’s algorithmic failures in predictive auto-correct is nightmarish. The emojis are nothing flash and if I could give this less than one I would. Really guys. How much wealth do you have to get this app right? Sheesh..Version: 2.2.0

Needs workThemes need improvement. They are buggy and I wish there was an option to have a pure black background (not key background).Version: 2.2.0

Great but a number of problemsPlease let me hide the Google button. I never, every use it. I use Google in Safari. Second, there a lots of unnecessary capitalisation suggestions for normal words. You can't have a custom theme with a light background because you can't have dark text, only light. Deep press to move around the text is really inferior to the default keyboard. Finally, after ' or " there's no auto capitalisation for 'I' or any other word, even when it's at the start of a sentence. Positives are: glide typing, decent auto correct, multi language support..Version: 1.24.0

Seems to have stopped workingOn iOS 10.3.3. Frustrating.Version: 1.10.0

Emoji button so annoyingThe emoji button is between the change language button and spacebar and I keep hitting it, it is so annoying I wish I could turn of off but I can't find the settings to turn it off..Version: 2.3.2

Become really bad recentlyI’ve used this keyboard for months, replacing the stock Apple keyboard, as I preferred the AutoCorrect and how it felt to swipe on. But recently, there are so many bugs that the keyboard is almost unusable. Sometimes, it will crash and freeze and you’re required to toggle the keyboard to the iOS stock one for it to work again. Sometimes, the AutoCorrect will just randomly give you words that it tried to suggest two or three words ago, and there is no way to prevent it other than resetting. The most annoying thing has been recently, where the keyboard kind of flashes during use, as if it’s refreshing, and this interrupts typing and swiping and makes it completely usable. I have found that reinstalling Gboard has helped temporarily, but I’m still finding the same issues again and again, and the reviews do not reflect that. There is no support for the keyboard, as I have tried reaching out on Twitter and not gotten a response..Version: 2.3.4

Not what I expectedLong time pixel user so I was expecting it to behave as it does there. It misses the mark pretty badly. Swipe typing is terrible and doesn't catch the word way too often. The voice input is broken and it keeps navigating the the setting screen and then back and says I didn't get that when I didn't even have a chance to say anything. Uninstalling until they can fix these fundamental usability issues..Version: 2.3.16

Doesn’t add spaces after wordsPretty annoying. iOS 13 default swipe keyboard is better. Gboard is good for searching emojis at least..Version: 2.3.2

Overall pretty goodThe utility of the keyboard is great, the autocorrect and suggestions work well most of the time. One thing I dislike about the keyboard is that the space bar's touch-zone is maybe too small. Every time I think I'm hitting the top of the spacebar, I'm actually touching the bottom of the "B" key. The keyboard's correction fixes this most of the time, but it is annoying. Another thing is that when using the microphone integration using the spacebar-hold, it almost always has to switch over to the Gboard app before it can activate the microphone. I understand that it's likely a limitation with Apple's keyboard integration, but it is definitely another thing that holds it back. Also, something that I noticed while typing this review is that while using the Gboard, the text box does not automatically scroll to keep the cursor above the keyboard while typing, so that’s another annoyance. I will say, though, that the swipe typing is probably the best I’ve seen as far as text recognition. However, swipe typing keeps it from doing one of the things I like most in the default keyboard, and that is if you hit the wrong key, you can move your finger over to the correct key, and it will register that instead. Overall, it’s decent, but some of the minor issues really do keep me from using it most of the time. Sometimes, convenience is more important than utility..Version: 2.2.0

Lag lag lagRecently the keyboard will randomly lag so bad that it becomes unusable. Sucks because this has always been my favorite keyboard but I may have to dump it..Version: 2.3.2

No Sinhala language selection👎No Sinhala language selection for iPhone users 👎.Version: 2.3.11

Space bar is tinyI wish we could remove the gear icon. The space bar is tiny with the crowded left side with the numbers, gear and emoji button..Version: 2.3.16

Good keyboard but had to deleteBest keyboard I’ve used but recently the auto correct feature is changing too much of my words to completely the wrong words. I’ve reset the dictionary multiple times but still have the recurring issue. Ultimately had to delete the app and go back to default Apple keyboard. Same issue is also appearing on my wife’s iPhone and her google keyboard.Version: 2.3.4

Nothing like is green guy counterpartNothing like Gboard on its native platform. The green guy if you are still lost. The long press short cuts are not the same. It's basically like the stock iOS keyboard but you can swipe. It doesn't figure out what words I want as intuitively from swiping like it's version and the green guy's platform that I use as a daily phone. There are no long press short cuts on the A-L keys and Z-M keys instead it force touches and activates iOS's cursor mover which the spacebar already supports by sliding back and forth on. The space bar isn't has good as good as the force touch option but still 2 ways to activate the same feature I'll take my long press shortcuts cover force touch curser mover any day. Built in gif and memes are nice and don't have to use Apple's version which is not as good nor intuitive to use. TLDR: Better than iOS keyboard? Yes but they could have made it a better one to one port from the green guy's platform. I'm sure apple app policies hinder it some but it could still be better..Version: 2.2.0

PainWhy does it default to Japanese? Set language English in settings and the app..Version: 2.3.18

Bug??Love the features but it seems to have a bug?? The letters I type get stuck on the preview that comes up above the key when you press the letter, so after typing a few letters I can't see the keyboard... And then it freezes... I keep having to switch back to the apple keyboard to be able to type. If this bug was fixed it'd be 5 stars from me..Version: 2.3.2

Recent update broke itSeems like the most recent update has made it unusable on iOS. As reviews below are saying, it’s now flickering and refreshing making it unusable. I’ve reverted to the stock apple keyboard. Shame really..Version: 2.3.10

Supports only 3 languages at the same time?This is funny! On Galaxy, with Samsung keyboard, only 4 languages are supported at the same time, so I have switched to GBoard. It supports more languages and it has very nice options, such as glide keyboard. I happily installed GBoard on iPhone, only to see that it supports only 3 languages at the same time! Unless this is an iOS limitation, it is hilarious to see such limitation on iPhone..Version: 1.36.1

I loved it on Samsung, sadly another thing I dislike about this stupid iPhoneBeggars can't be choosers. But they can be critics! I am so grateful my parents helped me out when my Samsung was stolen. But they had to get me an iPhone, even though they know I HATE iOS/ apple (save for iPods - though they are cheaply made and shouldn't cost so much...), because of it being the best deal. And now all my apps stink was much as the phone! My Google keyboard doesn't learn my patterns anymore, I can't hold down a button to get my ?!.,&$ — all the beloved expressions I have been accustomed to pressing fast & effortlessly, now w/an iPhone takes extra time to find AND it certainly DOES MATTER when your writing or doing eBay ads, trust I notice this difference! And the iOS keyboard keeps annoyingly popping up at random instead of my Google preference. And now after the latest update the Google keyboard is sluggish and doesn't follow my swypes at all!! Ugh I now not only dislike iOS, I despise it!.Version: 2.3.4

Lack of Simplified Chinese inputQuestionable settings No Chinese simplified.Version: 2.3.0

Problems with pastingI'm using the keyboard on an iPhone 7+. The search function is great but I have two quibbles with it. 1. The app doesn't seem to spell check properly. Even when a word is clearly wrong it doesn't always correct them. 2. I can search, choose and select a gif but I cannot paste the gif into the message bar. I've tried deleting and reinstalling the app but to no avail. I have tried contacting Google support but just get led in a circle of help articles..Version: 1.27.0

YoGlitching so much can't even complete a sentence without multiple glitches.Version: 2.3.4

Mostly works, but has problemsThe keyboard is not very smart. Swipe keyboards I've used in the past will learn your own personal gestures including capitalization. This one doesn't learn at all and often keeps suggesting obscure words rather than the more common/obvious word. Also whatever word you type after the word 'I' is often replaced by the word 'I', very annoying, I keep waiting for this keyboard to improve but it never does..Version: 2.3.16

Pretty buggy after last updateKeyboars keeps kind of refreshing for no reason. Had to disable it..Version: 2.3.10

Amazingly good swiping, so-so tappingWhile I'm sure there are many decent keyboard replacement apps for iOS these days, in my opinion none is better than Google's Gboard. The speed and accuracy of swipe typing with this keyboard is simply astounding. It absolutely amazes me how often it gets the word I'm wanting correct, even oftentimes when the word is long or even with my family's names (it even automatically added the apostrophe to family just now 😀). Finally one-handed typing on iOS is a pleasure and not a chicken-pecking pain. Add to this the built-in Google search functionality and emoji search, etc. and this app has everything the main Apple keyboard does, but with the huge added function of swipe typing (come on Apple!) The ONLY area that Gboard falls short is, surprisingly, when you type with the traditional tap-typing style. It tends to get my words wrong a lot and even autocorrects to really odd words that make no sense. With the stock Apple keyboard I can tap along and it will usually correct the words properly as I'm typing. Unfortunately Gboard does not do this very reliably and is more frustrating to use when tap typing. Consequently I usually just revert back to one-handed swipe typing because it honestly works like a dream, but I hope that Google will improve the tap typing functionality so I can reliably use either method with minimal frustration..Version: 1.20.0

Makes more work than it savesNice layout, but the predictive text has no context whatsoever. Obscure words which make no sense in a given sentence are frequently inserted instead of much more obvious ones. You spend more time checking for errors than you save (it just tried to insert "Dane" instead of save). The basic product (it inserted "produced" instead of "product" which makes no sense at all in this context) should have been got right before all the whistles and bells were developed. Too flaky to use as a main keyboard, but the integrated search is useful from time to time..Version: 2.3.16

Keyboard refresh issuesKeyboard refreshes every couple of seconds causing it to pop up and down when typing. Incredibly frustrating and makes it rather useless. It stops doing this if you disallow full access but then you keep getting the message asking you to allow full access for the search feature..Version: 2.3.4

Bugs bugs bugsSo frustrated with this app. I've used it since it launched and it was the best keyboard app I'd found. The predictive text was amazing and the swipe feature for typing worked much better than the alternatives. Even the new iOS swipe typing feels clunky in comparison. Unfortunately, there's an awful bug with the app when full access is enabled (which you need for all the features). The keyboard constantly flickers and resizes itself when full access is enabled, making typing impossible. They just patched the app and it's made no difference to this software-breaking bug. Sad to say, I'm now back to the search for a replacement..Version: 2.3.7

Slows down on latest iOSUpdate: April 6th, the recent update didn't work, and so I'm still stuck with Apple's inferior swipe keyboard. Please fix the freezing and lagging. If it helps, it is noticeably worse in Snapchat for some reason. Original Review: It'll work fine for most of the day and then it starts slowing down, letter previews stay up on the keyboard, which means the swipe stops working. it'll stop loading the GIF previews and even stop copying them or letting you scroll through them. It gets progressively slower responding until it is unusable and I have to switch over to the iOS default keyboard for a couple hours or literally reboot the phone. It's been doing this for the last couple months. I keep hoping the app will get updated as it is my favorite keyboard by far. No more "ducking" "shut" in my text messages and I love the fast GIF searching, but we desperately need an update for the current iOS..Version: 2.3.4

2/5App is great, I've had it for over a year. I love the built in search engine and the customizability. However, over the past few months I’ve experienced too many bugs. One bug is auto-correct. Sometimes I would type the correct word, but it would be changed to something completely different which can be very annoying . Another bug is that the keyboard sometimes types words backwards (literally). Another bug, which im experiencing right now, is that the keyboard seems to “jump” up and down every 5 seconds. It almost seems like its refreshing and I cannot type full senteces without it deleting words. Finally, a bug that I prominently see is when I open keyboard , all I see is a blank board. The keys do not appear until I fully restart the app. These bugs are making it extremely difficult to continue using this app and I think its the best keyboard app aside of these bugs. Please look into these bugs, it would be greatly appreciated..Version: 2.3.7

GlitchHey I’m having glitch’s when using google keyboard. I’m wondering is there bugs needed fixing?.Version: 2.3.4

It stopped workingEvery time I truly can’t sit seen it starts glitching out I can’t use my own pictures.Version: 2.3.11

Annoying and buggy as everything from GoogleAs everything Google, is a great idea with the worst implementatiom ever. It works alright. Until it doesn’t anymore and you have to reinstall it from scratch. It won’t save your words, style or anything. It won't care about your regional settings, Spanish won't recognise "vos"... VERY buggy. Just waiting for a better non-Google keyboard so I can get rid of this..Version: 2.3.4

After four day full reviewWell i hqve used the app now for four days, and loved rhe vibration on keyboard and you cqn change the colours on keyboard, but i am going to hqve to go back on to normal keyboard, as you cqn see if is not typing peoperly akk it typing wrong letters in wome words, i hqve to type very slow and still it types wrong words and letters in between the words i spend a lot of time going back ro fix it before sending a nwssage .. So if you cqn fix it i would love to use it again one day thqnk you everything else is perfect.Version: 2.3.16

Sounds for clicking on the keyboardHello Google, thank you for everything you have given us during these years with your distinctive applications. I use the iPhone and decided to give up the system applications to change the style of the keyboard, but I found a simple problem, which is that the application does not have sounds for the keyboard. I tried to download another keyboard application, but there are applications that do not support all Languages, and for you there are keyboard sounds. Please solve this problem in the next update. I wish you the best..Version: 2.3.14

Kinda good but keeps glitchingI absolutely love all the features of gboard its so amazing and fun. However, every few weeks it seems to start glitching. Like, it will start glitching between the gboard and the normal iphone keeboard. I have to uninstall the app and install it again to make it work. But it happens so often. Everytime i re-install the app, i need to set everything up again. Please fix the glitch. I’ve tried updating the app, but it doesnt work. That is the only bad thing. The rest of its amazing. 😁.Version: 2.3.4

PLEASE FIX BUGS- Otherwise great keyboardI would have given this keyboard 5 stars 2 months ago, but since the iOS 11 update it has been terribly buggy. Most annoying is that the "L" key about 75% of the time does not register, or it will for whatever reason register as a backspace. One particularly bad instance was when I clicked the "L" once and it continually backspaced my whole message. Another annoying issue is even though I have the Google keyboard set as my default, it will default to the Apple keyboard (not in any specific app) and when I go to select the other keyboard, it simply does not register until I repeat the process 3-5 times. It's a relatively minor problem I know, but when you're expecting a keyboard to work and it doesn't, it quickly becomes aggravating. The functionality and features of this keyboard are phenomenal, but these bugs are getting out of hand, and recent updates haven't helped any..Version: 1.13.0

BrokenWas my full time keyboard but over that month is started to get buggy and jumping at the bottom of the screen. Now it just crashes and won't stay open for more than a couple seconds..Version: 2.3.11

It's glitching constantlyIt seems to glitch and then switch back and fourth from standard keyboard to this..Version: 2.3.10

Glitchy and Laggy since iOS 13Prior to iOS 13, GBoard was the best keyboard out there for iPhone. In fact, it still is in spite of the issues. But, ever since updating to iOS 13 (the version of iOS where Apple introduced their own Swipe to Type keyboard), GBoard has been very problematic. If I type a long email or message on FB Messenger, eventually the keyboard starts lagging to the point of not being usable. I have to save my message or email, restart the app, and then I get some more time before lag returns. Then periodically, once a month or so, it requires a complete delete/restart/reinstall, or the keyboard gets stuck in a "crash and reload" cycle over and over and over again with no cure other than deleting it and having to reconfigure my custom keyboard colors again upon reinstallation. I swear Apple must be sabotaging it now that they have their own Swipe to Type keyboard. But GBoard is so so much better than the native keyboard so I have to deal with the issues. Every update I hope it got resolved, but no such luck..Version: 2.3.7

Keyboard is messed upEverytime I try to send a gif/sticker , it just says copied and nothing happens. When I select the text box and long hold to try to paste it, the paste option doesn't happen. Uninstalled, reinstalled, looked up many tutorials and searched the web but cannot find the reason this is hapoening..Version: 2.3.11

Thank God for googleBut they (apple and google) are both just big multinationals that need to be regulated from the government's...fancy apple crarging 30% for putting an app on their store.... Great as long as they pay 30% tax. Too. ...Version: 2.3.16

Lags the living heck out of my phoneI really like some features of the gboard, and would prefer it to the iPhone keyboard very much, if it didn’t lag every time it pulled up. My iPhone 6s struggles to load it in less than 3 seconds and often takes more than 5. Any time saved with the swipe to type feature, superior autocorrect or predicting functions is thus lost many times over. A real shame. Maybe when I get a newer phone this will improve. Will try again then.Version: 1.39.1

It is better than iPhone's new slide boardI don't know for sure but I think the Gboard is more accurate. I think it is operator error when it makes a mistake -- I moved wrong or misspelled the word. It takes getting used to typing this way. I tried awhile ago and gave up. I turned on keyboard clicks which is annoying at times especially when I have to type a word. But I have learned when I hear a double click, it means I most likely made a mistake. And have to look at the output. It has also challenged my spelling faculties. I am sticking with it this time to see if I can get faster and more accurate. That remains to be seen. I haven't clocked it in a head to head comparison but so far my perception is Gboard wins. There are a couple of quirks. Screen darken doesn't work on the number screen. It is such a habit to go to another screen to type a number that I didn't even notice the press-and-hold-for-a-number feature on the qwerty row. And The voice dictation is not as smooth as iPhone but I can live with that. The screen doesn't advance sometimes so you have to manually scroll down to see what you typed. All and all, I think it is faster and more accurate. It is definitely better at offering option and has come up with some surprising guesses when I make a mid course correction in my slide to make a word. Clicking away here..Version: 2.3.2

ThemesCan't upload my own images for themes, keeps crashing on iPad Pro 2020..Version: 2.3.16

Pathetic effort - Try harderGoogle, this is not working for me. Every 'the' gets capitalised, even in the middle of a sentence. Ordinary words get changed to contact names. For the previous three sentence I had to do five corrections. Of I Lett every mistake in that Gboard suggested, then my sentences would looks like this. What are you thinking?.Version: 1.13.0

Getting slower and more buggyThis has been my only installed keyboard for years. However, it's been becoming more sluggish - now frequently takes a few seconds longer to load when the keyboard first opens, gets very noticeable when using iOS search for example. Since 15.2 it crashes every time when selecting the gif search. Hasn't been updated for over a year so here's hoping it's not been abandoned as I'd really rather not have to install 3 separate keyboards to get emoji and gif functionality..Version: 2.3.16

Best keyboard, but bugsThe keyboard seems to be refreshing itself every second making both regular typing and swiping very difficult. Hope you fix it soon!.Version: 2.3.4

Problem with other appsI reset my iPhone and slowly added back one app at a time. Gboard causes at least one other app to be unable to load properly and freezes my iPhone temporarily..Version: 2.3.16

Add the new emojisApple has updated so many times and they still havent added the new emojis from ios 14.Version: 2.3.16

Stupid microphone buttonI would say this is a good keyboard for glide typing, with one glaring exception. Every time I type a sentence the microphone button is triggered at least once seemingly by my hand hovering near that key. This means that multiple times per paragraph I have to dismiss the alert box asking me if I want to enable dictation. This is absolutely maddening and makes the the keyboard almost unusable. I expect this happens on the iPhone X due to the size of the phone. When I am glide typing one handed (right hand), to maintain my grip on the phone, the base of my thumb naturally hovers closer to the screen..Version: 1.38.0

BuggyIdk if it happens to everyone but it happens to me and my buddy. You'll be using the keyboard and it'll go all grey then switch to the normal keyboard. Also the keyboard will get really buggy and it'll be very slow. You'll type a letter and then it writes it like 2 seconds later. Very annoying. Doesn't always happen but it happens too often. Besides all that the keyboard is great and love the features.Version: 2.3.4

FlickerKeeps flickering between gboard n default pls fix it dude.Version: 2.3.11

BanglaBangla voice typing is not working.Version: 2.3.16

Buggy and crashyStill so crashy!!! Unfortunately this keyboard is quite unstable. The light/dark switching flicks and at times doesn't match with current app. It also seems to completely crash out to the default keyboard. However, as with most Google products, the incredibly annoying almost-deal-breakers are offset by the dominance of the main features. The swipe and word completion is far better than Apple's keyboard and once you get used to the tap-n-hold shortcuts of various keys, it's hard to use a keyboard that doesn't have them. Multiple concurrent languages at once is also hard to give up..Version: 2.3.4

Infinitely better than iOS stock keyboardIOS keyboard is abysmal. SwiftKey and Swype are better, but predictions get worse as you use it more. Its attempt to learn fails dismally, and the community words it adds with higher priority than words I frequently use, is incredibly frustrating. It also changes words back after miscorrecting them if I use punctuation. Gboard has none of those issues so far, bit two problems restrict it to 3 stars ( iOS -0 Swype 2) Sometimes the keyboard doesn't appear - probably an iOS bug. My biggest issue is that it often doesn't recognise the first letter of a word and I find myself moving the cursor around my previously typed text. That's very annoying! Is happening on two iOS devices, so it doesn't seem to be a device glitch.Version: 2.2.0

Keyboard glitchingOk, let me be honest here. I've been a big fan and supporter of Google and it's products for a long time, but with this keyboard, I must say that I'm slightly disappointed. There is this bug where after using the keyboard for awhile, it starts to stutter and glitch out. The only solution currently that's working for me is to either delete the app and reinstall, or just turn off full access for the keyboard. I know that this bug has been around for a long time and it still has not been fixed. Even still, I would go out of my way to use this keyboard, but sadly, I think it's time for this to go. Unless the developers do something about this God forsaken bug that has been around for ages, I would not look back at this keyboard again. I think it is a smart move for me explore new keyboards such as swift key or other option. With all this said, I am still a big fan of Google and it's products, but I am hoping for a change with this app, so please read this review and take into consideration of these issues. I am looking forward to a bright future for this app..Version: 2.3.10

Don’t have PunjabiVery disappointed.Version: 2.3.16

It's my favourite keyboad, but too buggy latelyThis keyboard has lots of great features, but it's way too unreliable. Even as I'm typing this now, they keyboard jumps up and down every few seconds, and I guess it restarted at least once as it changed from black to white theme. This has happened before and it was "fixed" after a couple of weeks... and by fixed I mean it started happening a few times a day as opposed to few times a minute. It is also often unresponsive for a few seconds when it first shows up. Very annoying, will be moving to a different keyboard again and don't know whether I'll give gboard yet another chance. PS it again started bugging out every few seconds. Have been waiting for 2 months to be fixed, downloading every update as it comes out... still buggy. So frustrating..Version: 2.3.7

Not so smooth when switching keyboards between iOS original keyboards1. Need sliding to select punctuation mark in Gboard Chinese keyboard. 2. 3d touch navigating texts can only go left or right rather than go straight up/down like using iOS original keyboard. 3. Cannot use 3d touch to select texts. 4. Not smooth when switching keyboards between Gboard Chinese keyboards and iOS original English keyboard. Maybe because the height of Gboard Chinese keyboard is significantly taller than the iOS original English keyboard..Version: 1.10.0

I can’t remember the last time it worked!!On iphone, all software is up to date and my gboard has been glitching for so many months!! It works sometimes... even before this glitch there has been a patch update about 6 months ago where it’s no longer intelligent the predictive text feature. So you’re typing about ‘going out for dinner’ and it will choose ‘sinner’ as what you swiped across instead of thinking ‘i think they mean - dinner’. I used to LOVE gboard. Got all my friends onto it, now i’m deleting it!.Version: 2.3.11

Well, I've used it long enough to not want to go back but...Take a guess what I might have meant in the next paragraph. I typed this with the gboard and purposely didn't correct the typos so you can see what I mean. I spend so much time fixing this stupid board but I'm spoiled on swiping. (I corrected above. Below is usual results. I am a college professor. I am not illiterate as this might suggest.) I've been using this keyboard for a pretty long time. So long I can't guess. I am spilled on swing and just do it automatically now so if I end up on the native iPhone keyboard I end up with one letter of the word because I automatically stay don't. But this keyboard if Buffy. I wants to hang up on one letter and give you just the first letter or the number behind it. I have tried to press note lightly, more carefully, you name it and it still hands up. It also learns your ring which means that it learns your most common wrong series and keeps putting them up as the most likely thing you meant. It also intuits the strangest words that ai would never use. I is almost always spelled ai. It drives me nuts and wastes time..Version: 1.28.0

Voice input broken since last couple of updatesI speak English with little/neutral accent and Gboard used to transcribe for me accurately. This howevever has broke since the last couple of updates and there's now mumble jumbo in between the words Gboard does manage to pick up..Version: 1.37.0

Fix bugIve been using gboard for a while now but since about two weeks ago it keeps crashing and flashing back to the default apple one.Version: 2.3.4

Not workingAfter a recent update, the Gboard stopped working. When launching the keyboard, it starts off with the Gboard but defaults back to Apple’s keyboard. Please fix..Version: 2.3.10

Useless AutocorrectThe only reason to use this app at all is because Apple refuses to include haptic feedback with their built-in option. The autocorrect almost never catches any words and it constantly adds apostrophes where it shouldn't. The key spacing is inferior on Gboard, which only exacerbates the autocorrect issue; I am constantly pressing "b" or "v" instead of "space" and it Never. Ever. Corrects. It. Not once will it ever fix this typos, so I look up at my message and have to delete it and start over because not only does it not catch this while typing, it also does not recognize the issue when I select that text. Picking the letters out one at a time would be slower than starting over. And the icing that just makes this extra mediocre is that there is no way to set the keyboard background to use the system scheme, so it is always an awkward block of opaque color where Apple's would be a seamlessly integrated and translucent pane. So, yeah. If I did not find keyboards without haptics basically unusable I would not be using Gboard. Hear that Apple? Microsoft? Literally anybody other than HapticKeyboard? Fix this..Version: 2.3.2

Discriminatory towards left handed ppl. Almost Perfect (Please adjust for left handed people!!)Such high discrimination against left handed people. So only Right handed people live in this world?! Come on man... The one handed keyboard shifts to the right and no way option to get it on the left. And the space-bar is waay too small and is built to the right. So lefties like me struggle to type because I keep hitting the emoji icon when I'm typing fast becuz I space with my left thumb. Come on guys please fix this. Lefties are real people too. The keyboard is almost perfect and I love it but please just fix these minor adjustments and y'all would be the best around for sure. Very good keyboard but very annoying. I'm left handed!!! So my suggestion is... Remove the globe icon that switches between keyboards (becuz apple already has that built in by default), and use that bit of real estate to extend the space-bar access to make it easier for left handed people like myself who has the habit of spacing with their left thumb. I rarely write reviews but I really hope someone will see this and make the adjustment. PLEASE!!!.Version: 2.3.2

Autocorrect is garbageThe app is solid, I love the customisation options but autocorrect is extremely fualty. Sometimes it doesn't work at all and somtimes I write words correctly and it autocorrects into a completely different word. multiple times I have typed "this" and it autocorrects to "were". Also if the last word of your sentence is autocorrectes and you backspace to put a full stop it in corrects the word which is very annoying..Version: 2.3.4

Thought this was FANTASTIC news for iPhone ownersSo when I found out Google made a keyboard for my iPhone I was so excited because Apple's keyboard is terrible....but now into my 3rd day after installing it and I'm so irritated with it, I'm to the point of uninstalling! As I am trying to type this review, here and now, my cursor just starts freaking out and trying to keep just zooming back to the very beginning of my message and no matter how many times I try to move the cursor back to where it should be, it just keeps trying to rewind to the beginning like it has a crazy, possessed mind of it's own! It also just randomly adds words, deletes words, and it even started typing one text message COMPLETELY BACKWARDS!!!!! (Not to mention the crazy auto correct nonsense going on--I typed "mind" correctly just now only to have it auto "corrected" to "kind", then "I typed" was changed to "ill tempted" and "not to" (as in not to mention) was changed to motto and mention was changed to MEMTION!!! Come on Google, get it together... We know you can do better than this! My messages and texts, instead of being easier and quicker to be able to type and send, are taking me 3x as long because I'm having to fight it to say what I want it to say and do what I'm trying to do!!! It's HORRIBLE! The idea or the concept is great.... IF YOU WOULD JUST FIX THE BUGS!!!!.Version: 2.3.2

Bad just badI use to like now I do not because it keep making mistakes nice try google apple much (pixel 2 and xl model do they use it copyers).Version: 1.22.0

What’s going on?I’ve used Gboard for years but in the last 6 months it’s become almost unusable- half the time it doesn’t even load, when it does it keeps autocorrecting to truly bizarre suggestions (it’s currently changing ‘going’ to ‘erythromycin’ for god’s sake), and I’ve had to uninstall it to write this review because it was glitching and jumping about all over the place. Please fix it- I have small hands and arthritis so the one handed mode is an absolute life saver, standard iPhone keyboard is too big and too slow....Version: 2.3.4

Thank you for Swype but!I just wished you could access special letters by long pressing them. As well as better access to exclamation and question marks..Version: 1.40.0

Getting worseWhen I first downloaded the Gboard over a year ago, it was awesome. It was exactly what I wanted in a phone keyboard. But I swear every update has slowed down the keyboard's performance as well as making it more glitchy. Oftentimes autocorrect is turned off for some reason, being completely unpredictable as to when the keyboard decides to work correctly. Also there is a strange deleting issue where if you are deleting a word at the end of a sentence, the preceding word somehow jumbles up letters with the word you are deleting. Not even sure how that is possible. But yeah Google is definitely slipping up on these Gboard updates. UPDATE: Changing review to two stars because this krapboard keeps getting worse. Maybe I'm a masochist for continuing to use it. But the fact that it will change correctly and deliberately typed out words to completely different words, all the while leaving misspelled words is just ridiculous. I thought Google was capable of more than this ever-degrading piece of poopoo..Version: 1.13.0

Totally unusable with iOS 13.GBoard was my preferred keyboard for 3-1/2 years. I downloaded it the week it came out, in May of 2016... I don’t know what happened with iOS 13 on the iPhone XS Max, but Google just can’t get it right. The keyboard glitches, it flashes, it automatically switches between the other keyboards. Totally unusable. Can’t even type a sentence. This has been going on since September of 2019! It’s six months later! With every single update (of both iOS & GBoard) that came along, I have hoped & prayed the issues will be fixed. I uninstalled it. Reinstalled it. Uninstalled it. Reinstalled it. This time, it’s staying off my phone for good. I’m tired of this. Between buying a $1500+ phone, that’s only a year old... And a software development company that has a market cap of over 836 BILLION DOLLARS, this is Amateur Hour at the Apollo. Users shouldn’t have to get totally disgusted & waste hours of their time trying to fix your keyboard. And six months hoping, praying, and waiting for a fix! I’m sorry... There’s no excuse. This is unacceptable on Google’s part..Version: 2.3.4

Missing emojisOn my device I have iOS 14.3 with this update I have gained emojis like “🤌🏼” but for some reason I can only type it from the apple emoji keyboard. The emoji tab on the google keyboard is missing this emoji and some of the newer ones as well.Version: 2.3.16

No Filipino LanguagePlease add Filipino language, how hard is it to add one when in fact you have more than 300+ language on Play store?.Version: 1.24.0

RediculousI text a sentence or paragraph. I proof read it....it's all correct. Then when I press send 98% of the words get changed to words that make no sense, or the get changed to misspelled words. No wonder there are so many grammar errors in everyone's text. It's doing it now...I had to change the word send....it kept changing it to sent. And it keeps changing the word " word" to worry. Please fix this. Update: Are you not concerned at all about your product not working? It's a hot mess of crap you have to go back and fix at least 8 times in one paragraph or sentence because your product changes it. It's your product. Instead of being worried about the bottom line....money , how about a worthy product? I'm getting another texting app like I had before, I never had to change thing. And when it gave me a choice of another word spelled right and I chose it.......it was spelled right....not wrong. Even now the word "was" was changed to would've. Does that make sense? Your one of the biggest tech Giants.....I'm sure you can fix it. And why did it capitalize Giants? I'm not talking about team Giants. I thought it was supposed to predict what you mean. Your app is getting to be a joke..Version: 2.3.2

Keyboard reset bug not addressed for monthsThis otherwise good product has been for some reason completely neglected maintenance wise. It has a very annoying bug whereby keyboard suddenly starts resetting itself which user sees as flashing every few seconds. This makes it impossible to type/ use keyboard properly. The issue can be temporarily fixed by resetting Google usage ID. It can be permanently fixed by disallowing full access but that also removes some important functionality so it is not a solution. However for months now Google doesn't think it's keyboard crashes are worth fixing hence one start in this review. ====== Eagerly anticipated maintenance update 2.3.7 turned out to be a massive disappointment as the bug is still there. ====== Bug still there in 2.3.9. And now resetting Google usage Id does not help any more..Version: 2.3.9

Great app, but doesn’t work with iOS very well.I have to say google’s whole work stream is simple and pure. But the only thing wrong with the keyboard is that you can always experience a delay when using it. Sorry, 3 star is all you can get..Version: 1.17.0

Was goodNow it keeps refrshing. Unusable.Version: 2.3.10

Suddenly Has Major ProblemsUsed to love this keyboard, especially for bringing haptic typing feedback to an iPhone keyboard (seriously, I can't go back). The built-in search and gif features are amazing, and I can finally swear like an adult without my phone telling me I meant to reference a water fowl. But over the past few months, it seems like something on Gboard just...broke. And now about 3 out of every 5 sentences I start (when bringing up the keyboard for the first time) won't capitalize the letter unless I backspace first. This is super annoying, but even worse, at least a few times a day, the keyboard will just appear to get disoriented, for lack of a better term. And it's like it thinks the things I'm typing are something else entirely, and it will change every word I type into something else entirely, completely unrelated. It's usually with super common 2 letter words like it, is, an, or, and so forth, and it will KEEP changing those words until I close out of the app or change to the default iPhone keyboard. These issues have unfortunately made it useless to me, as I can't be stopping to battle the autocorrect every few minutes. Super disappointing! Hopefully Google fixes this soon..Version: 2.3.4

So many bugs.Would be amazing if it weren’t for the insufferable bugs. Apple changed the way their keyboards used special characters and I didn’t like it, so I wanted a new keyboard. I’ve already sold my soul and everything to Google (because I do like google products a great deal) so I decided to get this. But wow. First, if you type too fast for more than about 10 seconds, it starts freezing. The letter pop ups stop disappearing and typing becomes slow until it fixes after about 10 more seconds.. and then does it again immediately. You can only fix this by completely restarting the app you’re typing in. Second is more major: for no reason, seemingly random, it’ll cause no keyboard to pop up when you click a text field. Just nothing. No apple keyboard, nothing. Nothing can fix this short of turning the device completely off and back on, taking a minute or two. After trying to live with these bugs for the last half a year, telling myself “they’ll fix it soon!” I finally gave in and deleted the app. I hate apple keyboard, typing this review on it now just feels horrible, and I’m going to look for another keyboard right after. I think bugs that big going unfixed for that long is inexcusable..Version: 2.3.2

Great things but...I love the ability to google search, use speech-to-text, customize the photo on the keyboard.. there are so many things I love but the app just stopped working. The keyboard won’t show up sometimes. Sometimes, when trying to swipe, the keyboard decides to get sticky and sink off the screen. I just uninstalled it. I will be trying Swift key for a little while to see if that works better. Keyboard used to work really well but newest update is bad bad bad. Also, it would be awesome if the app could remember the words I actually use everyday rather than the misspelled version I accidentally typed in one time. Really needs a way to edit dictionary which words are suggested. ALSO! Please suggest emoji replacement as predicted for next word: I love adding emojis that come up in predictive text bar but I want the option to add them AFTER adding the actual word I’m typing. Please update so that I don’t have to type the same word in its entirety to get the emoji to be suggested again. Predictive text needs to be smarter!.Version: 1.17.0

I think it does what it is I think is supposed to be for, but there are some problemI personally use Chinese simplified pinyin and English keyboard all the time and are also learning a few languages. A Japanese person suggested be using Gboard, but the problem is that I only want it to come up if I hold the globe button and press on it and not anything more. The problem is that whenever I want to for example change from English to Chinese, it goes straight to something like Korean or German if I just press on the globe button and this really annoys me, as I need to continuously go back to the globe button, hold it, and THEN finally finding back my keyboard I was trying to find. If you can fix that by only being able to change the Gboard language by holding the globe button and then choosing the language, that would be so much better. Thanks..Version: 2.3.12

Originally it was great, Not so much anymoreI loved this app when I first downloaded it. I was using SwiftKey, and once I finally convinced myself to try this one, it had exactly what I wanted that SwiftKey & Apple’s Keyboard didn’t have... HAPTIC FEEDBACK ON KEY PRESS! However, it seems like this app is a little behind with the Apple iOS updates because lately my GBoard has been glitching like crazy. Initially I had no problems & now several times a day I will have to “kill” the app I am using, specifically when I’m typing on the GBoard, because it glitches so bad that all the keys pop up & stay up, blocking all other keys. Maybe consider taking a very close look at the app & updating it to the ABSOLUTE BEST of Google’s ability so that it will work correctly with any iPhone/iOS update. I am going to uninstall GBoard & will not be reinstalling until I see that there were a few updates to this app. I use Google/Google Apps for EVERYTHING, So the soon this is fixed, the happier I’ll be and the more I will recommend it..Version: 2.3.2

LanguagrHi It doesn't support Urdu language as typing and speak to tyoe..Version: 2.3.16

Good but bad.I use gboard all the time and it's actually so annoying. if i just accidentally press the microphone button, i instantly get MOVED FROM my app that i am on..Version: 2.3.16

Crashing since DecemberSince the update to ios 13.4 the keyboard has been crashing and is completely unusable. When bringing up the keyboard it will function for half a second, freeze, and then glitch back to the ios keyboard. As my favourite keyboard it’s disappointing that google has been unable to resolve this issue after 5 months (and it looks like from the other reviews I’m far from the only one experiencing this). PLEASE ACT ON THIS..Version: 2.3.4


Why should I report an issue with Gboard – the Google Keyboard?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Gboard – the Google Keyboard to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Gboard – the Google Keyboard customer and are running into a problem, appsupports.co might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Gboard – the Google Keyboard.

Is Gboard – the Google Keyboard not working?

Gboard – the Google Keyboard works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Gboard – the Google Keyboard.

Applications with negative comments similar to Gboard – the Google Keyboard
Google Fit: Activity Tracker negative reviews, comments
Google Fit: Activity Tracker Negative Reviews

Get to a healthier and more active life with Google Fit! Its hard to know how much or what kind of activity you need...

Google Cardboard negative reviews, comments
Google Cardboard Negative Reviews

Cardboard puts virtual reality on your iPhone. The Google Cardboard app helps you set up a Cardboard viewer and includes...

Socratic by Google negative reviews, comments
Socratic by Google Negative Reviews

Need to get unstuck? Socratic can help! This learning app, powered by Google AI, helps you understand your school work a...

Google Sheets negative reviews, comments
Google Sheets Negative Reviews

Create, edit, and collaborate on spreadsheets with the Google Sheets app. With Sheets you can: * Create new spreadsheet...

Wear OS by Google - Smartwatch negative reviews, comments
Wear OS by Google - Smartwatch Negative Reviews

The Wear OS by Google app, previously Android Wear, syncs your smartwatch and phone so you can get more out of your watc...

Google Ads negative reviews, comments
Google Ads Negative Reviews

The Google Ads mobile app helps you stay connected to your campaigns while on the go. In addition to monitoring your cam...

Google Chat negative reviews, comments
Google Chat Negative Reviews

Google Chat is an intelligent and secure communication and collaboration tool, built for teams. From ad-hoc messaging to...

Google Earth negative reviews, comments
Google Earth Negative Reviews

Explore the whole world from above with satellite imagery, 3D terrain of the entire globe, and 3D buildings in hundreds ...