Google Chat App Negative ReviewsGoogle LLC

Google Chat Negative Reviews

4.6
4.61083 star

Total 160 Negative Reviews

Google Chat App Complaints & User Negative Comments 2022

Google Chat app received 160 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Have you ever had a bad experience using Google Chat? Can you share your negative thoughts about google chat?

Please wait! Google Chat Facebook comments loading...



Google Chat for Negative User Reviews

MediocreCan’t even figure out how to make a call like in hangouts….Version: 1.0.134

Works for the Most Part, Missing Key FeaturesI used hangouts a lot prior to switching to this new version. For the most part, I’m getting the same functionality I did with Hangouts. I do like the addition of being able to link with Google Suite content better. However, because the primary purpose of my use of this app is to schedule meetings, I really miss read receipts. There is no way to tell who is caught up in a group conversation anymore. This was a super helpful feature in Hangouts (when it was accurate) and I miss it a ton. If anyone else is in the same boat, we should send feedback through their system to see if the developers will add it back in..Version: 1.0.116

It doesn’t even let me open the appIt keeps crashing.Version: 1.0.148

Disappointing transition from HangoutsI know my personal 2 cents won’t matter much to Google, and will honestly seem silly to most; but… Where are the stickers??! That one bit of personalization made Hangouts so comfortable and warm for emotional expression in personal conversations. Yes, of course there are universal emojis and Apple memojis… but the stickers (especially the bunny and cat) are just perfect and ADORABLE. Why would you take those away? It seems like it would be such a simple feature to carry over. For this reason alone, I will hang on to Hangouts until its dying breath. Conversations just aren’t the same without them. For what it’s worth the discussion UI itself isn’t all that personable, either. Chat was definitely intended for a more business, streamlined discussion. Hangouts’ casual comfiness of the alternating bubbles per sender/recipient will certainly be missed..Version: 1.0.114

Notifications keep turning off by itselfI had Hangouts for work and when they switched it wasn’t a big deal except for one thing.. Idk if it’s Apple not working with Google or what but I’d see a notification on the app itself on my Home Screen and think wait why didn’t it ping me? Well I go into the app to turn on my notifications and think its fixed…. Nope. Same thing keeps happening. The app keeps switching off my “notifications on this device” I also use it on a computer but not as much. Why does this keep happening?! I have to have this and know it’ll ping me when I get a message from my team! So frustrating! Either give me a solution or make one..Version: 1.0.122

Awful compared to hangoutsReally suffocating and crowded. There’s no separation of messages, no more chat boxes with a clear idea of who has sent the message. Each new message appears on the next line with no spacing, all on the same side of the screen, and in the same colour. And any conversation/hangout that’s been given a chat name weirdly appears in a separate section of the app, compared with those that haven’t, so you have to flick back and forth between sections. It’s painfully unfriendly to use.Version: 1.0.112

GlitchySuper glitchy. Can’t use gifs in chats anymore and the badge always shows a ‘1’ even when I’ve read all my messages..Version: 1.0.84

Terrible ExperiencePathetic app. I can see why my company moved from classic hangouts to chat, there are a lot more features we can leverage on web. But the mobile app is really bad. Very slow with receiving notifications, messages lag before loading, no integration with iOS to share screenshots, I get random blue dots next to rooms (which means I haven’t read a message) when I’ve already read all the messages, I have a notification badge which refuses to disappear although I’ve read all my messages. Overall a very bad experience. This app hasn’t been tested before release. Classic google behavior..Version: 1.0.78

Prefer hangoutsLack of voice and video integrated simply as per hangouts make this hard to recommend.Version: 1.0.126

Lacking key iPadOS featuresIPad multitasking has been a feature for years, but Google seem to refuse applying it to their standalone chat apps. Pretty frustrating..Version: 1.0.128

I use Hangouts and DiscordI have 2 accounts, both of them are not G Suite, but why does one have access the other doesn't?.Version: 1.0.76

I don’t like itI don’t like it, it’s hard to find your group chats, i like google hangouts better. maybe change it back to google hangouts? me and my friend are having hard time. you kind of copied Discord with the bots and the : command. it’s like walmart Discord. and I also think the rooms are useless, at least make it google hangouts again? i can’t even use google hangouts on my school account anymore, i have to use google chat. please change it..Version: 1.0.91

NoI like hangouts wayyy better, and I just want to be able to use it, but Everytime I try to log in google tells me to use google chat instead. I don't know why they needed a new app when hangouts worked just fine.Version: 1.0.142

Hate this useless appHangouts is 50,000 times better than this. Takes forever to load on my computer. I cannot believe that google made this. They obviously wanted a quick buck during lockdown..Version: 1.0.80

Not happyNot happy with this Google chat. Want to go back to hangouts I am more happy with this hangouts please put it back all my friend don’t like google chat.Version: 1.0.114

What have Google done to hangouts?Absolutely horrendous!! Invitations don’t work! Sent images don’t appear! Google this isn’t fit for purpose! Hangouts is far far superior!.Version: 1.0.128

Great App!This app allowed me to talk to people all over the world. For business purposes and non-business purposes, this app was the perfect choice. I love how it always allows you to chat and there’s lots of choices, columns and it’s never crowded. It was amazing for just chatting with family and friends too! However, sometimes it did have some bugs. Sometimes the app wouldn't work and sometimes it didn’t do anything. Overall, this was an awesome app for communicating to people all over the world..Version: 1.0.140

Not as good as Hangout for chatting with friendsI switched from Google Hangouts to Google Chat for about a week, and now have switched back. Chat separates group from individual convos in different tabs. I only chat with a small group for friends and it was nice to have everything in the side bar with my most recent convo at the top and open. In chat every time I open it I have to do 2-3 extra steps to get to my group chat which is what I use most. It’s annoying and I don’t like it. Also uploading pics and videos is easier and more intuitive in Hangouts than Chat. For me Hangouts is a great app for chatting with friends individually and in small groups. Google Chat seems more tuned to business use. Don’t try to make it an all in one chat app, it will only be bad at many things instead of good at a few. *I have deleted this app and will be using Hangouts until forced to switch..Version: 1.0.114

The is trashBRING BACK HANgOUTS BRING BACK HANGOUTS.Version: 1.0.128

Chat is a cool idea but has many downfallsSome of the biggest things I don’t like about chat is that the rooms and chats are separated making it really hard to switch back and forth, and I don’t like the wording and text being on one side Constantly confusing me on who is texting. Also to video call you have to use google meet unlike the regular built in video call option on hangouts because no one actually knows if you are getting a call because it is a meeting link and not a call. Otherwise it isn’t the worst but those thing make me not want to use it. If any of this could be changed in the future I would really enjoy chat..Version: 1.0.118

Get your act together, GoogleThere was a time, not so long ago, where Google Hangouts was the perfect messaging app. Then they decided to release 15 new chat and video conferencing apps, none of which with all the features I want. Then they removed direct video calling in Hangouts. Now they are removing Hangouts altogether, but some of my friends are still using it, and when I send them gifs through Chat they have to click a link in Hangouts and login AGAIN in a browser to see it. I don't know what's going on over there, but they've massively dropped the ball. Just add all the features from all your different messaging apps into Hangouts and get rid of all these other useless apps. It makes absolutely no sense..Version: 1.0.91

4 stars?I don’t know why this app got 4 stars. Very basic app that is worse than my own chat app I built for fun.Version: 1.0.87

Slowly getting thereThis app is fine for basic chat. But it’s no where near where it needs to be to one up slack. Expected functionality is just taking too long to roll out. We now have extensibility support although it’s poorly implemented. We don’t have multitasking support on iPadOS (crucial for any messaging app) and the web client is lacking dark mode. Google recently updated the web client and I expect the mobile apps will follow suit shortly. It’s a UX nightmare. Please go back to the drawing board with this app. It’s getting worse not better..Version: 1.0.106

SpellcheckNo spellcheck on desktop macOS version, using this in a corporate environment. Not acceptable..Version: 1.0.68

Hangouts was betterHello there, let me start this by first saying that I haven’t used gchat all that much so maybe I’m not quite used to all it’s features yet but I think no matter what my point will stand: hangouts was better. I can’t frankly think of a reason why google would take something that had been used for so long and was very effective and completely change it, especially now when people are relying on online chatting platforms even more. I have used hangouts for 6 years and have never had any complaint with them, my school used it profusely for contact between teachers and students (as well as between students for group projects and clubs). Relating to this, a club I am a part of that heavily relied on hangouts as a way to communicate meeting times and important information is now struggling to figure out how to use gchat the same way - again, we haven’t used gchat that much so maybe we’re missing an important feature, but if it was truly that important it should have been more obvious to know..Version: 1.0.78

Useless. It won’t let me use it.Downloads and installs fine afaics but when opened it says “You don’t have access to Google Chat”. ??? It goes on to say “Your organisation doesn’t have access to Google Chat yet. Check with your domain admin to find out more.” Now as I don’t have an organisation (it’s just me, myself and I) and I am sure I don’t have a domain admin (is it like a priest?) I am lost. Years of using Hangouts down the drain. Why trust Google again? “Try a different account”. I only have this account..Version: 1.0.91

No Access. Cannot use thisI use Hangouts. A message came up today saying it will end soon and a link. I use the link and goes to help page with no information about this topic. Nearest I could get was about Google CHAT. I downloaded it and then am told I don’t have access to it with my account. Seems you need a corporate account. USELESS APP. DO NOT DOWNLOAD !!!.Version: 1.0.87

Not at all ready for full launchCan’t believe giant like google could not pull this such a basic app. Slack is way more powerful than this. Can’t even share the google drive link directly. Seriously?.Version: 1.0.4

Seems promising, but lacks basic featuresGoogle Chat works for most of the teams out there. However, it lacks some basic features that can make you frustrated, for example: 1 - You must enable the threaded replies or not. If you choose to not enable it, you will never be able to reply to a message. Never! 2 - You must allow people outside your organization to join a room or not. After your choice, you will never be able to change this setting again. Never! 3 - Here they’re bringing the same issue that thousands of people complain about since Hangouts era: If you have created a room accidentally, or just wish to get rid of a room, it will not be possible to you to delete it. You can leave a room, but never delete it. Never! 3 - You can’t add a room's description/topic. 4 - There is no way to pin a message. 5 - There is no way to favorite a message. In short, this service is very mature when compared to its competitors..Version: 1.0.90

Unable to delete messagesSo times I write something I wanna delete but the app doesn’t have that it’s the only app I know that can’t delete a message please fix it I really do like the app but we should be able to delete messages.Version: 1.0.152

Need More Work: Clunky AppThe app is clunky when trying to send pics. There is a see delayed repsonse time from when you upload a picture. The send button starts to spin like it is thinking if it should upload your pic. When the send button is available after the spinning. Then you're able to send the pic. After 3-4 minutes, that's when you find out if your picture has sent or not. It doesn't show you trying to send the pic as a preview in the chat thread like it would for hangouts to let you know that is trying to send but can't for unforseen reasons. Instead, the person on the other end of the chat asks if you ever going to send the pic. When looking on my end, after 7 minutes has passed, then I receive a small message asking if I want to resend or delete. This need to be fixed. It's frustrating and my friends and family are experiencing the same issues..Version: 1.0.110

Google hangouts far superiorLooks like someone is trying to justify there job at google by getting rid of hangouts which works to replace it with a buggy mess.Version: 1.0.110

Scammers appSo many scammers use this app. U need to allow pictures and vids to be removed..Version: 1.0.148

Google chat is janky and full of hackerdI’ve been looking through the ratings, and through the app. The overall design isn’t as good as hangouts, why didn’t google just keep hangouts? I’m really confused as to why they did this. Also, all my contacts from hangouts were on google chat, and it took 1 minute longer to send a message on google chat than hangouts. Google have some explaining to do... And if they do respond, don’t say the exact same thing you say to everyone who puts a bad rating..Version: 1.0.142

PictureI can’t see images which have been updated on the chat together, so I have to scroll all the way up till find the image… it would be nice that you can see all images in once like what’s up.Version: 1.0.142

Google HangoutsWhy'd you have to replace hangouts?? And how do you video chat?? Hangouts WAS wayyyyy better :( It's good, but could be better.Version: 1.0.142

Why would you move from hangouts?The layout is bad compared to hangouts and and half the images don’t show in chats but are fine in hangouts..Version: 1.0.128

Bring back hangoutsI don’t like it it sucks pls bring back hangouts.Version: 1.0.150

Google chatVery hard to distinguish text as they are very close to one another not the google hangout text will be in bubble like from left to right which makes reading easy. Also with group chat we can’t see you seen text. As I wondering whether this person has read text or not..Version: 1.0.120

Discontinued?When will this be discontinued as part of Google’s shambolic messaging app strategy? That’s the only question and it’s surely just a matter of time..Version: 1.081

Hangouts was far superiorI spent years talking everyone I know into using Hangouts. We did everything on it. Now they invented Chats which is about half as capable and clumsily adds “rooms” instead of just having conversations. When you get a notification, you never know from what room, it’s impossible to combine conversations between roone. It does nothing well. Use Hangouts until they drop it, then move on to some other collaboration software. I’m working with Microsoft Teams at the moment since it’s also being shoved down my throat in Windows 11, if it proves out, I’ll report it here as an additional review as a replacement for Chats..Version: 1.0.122

Very basicIt is extremely basic at the moment - understandable given it has only launched recently but if you are used to things like Slack this doesn't even start to compare..Version: 1.0.5

This app is rubbishThis app is just change for change sake you do a direct cam hookup.Version: 1.0.148

Group chat not visibleThere are groups created in hangout which are not visible in google chat while individual chats are visible in both google chat and hangout.Version: 1.0.80

ADD IVITES SETTING LIKE OLD HANGOUTSPlease can you add invites settings to check your invites as I have found this an annoying problem in the past. However brilliant app and good for every day use.Version: 1.0.134

I don’t have a phone numberI’m trying to be able to message my. Dad while he has a different phone then me as I’m only 9 years old.Version: 1.0.148

DreadfulWho is giving this app positive reviews? It is so basic compared to other apps. You cannot define which notifications you want. I wish my employer would use something else..Version: 1.0.122

BRING BACK HANGOUTSThis app is horrible I can’t even get in it downloaded it twice I tap on the app pick my account and it doesn’t even sign me in! I just get kicked out o try multiple times and keeps crashing! PLEASE BRING BACK HANGOUTS. couldn’t there be two apps hangouts and this google chat? HANGOUTS!.Version: 1.0.148

Worse than the old appGoogle have decided to release a new version of the app which makes the one functionality it replaces from the old one worse. Sending pictures is now a lottery based on signal. Before it used to give you a bar showing it uploading, now it just disappears and you have no idea when it will send. Sync is crazy you never know when messages have arrived. As a bonus you need the old version still for video calls. If you have both installed both send you alerts. Ridiculously rubbish bloated nonsense. I don’t get why they did this or what the new app adds..Version: 1.0.42

Chats1 I don’t feel like rooms should be needed. Maybe you can make it to where we can choose if we’re using the app for just chatting or if we’re using it for an actual business. If we’re just chatting then we only get chat options if we’re business we get chats and rooms? 2 I should be able to make multiple chats with just me and one other person but if I try it brings me to a chat that we already made 3 I can’t see when my friends were last active only that they are inactive and I find that unhelpful. 31/2 I feel like we should see if our friends have seen our messages in as many chats as we make for them including in rooms. I can’t tell if my friends are actually reading what I’m saying. I have sent feedback through the app but I’m just warning people what their getting into. I don’t feel like hangouts should be taken down as I’ve used it for so long and I saw no problems with it. These “upgrades” could have easily just been put into hangouts..Version: 1.0.114

Needs improvementsIt’s very basic and lacks really important features for a chatting service, especially when used for work..Version: 1.0.6

Doesn’t WorkSo I downloaded this app to talk to my friend, and it said ‘Get Started’ and I pressed it and used my personal Google account, then, it said my organisation does not have access to this app yet. BUT IM NOT IN AN ORGANISATION it’s my personal account, so now I can’t use the app. I cant give it 1 star because I don’t know how the app actually is like, but it’s very disappointing that I cannot talk to my friend..Version: 1.0.91

Not greatOld version was easier to read.Version: 1.0.23

Better than hangoutsBut still doesn’t support slideover on iPadOS. Considering it does work with Gmail and can enable Chat in that app there is at least a workaround..Version: 1.0.102

Get what you pay forUsed and vetted multiple platforms professionally for chat/messages. Google Workspace (Hangouts/Chat) is a last option. For a basic messaging application, it’s functional. The look of Chat is a significant improvement over Hangouts. Separation of group (Spaces) and individual messages isn’t too bad. Although, when compared with other options there’s a lack of moderator control functions for a space, voice and video are covered in a separate application, and individuals are unable to delete or edit messages. You at least want to allow your personnel a chance to redeem themselves when they send those accidental messages to the wrong crowd. A few better options would be Microsoft Teams, Slack, Cisco’s WebEx, Zoom (founded by former WebEx developer), Discord, and even DatChat (no current voice or video functions). Believe Google has a solid team when it comes to innovate ideas. Though their workspace collaboration tools could use a little more attention. If they need a good project manager in that department, may know someone..Version: 1.0.138

Google hangouts is better . Google hangouts needs to come back.So I’ve downloaded Google chats after 2 years of using Google hangouts. (Because it sadly went away) and Google hangouts is better and way more easier to navigate. My personal problem with Google chats is the format . 1. In the chats, messages are all jumbled up when you send messages and it’s very hard to read and navigate. Especially when you write huge paragraphs . 2. Unlike Google hangouts, you can’t see when a user was last active or if they read your message. Which those features made Google hangouts way more easier to navigate. 3. All the buttons are just crowded together (the bottom bar when you are texting. The photos, stickers, etc option.) Despite Google hangouts being glitchy. I perfected it was more over Google chats. It just isn’t that good or the same. You guys really need to change the format. I hope Google hangouts comes back..Version: 1.0.148

Bug CityI can’t believe how many bugs are in this app. The most annoying probably being that messages do not get marked as read so the app permanently shows unread message notifications..Version: 1.0.48

Hangouts was betterIn my opinion google hangouts was way better.Version: 1.0.142

Wish to used hangoutsJust when I downloaded Google hangouts to Just said that hangouts is moved now to Google chats wished it was easier to use hangouts and Google chat..Version: 1.0.144

To delete thus ap.I have tried to delete this app but everything fails. I do not use it. It is unnecessary for me. How do I get rid of it? It does not work on my phone..Version: 1.0.64

Very unfriendly interfaceThe interface of this app is quite bothersome as finding groups chats is an extreme inconvenience. Google’s former product, hangouts, was clearly superior to this replenished product. Forcibly removing all consumers of prerequisite, hangouts, was quite rash and unethical and not to mention irritating to the customers. I understand allowing both to coexist in the same parent company would be odd but I think that the general consensus is that hangouts was clearly a superior product. One think I might add is that I like that dark mode is an option, hence me giving this a two star review rather than a a one star..Version: 1.0.150

The least user friendly invention since the square wheel1. It separates one-on-one conversations and group chat rooms into two different sections, so you’re constantly switching back and forth to check on everything. 2. All wording is on one side of the screen, unlike a normal texting chat design (like discord) — while some might be used to this it can get seriously confusing, and there’s no way to personalize it to make it easier to read. Not only that, all wording is formatted in rows, not in text bubbles. This can make comments and messages blur together and get confusing if you aren’t used to that kind of messaging. In summary, hangouts is far more manageable and user friendly, and personally I think that chats should have merged with hangouts so that we could get the best of both worlds, instead if all of us being shoved into this circus of a site. Honestly, the only good thing I could find about chats that was nice was the dark mode (something google hangouts doesn’t have.) This is a big switch for a lot of hangouts users, and I wish that they would make it more manageable so that we could personalize it better. I’m sure in time I’ll get used to it, but I do think that this transition could have panned out better..Version: 1.0.108

Hangouts was perfectSo was Allo and about 30 other Google chat apps, but they decided to write this one while the designers were on holiday (I’m guessing): text is dingy and the UI is cramped. Google don’t care about their users, only their numbers. The adage of don’t be evil is near to urban legend now. I’ve moved our team to a company who make it their business to be all about chat. Thankfully, Google will write a new chat app or three next week and this app can ride off into the sunset..Version: 1.0.134

ScammersDidn’t show a price but then seemed to charge me for the app and now it says I don’t have the domain to even use it!!! Of course, no way to contact customer service either..Version: 1.0.70

It’s alrightGoogle Chat in itself isn’t bad. But the thing is Google Hangouts was better. Because Google is trying to push Google chat, I lost a lot of conversations I had on Google Hangouts. Google Hangouts was also more accessible and easier to use. If it ain’t broke don’t fix it..Version: 1.0.146

Feedback suggestions1. Better push notification handling. When I receive a new message and I’m outside the app, I get a nice little banner notification, can see the content, and hit reply near instantly. But, if I then switch into the app, I experience a lag of several seconds as it downloads and renders that same message. This is frustrating because I know that you have already sent me the message - why is it then slowing me down as it downloads and re-renders the same message? It would be better if I could switch to the app, and immediately see the message. 2. Ability to share content from outside the app. I’m browsing in safari, see an interesting article, and want to share with my team. There is no activity extension from google chat, so I have to copy the URL, switch to google chat (takes several seconds to load) then paste it in. Slack lets me do this directly from Safari..Version: 1.0.39

NotificationThe chat app shows notification badges outstanding, even thou there isn’t. Really annoying.Version: 1.0.91

I hate this app. Bring back hangouts.Okay so every time I go in, it asks me what account am I gonna use. So I put the account I would like to use, but not even a second later, it kicks me out off the app. Every time I try to go back, it kicks me still kicks me out. I hope this could be fixed..Version: 1.0.148

According to A Service 2This app is not working well, I messaged my ZADDY and he did not reply and he left me on seen. This app belongs to jail omg ZADDY i mIzZ yOu OMG ZADDY!!!.Version: 1.0.146

Latest update is awfulThe latest update makes it basically unusable on iOS. I expect Google has plenty of IT department customers to test it - anyone already using Google Apps who was desperate enough to save money would be willing to switch over since it's part of Google Apps. Chat was released broken and totally unfinished. That being said, Hangouts Chat has slowly gotten progressively better. And it's interesting to see the features they prioritize. They aren't trying to match feature parity with Teams or Slack, they're doing their own thing. But this latest app update is horrible. It's harder to see what's unread and what's not. And reading a message won't actually mark it as read most of the time. I've moved away from using my phone for chat and now just miss work messages. This update has made it much harder to communicate at work and much harder to work from home..Version: 1.0.76

REALLY GOOGLE!!!I used to love using Google Hangouts to chat with my boyfriend daily while he is overseas working. But, now I can not even chat with him without either of us running into issues. So, tell me Google, WHY, why are you killing off an app in the middle of a global pandemic that everyone but you seemed to like? Why take away everything that everyone liked about your app and turn it into this? I HATE this app! You guys made an internal use only app public, and it shows. Want to get rid of your chat app? Then get rid of this garbage too! Want to join Yahoo and MSN? Then keep it up. We the users of your app, want OUR features back, and we DEMAND to have a choice as to rather we use this app or Google Hangouts which you keep refusing to allow us to use. See your app in the digital trash bin Google, right where it belongs..Version: 1.0.142

Updates????It’s is a good app just that you basically always have to have a Video Meet….Version: 1.0.134

Where’s hangoutsI miss hangouts it’s just so much better.Version: 1.0.144

This just made everything worse.I am very sad and frustrated toward google because my organization switched to google chat and my only good way of communicating was google hangouts. But I couldn’t access google chat on the computer so I cleared some cookies. It worked but on the IPad when I logged in to google hangouts to talk to my friends the google chat advertisement came up. I hit the x and it wasn’t working so I downloaded google chat and... STILL DIDN’T WORK!!! Now I can’t video chat my friends. Also my computer doesn’t have a camera or microphone so I can’t video chat my friends on there unless I don’t want them to hear or see me..Version: 1.0.77

Group chat problemsIn a group chat the images don’t open. You tap on them and is just a black screen. There is not a confirmation that the other members of the group have read the message like it is in the individual chats. Needs improvement.Version: 1.0.124

Help me get this app removed from the App Store because of scammersScammers love to use Google apps to try to stiff their victims because they know very well Google isn’t going to do anything to stop them. I was contacted on Words with Friends by a catfisher and they asked me to move to Hangouts where they requested a gift card. I complained up and down to Google and ultimately sent a certified mail letter to CEO Sundar Pichai, he declined to respond to my complaints. This catfisher uses the name Mary Patricia or Patricia Mary and the Gmail name patriciamary620. I thought this scammer had been deleted from Google but they contacted me about a month ago using the Chat app. Will be calling Apple support back with an update on this issue and demand the removal of this unsafe app from the App Store..Version: 1.0.124

Trash.This app is trash. I can’t text to any of my groups. I can’t sign into the old one. I can only see a few of the people I talk to. I hate it..Version: 1.0.83

Not as good as hangoutsYou cannot see who is looking at a group chat - hangouts you could. Too hard to see who has sent you a chat. The only notification you get is ‘1 unread chat’. Too many people in the contacts list. Most of whom you have never contacted..Version: 1.0.77

But desktop and mobile app slow and poor UICompared to other message apps, this is slow to use and the UI is poor.Version: 1.0.70

Major design oversightAs a fast growing start-up we switched from Slack to Google as Slacks pricing pushed us into Google’s hands. As CEO I get a lot of messages, and the inability to mark a conversation as unread is a major design oversight. It indicates that not enough R&D was done with different user personas, as if it was tested with C-Level or most likely any management layer this issue would have surfaced. Unless it is implemented we will soon be moving back to Slack and paying them instead of Google..Version: 1.0.22

Lacks basic functionality, way too slowNo way to save an image from chat to the device (seriously!?) Super slow to load Won’t resume the app with your previous chat open Tiny tap area to open a chat from the list Lacking other really basic functionality for a messaging app. Never mind the question about why google now has 3+ messaging apps that do the same thing..Version: 1.0.4

MVP since launchHas too many missing features to be on parity with Slack or Microsoft Teams. The update history on iOS is almost always ‘bug fixes and performance improvements’. So by their history, it doesn’t look like Google has plans to introduce new functionality anytime soon..Version: 1.082

Not superGlitchy, limited features. Can’t even rename a chat room....Version: 1.0.28

CompatibilityGood except When hangouts shuts down, there will be no way to use my hangouts chat on this iPad as there is no 'download latest compatible version' 😡😡😡😡.Version: 1.0.114

Rubbish - slows the rest of google mail and docs downI cannot believe that Google failed to test this upgrade. I work for a large publisher and we use the professional version. It is absolutely rubbish, slows everything down so it is practically impossible to have hangouts, mail and docs open at the same time. It’s not worth a single penny that Google must have spent developing it. Back to the drawing board boys..Version: 1.0.83

TerribleGoogle meet hangouts talk chat is the most terrible chat app since the birth of galaxy. Lets start with the name. Is it chat, google chat, google hangouts, google hangouts chat, hangouts chat or meet chat chat? Second, it is slow. Like i need one feature from chat app. I type. I press enter. It is delivered. But hey, this app cant do that. Its as snappy as a drunk turtle. Finally, it asks me for a review. I havent chosen to use this app. My employer forced me to do so. Can we all go back to jabber please?.Version: 1.0.16

App is terribleI’m very disappointed. i’ve been using google hangouts for so long and now i’m supposed to switch to google chat??!! all my history is gone. all my texts from a few years back are gone. there was so many memories of me and my friends on there and you decided to remove hangouts and for what?!!! this app sucks. it dosent have the same benefits as hangouts did. i’m really upset..Version: 1.0.142

Weaknesses1. You cannot add multiple photos from camera roll then you can only choose one. This is a major step down from Hangouts. 2. No voice memo capability is poor. That is commonplace in other major platforms. 3. You cannot scroll through images in a thread. You can only look at one image and then come out and touch another image. This is a major step down from Hangouts also. 4. Right now in the Gmail app version there is no camera button in the main screen. You have to touch a plus sign and then choose camera. That is not good..Version: 1.0.150

Missing feature parity with desktop / old hangouts1. Ability to share from iOS share function. 2. Ability to attach files from Google Drive 3. Ability to attach files at all. That is all for now..Version: 1.0.41

What was wrong with Hangouts??This just about does the job.. but I don’t like group chats being separate with no option to bring into one list (like hangouts shows it). And now the calling options are gone & you go into Gmail (even though that’s an email client.. makes no sense to me)..Version: 1.0.108

Message layoutPlease change the message layout to both left and right hand side it’s so confusing to read.Version: 1.0.114

I can’t figure out how to close a playing videoIt looks like I have to force quit the app..Version: 1.0.106

Not SafeWhat is the time in space This App needs a lot more improvements before it is totally safe to use from unwanted hackers. I downloaded this app thinking it was just safe as the Google Hangout App, once this app is hacked into then you have to change all your Google details such a Pfaff. I was very disappointed..Version: 1.0.124

Dreadful replacement for hangouts no video calling in appI used hangouts to stay in touch with my computer illiterate parents. Without supporting simple video calling from chat and now requiring setting up meetings to do so which my parents don’t understand there is no way this is a functional alternative. A serious downgrade..Version: 1.0.126

Text BlockedApp crashed, words stuck in text field, cannot delete them. It’s now useless. Delete and reinstall is well over 100MB..Version: 1.0.132

Missing vital Hangout featuresWe use chat in our business and we’re forced to migrate to Chat. We really miss the calling feature. (Clicking on the video call link isn’t the same) Please add this back into Chat.Version: 1.0.120

Google ChatsThe Google Chats interface is way better then Google Hangouts, especially with dark mode. For some reason, though, when chatting, messages don’t pop up real-time. I have to refresh (close and reopen the app or send a message) the app in order to view new messages. This doesn’t allow effective communication as I end up having to close and reopen the app constantly in order to have an actual conversation. If that weren’t a problem, it would easily be five stars. I’ll come back and change my review once this problem has been resolved..Version: 1.0.116

Change it back to hangoutsHangouts was good. This one is bad it is laggy and doesn’t load.Version: 1.0.148

Worse replacement of hangoutsIn my opinion hangouts was better we don’t need at app like this if I could wish for one thing it would be for google hangouts to come back.Version: 1.0.150

Restore hangouts.Had to switch because google made Hangouts not work anymore. It’s worse in every way, bring back hangouts..Version: 1.0.142

Still gonna use it but hangouts was betterThe only problem with google chats is that it’s extremely hard to make a new chat with someone new.Version: 1.0.130

No ConnectionI hate this App now I can’t send messages because it keeps saying no internet connection and I have full bars! Ok I’ve updated the app I’ve restarted my phone NOTHING works! Please fix NOW!.Version: 1.0.142

Could be betterThe app crashes every 10 minutes, and my computer is the latest one. it wouldn’t let me use it on my main account. and now the app is not accessible. it is also now apparently $14.99 in canadian dollars. come on google chat..Version: 1.0.110

An App the Borg Would LoveWow, you know Google 'Chat' is a particularly characterless and sterile environment, with no customizable elements at all, that I can see. Doesn’t even have 'your' text on one side and 'mine' on the other, just one long column of text scrolling down the left side. Clearly an app that wants you to think "I am a soulless tool designed for team collaboration. Individuality is not productive. Design elements do not benefit the Collective. Colors distract from the Process. Expression must be solely in the Service of the Hive. Return to your Work." This is not an app designed for chatting with friends and family. Those things have no value. They do not serve the Collective. Your personal data has been collected, and will be reported to Google Authorities with the content of this negative review. Your existence on the Internet will be terminated..Version: 1.0.116

What happendCan you please get the normal hangouts back um I liked the normal hangouts get that back please ? Also what happend to the normal hangouts the app is not showing on my Apple store?.Version: 1.0.150

Can’t remove peopleThis app is great- if you want people that don’t want to be there screeching in your ear. There’s no way to remove let alone block people from a group. People don’t get a choice whether they’re in a group or not. Perhaps make it so they get invited..Version: 1.0.83

This new app..I miss hangouts and wish it was brought back, I simply don’t understand why google decided to replace it with this new app. Hangouts was a useful messaging app, easy and practical for anyone to download and text each other through any device. Hangout’s design felt very simple and cute, unlike google chat’s colder and newer design. I understand that my review won’t make much of a difference. But I have to admit I truly miss hangouts, as it was my only messaging app to message friends on, it allowed me to use it separately as a personal texting app. If someone would want to use hangouts for work, the chrome extension on desktop made it accessible and easy to use for professional emails. Now with google chat also being implemented into the gmail app, I can’t separate the focus on work and personal use. The new design as I said, feels too cold for it to be used in a friendly way for personal usage, as well as inconvenient for a casual user. Personally, when I respond to clients, it’s through follow up emails and a proper phone call, google chat isn’t an app I involve in the process. I truly do wish that google would bring back hangouts, but unfortunately that seems unlikely, I know I’m not the only one disliking this decision google has made. I would’ve preferred if they had simply created google chat as it’s own professional app or gmail extension, and allowed hangouts as an app for casual messaging. In terms of the appearance, I wish they’d bring back the bubbles, where the messages of each person would appear on the right and left with their message bubble. The texts between each person, currently feel too crowded, it’s hard to distinguish the messages of each user at first glance, as they are all simply stacked on top of each other, similarly to discord’s design. The overall design of this new app has driven me away, however unfortunately my old messages and contacts from hangouts has forced me to stay until I find another personal messaging app that is easily accessible between devices and allows for a more convenient personal use. Thanks for reading, I hope some of my points will be considered..Version: 1.0.153

Bad appI have two accounts and it does not let me use this app with any of them. Would not recommend.Version: 1.0.78

Not as impressiveHangouts actually was way better, with the image speed, organizing the chats. The dark mode and light mode is helpful for light sensitivity, but that’s basically the only good thing. It’s rather plain. If the app had a format like hangouts I’d appreciate it way better.Version: 1.0.152

Why won’t message notification go away!?!The little red icon won’t go away! Please fix. I have no new messages either..Version: 1.0.84

Missed the markThis app looks like it was designed for office use only and forgets that people use this outside of the office. The features are so alienating and cold in appearance. Even in the office environment I’ve found that myself and a number of colleagues aren’t able to reply as swiftly because it’s harder to see when you’ve got a new message. Hangouts might have been a little clunky and old fashioned but it was more user friendly and warm..Version: 1.0.118

Useless app !!I’ve been forever trying to get this app to work. I’ve contacted google but they are useless like this terrible app !!! Not recommended !! I use google suite which I pay for but can’t get any help from google at all !!! They simply don’t care as they only worry making boatload of money !!! 👎.Version: 1.0.101

Wish I could give this 0 stars.Google what the actual heck?!?!!?? Hangouts was AMAZING!! Why did you give us this trash? It’s a Discord rip off. It’s garbage and everyone I have talked to hates it. Hangouts was simple and made sense. This doesn’t. I hate it and I think you messed up google. Please bring hangouts back or at least let people choose which one they use. Google Chat is terrible. There are also too many little tabs and things to accidentally click on and you can’t tell when someone is typing. The prewritten replies are terrible too, let people use their own brains and have their own conversations instead of making convos too organized and dead..Version: 1.0.88

NoI cant open the damned app. Fix it please..Version: 1.0.148

Basic, clunky and has awful in-app browserThe app doesn't support opening links in real Safari. What the app calls "Safari" is an in-app browser that keeps forgetting logins. This leads to an absurd situation where I can't use Google Chat to open a Google Doc, because their own pseudo browser can't remember my Google login. You'd think the company would at least test their app with their own websites. There's no way to share links to threads, so the whole app is a silo where information gets forgotten. There's very little control over notifications, so the app is a constant source of both annoying nags and missed messages..Version: 1.0.85

No connectionHangouts used to be simple click on the phone 📞 image and it would ring who I was calling. Now it’s like playing tag your it and mostly you don’t actually reach the person or it won’t be answered because no matter how hard you try the connection fails. So much so now I’m looking for yet another app that just might work more than it fails.Version: 1.0.124

Not happyIt’s very disappointing to know that a person should invite you to chat on this forum and then completely ignore you,.Version: 1.0.150

A Google straight jacketOnce again, I’m waiting a ridiculous amount of time for a friend’s video to upload in Google Chat so I can watch it. I’m so tired of this nonsensical app that I have to say something. Here are all the problems I’ve encountered: - Can’t share files unless they’re in Google Drive (Google trying to limit you to using their products) - Videos are uploaded when you share them, which means it takes FOREVER. Hangouts shared videos right away, so I know they don’t have to do it like this. - Why on earth does it keep a copy of every link or image I send in the chat text box? Why would I want that when it’s right there as the last thing I sent? I hate having to delete it just to continue the conversation. - Separation of individuals and “rooms” confused everyone in my family (we use this as our primary communication). I’m used to it, but toggling back and forth to figure out where the new message is is still a nuisance. - WTAF the computer app isn’t a standalone app! You have to have Gmail open in Chrome to be able to use it even though you have to install it separately. Again, Google trying to keep you tethered to their products. There’s really almost nothing that’s an improvement here. Yes, you can react with emojis, and my mom no longer accidentally calls me when she leaves the chat open on her phone. But the rest of it is so annoying..Version: 1.0.112

Why can’t I share external files/urls etc. to Chat? Isn’t this the most basic function?While Slack and all other competitors have it?.Version: 1.0.76

My hangouts history doesn’t transfer over to google chatSo I only used hangouts to speak to one person, and despite my history being on for hangouts and google chat all of the old messages on hangouts do not transfer over and nothing I’ve read has helped. Also have found no way to reach out to google customer service/help center directly so I’m trying this. I loved hangouts but I have no problem switching over to chat but PLEASE don’t let my history be gone forever! I thought it was supposed to be a seamless and painless transition. No they weren’t deleted or archived, yet they can’t be seen on chat. Very disappointed. Please resolve this!.Version: 1.0.126

Please readThe app isnt that bad, but hangouts was better by far. You should have the option to do either, there is no reason to only have 1 single chat open at a time on desktop. Lots of improvements should have been done before launch and also you should have customization features. Me and all of my friends hate the new sound, you can add a feature where you can do that! Point being that there is a lot off stuff that it is missing out on and had a bad launch, as well as the fact that hangouts was way better..Version: 1.0.150

UghI liked hangouts much better this app it’s just wierd in general can you please put hangouts back.Version: 1.0.148

Still full of bugsI’ve been a loyal user of Hangouts for years. Now, Google is forcing all of us to switch to Chat. One of my favorite features of Hangouts was the ability to mute notifications for a certain number of hours. I had my new Chat app muted today (or at least it said it was); but I was still getting notifications. When I tried to fix it, it would not let me unmute it, it would not let me change the mute to a different number of hours, and it would not let me turn it on. In fact, I actually got an error message saying it was unable to access the mute settings. What a sloppy piece of garbage software. Thanks for nothing, Google..Version: 1.0.150

So laggyI had to download hangouts again. I am constantly having a “failed to send” for my messages. I will retry and it still says failed. But if I try sending the same message through hangouts, no issue. I tried closing the app and opening it back and it will still not send. During this time, I had no issues receiving messages though. On top of that, I keep having issues with messages not loading. I will get multiple notifications. Then once I click on the app to read them, it will say failed to load or it will be stuck on the “connecting” This is more of a hassle than whatever they intended it to be..Version: 1.0.138

Constantly Changing for the WorseGoogle Chat is lackluster compared to previous iterations of Google communication tools, and here's why: 1) Chat can only send ONE picture at a time and there is significant lag before your client updates to display that you've sent a picture, so multiple repeat pictures are common in threads because you don't know if it actually sent. 2) Video calls are seriously stupid. You send a "Google Meet" link into the thread, which other users have to click to join a separate call. This is absolutely senseless compared to the incredible ease we had with Hangouts. Members of my family have missed out on precious moments and announcements because of this. 3) No SMS integration. 4) gifs are hit or miss and some device clients only play the gif once. 5) Not P2P encrypted. Pretty sure Allo had all of this and more, and it worked beautifully, until it was deprecated in favor of trash like this. Why in the world do we keep going backwards!?! I don't know why Google feels the need to make their user base constantly change apps to keep up with basic communication functionality. From Hangouts to Allo to Hangouts to Duo to Hangouts to Chat. I'd just like a stable and secure P2P encrypted application to use where I can video chat, send pictures (yeah, that’s multiple pictures AT ONCE), and text..Version: 1.0.120

Just Make One App That Does ALLCan google take some design clue from China’ Wechat? One app catch it All! Just combine Google Chat, Google Hangout, Google Meet and Google Duo into one App. One app that can Chat, audio calls, video 1:1, video group! It is confusing to try to explain to my mom why need so many different apps for similar tasks. At China, even a 70-years old know to use Wechat! It’s just one App they ever need to remember! WeChat is also Paypal, Instagram and Facebook in China. So powerful. It does pretty much everything. We can argue that is monopoly, however we can not deny it’s convenience and usability. Why can’t Google make a super app for everything!!! I understand Google intent Google Meet as a professional app with Monthly Fee. However, it would be so easy to design a mega communication App that is free for most users for simple 1:1 call and small group video call. Once a user tries to launch a call with large number of ppl, this app could prompt a message for app upgrade with monthly subscription or pay-per-use to allow large group video conference..Version: 1.081

Is okPls add the stickers back it was soo good Also, can you put space between the text? And put one person’s text on one side and the other’s on another side? Like the hangouts format? Thanks.Version: 1.0.120

TerribleBring back hangouts. A much easier simpler and stable chat app. Chats is unstable and doesn’t support audio or video calls..Version: 1.0.150

It’s a no from me ❤️It’s not letting me make a chat room, nor does it let others add me to their chat rooms. It’s a walmart discord..Version: 1.082

ConfusedI am still confused about the removal of Hangouts. The app was perfect, now we have separate apps which not everyone will install. Hangouts had a lovely aesthetic whereas Chat is bland. Bring back Hangouts.Version: 1.0.148

It’s fine, I guess?Admittedly, I’m aggravated about being pushed to switch from hangouts, and that’s going to affect my view of this app, but dear god why can’t I put group chats and DMs in the same tab? Switching back and forth is frustrating and confusing. It’s also hard to tell who’s said what, and implementing literally any system for that would make a huge difference. On a less important note, I’d like to be able to assign a photo to a group chat so the icon isn’t just a letter (if there is a way to do this, I couldn’t find it, and I Looked). On the plus side, having the docs and sheets we’ve shared in a tab for group chats is really cool (I’d love to be able to see photos, too, as well as have this option for DMs), it infinitely easier to search than hangouts was, and there is dark mode integration. Overall, it’s fine, I guess? It feels very similar to Microsoft Teams, which is to say not ideal for a casual messaging app but probably a good option for work..Version: 1.0.122

RipoffYou literally copied every aspect of Discord and somehow got away with it. Even so, Discord is so much better because it actually works unlike this. -There’s no way to keep the chat menu open and the transition animation wastes time -The rollout is taking so long and message edits don’t transition over the hangouts (just shut down hangouts already!!) -Message reactions are a carbon copy of Discords. Which, if I’m correct, were an idea that was made BY Discord. Not to mention they’re small and unnoticeable, and they don’t do anything. -Statuses are insanely hard to see or read, and the time set is messed up -There aren’t pretty background images anymore which really bothers me for some reason -LASTLY I’m just really annoyed in general because of how you completely threw Discord under the bus and copied all of their work. It’s disgusting honestly, I thought y’all were better than that. That’s the last of my tangent. I hope whoever copied Discord’s ideas, whether it be one person or multiple, lose their keys and don’t find them for a week straight.Version: 1.0.144

AmazingSo I recently started using Google Chats, that is because my parents didn’t allow me to have messenger, WhatsApp, Viber etc, so I downloaded Chats. The reason why I give it a 4 star review it is because my messages take long to send and whenever I try to send a video to my friend, it always says “Fail to send” which makes me a bit disappointed.Version: 1.0.106

Desktop? Great! Mobile? Not so greatHey, this is someone who has used Hangouts VERY often. When I heard things were moving to Chat, I didn’t mind. On desktop, it was great. I really liked the reactions and the upgrade on statuses, that was cool. But on mobile? Sheeesh, not so good. There’s this weird glitch where I can’t send videos, even when they’re relatively short, and I can’t hardly send photos either! You can’t send multiples at once like you did on HG, and there’s no way to monitor if they’re sending or not. You hit send and you’re just shown the chat- you don’t see the picture sending or anything and its kind of annoying. Also, there seems to be a lag in statuses. Me and my friend had both set ourselves as active (both using chat) yet to each other, we showed as away. Yet my other friend (me using chat, him using hangouts) appeared as active. 🤨 If you’re going to do a transfer from HG to Chat, could you have at least ACTUALLY made Chat better?.Version: 1.0.108

HmmStill going used new chats I prefer hangouts Even the notification sound is way better on hangouts- can I change that in chat? Also- I can’t find a stand alone pc ap for chats??? I need something out side the browser…. -Let me customise the notification sound… - Bring back long status allowances it’s way too short at the moment.Version: 1.0.152

There’s a glitch need fixingIt could be that my iPad mini 4 is really old and can’t handle anything, but there’s a glitch that makes it so that the other person that i’m talking to messages won’t load for me until I send a message. It happens sometimes and it’s fixed when i refresh the app but it is an inconvenience, Also the google auto suggestions are insane and i love them please never change them..Version: 1.0.91

Does not work well with poor data connections.Imagine that a mobile phone is not only used inside an office with wifi. What a wild idea.Version: 1.0.57

Is this functional yet?How do I follow a thread? There does not seem to be an option. Isn’t this fundamental to how the service works?.Version: 1.082

No Multiple Accounts?I was already surprised that I needed to download yet another google app when Hangouts was working just fine. ALSO, it seems that I can only be logged on to one account in this app. In Hangouts, I could be logged in to multiple google accounts. I am a teacher and have a student account to chat with my students and a teacher account I use to communicate with teachers. I now have to keep the Hangouts app so I can be logged into my teacher account in Hangouts and my student account in Chat (because apparently you need to have the Chat app to see screenshots sent through the app.) Please make this less annoying..Version: 1.0.83

Could be betterI feel this chat doesn’t take full advantage of being a google product and being able to integrate all products seamlessly. The fact that you can upload one thing at a time is a big pain. The chat works, but it’s nothing more than that..Version: 1.0.30

RIP hangouts RIP chatWith hangouts slowly fading I decided to try Chat since I keep getting suggestions from google to switch. Chat is a broken experience on iOS. If I want to share something with someone on Chat like a photo or link to a web page. Chat doesn’t show up as a share option. Being able to highlight something and then sharing it over a messaging service is as basic as functionality as it gets in 2021. With it missing, it makes this app not worth it at all. Switching to a third party with more features. Not a hard sale to get others to join a different app with this app being so worthless..Version: 1.0.118

Disappointing after HangoutsGoogle Chat added the ability to have rooms where specific topic threads can be created. That’s really nice and a feature we were hoping for coming from Hangouts. Unfortunately, that’s about where the improvements end. Google Chat is at its best on the mobile app, but if you’re using it regularly, across mobile and in the desktop chrome extension, you’ll quickly see the questionable choices made by the developers. I used Hangouts and now use Chat in a professional environment, for more casual short form comms, and it’s clear after 6 weeks of heavy use that Chat wasn’t designed for anything more than light usage. It’s completely unwieldy with more than 20 active conversations. The alphabetical sorting of conversations means hunting down the person you were just talking to. The conversations are spaced relatively far apart and take up way too much screen real estate. The color scheme is blindingly bright. Et cetera. If you’re only using the phone app and only for chatting with a limited number of friends socially, which is clearly the use case they have decided to laser focus on, you’ll be fine with it. If you’re on the mobile app only, ok. If you’re hoping to do more with it, you should look elsewhere for a more thoughtfully designed, and scalable, communication method..Version: 1.0.101

Unfortunately it doesn’t really workThe new Google chat app doesn’t work on my phone, it doesn’t load and preview the list of conversations had previously so it’s impossible to read the messages or access any conversations..Version: 1.0.101

Not goodLimited functionality, threading feature is confusing. Really bad muting features. It's shocking that we haven't seen any updates to improve Hangouts chat yet.Version: 1.0.41

Bring Hangouts BackFor real, in this app you can’t tell one msg apart from another Looks no different from Gmail, if we wanted this design, we could have used gmail. What is this? I hate this design and it’s lost its feel. The profile pic doesn’t show up anymore when the chat is open. I’d rather have groups and individual chats in one place. I can’t tell when the other person has seen the msg. Nor can I tell how long ago that person was online. It takes away the personal and home feel. It’s too much geared towards businesses and professionalism. I hate this. Today I found that hangouts was no longer on the App Store. Very disappointed. It’s so bland.Version: 1.0.148

🤮🤢🗑This is literally trash. I want old hangouts back. Google chats is so complicated to use, like istg hangouts was better. BRING BACK HANGOUTS BRING BACK HANGOUTS.Version: 1.0.150

Can’t Leave Group MessagesYou can leave rooms but you can’t remove yourself from group messages. As soon as you’re added to one with a large number of participants you’ll never be free of unwanted messages. You can turn off the notifications, and hide the chat, but then as soon as one of the 1000+ (or more) trollers says something, it returns. That’s a deal breakers for me. No thanks Google. Fix your product..Version: 1.0.85

Only worked for a weekWorked fine for a week than I couldn’t send images, 3 days later none of messages will go trough..Version: 1.0.116

Doesn’t show notificationsThe app itself works fine. It’s still a little clunky but the issue for me is that notifications are disabled after I quit out of the app. I will turn them on and then they just……shut themselves off. Waiting for the fix so I can use the app like it’s intended to be. Edit in response to the dev: All of my notification settings are correct. The app sometimes shows them and other times doesn’t. The app has been reinstalled and settings updated accordingly. It just doesn’t work correctly. It only works in the gmail app which I don’t want to have constantly refreshing if I want to use chat features..Version: 1.0.114

The worst version of chat that Google saw stick to a wall so farLet’s get right to the point: Google has had half a dozen different chat applications in the last 10 years. This application appears to be a synthesis of the worst design and user experiences from all of those apps, and then only partially implemented. Verizon’s own SMS application, branded as an afterthought, provides a more consistent experience. This app is missing things that GMail Chat widget- the precursor to Hangouts- can still do. An application like Discord, which isn’t even intended for use as a personal communication platform, is significantly easier to use than this, with better integrations. Go get that, or Teams, or Slack..Version: 1.0.116

NEEDS DARK MODEC’mon google :( this shouldn’t be too hard. I’m tired of blinding myself when chatting with my team. How does google KEEP have a dark mode and not CHAT?.Version: 1.0.78

No connection ( web channel )It’s a good app and all until, one day I can’t connect suddenly in google chat! It shows: “no connection (web channel)” my internet was connected and gmail was connected to google chat too. I couldn’t see the texts! Please, how do you fix this?.Version: 1.0.126

Bug in latest update when typing more than one lineLatest version has an issue where once you type more than one line or press return, you’re typing blind and can’t see what you’re typing until you press send Using a google workspace account g.Version: 1.0.130

Hangouts is so much betterMe and my cousin talk so much on hangouts and this was so boring compared to hangouts.Version: 1.0.114

This has been most people challenge on hereGoogle chat here, seems a bit complicated as compared to that of hangouts, I said this because, there’s not difference in the chat when you’re chatting with a friend or a family member… unlike hangouts, senders text is always at right and receivers text is always at left, that alone make it simple for you to understand your conversation easier, but here’s the case, google chat normally has the two so close to each other and also on one part of the chat surface..Version: 1.0.152

Terrible app - state issues doesn’t send imagesApp fails to send images, double spams you with notifications, Poor ux and ui..Version: 1.0.26

Login IssuesReset password more times than I can count, designed by Early Learning Centre. Great if you want to annoy staff and managers. Yep, still a pile of poo. All working fine and then boom, chucked me out and most of the team for the 5 time in 3 months..Version: 1.0.110

Miss HangoutsWhy the heck is google taken down hangouts???? I love it so much and they replaced it with this piece of crap? It’s so glitchy and way worse then hangouts. GOOGLE BRING BACK HANGOUTS PLEASE! 🙏😭.Version: 1.0.77

You had one job.Google. You had one job. Look at what your biggest competitor in this sector (Slack) is doing. And then do that thing better. I have no idea how this service manages to fall so short. My company recently switched to using it instead of Slack as a cost saving measure and everybody is just so miserable. Somewhere in Los Angeles, the morale of a hundred or so workers is incredibly low due to a poorly thought out user experience. Probably. We found the “conversation” experience is confusing and nobody uses it properly, instead opting for whatever is the most recent conversation bubble. Slack supports conversations too, but does so a lot more elegantly. The straw that broke the camel’s back for me: my colleague sent a .wav file to preview, as we often do. “UNSUPPORTED FILE TYPE” flashed on screen. WHY?! Hangouts Chat team, please look closely at what the other options are and ask yourselves how you can meet or exceed those offerings. I look forward to a better product soon..Version: 1.0.12

You can’t leave group chats!I thought this app was going to be fine but then I was invited into a group chat where I can’t leave! I do not like the people that are in it and I really want to leave but I CAN’T it is VERY annoying!!!!!.Version: 1.0.83


🙂 Google Chat Positive Reviews
Is Google Chat not working?

Google Chat works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Google Chat.

⛔   Google Chat Problems
Applications with negative comments similar to Google Chat
Google Pay: Save and Pay negative reviews, comments
Google Pay: Save and Pay Negative Reviews

Google Pay is a simple, secure, and seamless way to pay and save, giving you helpful ways to do more with your money: - ...

Google Photos negative reviews, comments
Google Photos Negative Reviews

Google Photos is a smarter home for all your photos and videos, made for the way you take photos today. The best pho...

Google TV: Watch Movies & TV negative reviews, comments
Google TV: Watch Movies & TV Negative Reviews

The Google TV app, previously Play Movies & TV, makes it easy to find and enjoy the entertainment you love from across y...

YouTube Studio negative reviews, comments
YouTube Studio Negative Reviews

The official YouTube Studio app makes it faster and easier to manage your YouTube channels on the go. Check out your lat...

Google Meet (original) negative reviews, comments
Google Meet (original) Negative Reviews

Securely connect, collaborate, and celebrate from anywhere. With Google Meet, everyone can safely create and join high-q...

Google Fit: Activity Tracker negative reviews, comments
Google Fit: Activity Tracker Negative Reviews

Get to a healthier and more active life with Google Fit! Its hard to know how much or what kind of activity you need...

Google Drive negative reviews, comments
Google Drive Negative Reviews

Google Drive, part of Google Workspace, is a safe place to back up and access all your files from any device. Easily inv...

YouTube: Watch, Listen, Stream negative reviews, comments
YouTube: Watch, Listen, Stream Negative Reviews

Get the official YouTube app on iPhones and iPads. See what the world is watching -- from the hottest music videos to wh...