Wordscapes App Negative ReviewsPeopleFun, Inc.

Wordscapes Negative Reviews

4.8
4.85149 star

Total 99 Negative Reviews

Wordscapes App Complaints & User Negative Comments 2022

Wordscapes app received 99 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Have you ever had a bad experience using Wordscapes? Can you share your negative thoughts about wordscapes?

Please wait! Wordscapes Facebook comments loading...



Wordscapes for Negative User Reviews

Great game ruined by adsPlease fix the ads. Just lately, it’s the Tim Horton’s ad that locks up…my only option is to restart my phone. On the verge of deleting this game. Shame..Version: 1.15.0

EdamLevel 78, Edam is a word, it’s a type of cheese.Version: 1.4.1

Game ok ads are terrible and annoying & can’t removeCan’t remove ads, shopping cart won’t open to able me to remove ads. The options to earn more coins don’t pay out the coins once completed so you basically provide your time for marketing surveys FOR FREE! They probably sell your email address to market researches to use for tons of spam to be sent to your email address. So you are basically tricked into providing your email address for support only for no reply but your email address used without your consent. No customer support available and it seems others having the same problems as me and not getting any response from developer either or a fix for the issue. What is the point in earning coins if you can’t use them? I will probably end up deleting as nothing worse than annoying adverts ffs..Version: 1.0.63

If it’s not one thing it’s the otherEDITED; the final fantasy ads haven’t shown up since they emailed me about it but now i have a whole bunch of other ads that are now scrollable and won’t show anywhere to close them. Also the ads that are constantly at the bottom of the screen now pop up mid play a good 25 times in a row and doesn’t stop even if I close the game. Force quit solves nothing. Just got to wait it out until it stops spazzing out. Most times I play now, the game freezes and absolutely nothing shows up on my screen and am forced to close it. Happens at least twice a day. The music makes my speakers vibrate and go weird and it is the only app on my phone that does it. Sometimes the backgrounds for the links won’t show and looks weird and is difficult to press AND half the words that are actually in the dictionary aren’t considered real words, yet stupid shortened versions, or nicknames of words are. Did the person that made this game actually go to school? ORIGINAL; Can’t X out of the final fantasy ads and are forced to close the entire game because of them. I enjoy this game but ff ads are enough to delete it. I did already review this game but it seems to have been deleted?! Smh..Version: 1.0.48

Fun diversion with flawsI’ve been playing this for some months now and enjoy it when I have a few minutes here and there. I do crosswords as well and it’s fun to look at 6 or 7 letters in any given puzzle and either see immediately the word that uses all of them—or to stare at it blankly wondering how any of those letters combine to make anything. The problem is that any words you make that aren’t in the grid should go into the bonus words. But the dictionary they use for the bonus words is so limited that I have long lists of valid words that are both in the dictionary and in common use that the game rejects. Added to that, they accept very few non-American spellings and non-American English words. I have emailed the developer about my frustration with the game, and they responded but didn’t seem to consider my concerns valid. They also have weekly contests, with point prizes for the top ten scorers. That was fine at first, but the game has so many users now that they should at least double the number of prizes. If the dictionary was improved, I would probably give the game 5 stars, but it’s too frustrating as it is to fully enjoy it..Version: 1.3.1

I love the game, but two stars for the ads.The game is extremely addicting and fun to play, but the ad breaks between the game is being horribly abused. I really don’t mind that a free game has an ad break in between rounds, but instead of having to skip through the initial ad, and then its follow-up ad of the same game, it is now forcing a third ad of the same useless game, significantly longer wait times, and it’s as if the closing button is now even smaller, and forces you to open the appstore at least 2-3 times before it finally allows you to close it. Even after that, if you don’t close it out in time, IT EITHER PLAYS THE AD ALL OVER AGAIN OR STARTS A WHOLE OTHER AD! Practically forcing your users to download useless games that they do not want to play is NOT how you gain their attention! It is greedy! I hate to remove this game because I genuinely enjoy it, but if the ad issues don’t get resolved, I’m probably just going to remove the app and find an indie app developer that doesn’t cram ads down your throat the way this game has been, and take my business to them. If you would like video proof of these ads in action, I can definitely make it happen..Version: 1.17.0

OMG ads are so annoyingI love the game and would like to keep playing OMG the ads are so annoying and nagging. Feels like devs are saying “pay me”, “pay me”. I understand these takes efforts and we need to support devs but I would almost be willing to pay $0.99 and get rid of annoying ads.Version: 1.9.0

WordscapesVery slow, app freezes and ads don’t respond to “x” many times with three or four no responsive pages. This continues to get worse as time goes on..Version: 1.19.7

How Do I Get Rid of Star Rush LevelI purchased Wordscapes , didn’t want the annoying ads, and it used to be a 4+ game for me. Not now. They’ve ruined an enjoyable word game with that rubbish timed, coin grabbing, add on: Star Rush Thinking of dumping Wordscapes, I won’t purchase any extra coins to play this, now, trashed version of Wordscapes. Giving this the Stars it currently deserves as I cannot get rid the Star Rush Level..Version: 1.19.2

STUPID HINT BUTTON PLACEMENT!!PLEASE FIX THIS ALREADY!! Lowering this to two stars as it’s been over a year now. ABSOLUTELY HATE HATE HATE THE PLACEMENT OF HINT BUTTONS!! I don’t usually use hints, but when lying down and holding my iPad with one hand, my forefinger hits the Hint button too often, wasting credit I didn’t need. Please consider and fix this!! I enjoy Wordscapes very much on my iPad, but as I hold it with one hand, all too often I end up wasting a hint when I didn’t intend on using one! I would like the option of hiding all hints unless tapping something to reveal them, or an option to confirm I did want to use one of three types of hints. It’s also annoying cloud sync doesn’t really sync everything. And it’s bizarre some words aren’t included, “pho” is one. And I’m not sure if one time “burbs” was accepted, but not “burb”, and the kicker was the dictionary for burbs listed it as a plural for burb! And while I’m at it, showing more info like points and/or rank while in game mode for Tournaments would be welcome..Version: 1.13.1

Addictive and challenging …. to start withI really enjoyed this game for the first few weeks. It was both addictive and challenging. The backgrounds are beautiful and the events appealing but I’ve noticed that many of the same words appear and at one point my wife, who is a few thousand levels higher, was getting the same words and backgrounds as myself. However, the most annoying thing I’ve found is that getting a chrysalis on the butterfly event takes me around 40-50 levels whereas my wife only takes 4-5 levels on her older iPad. Since I only play for an hour or so at a time it is taking me ages to build up the butterfly collection, even after the latest updates have been installed. The developers need to address this issue and add more variety of words and backgrounds. A great app let down by an annoying bug and lack of variety in the game..Version: 1.20.1

Great but a little unfairThis game is great, mentally challenging and I love the daily challenges and additional challenges, although there haven’t been any for quite some time. My feedback though is that, although I understand this game needs to earn money for the developers, to complete an entire row of 16 word puzzles per section and 5 sections and only earn 25 coins, but to buy a single letter costs 100 coins is unfair in my opinion and should be more balanced. It puts me off so I only end up doing the daily challenges. Also, when you get words which are not in the grid, there is no distinction between an easy 3 letter word and a more difficult 7-8 letter word and, again, you only earn a single coin for each additional word. Great game but needs more balance on these issues.Version: 1.0.63

Good game but............There is a lot of repetition of words and a lot cannot be considered proper words as per a dictionary, such as deli. US spelling takes getting used to but I’m up to level 1161 in 4 weeks and I’m not getting much of a challenge now. I haven’t had to use any hints for 2 weeks so will probably delete this game soon. Last, and most annoying, ADS, ADS, my god. I know this how the games get revenue but to have an ad at each and every single game, sometimes even if you leave a game and come back, you will have to wait for an annoying, stupid ad, none of which I have any interest whatsoever in using. Another reason why I will delete this game..Version: 1.5.1

Good game spoilt by ad lagLike a number of games recently, the ad server/implementation seems to be causing game hangs, freezes, crashes and the device running hot. There’s too much coincidence as to when a hang occurs mid-round, and when a banner ad appears or animates at the bottom of the screen. My guess is the server is not immediately reachable and the game hangs until it fetches the ad (sometimes crashing) and then the ad itself uses significant processor power to display. Sadly this greed/need for ads everywhere has spoilt the gameplay. It’s now unpleasant and irritating to play. Lose the in-round banner ads and just stick to between-round ads would be a start. It’s frustrating holding a hot phone waiting to play moves because the app has hung..Version: 1.15.0

Boycotting all games with long and excessive ads.This is a fun game, but recently there are so many games with such looong ads in them in between almost every game. I have decided to boycott and delete them all. This is one of them. I refuse to waste my time on these. I will put up with a fifteen second ad but they are now starting to run thirty seconds and even more. Not acceptable to me! Goodbye..Version: 1.22.1

Ads ads ads... and more adsGreat game but way too many ads. After 10-15 levels you get ads every 2-3 rounds. Ridiculous. Removing game due to that..Version: 1.11.0

Recent updatesI used to play this game all the time, but since the recent updates to “improve” the game and make it more “fun” by adding in animals (as much as I enjoy the free goodies they give) there is 10x more ads than before and it’s annoying - this is a “money opportunity” for your company to have users purchase this game ad free. Prior to the updates, I wasn’t sent to the home page to play the next level, every time I completed a level there was not always an ad. It was every other game. It’s honestly less enjoyable now. Oh and I love when I put in words and it says it’s not a word and when I put it in at the end, it’s suddenly a word..Version: 1.22.1

Great ad platformI get to watch so many ads, and sometimes I even play a game! (Yes I know I can disable ads, but not for 10 bucks when I’m not sure I even want to keep playing). The ads are annoying as hell, sometimes I can’t tell how to dismiss them. That’s YOUR problem, not mine!.Version: 1.16.0

Fun While it LastsAfter seeing so many different ads for this game, I finally downloaded Wordscapes. The game was a lot more fun to start off than what I thought it would be. The early levels are easy and introduce the crossword mechanic to you so you get familiar with it. As you progress through the levels, the puzzles get harder. To help with the harder puzzles, the game gives you power ups, but I hardly found the need to use them and the money to buy hints was very easy to come across. The game offers a nice variety of backgrounds for all the different levels, so the game as a whole is a peaceful experience that also makes you feel like you are keeping your mind sharp. I do admit though that some charm is lost after 100 levels or so, and I found myself not feeling the urge to keep continuing on. This may be because it is still just the same game mechanic over and over. So the experience is still a fun one but it does lose a bit of appeal after some time. I see a lot of complaints on the ads of the game, but they didn’t bother me an they would only last for 5 seconds usually. A solid game overall..Version: 1.3.1

Great way to chill if you can handle it’s foiblesI find this an almost addicting daily indulgence. I’ve been playing this for well over a year and when dealing with their standard puzzles, the game can be quite entertaining. Where it falls down is with its vocabulary and it’s other options, like tournaments and daily puzzles. By far the most frustrating is the Daily Puzzle, in which earn points for guessing the correct word, guess them correctly and you’ll earn up to 3 points for one of the four challenges which in turn rewards you with stars for your account. However, there is neither rhyme nor reason to their method. Say you need a 3-letter word with “O” in the middle. With your letter selections it could be NOT, TON, LOT, HOT or TOY. Guess them in the wrong order and your chance of earning all 3 stars that round may be lost. I don’t know why they don’t put the words in alphabetical order. Next is vocabulary. I can’t say how many times I’ve tried a word and it’s not accepted (example: EWER or TOM.) Then there are the words like AAH and AHA or non-words like LITE. Finally there’s the tournaments (where one minute you’re rated #5, you’ll finish a game and drop to 20. Oh, and you better have a cell or network connection, otherwise you’ll play through a round of 16 games and get credit for none of them..Version: 1.19.3

Limit the adsGreat game but having that many Ads ruins the game play for me. I understand ads pay the bills but it’s greed to put so many ads it forces people to buy the ad free version or uninstall and lose that revenue completely , why have them after every single level it puts me off playing the game at all! 🤦🏽‍♂️ got to level 150 and I’ve had enough of the ads at every level. Uninstalling.Version: 1.15.0

Used to be a Great game. Too many ads and crashingOkay, so I’ve played this game on various devices throughout the years, and it’s addictive as hell and does wonders for my vocabulary. My biggest issue is how frequent the ads are, but I suppose that’s what you get with a free game. And I was willing to accept that. Until a few days ago. Ever since then, I’ll be in the middle of a level, and a full screen ad will pop up. And it’s not because I’ve clicked the banner ad at the bottom either - I wasn’t actually touching the screen when it happened the first few times. When these pop up, the game completely crashes and is unplayable since they pop up almost every level now. So do me a favour - get rid of these new intrusive ads, and I’ll give you 5 stars. Sound fair? :).Version: 1.10.0

Riddled with adsI get that it is free, but this is too much. An ad after every single level is a bit ridiculous. If you are doing well you spend more time looking at ads than you do playing the game. There are better word games with less ads. Go play those. I shouldn’t HAVE to pay to get rid of ads, in order to make the game playable. If the developers read this. Every time I play this game I am putting airplane mode on as a middle finger to you. If it were more reasonable I would let the ads play. To their copy and paste response: no, there are ads to support the developers, and then there is your greed. There are plenty of games that do ads reasonably. Then there is this one, “make the game unplayable unless they pay to remove the ads”. This is just a review so people know they will be getting a crazy amount of ads, I will put it in airplane mode to avoid them, instead of paying for your “make the game playable” purchase, so you don’t make a cent off me. And others should do the same..Version: 1.11.0

Two ads every levelRidiculous frequency of ads. There is no reason for this. Deleting game from device..Version: 1.8.1

Long time player disappointedBeen playing casually for years. Only recently begun to take an interest in the tourney feature. The team feature is fun playing with other players. And hearing their gripes about the game. About how some players seem to be under testing with new game features. The latest was Star Rush. Which I don’t really see the point of with getting bonus points if you complete a level within 3 mins. I think most players can complete a level within that period. So no real change from the regular play. Unless you take your time and those players are at a disadvantage. Or something comes up and you forget to close out of your screen. So lose bonus points accrued unless you pay coins to not lose them. Days when there is not a tourney you have theme feature to collect portraits. For instance was the ‘Trick or Treat’ theme. Where you collect portraits with a Halloween theme. And what I heard from other players, it’s nearly impossible to obtain all the portrait from the set. The only feature I’m able to complete a collection are the butterflies but most regular players can complete collections. And really the only I was able to complete. I’ve yet to complete any portrait sets. I know players with millions in brilliance and they haven’t competed a set. So they doesn’t bode well for players like me. I still play but mostly for the tourneys and the team I joined..Version: 1.19.3

Can’t Opt Out of Some FeaturesI enjoy finding the words and clearing the boards. However, they are a lot of extra in-game competitive activities that you can’t opt out of and, for me, seriously detracts from my enjoyment of the game. The most recent addition is a feature called “Star Rush” that is active during the weekend tourney and awards you up to 4 stars if you clear a board in less than 3 minutes. Since I generally can clear a board in less than 30 seconds, this award pops up after every single board. This is very annoying because I don’t even want to participate in the tourney - let someone else have my spot. I paid $2.99 because I wanted to get rid of the ads, and now I’m refraining from using it on the weekend during the tourney because it’s not fun for me. I’ve read a lot of reviews about this app when it comes to cheating and to word choices, and I want to add my voice to these concerns. There are websites that provide the solution to nearly every level, making it far too easy for a player to rank very high and very fast in the tourney. There are also valid words that are not accepted, as well as prior names that are. I’ve read a good review for solutions to both of these issues..Version: 1.19.2

Good game, very glitchyI have downloaded the game twice in the attempt to avoid the problem. I’ve contacted support and they haven’t been able to resolve the it. The issue is I seem to get a few levels in and the game stops being able to process the words I’m writing. I went back to redo levels to see if it was something I was doing. I can’t enter words there either. I enjoy the game but not the hassles. Glad I didn’t pay. If I don’t hear from support soon I will likely delete and try again in a few months time. If it does the same again I’m writing it off. Sorry for the neutrality of the review I liked the game but it doesn’t work well..Version: 1.0.58

Fun! But Please Fix Binocular Game!My husband and I love to play this binocular game! (We also race against each other with the daily game and compete as individuals in the tournaments.). We were enjoying the Binocular Game to earn little pictures/avatars. However, we are getting too frustrated with the earned avatar rewards constantly and repeatedly giving us points toward the same pictures we’ve already unlocked. We invest a lot of time playing to unlock a picture...which already takes 1-3 rounds of 5-6 games each to unlock! We aren’t Mensa geniuses! It takes us a little time to complete some of these puzzles! Then, when we’re looking forward to see our reward, it’s been the same avatar over and over. I had 1 one avatar with 7 points! It unlocked at 3. I know you gave me another prize after 3 to 4 repeats but even THAT one was a repeat! Please review this and make a programming change so that once an avatar is unlocked, points go to other unlocked avatars only! Then we can feel like it truly is a reward worth playing for. Thanks for all the other things we love about this game!.Version: 1.13.1

Ad festivalIt’s honestly cancerous how the ads work, it’s 5 seconds but not really cause once you click x there’s another 5 seconds you have to look at the picture and then click x and sometimes there’s even another frickin prompt that you also have to click x on. That’s insane that anyone allows these type of ads to exist, how is showing me the ad 3 separate times gonna get me to download it, it just gets me upset..Version: 1.19.2

Last UpdateSince your last update you have not allowed certain words that were previously accepted. Also being on level 6990 we should get more than 25 points as you go along. Needs some work to b able to enjoy the game..Version: 1.9.1

Awesome game but...I do really love this game, and have been playing it for ages. I paid for the ad free version very quickly as I got sick of the ads and I’m really happy with it as a game in whole. The thing that really bothers me is it is very ‘US’ friendly, and maybe not so friendly to the rest of the world. They are happy to use words such as ‘amen’, ‘god’, but won’t include words like ‘gay’ which just seems archaic, and not so supportive of other religions either. Also, Tuesday isn’t considered a word, but ‘gah’ and ‘ooh’ are?! It’s pretty inconsistent with using plurals/adjectives/nouns (proper and improper) and the words that it does not recognise astound me sometimes. Don’t get me wrong, I do love this game, and play it every day, but I do think it needs a bit of a global/21st century update if I were to give my honest opinion 🤷🏽‍♀️.Version: 1.13.1

New ads are waaaay too longAds used to be short and could be closed after a few seconds, which was fine. Now I’m getting lengthy ads for multiple products tied into a single ad with no apparent way to close until the ad has played out. And they appear at the end of every level, which is far too frequent given that most levels can be blitzed thru within a minute or two..Version: 1.9.1

Don’t play this game using multiple devices!I’m just so fed up with the errors in this game! Why can’t they figure out how to keep the coins and helps consistent across devices like other games are able to do? It’s been so frustrating since I had to delete the game from my iPad and reinstall it. Support was actually very good initially in helping me get my stuff back, but when they tried to correct it for me, that’s when it went haywire on me. They gave me too much, so I was being nice and honest by asking them to correct it, but then they ended up deducting from the wrong device, leaving me with a measly 17 coins while the other device had over 2M coins! Does that even make sense?!? I’ve been asking them to fix it, even shutting off my phone every night, but now suddenly, they’ve gone all silent on me and not responded to a single one of my requests! The guy Kenny told me he had to hurry up and fix it for me since he could only do a minimum amount of adjustments, but is it my fault he messed it up so badly? It’s so frustrating, so I don’t even want to play anymore, except to help out my team because they’re a great group of people. I would highly recommend NOT PLAYING THIS GAME ON MULTIPLE DEVICES AND DEFINITELY DON’T DELETE IT WITHOUT TAKING A PIC OF WHAT YOU HAD. So frustrating!.Version: 1.19.3

Creators never owned a dictionaryThe amount of words that you get ripped off of is unbelievable!! The ads are enough to throw your phone, have to play with data off. This games horrible use of using as example 4 words and then literally just pluralizing said 4 words to make it the rest of the puzzle, yet I can get 9 or 10 extra words without plurality and that’s if they count words that do exist. Easy brain waste to play but if your easily frustrated with bs….warning.Version: 1.22.1

Boring repetition of wordsI’ve played this for some time now and I can’t believe how often the same words come round. It’s like they’ve only got 100 in the database and maybe another 100 using most of the same letters so I’m completely fed up of words that break down into ACNE/CANE, RACE/CARE, REAR/RARE, BEAR/BARE, RITE/TIER/TIRE, FORM/FROM/FOAM and on and on. Definitely not something you can play regularly because you get bored to tears. No challenge at all. Not to mention all the regular words you can find in any dictionary that this game says are invalid! Crazy. I’m done with it..Version: 1.19.3

MisleadingSo, in this post-fact world the advert says you’ll learn to read faster and improve your vocabulary. I haven’t seen any evidence that spelling words from a collection of letters helps one read faster. Logic tells me it doesn’t. Perhaps they could cite some studies. My bigger issue is that it’ll improve my vocabulary. That’s hogwash. Central to ALL vocabulary instruction, starting in kindergarten, is definitions. This game does nothing to promote improvement in my usage of the words contained in it. Moreover, the game is all about building words from letters THAT YOU ALREADY KNOW. How does recalling words I’ve seen and used many times before, then provide no definition or context in which said word is used, help my vocabulary skills? I’ve waisted too much time playing this thing, hoping that I’d eventually get to the “lexicon” level which would grant me the amazing fluency and word knowledge advertised. But alas, the game doesn’t appear to have that...it’s basically Boggle that can be played at a banana slug pace. This would be a four star review if they’d at least provide definitions (maybe they do with the paid upgrades?) and actually allow me to practice speed reading. Throw in the parts of speech and you’d have five star reviews all day long..Version: 1.2.1

Waste of timeStarted playing the game, it could be a good and enjoyable game, but there are too many ads and if you want to play, you have to pay. I bought a piggy bank thinking it would be good, when the piggy bank filled up, you have to pay again to open it!!! Very disappointing. It is a pity that the creators were so greedy, it could be a good game if poor people could enjoy it too!.Version: 1.9.1

STUPIDDD🤬🤬🤬ITS DIGUSTING IT NOT ONLY SETS YOU TO UP TO FAIL BUT ITS A SCAM TOO!!!😡🤬😡 EVEN IF YOU GET IT RIGHT A MILLON TIMES IT SAYS YOUR WRONG THEN YOU HAVE TO USE 100 DOLLARS TO GET A HINT ITS SHOWS THE ANSERW YOUR WROTE AND ITS BURNS YOU BATTERY FASTER THEN A CHEETAH RUNNING TREADMILL!!!!.Version: 1.16.0

Upsetting with constant non removable adsI started the game in a very good note and literally enjoyed it but by the time I reached level 10 few ads started to pour in. By the time I reached level 30 the ads became more frequent. At one point this particular ad just glued to my screen and I couldn’t remove it any further thus couldn’t play it any longer. This ad had no cross button and so with the sad heart I had to uninstall this game from my phone. I seriously wish that they would something about. Few ads are fine but this many frequent stubborn ads are bit too much. Not sure whether I will ever download this game again..Version: 1.0.45

Fun at first but getting repetitiveEnjoyed the game for the first few weeks but finding in not enjoying it as much. So many three and four letter words repeated over and over again. There seems to be a limit to the vocabulary. So many vague words’ that nobody has heard of and lots of slang and words that aren’t proper words. I mean really? Duh? Aha? Aah? They aren’t words. And what happened to the rest of the English language? Did you get a half price special on words? Only bought half of the language? Seriously guys it’s getting monotonous. Up to 5000 games and still getting 5 second 5 word games. I think the developers and getting lazy so they can keep adding new levels. Losing the desire to play.Version: 1.11.0

The Rampant Cheating in Tournament Needs to EndWordscapes is a fun well-designed game aside from one thing. The cheating in tournaments. I don’t care if you have an IQ of 180 the likelihood of finishing each level in 10 seconds flat and having 20x the amount of stars than 2nd place makes you m Not even want to try. There is such an easy solution to this that in over 2 years no one has implemented and it’s frankly embarrassing that for as good as the game is and the clever the design that no one has come up with yet continuing to update it. When a tournament begins in the current form of the game your tourney begins on the level you left off on. The problem with this? Every level is on a website that gives you all the answers. Why don’t you design several thousand “tournament only” levels and never reuse them again. If they cheaters can’t just sit on the answer site mindlessly completing 10 levels in the same time it take people who do it right what is the point. Yes I’m so sure these people aren’t cheating, they play 24/7 for 48 hours and never lose any sharpness whatsover. If you want to hold a fair and funny tournament the cheaters need to be chopped off at the knees and have all their acquisitions taken away. They didn’t earn them..Version: 1.13.1

More levels and a better dictionary requiredI love this game but the one thing that seriously irritates me is the limited range of words that can be accepted. You accept words and slang like “thru” but won’t accept actual words like “lisle”. Unsure why you’re using wiktionary as your basis instead of something like scrabble dictionary or an actual proper dictionary. As I’m fast approaching the end, would appreciate more levels being added and different words, I’m seeing recycled words and puzzles and scapes as well which is disappointing. Good things about this game: do love the music, love the concept (combo of boggle and crosswords), love coins per bonus word, love the tournaments, love the shuffle being free..Version: 1.0.61

The ads are locking the game and/or can’t be exited easily. The game is spoiled completelyThis puzzle game has been ruined by ads. These either freeze the app, lock it completely or have up to 3 exit screens. The frequency of these ads is extremely too high as you progress through the levels. There is no longer any relaxing pleasure (previously enjoyed) when using the app, it’s now just continuously frustrating. If the aim is to force users to pay a fee to stop the ads, it has failed. There is a choice not to use it at all..Version: 1.17.0

Too annoyingI got this years ago and loved it, thought it was a really fun relaxing little game, and the ads weren’t even that bad, but now they’re just getting obnoxious, at least 30 seconds long and even when they finish can make you wait up to another 15 seconds before the X appears to close it. I periodically stopped playing it because of this but then would pick it up again because I genuinely enjoyed the game, but the ads are just way too frustratingly long, which completely defeats the purpose of a relaxing game, and it’s absolutely not worth $10 to get rid of the ads, so do yourself a favour and don’t both downloading it unless you’re willing to spend $10 for it..Version: 1.14.5

Ads kill this gameI understand the developers need us to make purchases or watch ads to play but watching an ad between virtually every level that takes longer than the game itself kills any enjoyment. Free play is meant to get you interested enough to keep playing, and paying, but at this rate, I can’t even play enough to want to keep playing. So many ads aren’t clickable either and freeze for minutes. The only way forward is to close the app completely and then reopen. ANNOYING doesn’t even cover how frustrating the ads make this game. So I won’t be continuing to sample this game. It could be fun but too many ads killed any possible fun..Version: 1.17.0

GREEDY UPDATEThis is my favorite game and I spend hours playing. Via my friends in the tourney I recently learned the newest update TOOK OUT many words, real words, mind you, that had been rightfully added to an expanded dictionary several months ago. The reason: A money grab. Less bonus words equal less coins earned equals more people have to buy coins via the recently brought back “piggy bank”. I have this game on two devices, and I have paid for them both. I have not had to buy hints, as I didn’t need them. Then they introduced the tournaments where I use them frequently. Once I run through the coins I have accumulated, I WILL need to buy hints, thus giving the game some more revenue. That will likely be the case for many, many players! But instead they went for the easy money, and ticked off the most loyal, adoring players in the process. I'm fortunate I was warned NOT to update, but many people I care about had auto updates "on". Wordscapes, you’d be hard-pressed to find a more loyal player than me. But this new update is beyond the pale. It is "shameful", as one reviewer wrote. Kindly put the expanded dictionary back where it belongs, and KEEP the players that have supported you for a very long time, because I don’t know if they’ll stick around without you doing so..Version: 1.9.0

Updated review. I no longer even like this game.3/3/22 - I used to love this game, but things have changed to the point where I no longer want to play. As you can see from my previous review, the ads were not frequent, so I was ok with them because the devs deserve to be paid for their time. Since then, the ads have become more frequent over time until they’re now after every puzzle and it’s usually 2 ads. Plus, they have a button where you can watch more ads for extra rewards, so the frequent ads are ridiculous to have to put up with. The mini contests are no longer any fun at all because of the ads. My 5 star review is changing to a 2 because it’s so irritating to play now. The only reason I’m giving them a 2 is because of the quality of the graphics. If it wasn’t for that, I wouldn’t give them any stars. Most game apps like this either bore me with using the same words repeatedly or else they suffocate me with billions of ads every few seconds. This game does neither. The words are varied, even though I disagree with some they buzz on, but it’s probably the fact that I am 60 and use older words than the devs or from wherever they obtain their list. While there are ads, they are not super frequent and they are not horrible. I have not had any issues with this game at all..Version: 1.21

Weekend Tournament ConcernsI’m a team leader on a team that has played several months in tournaments. I have played this word game for 18 months. Of late in the Tournament there are teams that are getting hard to believe high scores. This leaves me to believe we may have some bits in the system that are making this unfair for us human players. These teams need to be automatically disqualified from playing in these tournaments. Our team is feeling like why should we play if there is so much rampant cheating by other teams. I also think it would be wise to add incentives and rewarding those who have reached high levels in this game. Perhaps giving 100 coins for each 16 games you complete. They definitely become more challenging as you go up higher in levels. The game is fun snd I have made many new friends in my team. I’m always amazed at the number of legitimate words that are not accepted in puzzles or as bonus words. I’m also a little baffled at the editing of communications between team members. There are certain words that are starred out and those words are not offensive or slang words. Thank you for all you do and I hope all of these issues can be resolved or at least addressed so that all can enjoy this game!!.Version: 1.18.0

RepetitiveSame words repeated over and over make the puzzles all feel very similar. The developers have also repeated puzzles, puzzle names, puzzle wallpapers and bonus photos for the daily puzzles so I expect they're as bored with this app as I am. There seems to be sloppy updating going on. There are also too many American English words but no proper English equivalents e.g tire but no tyre, meter but no metre, too many slang words, too many non-words such as prefixes and stupid words like thou and hast that no one ever uses unless they're reading a bible out loud. The dictionary for the game needs to be trimmed of these olde worlde words and have some proper ones added. My interest was piqued slightly when I saw mention of the new Master levels, but they're exactly the same as all the other ones. Same puzzles, same words, still no more than 7 letters. Over and over and over again. Did I mention it's repetitive? As soon as I get to the end, which I can no longer see, I'll be deleting..Version: 1.0.61

A great game ruinedWordscapes was a really fun game until PeopleFun implemented a new “feature” called star rush this weekend. For a whopping 6 extra bonus points players now have finish a level within a certain time frame to endure yet another screen of tedious animation and tap through screens at the end of every level. This slows players down and leaves them frustrated and unmotivated. PeopleFun have now also separated individual and team scores so they do not sync so players now score more in their individual tourney than the team tourney because “star rush” points do not count towards the team score. Many teams are disheartened and have lost motivation to play, and without the incentive of team participation for their efforts, there isn’t much reason to continue playing this game..Version: 1.18.0

Not child appropriateHad a few words that were bad.Version: 1.9.0

From Best To WorstThis used to be one of my favorite games. With the latest update, they took away several known words to limit your ability to earn extra coins. This was done as yet another incentive to get you to pay for coins. You also have to go in and out of the app multiple times a day to get your “daily bonus.” I certainly understand wanting to make money, but features shouldn’t be taken away to do so. I truly hope this is rectified soon. I received a notification indicating I’d received a response, but your reviews are in terrible order. I saw another response stating all players have the same lists now. That’s great, now let’s add all of the words you removed to keep players from earning their own coins instead of having to buy them from you. I’ve already paid to upgrade to ad-free and have spent a decent amount of money on the app, but refuse to spend more. If the words are not added back soon, I will just delete the app, which is sad because it is my go-to daily app (even though I rarely get my “daily bonus”) and I truly enjoy the tournaments. There are other word games out there, it looks like it is time to find one..Version: 1.9.0

Asset stealerEveryone knows the value of personal data. This game is designed to steal yours and your contact’s data. Don’t be fooled. The pretence is that you get free coins for... then once you give your data or your friend’s details, or money, it THEN provides extra terms that you’d probably NOT agree to (but it’s too late) or, it’s in the hands of a 3rd party to do a whole heap of stuff before you’d get any coins. Don’t be a fool. If you love this sort of game I strongly suggest trying a reputable developer not one that is in the game of stealing data and money under false pretences. I asked directly about this theft, funny, no response. If they want to cheat, here are cheat notes, to get around ads open a game when the ads starts, just double click on home button & reopen again and the game will start without having to sit through very long ads..Version: 1.0.53

Weirdness with butterfly game…Recently after my husband kept winning butterflies and habitat upgrades at what seemed like lightening speed compared to me, we realized that for some reason my Wordscapes jacks up the time-commitment level after my first butterfly of the week and starts forcing me to play like 10 times the number of games to reach one butterfly hatching as my husband’s requires for him, and in order to reach one single habitat upgrade I would have to put literally hours into playing which is just untenable in my life. It’s frustrating, especially since our versions of the app are supposedly identical. Is there anyone else out there who is in the same boat on this? And I agree with other reviewers about the portrait games and how it becomes impossible to complete a set and earn the bonus portrait because you start just winning repeats over and over ad infinitum. It’s as though the creators expect us not to have a life outside of this app. Fun to an extent but the problematics are becoming a little too annoying for me..Version: 1.18.1

Non standard lexiconIf you love traditional word games this one may annoy you. It uses a weird selection of prefixes, abbreviations, contractions, archaic and slang words. Ideal for US kids but not for baby boomer word sleuths. It also has a very limited range of words. The same ones appear repeatedly. I’m not sure why, since the crosswords are tiny. If you’re ok with American spelling, it doesn’t take much effort to familiarise yourself with the limited words and then it can be quite relaxing. I play it to chill out. I am at level 1269, so maybe it gets longer words at later levels..Version: 1.0.61

So badly optimised that it’s unplayableEven if you can get past the copious obnoxious ads for borderline-scams, the game is now so badly optimised for even my iPhone 7 that it freezes constantly. I’ll try to enter a word and it will either freeze mid-swipe or crash. An absolute drain on my battery too. Of course the ads run perfect each time, so it’s clear where the priorities lie. Good luck trying to press the pixel-sized “X” without launching the App Store or website because the game assumes you want to view it after accidentally pressing a space a millimeter to the side. Edit: Oh look, the app’s developers want me to do their job for them and identify which ads are the obvious scams. Yeah, sure, I’ll totally install this badly optimised mess and point out the painfully obvious when it isn’t freezing constantly. Sounds like a great use of my time..Version: 1.19.2

Addictive game, annoying adsA good game but the ads are really long, repetitive and frequent so I play only one game a day to save sitting through them. Unfortunately the dictionary is poor and the game does not accept many genuine words. Doesn’t offer much of a challenge, even after hundreds of levels completed..Version: 1.4.1

It’s Okay…So, let’s start with the good. Wordscapes is a fun way to challenge your brain and learn new words. Also, you can guess wrong and/or incorrect words all the time. But, for me, that’s where the positives end. I know lots of people say this, but I’m going to it again. The game uses words over and over and over again. I can’t tell you how many time I’ve gotten the word “emu” in this game. This doesn’t add to my vocabulary, if I have seen it over and over again. In the game, the “hints” are 100 coins, and bull’s-eyes are 200 COINS!? Like, for ONE letter it cost the same amount of TWO letters? You might as well save up for the “rocket” option at this point. My other complaint is the chat systems of the teams. I was once on a team and inappropriate things were said, and SEVERAL people reported the messages and had them removed, yet that person was never kicked or removed from the team? Like, they should be removed at the FIRST report, wether the team leader reported them or not. TLTR: Great idea, but the repeated words, having to spend to many coins on hint, bull’s-eyes, rockets, and the chat systems, it just not okay. Overall, a game I would not recommend. 😐.Version: 1.16.0

Wordscapes ruinedI used to really enjoy this game but it has been ruined by silly side games that don’t have any relationship to the main game. Play is continuously interrupted by the need to tap things that are of no interest. I paid to remove ads but I am still regularly asked to buy extra clues. Such a shame. What are the developers thinking?.Version: 1.21.1

So-so needs some work.So-so game. Lots of ads, lots of words missing from their library: Nog Abed Edam Nos Vail Slav Asia Salvia Coms Yale Licky Pule Are just a few so far. Pretty well have to shut off cell data and wifi for it to be decently playable..Version: 1.5.1

Ads stall appThe tim horton gift card add freezing app every time it runs..dump it-lease!.Version: 1.22.1

Great game usuallyThis is a brilliant game, totally addictive and easy to play. The latest updates as of Oct 2021 have dramatically affected its performance to a sluggish buggy and unresponsive game sadly. This despite having a recent device with up to date system. Reported it twice but I’ve almost given up but this was a beautiful little game. Just let down by buggy update..Version: 1.19.0

FrustratedOnce again I'm battling with Ads that won't move on! They don't disappear when you press the x but immediately sends you to the App Store. It happens with several Ads - not just one!!! It spoils the fun of the game and irritates when you are competing!! It is bad enough having to deal with adverts between games but when you, firstly, can't get out of some of them without exiting the game and restarting, but, secondly, you now have to deal with moving ads at the bottom of your game which are not only annoying but hurt my eyes!! Most of the games advertised I wouldn't download especially because their ads are so annoying!! Again the ads are stopping the game. The Apple ad has no way to close it so I can't continue playing! I have to reboot my phone to get it off!! Many of the other games are so boring because they are so repetitive and really irritating!! I understand you get paid for the ads but honestly!!! Once again!!!! The adverts are getting worse!!! You press the x to get out of them and it doesn't work! You get forwarded to the App Store. I have to reboot my phone almost all the time now so won't be playing this game till you can sort it!!! 😤😡 The Apple game ads are the worst!!! I constantly am having to reboot my phone because the game just stalls when you try to remove the add by clicking the X..Version: 1.9.1

WordscapesNice!!.Version: 1.0.8

Tournaments are a jokeI love this game and play regularly and I had doubts when I read some reviews that said that the tournaments were mainly done by bots, but now I have clearly seen it first hand and those reviews are right!!! I decided to take about a 15-20 minute break from it to go to the store and relax my eyes. When I went back on to play, 2 people had passed me and one of them suddenly had over 2300 points. In the 15-20 minutes I was away from it, someone who wasn’t even in the top ten of players had passed us all with that many points. Now I play this game a lot and I would like to think I am pretty good, but this is complete crap and takes all of the competitive fun out of the game! I even paid to stop the ads and there is no way I could put up 2000 points in 15 minutes. I will not ever spend another dime on this game and feel this is cheating and just downright cheap to do to people that really want to compete and have fun. Not to mention that when you get to higher levels it becomes repetitive. I have done some of the same puzzles 4 times. Did they run out of words?!? Maybe the bots could come up with some to help the developers out! Complete joke competing in the tournaments... don’t even waste your time!.Version: 1.2.0

Incredulous!The game starts off well (warning: it can be addicting), hence the one star rating. However, in later levels, the word library/algorithm/what have you was very selective in a double standard way, which was enough to turn me off this game for good! For example... Why is ‘nano’ (a scientific term) not considered a word when many other far more obscure scientific words are?! Why was ‘newt’ (singular) not considered a bonus word but ‘newts’ (plural) was?! Explain that to me! I will be deleting the game as these double standards have increasingly become very frustrating!!.Version: 1.0.59

New portraits setting complete turn offI’ve really loved this brilliantly simple game for over a year now and definitely happy to pay to get rid of ads. But recently my 5 stars has turned to only 1 because the new portraits setting are just depressing - it’s now set up in a way there’s no chance of winning without putting your entire life in hold for two days a week. So instead of looking forward to it I now find myself avoiding and resenting the game - definitely enjoying and playing less..Version: 1.14.3

Old Version Better/Coin IssueI’ve played this game for a few years now and noticed a disappointing new feature with the coins. In order to use them now you must purchase them. This was not a requirement with the old version and makes me consider deleting the game daily as the use of the coins used to provide you with helpful features like; revealing one letter of your choice for a difficult word, etc. It’s a bit illogical to continue to show us coins that we’ve earned through finding additional letters or for reaching a certain level, yet we have no access to them unless we purchase them??? It feels like a design flaw as you play and really makes me wish I hadn’t updated to this newest version. Other than that I would have given 5 stars but it’s such a nuisance I have to grade much lower despite truly enjoying playing the game. Suggestion: Get rid of the option to pay for coins per player's choice if you decide to keep the paid “earned coins” version of this game as most people are never going to bother purchasing anyway it’s like having a commercial running in the upper right corner of your television screen while you’re watching your favorite TV show. It cheapens the look and feel of the game. It feels like the game creators are begging for money as opposed to a real game which would never have a running advert in the corner. Otherwise the game is perfect..Version: 1.10.0

Enough is enoughThe current Star Rush is just demeaning, can bring on anxiety in slower players who can’t complete a puzzle in the allotted time. It takes far too long to get to the next puzzle, making much slower progress and less stars accumulated for tourneys. It just doesn’t slow down faster players… it slows down ALL players!!! So really what is the point of it? To get people to spend their coins to keep their star count up with bonus’s then spend real money to buy more coins when they run out…. There may be gullible people out there who will fall for that but the smart ones will give the game the flick and go elsewhere. Peoplefun… your IT wizards need to realise the consequences of all changes before applying them..Version: 1.19.0

Umm...? Somethings not safe here...This game is great!!!! I love it! It would totally be a 10/10 but... Something just is not quite right, if I need coins for a hint... and I don’t have any, I have to pay real money for the coins right? Makes TOTAL sense! But if you decide... “nah I’m not spending my money” the you tap the button to get out of the thingy because you don’t REALLY need coins blah blah blah! Anyway so the a thing pops up every time (just how the game works) and it list three was you can get more coins for FREE!!!!! Well... this is ware the UNSAFE business happens... the 3 ways you can get coins for free that are listed is, 1. Video (totally safe that’s no big deal) 2. Offers (just more videos, or downloading games witch is totally fine) And 3. surveys!!!!! DO NOT TAKE THE SURVEY!!!! It asked me for my age, name, and some other personal info!!! I stoped immediately and made sure it did not go through. Now I’m not saying don’t buy the game!!! It’s a GREAT game!!! The survey is the only bad thing about it. I’m just saying... it might not be bad... but I personally don’t trust that kinda stuff. Anyway this is a amazing game and I can’t stop playing!!! Thank you to anybody that has actually bothered to read this 😂😂😂.Version: 1.3.1

Daily PuzzleI have really enjoyed playing Wordscapes recently. I’m on level 152 and love the educational yet fun twist on the app, one of my favourite features on the app was the ‘Daily Puzzle’ because I could - to put it simply - do a different puzzle of varying difficulties each day however recently I haven’t been able to do the daily puzzle because every time I go on it, it just is frozen on the screen saying I have completed the puzzle already. It is also saying that it is August 31st however today (the day I’m writing this) is Monday the 13th of August. I’m annoyed at this bug/glitch because I love the daily puzzle. I really hope this bug is fixed. Other than that I think it is a great app. EDIT: I wrote this review earlier today and I have continued to have problems with the app. The daily puzzle is still not working insisting that it’s August 31st and that I have ‘already completed it’ this annoys me and I really hope it gets fixed in the near future!.Version: 1.0.48

Racist to AsiansThe word Asia was not added as a bonus word even though i was able to spell it out.Version: 1.22.1

Ads. Ads. Ads.Is it bad enough that there are annoying bar menu ads at the bottom of the screen while I’m playing the game, but then as well you have to interrupt with more ads after every level??!!?!?! Totally annoyed..Version: 1.8.1

Enjoyable, but need to increase vocabulary, and be consistent in what types of words are allowedVocabulary is very limited. Too many legitimate words (e.g. ewer, treed) aren’t accepted, and too many obscure, rarely used words (e.g. lier), slang words (cocker, nan, veep), and “Americanized” words (e.g. lite (but not nite?)) are accepted. Also needs to be consistent - some abbreviated words are accepted (ref, mil, lib, croc, spec, abs, lat, pecs, etc.) but others are not (intel, min, dem, etc.). Also euro is accepted, but peso is not (don’t think I’ve seen the word dollar come up, but I’ll assume it would be accepted). And why is wile accepted but not wiles?? Same with luge, but not luges?? I wish you could select different levels - easy, medium, hard, etc. so that some with a larger vocabulary than others could be challenged while others who don’t could still enjoy the game. While I do agree there are lots of ads, my biggest annoyance is how many times I’ve accidentally clicked on the hint buttons and lost my coins. It takes so long to accumulate 300 coins, so it’s extremely frustrating to lose them by accidentally touching the hint options. You should include a double check “are you sure?” option..Version: 1.13.1

Do not trust - ignores your permissionsUnauthorised mobile data use! To get rid of ads in games like this, turn off mobile data to the app and play off WiFi. Simple right? HOWEVER, this app will randomly still pump in ads... some days it will, some it won’t. Play it on airplane mode... zero ads, so they’re not built in (excluding the ‘own brand’ apps, which are built in... I’m referring to 3rd party ads) Therefore the app uses your mobile data without permission. Original review: This is an extremely easy game. The only challenge is trying to decipher what rules it uses, because it doesn’t seem to know. Primarily it uses American spelling, but not alway (submitted both “favour” and “favor” in the same puzzle) My last puzzle had a word that when researched was Russian, or obscurely British. It uses weird abbreviations and slang, yet some really obvious words that are known worldwide aren’t valid. Basically, it’s a game where you just make up as many random words as you can until it decides they’re correct..Version: 1.1.7

Not HappyThere are issues with the game that others have outlined in detail - the basic nature of the vocabulary and the lack of recognition of some pretty standard usage words and the inclusion of non-words, the ridiculous “piggy bank” which stockpiles “coins” you’ve earned through playing but cannot access without paying (outrageous!), etc. But the thing that made me delete the game was the tourney this past weekend. I had forgotten to play until later on Saturday, played for awhile on Sunday then had things to do. When I remembered and checked about an hour after the tourney ended, I was pleased to see my beautiful new crown and that I had finished in second place which is where I’d been pretty much for the time I’d played on Sat and early Sun. Imagine the disappointment on Monday when I went in to play and suddenly my new crown was gone and another player was now listed in 2nd place with 3 or 4 more points than I had. It’s a silly thing perhaps, but it’s a digital game and scores are tabulated by computer so there’s no way a score can change unless it’s deliberately changed and not earned. It was the final straw of frustration before the camel walked away rather than have its back broken..Version: 1.9.1

Fun gameGreat game challenging, fun and addictive. I would give it more stars but feel it’s not evenly played. My wife has been playing for months and her hints are 50 coins, I’ve been playing a couple months and enjoy the game but the hints on mine are 100 coins,the target hints 200 and rocket blast 300 totally bogus pricing. Before you say she’s at higher score(she is) I have a daughter, granddaughter and soninlaw that all signed up after I did and 2 of them at my recommendation and wait for it...... their hints are 50,100,150 coins. I’m not the only one this has happened to in the support section there are other complaints of the same thing. I sent an email to them with questions about this and I will say they answered rather quickly but with a crazy response of “we’re trying different pricing to see which we decide on.” What I got out of the answer was we think we can gouge some folks on the pricing so when they buy coins they get less benefit for the money they pay. I started with 2 stars but as I wrote this I down graded it go 1. Get your act together and I’ll revisit this review!!!!! Have talked to them thru emails 3 different times and each time it’s the same, ”we’re trying different pricing to see where it levels out, hmmm I wonder if they’ll refund the folks that bought hints and removed ads at the higher prices when they level out, hmmm NOT!!!!!.Version: 1.0.52

Game is Great - Up until I got charged $20The game is absolutely great. Very accommodating and even has a dictionary for you to learn the words. However, the Ads were just plain annoying after level 80 because that’s when you want to get as many stars as possible for the competition. So this is where I thought I’d fork out $5 to pay for no Ads... but then I kept getting declined and declined, even though I had $10 on my card to make the payment... so I thought okay I’ll put $50 on the card, ONLY TO BE CHARGES $20!!!!! Why am I forming out an extra $15?! Please explain and please reimburse me for my $15 when you advertise in your In-Game store that it’s only $5..Version: 1.0.58

Beware of missing features!The developers of his app give some features (adventure game within the game for example) to some users, but not all. They also give "random mid-week tournaments" to some, not all; however, in my team of fifty players, we found that the same people got the tournament week after week, so it's not incredibly random. If your mates get all the extra tourneys, they get to advance through the game at a much faster rate with 'crowns' that can only be obtained in the tourney play - and THAT'S why it's not fair to others of us. Bottom line, if you don't mind others being given blatant unfair advantages by the game, you'll have fun. And contacting them to ask why results in a 'sorry, not sorry' reply. One star given for my inferior game experience caused entirely by the app developers themselves. Others bestowed with the bonus features will probably rate higher. *My reply to Developer: then your TEST shouldn't allow people to unfairly advance faster in the game. If you win your individual tourney, you are eligible for max 50 crowns/wk. Extra TEST tourney, gives access to 25 extra/wk. UNFAIR GAME ADVANCEMENT!!!! Then take the test crowns away. Test all you want and hallelujah for you, but you should not let people advance in your game and others do not have equal access. I don't expect to get 50 crowns per week unless I EARN them, but I don't expect others to have access to 100 game advancing crowns per month, when I do not!.Version: 1.9.1

Can’t Sync Between DevicesThe concept of the game is easy enough... and if you have a decent vocabulary, the game itself is too easy. I’m nearly to level 300 and have barely had to pause to think about it. Definitely not challenging so far. My biggest issue is I can’t sync between my phone and iPad. I contacted customer support and was initially pleased by the quick response. Unfortunately, they keep forwarding my responses to another person, so I’ve spoken to 4 different people even though person 2 explained they’d just do a manual reset or something that never happened. Person 4 goes “Are you trying to sync them to the same FB account?” What??? Why would I be confused about it not going to the correct level if it wasn’t even the same account I was syncing them to?? I finally said never mind because no one from their support team has helped me over the past week and apparently they can’t bother to even read what my complaint was in the first place. Yes, they answer the same day, but every day it’s a new person and you’ll be explaining your problem over and over! And it’s emails! They can’t communicate? So all in all, pretty easy game and decent time killer... just can’t get the game to sync between my phone and iPad. 2 stars because the last two emails I got from them are utterly ridiculous. I paid to remove ads and regret the fact their company got my few dollars..Version: 1.5.1

Ad heavy, repetitiveAds in game. Ads between puzzles. Repetitive puzzles. Many times it’s less about figuring out a word than remembering what words you used in a previous puzzle. But I’m literally getting an ad after every puzzle! It’s just a word game! Minimal graphics, new content easy to implement - sorry but not worth it..Version: 1.22.1

The Ads You Run Are Creepy, Sexist & DisgustingCurrently on your app there is an ad for a game about a woman losing custody. You know kids play this game and this is disturbing. Also this was not the only creepy ad you allow on your app. I’m done with this creepy company..Version: 1.13.1

Just okWhile this is good to scramble your brain for words you know (or may not know) and thus keeping it “fit” there are also significant limitations, such as the limit of words this app knows about. How come “liter” (the AE version) is accepted and “litre” (the BE version) isn’t. There are many other words this app doesn’t know about and that’s a real deficiency (eg. it knows “plunge” but not “pungle”). Instead it knows useless words like “doh”, “aah” and “nah” that border on usefulness and dictionary entries. It would be good if the devs would pay better attention to that and scramble the dictionaries of the world. Another detractor is the amount of ads and their length. There are not just on-screen Google ads, but also repetitive movie length ads between almost each level. For an app that doesn’t really require much development work this ad cashing in seems exaggerated. Lastly, the tournament (if you don’t want to miss out on some bonus coins) becomes a real frantic race as the clocks ticks. While it’s good for user engagement for the business it destroys some of the game play with people (myself included) using available word lists to keep up. I for my part had enough of this and say good bye to the game. There also seem to be a couple of variations on the same game with a very similar layout, slightly different name but effectively the same game. Raking in the money….Version: 1.0.50

It’s fun at first, but the words are often slang, jargon, should-be-hyphenated, etc etcIt’s fun at first, I whizzed (wizzed) through (thru) over 200 levels, but sometimes would struggle to think of a word using the available letters, only to find it was a prefix (inter) or two words bolted together without a hyphen, or geek slang (sim, alt), so in the end had to delete the App. If I had been using this to improve my spelling, it would have taught me badly. If I had used it to sharpen my brain, it would have driven me crazy trying to find words that are not proper words. If this App had a decent dictionary, it would be great fun, educational, and useful. But as it is, it’s just a bit of fun, not educational, not useful, and if you can spell it could just drive you to throw your phone across the room. It’s best to avoid this App, until the dictionary is replaced with a proper one, not one full of made-up words and kidz spellin..Version: 1.13.0

FunThis app is using over 10 GB and is causing numerous issues on my iPad. I contacted their Help desk but no one got back to me. Good brain exercise but I don’t know where they get their dictionary because it doesn’t accept words that are in a standard dictionary. Yet it allows slang like for example ‘bro’. If they actually used a standard English dictionary I’d give them a higher rating..Version: 1.15.0

Not the sameHave been enjoying Wordscapes for over a year but recent changes are very frustrating. An update wiped out all my accumulated credits and new points earned are not being applied. Time for a new game..Version: 1.20.2

Scam so you are sucked into spending $$$This is potentially a terrific game which sadly hinges on a player spending tons of money. If you are a ‘wordie’ like I am, you are always looking for brain teasers. The game itself is a good brain teaser. HOWEVER, beware!! As you move up levels you will be enticed to spend money in order to move up in the game. I purchased the $2.99 option which removed adds, thinking I would be free to play the game. NOT SO! I am now stuck having to watch adds, or take a survey if I want to move forward in the game and cannot come up with a particular word. For each Ad or survey you watch, you earn 25 points. 100 points are needed for a letter clue. Another peeve, I know more words than the puzzle itself, so rather than give me the word I know, the puzzle either doesn’t know the word, or pushes it off to the side in a category box for ‘additional words’, where it just languishes. There is no extra win associated with knowing more. All-in-all, this is an extremely frustrating game if you don’t want to spend lots of money to purchase playing time. I hope the developers read this and take to heart that they can’t expect people to pay a fee ($2.99) and then continue to squeeze. For sheer frustration, I rate this game with one star..Version: 1.1.6

Annoying!I have had this app for a long time and I used to enjoy it. Now when you complete a level you get 1 or 2 coins, to get a hint you need 100 coins, or you can pay for coins (get the picture)coins get taken from your tally for no real reason, and there is a thing called star rush which is annoying and completely confusing and the ads are excruciating, you don’t just have to watch the ads you then have click through 4 or 5 screens before it disappears and the x is so far to the right of the screen it sometimes thinks you have clicked the ad to get it and then you have to start the clicking through screens again. This game is completely ruined I will be looking for a different option..Version: 1.19.3

Too many ads & confusing bitsI don’t mind a few ads every now and then but, as others have said, there are WAY too many ads, they are too intrusive & some ads you can’t get rid of unless you get out of it & go back in. Why keep so many ads when numerous people have mentioned uninstalling it because of this (as I am going to do after this review)? You’re just driving people away! If you had fewer ads you would have more views through more people keeping the app. I also hated when one time (I’m uninstalling at level 12) there were boxes at the side & I couldn’t move on unless I tapped on them and wasted my ‘money’ earned in what was a completely pointless exercise! Could be a great app as the little games are cool but currently really bad!.Version: 1.9.1

Not happy!Just downloaded Word Scapes - played to several levels, then the screen went blank momentarily and another game (“Bubble” ... something or other) showed up that required it to be downloaded before I could leave that screen. I had to delete Word Scapes to get out. Sorry, not happy won’t redownload..Version: 1.19.7

Way TOO many ADSReally enjoyed the game in the first few hours. But it got ruined after that because of the Ad right after each play. It’s really annoying to wait after each level. Don’t mind seeing ad as you need to keep the app running. However, ad after each play puts me off. I even tried downloading a app in one of the ad thinking it might help. It just kept going. Deleted both app as I’m really fed up with this waiting game. Two star is because I did enjoy the first few hours..Version: 1.19.3

Used to be goodThis game used to be very entertaining and I enjoyed playing it regularly. I don’t even mind the longer ads as that is something that I’m used to with free games. I stopped playing for a while and came back to it recently. The issue that I have is the pop up ads that appear nearly full screen during a level. I had 6 ads pop up while doing the daily puzzle within the space of 2 minutes, the last of which bugged out the game as it was while I was pressing letters and now the “cursor” is stuck on a letter and I can’t press anything. Twice this has happened to me now and I have to close the game and reopen it. What a shame that heavy monetisation has become more important than a well functioning game. I’m giving 3 stars as the gameplay itself is good, would have given 5 if you hadn’t broken it with excessive ads..Version: 1.10.0

Not for word game loversIf you’re a big fan of high scoring word games, this is... frustrating. It’s been known for a long time that the dictionary of this game is severely lacking. I’ve looked and it probably contains around a third of the playable Scrabble words of 3-7 letters. This is frustrating if you’re big into word games to see real English words be rejected over and over again. But it’s not their fault. At one point, a few months back, the developers randomly expanded their dictionary to include just about every scrabble word. This lasted maybe 2 weeks; I’m guessing the outcry from the fan base was loud and angry. In the tournament mode on the weekends, bonus words count for a lot, so if you don’t know the words you are at a tremendous disadvantage. So the dictionary was scaled back once again and valid words are back to being rejected. Oh well. I still play it but it’s frustrating even when you know which words are allowed. At this point it’s kind of a memory game: this real English word is fine, but this one isn’t. Stakes are low though, so it’s a fine distraction. Just don’t expect a challenge..Version: 1.13.0

North AmericanFun game. Shame the language isn’t English. It ignores some real words and has some specific to North American English. Coins are almost worthless although vaguely helpful as I’m not North American so they only get used to find very specific non words. Can’t use other languages but you can use Americanisms which aren’t real English. Shame really. Some abbreviations are fine but others aren’t. Daily puzzles are based more on the order you get words right in which can mean you won’t get maximum points even if you get more words than in the grid. Relatively few adverts compared to similar games, which is nice. You won’t have to spend a penny on this game if you have a half decent mind for anagrams..Version: 1.7.0

It’s mine.This game was a great game to play prior to the last one or two updates and it shows that the programmers do not play these games at all, if they do they would find that they couldn’t close ads as their “x” is out of the screen boundaries. This locks the game for any other play that you want to play, you will find it doesn’t happen during the daily games but when you get into the secondary games for the day well that when everything locks up after the first ad. If it’s not fixed very soon I will be deleting the game very soon as I had enough of it. Like to hear from other users that have the same problem ..Version: 1.4.1

SadI agree with other comments about the annoying ads - especially the ones that flash. I would happily pay to go ad free, but is not an option. So it’s deletion for me and a recommendation to anyone new not to download - it’s a good game (although very limited American vocabulary) but just not worth getting UK the ping of enjoyment and then being killed by ads. Glad these people don’t do my marketing.Version: 1.7.0

I’m Giving UpI am addicted to word games and have quite a few of them on my phone. I have decided to delete this one, however, because it is so frustrating. Even though I have contacted the developers twice with questions, the answers I got did not resolve the issue nor actually answer my specific question. Also, the few directions that are available are confusing, especially when dealing with tournaments. Some issues: I will input the same word several times during the course of one game and it is not accepted, and then all of a sudden it is. And basic everyday words are not accepted in some games but are in others. They will allow the word “can” but not “canned”, as in canned vegetables. It’s totally frustrating, and I keep shaking my head and wonder why I’m wasting my time. But not any more. On to more satisfying pursuits in the world of words. Add the fact that you have to watch an ad after every game, Wordscapes is not worth my time. A note to users who choose to keep playing this inferior game: after you play a game and the ad pops up, shut the game and then come right back to it and you avoid having to watch the ad, many of which repeat with irritating regularity..Version: 1.10.0

Annoying!!Downloaded this game for something different to do. Didn’t take long to get annoyed with the amount of ads in this game. And then the words, all similar. And words that i have never heard of that im sure are slang words or not even words. And then having a word then its plural like ok couldnt there be something better. I’m sure every level has basically the same words. So deleted it.!! To many ads, to repetitive. And frustrating more than anything such a shame!!.Version: 1.18.0

It’s okay...It is an okay app so far. Starts off WAY to easy, but I guess that’s probably so that anyone can play, even young kids. It has far too many 3 letter words for my liking. It probably gets harder eventually, but till that point, it is a bit boring for me. I have two other qualms. The first is that there are legal words that the game doesn’t accept. If you do come up with a word that was not chosen for the crossword, it counts as a “bonus word” (which adds to your total to be able to later use for hints, which is a good idea). However, there are valid words that the game doesn’t accept. I can’t remember all of them right now, but some are “alee” and “luged”. They accepted “luge” just fine, so I have no idea why the past tense in “luged” would be an issue. The other main issue that annoys me is the frequency of the ads. I’ve played other games that have ads before, and I understand that’s how free games supplement their income in order to give us the content in the game. However, the frequency of the ads is the issue in this game. By far the most frequent ads I’ve ever seen. Sometimes have to deal with an ad every two minutes or less, if I finish the crossword quickly, which is ridiculous. At least you can X out of the ads fairly quickly. Still, having ads that often is annoying..Version: 1.0.55


🙂 Wordscapes Positive Reviews
Is Wordscapes not working?

Wordscapes works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Wordscapes.

⛔   Wordscapes Problems
Applications with negative comments similar to Wordscapes
Word Chums negative reviews, comments
Word Chums Negative Reviews

More fun than Words With Friends and more addicting than Scrabble, WORD CHUMS: the highest rated word game, earning a pe...

Wordscapes Shapes negative reviews, comments
Wordscapes Shapes Negative Reviews

Dont you just love when things fit together perfectly? In the mesmerizing world of Wordscapes Shapes, they always do....

Wordscapes Search negative reviews, comments
Wordscapes Search Negative Reviews

Introducing the NEWEST free game in the Wordscapes family! Search your way through thousands of new word puzzles while t...

Mystery Word Puzzle negative reviews, comments
Mystery Word Puzzle Negative Reviews

There is a new challenge of mystery puzzles waiting to be discovered & solved. Are you on it? Mystery Word Puzzle is a n...

Word Toons negative reviews, comments
Word Toons Negative Reviews

Play AND exercise your brain with the BRAND NEW, incredibly addicting game from the makers of Wordscapes. Solve fun cro...

Blockscapes - Block Puzzle negative reviews, comments
Blockscapes - Block Puzzle Negative Reviews

BLOCKSCAPES, a new beautiful relaxing block puzzle, created SPECIALLY FOR YOU. Inspired by one of the warmest natural ma...

Wordscapes In Bloom negative reviews, comments
Wordscapes In Bloom Negative Reviews

Exercise your brain and with thousands of challenging word puzzles, set in a relaxing botanical garden of gorgeous puzzl...

Race Time! negative reviews, comments
Race Time! Negative Reviews

One touch racer! Race against the world and challenge your friends New tracks and tournaments every day ...