3.7
3.77089 star

Total 87 Negative Reviews

Toyota App Complaints & User Negative Comments

Toyota app received 87 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Can you share your negative thoughts about toyota?

Please wait! Toyota Facebook comments loading...



ConnectionIt is true that If I don’t have this app installed I can not connect my iphone and I can not hear my music from my phone? Because it’s happening suddenly. I don’t want to pay for it..Version: 1.1.9

Terrible for aPaid ServiceYou’d think paying for a service would deliver a professional and consistent experience with more features than you would get from a free service or feature that comes with the vehicle; but this app and service fall way short in its user experience, quality and the features it offers. The remote start may be the most desired feature the app offers, but you’re required to pay for the feature after a trial of 1 year. The remote start works “okay” as long as your phone has signal and the vehicle itself has a strong enough signal to the satellite or whatever it uses to relay the command. The worst part of the remote start is that it shuts the vehicle off when unlocked. You have to start the vehicle AGAIN for some silly reason. This is something you’d encounter when installing a third-party remote starter but rarely ever with manufacture integrated remote starts... I honestly don’t know what other features the app/service offer or if they’re worth paying for. They’re not significant enough to justify paying monthly or annual subscription cost IMO. Possibly the most detailed feature of this app has, it’s ability to track your driving. It’s nice you can opt out, but it leaves one guessing whether the data is still being collected anonymously..Version: 1.1.5

DisappointingThis app is buggy. I drive a 2020 RAV4 limited hybrid. This app doesn’t work with a new car. Nothing updates or connects. Spent a lot of time on calls/hold with the service number trying to get the VIN to work, odometer to update, and controls to respond. Still doesn’t work but I was told the app is still being worked on. I feel like Toyota is falling behind in the software department (e.g. app, camera GUI, infotainment system, etc). Mechanically their products are great but the software is worrisome. The app needs to be fixed before I’ll open it again. Please work on this problem. As a new buyer, this app was a big part of the car’s appeal. It’s disappointing that it does not work. I think everyone who can’t use the remote connect services should have an extension to their free trial period. Thanks!.Version: 1.0.13

UnreliableUnlike the Toyota cars themselves, the remote app is horribly unreliable. I only need to use it infrequently, and when I do try to use it, it usually fails to launch. It asks me to enter my VIN (which I have done a dozen times now) and then it tells me that this is not the correct account for that vehicle. I have called Toyota help, and they tell me to delete and then reinstall the app. This doesn’t work. Then they reset something and I’m back in business, except that the moment of need has passed and it has failed me. Again. I’m not sure what I’m getting for my monthly fee, but it isn’t worth it. I don’t want to renew my subscription, but once in a while it actually works, so I feel very stuck, and taken advantage of. Oh, and the support for this app is not open weekends so you’re out of luck if you need it (e.g. to unlock your car) after hours..Version: 1.1.9

Works e when it wants toOwner of a 2019 Rav4 Limited Hybrid. Leaving this review because this app works when it wants to. The app they discontinued wasA LOT more functional! The notification for where the vehicle is parked doesn’t work properly even after refreshing the map! The app takes its sweet a**s time to tell you that you left a window open!. I recently got my rav4 broken into and had a window broken and the app didn’t even picked up that the window was open until the next morning when i personally saw it with my own eyes. This app has potential but Toyota needs to find better developers! To Make this app as good as their cars! Hopefully they could read my reviews, the review of most in here and get to WORK! Have real time notification for situation like break in! Have real time notification when your car moves and is parked elsewhere ! I wasted my hard earned Money and I expect the app to work flawlessly ! COME ON TOYOTA YOU CAN DO BETTER !!!!.Version: 1.0.23

Too much moneyToo much money for what you get...it should be $10/month for all 3, not each..Version: 1.1.10

Extremely DisappointedRecently bought a 2020 Rav-4 XSE Hybrid and choose this model in part for the Remote Start feature. Living in the north, having this is extremely helpful for cold morning where there is frost, snow, etc. I originally downloaded the Toyota Remote App since it has higher ratings, but after entering my VIN I received a message that “this app is no longer supported. Please download the Toyota App”. After following these directions and downloading the Toyota App and setting up my account, I then followed the instructions for Remote Services several times. Each time receiving a response that it can take up to 24-hours for connection AND each time receiving a message the the connection failed. I am extremely disappointed in Toyota with this product. I have a friend who has a Chevy and has Remote Start button on the key fob in addition to the app. Seems like sending new key-fobs with this button may be the best option with so many negative reviews stating the same issue. I’d either like a permanent fix to this in the app and/or a replacement key-fob with the option to remote start from the fob Toyota. If like some answered Toyota after spending my hard earned money of a failed product that you keep marketing as a feature. If it doesn’t work, it’s not a feature!.Version: 1.0.16

GarbageAbsolute garbage!.Version: 1.1.9

Useless for remote startThe main reason I have this app is for the remote start and it is practically useless. When you enter the app, you have to enter a password or scan your face. Why would you need a safety feature like that? You already need that to open the phone itself! So now you WAIT to get past the security, then have to WAIT several MORE seconds as the app opens (no, it is not ready to go like all other apps). Then, when pressing the button to start your engine, you WAIT EVEN MORE as it communicates with your car. It gets worse....it does not always communicate with the car.(It does not matter where you are or strength of your wifi). So you WAIT while it says it’s communicating, then see that it didn’t work, then have to press it again and WAIT....this can go on 2-5 times before it starts or not at all!!! By this time, I can walk to my dam car and warm it up myself!! Useless!!.Version: 1.1.6

Works great when it Works!We have two new vehicles for which we have the Toyota App with. It works for neither currently! I am paying for Remote Connect for one vehicle that I can’t use it for. The car gives the message “Network Connection unavailable”. This will be the second time that I have to bring the car into the dealership for a firmware update. Very disappointed in that! On our second new vehicle, I activated the Remote Services connection and I know it is working somewhere as it will give me a message if my doors are unlocked, but even with deleting and reinstalling the app, I don’t see Remote Connect available for the truck in the app. Again...disappointing! When you buy a vehicle with technology, you want it to work all the time, especially if you are paying for the connect services! Fix the app, fix the technology in the vehicles or don’t charge for the service!.Version: 1.1.11

App in not workingMy car is 2019 CHR , but the app and the continue button its not working at all.Version: 1.1.11

Remote App has stopped workingVery disappointed in this app. It stopped working for me Feb. 11. Remote start was a must when I bought my new 2020 RAV 4. I have even called Toyota customer service and could not help, I was on the phone for over 30 minutes with no resolution. Your app needs major work..Version: 1.1.9

Worst app I’ve ever usedAbsolute garbage. Want to start the engine while the doors are unlocked? Nope! Instead of just locking the doors and starting the engine, the app forces you to send a lock command. Ok fine, I can live with that. But its not that easy. The start engine will still fail until you physically refresh the status of the doors. But not the main refresh, like when you pull down the screen to refresh, you have to open the status window and refresh from there. So if your doors are unlocked, you have to go through three unnecessary steps and about a full minute or longer of waiting for the functions to complete just to start your car. Just what I want to do while I’m rushing in the morning. Toyota, please fire your entire QA department and hire 9 year olds to test going forward. Seriously, I let my 9yo daughter test this for 10 minutes and she identified all of these issues. What an absolute embarrassment to Toyota. Now I have to rip out the factory remote starter and spend money on an aftermarket remote starter. Thanks a lot!.Version: 1.0.15

Issues since the integration of Entune app featuresAfter the Entune app features were integrated a few months back, I’ve had issues with the notifications from the app. I turned off notifications for door locks because when the truck is in my garage, I have no need to lock the doors. The app appears to ignore that setting and still sends me push notifications. I’ve deleted and reinstalled the app as well as toggled the setting. Nothing has worked. Also, why would a remote start shut off after the doors are unlocked? No other manufacturer or aftermarket remote start does this. Seems like a good way to sell new starters after you burn yours out with double the duty cycle from having to start twice every time. I find that I remote start less simply because it’s cumbersome. Anyone that’s ridden with me when I have remote started agrees that it’s idiotic..Version: 1.1.8

Please enter a Valid First name. I only have one. No where to go on thisKeeps asking for a name to register.Version: 1.1.11

Limited functionsThis app is very basic compared to what’s available by otherManufacturers. Options that should be available: -Scheduled start -Remote control of climate control (Ie: for allowing to dog in car safely whole away) Once those are implemented I believe it would be a more complete app but in the meantime I expected much more..Version: 1.1.10

Just horribleI opened my remote connect app today and was met with a message that it will no longer be available after September 8th. The message contained a link to download the new app. The link it followed wouldn’t download it. I called the customer service number that Toyota gave to another reviewer who complained. 33 minutes on the phone, most of it on hold after I had followed all of the prompts in Toyota’s annoying automated answer message. The first rep who answered transferred me and I was on hold for 25 minutes before someone else answered. I had to explain to this person what I needed 4 times before she understood my simple statement. Then her equipment started malfunctioning. I was only hearing every other syllable she said. In the end, she didn’t resolve my issue. She kept saying “I’m putting notes about your problem into the computer” she suggested that I use “a browser or something” to search for the app. I tried that after we hung up. I still couldn’t download it. I’ve bought 5 brand new cars in my lifetime. This is my first Toyota. It will definitely be my last one..Version: 1.0.24

$30 a month?!Is this a joke. You expect people to pay $30 a month for this garbage service after the trial expires. Unreal!.Version: 1.1.10

Junk/annoying/uselessMost of the time the app doesn’t work as intended. Slow, intermittent usability. The kicker is that Toyota wants you to pay for this after a year? Makes me think twice about ever purchasing a Toyota again, if they can’t get this right I’m nervous about my Tacoma’s future!.Version: 1.1.9

Unable to contact serverThis is exactly why I won’t pay 10$/month to keep this app. When it’s -20C, I’d like to be able to pre-warm my RAV4 Prime while it’s plugged to my 240V outlet. 🤬.Version: 1.1.9

Low priority for correcting app Remote Connect app AT&T network connectionFinally got an explanation for why this app is not working for some of us (strange that it is not all) with our new 2020 Camry Hybrid & Rav 4s after talking to a skilled Toyota Experience Center person. Told it was a known problem with the very secure AT&T connection to car and the app & the we’re working on it and we would be contacted when fixed. It’s apparently a low priority as, come on, this is not rocket surgery! Also asked why this problem is not & “solution is in the works” made known to dealerships sales & service, buyers of affected vehicles, or made public in a press release. Not going to happen. Also note: strange how I got no response to Google & other search engines or Toyota forums, trying to find out what was wrong with my new car, since dealership clueless. How does Toyota keep this info hidden? The only place I found out this was a widespread issue was here on the app reviews. IF this function is ever delivered as fully working, I will demand that one year “free” trial start then..Version: 1.0.14

Has potential so bugs need fixingI was bummed when I paid almost $30,000 for my RAV4 hybrid LE only to find out that the TPMS does not actually give you a tire pressure. So when some blogs stated that the Toyota app does it I was excited. Unfortunately, the app DOES NOT show the tire pressure it always only say NA. I went to my Toyota dealer and even they could not figure it out. They sent me to servicing and they didn’t know either which is quite sad. Finally the associate had to google the information to see what he could find and saw a blog stating that this is an issue with the app and that Toyota is suppose to be updating the app as some customers depending on their phone model and vehicle year can see it while others in newer models and with newer phones cannot. UPDATE your app to see tire pressure please!!! I shouldn’t have to wait until the TPMS light is on to know what my tire pressure is. Not sure who sat in an office and thought this upgrade was a good idea but it is stupid. This is a basic feature most cars should already have on them why I even have to use an app to do this and one that doesn’t even work is beyond my comprehension..Version: 1.1.7

CrapYou want us to pay 30$/month to use this app really. And on top get our data! i will not pay toyota 360$ per year to get add and give away my data.Version: 1.1.9

Toyota apps are so bad ....I buy a vehicle every 3 years. Thought I would try a Toyota. I just spent $65,000 on a loaded 2021 Highlander Platinum plus hitch, roof rails, dashcam, winter tire set, etc. The Toyota app and dashcam are so poorly designed and non responsive that this is the last Toyota I will buy. Also, the vehicle has so many “nanny controls” (passenger cannot input an address in GPS while in motion, front camera has a large portion blacked out, etc). So, the software and app are bad and it reflects on the company and products..Version: 1.1.10

Démarrage impossibleLe démarrage avec l’application est toujours impossible en juillet 2020 sur mon Rav-4 trail 2020. Le concessionnaire nous réfère à Toyota Canada et Toyota Canada nous réfère au concessionnaire... Mise à jour du système dans le véhicule (3h d’attente au garage) et toujours non fonctionnel... Très déçu. Je ne connais pas personne dans ma région pour qui le démarrage est fonctionnel. Ne proposez pas le produit si celui-ci n’est pas prêt..Version: 1.0.24

This app sucksDoesn't even let me to put the VIN in.Version: 1.1.9

Grrrr🤬Faut tu aller au garage au deux semaine le refaire programmer pour que sa fonctionne ? Sérieux c’est vraiment déplaisant . Encore le même problème il se met pas à jour tu clique pour starter pis sa ne fait que tourné . Une chance que c’est gratuit pour l’instant pcq je ne payerais pas pour une application qui fonctionne mal Va t’il refonctionner ou bien faut encore que je retourne au garage ? Aider moi à résoudre le problème svp.Version: 1.0.11

The app is okay but has issuesI bought a 2020 Camry XSE with all the bells and whistles. I just don’t understand how I can locate my vehicle in a parking lot. I can’t turn on the hazard lights from the app. When I called customer service, I was told that my vehicle doesn’t have that feature. When you remotely start the car and open the door, the car will turn off, which doesn’t make sense. They say that it is a safety feature. I think this will be my last Toyota car unless they improve their features. Toyota needs to look at the competition and try to match what they have. Why can't we send directions to the vehicle through the app? Using destination assist takes too long, and sometimes they can't find the places..Version: 1.1.9

What?I just purchased a 2020 Toyota CHR and I’m entering my Vin number but it says it’s not supported ?? Lol what a joke...Version: 1.1.9

Toyota AppI own a RAV4 hybrid 2019 and I never use this app bc it is not reliable..Version: 1.1.9

App is garbageHave tried linking this app to my brand new 2021 Tundra for three days. All I get is an error message saying there is an internal server error and to call the call centre. Do you think that number can be found anywhere... he’ll no. Now I have to take the truck back to the dealer 4 days after I bought the truck. This is a horrible app so far..Version: 1.1.8

Remote connect features often do not work at allAlong with all the other mentions you’ll see on here, I often cannot get the remote features to work at all. Oddly enough the odometer and other status updates, like whether your doors are locked or not, do work. The main issue and of course the biggest selling point is the remote start and lock/unlock functionality from your phone. The button will just spin and spin infinitely and never actually do anything. It seems to want to work some days, but mostly not at all. Very disappointing indeed, as besides this I adore my new 2020 Camry XSE. Even more unfortunate, the salesman was trying to show it to me and even as he tried it it wouldn’t work. Disappointing but otherwise my car is awesome. Just my 2 cents..Version: 1.0.14

Functional, but not practicalThe app has only three functions: operate the door locks, operate the hazard lights, and remotely start the vehicle. You can never be sure that any of these functions have been carried out, because the app does not always automatically update the vehicle status. If you try to lock the doors, it will often go off in a processing fugue, necessitating a reset by closing out the app and reopening. Then it it will say that the doors are still unlocked. Press the lock doors button again, and thirty seconds later you’ll get a notification that the procedure failed because the doors were already locked. Try to start the vehicle and you’ll get a notice that the vehicle failed to start because the doors aren’t locked. So you have to go through the tenuous door Locking procedure just to start the car. It’s often quicker and less irritating to just walk out and start the vehicle manually. Why not just make locking the doors part of the remote-start procedure? How about adding some other functions to the app, like turning on the defrosters and seat warmers?.Version: 1.1.9

Remote servicesI thought your original version called Entune was absolutely horrible, how can you get more horrible? Bought a 2021 highlander hybrid limited with the remote services app and I don’t think I’ve got it to work 5 times. Come on Toyota! Your better then that. You spend a million dollars a day on research, find a different company to build an app that works! I have to re-log on almost every day to access it, it sometimes doesn't recognize you so you have to start from scratch and start a new account. Then sometimes it just doesn’t work and times out, almost always the facial recognition doesn’t work. I’ve tried everything from re-installing the app, shutting down and restarting my phone, even bought a brand new phone. It takes way too much time to start the vehicle even when it does work. Today, after waiting 3-5 minutes, it says “ sorry, experiencing technical difficulties”I love Toyota but as a company, you need to fix this problem because you are hurting your own reputation for reliability. If this problem is not resolved, I will get rid of this app and go aftermarket remote start..Version: 1.1.6

Just awfulThe remote connect was a major seller when deciding on my 2020 RAV4. A way of accessing my car in a click of a button. Now that would be great...if it ever worked. When first purchasing the car in February the app was AMAZING, especially on the colder days here in New England. Now let’s fast forward a bit and the functions start taking longer to process. Then it stops working all together, I can no longer use the functions most useful to me. Then a miracle happens! The app is working again, I’m over the moon! Then we fast forward and again the tasks start taking longer to perform. A constant state of “contacting vehicle” no joke have sat on this screen for over 5 minutes. And then if I’m lucky it will finally decide that it can’t complete the task. So incredibly happy that in purchasing my vehicle I was given a free trial period, now I definitely will not be paying for this feature when that trial period ends..Version: 1.1.1

Camry 2018 navigation problemI have camry 2018 and iphone 11. Wants to use navigation through scout. There is no entune 3.0 in app store in canada. And i have scout and toyota app on my phone. Try to pair it with car music system but nothing works . Please solve this problem i need navigation.Version: 1.1.9

Unhappy with the remote startSince I purchased my 2020 Camry XSE in December of 2019 I have problems with the app. When it works I love it, but often it doesn’t work. I notice when it doesn’t work the gas mileage to empty stays the same no matter how much gas I have. That’s happened a quite of few times. Also I notice that when you push the button start it when it keeps going in a circle to connect if haven’t connected in one to two minutes it’s not going to work and the last one would be if I don’t receive a notification about if the car being unlock or locked then I know it’s not working. I had to take it to my local dealership 3 times for a update and it still does the same thing. Once again love it when it works properly and it’s a great feature to have. P.S. The new 2021 or 2022 Camrys should have features as memory seats and passengers climate controls & passengers USB ports or rear plug in chargers port for the passengers. Please fix the app for it to be better for customers. Thank you.Version: 1.1.1

App is awfulAll I get is can’t connect to server..Version: 1.1.9

App is useless.This app never works for me, it offers no good information and it doesn’t offer any beneficial things such as payment info, how much you have left on your finances, and gives you no info about your car. Also prompts me with it stating the app is no longer supported..Version: 1.1.10

Error now showing on car screenWas asked to update through an email from Toyota Canada to use this app only and delete my entune app and now I get a downloading error each time I'm driving my vehicle. My service dept has sent this error to Toyota Canada over a week ago and still no response. Very annoying.Version: 1.1.9

Terrible appI bought a new Toyota Tacoma I picked it up yesterday and the salesperson and I connected to the technical support, the lady was in another country for sure and all she did was put us through to another division of course the phone disconnected. We got verification codes when we were already signed in, not user friendly. I finally had to leave I drove two hours home, I went back to the truck and started with the key fob the truck started then when I opened the door it stayed running. The truck stalled when I went to put in drive and then the lights were flashing on the dash warning check ignition system. I ended up calling and getting advice and the guy said it’s that app causes the problem because it thinks someone is stealing the truck. This app is an embarrassment, I had the Chev app for 4 years without issue. Just trying to send this I have had to try 7 different Nick names..Version: 1.1.11

Toyota Tundra 2020That is pretty bad idea to pay all those services for using app, that way better Honda or Ford they have smart key and we don’t need to pay anything extra.Version: 1.1.9

Won’t recognize my car.For a company like Toyota, this is a garbage app. I purchased a used 2018 Camry but it won’t recognize the car as mine. I called Toyota to transfer the ownership to me, but the app still doesn’t work. Fortunately I was able to upgrade to Apple CarPlay and don’t need to use Toyotas useless app..Version: 1.1.10

Worthless appWe purchased a 2020 Camry and we was happy because we were receiving notifications about windows or door opened and we were able to start the vehicle using the phone or Iwatch. So much for that, it worked for about the first two months. Then the pandemic came and I am one of “at risk” so I called the app support and was told to take the vehicle to the dealer to get fixed, but before I could make an appointment it started to work. Finally I ventured out and drove to NY and that was the last time the connect worked. The only info or status I get is the trips I take but no notifications at all. The reason I am submitting a review is because the trial period is coming to an end, although it has been extended I don’t see it would be a good idea to pay for something that would not work, and I would probably not renew the safety connect, if one doesn’t work I’m sure the other one would be worthless as well..Version: 1.1.5

Terrible App, how did this get passed QCI am unable to update any of my personal information, my email was initially incorrectly entered and now if I try to change it in personal data , all I get is an unauthorized message and I can’t proceed any further !!.Version: 1.1.9

If you want ANY remote start, better pay $80 for this garbage app.This app is so annoying it’s almost unbearable and to top it off, you have to pay $80/year after a measly 1 year trial. I had my Silverado app for free for the entire 5 years I owned it. The only reason I paid the $80 is because surprise! When this app’a free subscription runs out after a year, Toyota also disables remote start FROM YOUR KEY FOBS as well. So your $55k truck will have NO remote start at all unless you spend $80 on this horrendous app. This app is too stupid to just lock your doors before it starts the truck, so it’ll just give you error codes for failed to start, then you have to lock the doors through the app, refresh the app, and hope it lets you start it. If it doesn’t, close the app, restart it, then try again. The app constantly freezes, doesn’t update quickly, it’s just a mess. Can’t wait to get rid of my 2020 tundra and this terrible app, everything about this Toyota experience has been miserable..Version: 1.1.8

Doesnt workDownloaded app one year ago. Worked great for first week. After first week couldn't start car or lick doors anymore however, the tracking still works. App can tell me mileage, how much fuel in tank, where I park and even my driving score! Big brother watching for sure. Thing us, I don't want tracking, I want the remote start and door locks. After troubleshooting and a few phone calls I called the number for the app. They tell me there's a "glitch". Still doesn't work a year later. I receive notice that my free trial is up. I call again to see if app will work in future and if I get an extension on free trial since it didn't work. Took me 25 minutes on hold to speak with an agent. She knows nothing! She asks for my number to contact me in case we get disconnected. Puts me on hold for several minutes until the call drops. Guess who never called back? I couldn't take another 25 minutes on hold to get to agent so I will delete this crappy app. Don't waste your time!.Version: 1.1.5

Does not work after renewalCalled twice to the service centre, still won’t activate. Charged my credit card. Both RAV4 & 4Runner 2020. Bad customer service..Version: 1.1.9

Had to constantly reinstall app, ended up deleting itWhen I first downloaded the app, all the relevant features were updated every time I connect to Apple CarPlay via usb cable when I got in the car. Then about 2 months later the tire pressure monitor along with odometer reading and fuel gauge was not updating on the app. No big deal..I can see all this stuff on the tachometer in the car anyway. I uninstalled and reinstalled the app everything was working like normal then the same issues happened again. I went through the Toyota app to see if there was anything worthwhile required me to keep it. While it’s convenient to have the manuals in the app, I just keep the physical copies in the car. I have the number to Toyota Roadside in my phone and a reminder on the calendar the date to renew Safety Connect..Version: 1.1.2

Hi go!!If you live in the US you’re in luck. Us Canadians get screwed by Toyota. I have a 2016 RAV4 was told that I would be able to use Entune. Lies all lies!!.Version: 1.1.8

Just one more feature that has constant problemsYou know it’s pretty sad that due to simple things like this app stocked with many other features of toyota have now caused my current Toyota to also be my last. I have owned a few Toyota models now in my lifetime. Since 2016 I’ve had two new Tacoma’s and a new 2020 rav4. And every one of them has some sort of technical flaw that just drives me nuts. Why is it so hard to have an app work? This app constantly crashes. Constantly logs me out. Constantly doesn’t connect. What is the point of giving this feature to folks if it doesn’t work. To buy a $45k rav4 off road and not have some of the simplest things work is unreal. Yes these vehicles “perform” well but they “function” poorly. So just a heads up for those trying to use this app; be prepared. You’ll have to manually start your vehicle more often then you get to use this..Version: 1.1.7

Frustrating app, doesn’t work consistentlyLike so many other reviewers on this app, we just purchased a 2020 RAV4 limited hybrid and the ability to remote connect to our vehicle was a big draw for us. You see, we live in a northern state where the temps drop below zero in the winter so we decided if we are buying a brand new vehicle for the first time, we wanted to finally be able to remote-start our engine to warm the car up and defrost our windows in the morning. However, this app only worked “consistently” for the first full week of owning our vehicle and has since only worked intermittently (about 50% of the time). This is extremely frustrating because there is no convenient way to resolve the matter (hence why I’m now leaving a review). I’ve left “feedback” via the app, which is supposed to be how you report problems concerning your connectivity with the app, but I have never received a reply back or instruction on how to fix it. When you call in, you wait on hold for long periods of time and when you go to the dealership they are unsure of how to help you. Toyota really needs to find a fix to this “buggy” app as so many reviewers have aptly described it. They should also reset the one-year free trial membership once the matter has been fully resolved since we have not been able to rely on it’s usability day-to-day..Version: 1.0.15

Awful, Terrible AppI had a ridiculously frustrating time signing up, and when I finally activated connected services after an hour of trying, the app hasn’t worked once. It hangs up on a white screen, “loading...” I called Toyota app support and had the privilege of waiting on hold for 35 minutes, then after several minutes of waiting for the rep to call the help desk, I was told that the help desk was aware that there’s an issue but there’s nothing they can do. Try again in a few days and if it still doesn’t work, call back again, I was told. I did this. Again, 30 mins on hold, followed by another rep letting me know that there’s no solution to the problem. What’s the point? This is literally the worst app that’s ever been created. Should I call tech support again? Spend 30 more mins on hold? What a joke..Version: 1.1.3

APP UX terrible and flawed in many waysI mean where do I begin. The remote features on this app are so bad. The remote start is pushed and often doesn't start the car. It will lock the doors so I know it is connecting to the car however it will fail to start the car with multiple attempts. Also once the car starts it runs for 10 min. then the button says “stop” after the time runs out, even though the car has already stopped running. So if you want to start it again you push/hold the stop button(WHY?!) then once it connects it will say “start” which you have to push and hold again waiting for it to connect and start(if it actually works. Also when you open the the car stops running (WHY?!) how about if you don’t have the key and put it in gear then it then it stops!! The app often is not accurate as far as last trip. Toyota it’s 2021, spend some money on better ux and developers please..Version: 1.1.8

App not functioningI have had my 2020 Rav4 for 2 weeks now. For most of that I have been unable to remotely start the vehicle. The App refreshes but does not provide the updated information. I am very disappointed as having the car starter was a must have for me. Please Toyota repair your App to make it functional!.Version: 1.0.11

Good, but needs improvementI bought a 2020 Tundra in August and have used this app many times to remote start my vehicle. It works a majority of the time, however, when the doors are unlocked it fails to remote start the vehicle. I get the safety & security aspects of this, but couldn’t the app / car figure this out and automatically lock the car and then remote start the vehicle instead of giving us the “remote command failed”. I would also like the vehicle to continue running when remote started when I unlock the doors and get in. The security should be to have the vehicle shut off when touching the brake to put it in gear or something similar. For Toyota employees that might read this- test drive a Ram to see what I am speaking of. Ram has this feature done the right way..Version: 1.1.5

Still not working.....VIN # is correct, login credentials are correct, Vehicle even accepts authorization pin. App then says its awaiting authorization then fails to authorize and says to try again. Been through this multiple times and even after update still not working. The Remote connect people are of no help and the developer response here on AppStore is no help either everyone just give you the runaround. If you are having problems with this app just stop right now. You could wind up like me wasting several hours of your life trying to get this to work with nothing to show for it. The most frustrating thing is how difficult it is to get developer support in this. The SOS people say they are not tech support and refer you to Toyota USA who then refers you to the dealer who does not know jack because their service technicians are not software developers or IT people. I have a feeling that a lot of these issues are due to IT back end database issues. Need help from someone who actually has access and understanding about how the software interacts with the server..Version: 1.0.16

Overall Good App but needs featureHey could you guys possibly add better notification support? Like more descriptive when and what happening in the pop up on the phone, and a more detailed log of what happened and when in the app itself. Currently it keeps only a very few amount of notifications and ran into a situation today where I don’t know if my Highlander was unlocked and trunk opened by me by accident with the keys in my pocket, or did I forget to unlock the car in general and someone opened it up to see what I had (thankfully nothing of value in the vehicle other than the vehicle itself). Also a notification option for when doors/good/trunk are opened up and left open for too long that maybe repeats itself would be helpful too..Version: 1.1.5

Basic features work well, but it doesn’t update properlyDefinitely still some work to be done on the app. I love being able to remote start my Highlander Hybrid from a half mile away, inside a convention center, hotel, whatever. But, once started, the timer counts down, and it continues to say the vehicle is running if the timer runs out, or you go out and open the door, etc., and the engine shuts off. Really big disconnect! Also, not happy that the engine shuts off when the door opens. It doesn’t matter if it’s hot or cold outside, it should continue to run. Make the safety feature trying to put it in gear without the fob present, not opening the door. That’s a very poor choice, since you can’t remote start without the doors being locked. Also, when remote starting in cold weather, I love that it retains the seat heater settings, but I can’t see any way to turn on the front or rear/side defrost systems, and those settings are NOT retained, when the vehicle is shut off. It’s a very odd and unfortunate series of features, and it was particularly obvious who disjointed this system is, today, when my car was covered in ice and snow, warmed up 10 minutes, then shut off just before I got outside. My phone said it was still running, the front windshield was not defrosted, but my seat was warm when I got in. The dev team needs to work on this some more with engineering and turn this into a much more logical set of options..Version: 1.1.8

Face ID no longer workingAfter 1.5 years of constant struggles with my connected services failing, Toyota gave me a year free to test them seeing as I couldn’t get more than a few weeks of uninterrupted services. While this is a nice gesture from Toyota as per the endless ongoing issues the app still continues to face issues from one update to the next. This time my biometrics (FaceID) has stopped working meaning anyone who’s in my phone (if unlocked) can now just start, or unlock my SUV. I would also like to echo comments below about the cost. When (IF) I start paying it should only be $10 for all 3 services. It shouldn’t even be separated like that, no other automotive company does this. $30/ mo is a huge ripoff for so little back in services that do not deliver, or work. I honestly think at this point Toyota needs to scrap the entire app and start completely over. They may want to start by throwing away Entune and redesigning that from the ground up too. Sorry guys but your technology feels 10 years ago..Version: 1.1.10

What?!It stopped giving me a status report two days ago. It does show correct mileage. I called the number the support has mentioned on other’s previous reviews. When you finally get to the name of this app, choose multimedia (Does that make sense? It does not to me). Support told me that it needs a firmware update and then I have to go to the dealer. Apparently, there was a bulletin put out two days ago. Why didn’t Toyota notify the owners? Why do I have to go to the dealer to get the firmware update? Can’t it be done remotely? Another thing, they said that since my car is under warranty, it should not cost me anything!! Does that mean when it needs another firmware update that I will have to pay for it? From what I remember most programs and other things do not need to pay for a firmware update. The dealer is over 20 miles away from me. What a pain!!.Version: 1.1.1

UnfortunateApp will not allow me to log in. I can verify my email, and I can reset the password, but once I do that and save the changes it does not allow me to log in still, always stating “this user *my email* already has an account please enter the password”. I can click “log in with Facebook” and after I allow Facebook to use the app it says the same message. When I click on “forgot password” it sends me a verification number via email and I enter it in and the app then allows me to change my password. Once it’s changed it seems to save it and then immediately backs out the the error screen saying my email account already has an account and I need to enter the password, and if I enter the brand new password I’ve just created it says wrong password. Been messing with the app for a couple of weeks now and nothing seems to work..Version: 1.0.23

App sucksThe app is too slow. Its keep saying interrupted. Even im literally 2 feet away from my car and I have full bars of wifi signal..Version: 1.1.10

False advertisementI got this app for the reason of starting the car from my phone (iPhone 11) and to unlock and lock the doors. However this app doesn’t do any of that as it basically only helps locate a place to service the car :-( also seems like I’m not the only person experiencing this and that Toyota isn’t doing anything about it but asking people to contact some sort of customer service number that isn’t helpful either. Please update the app or get rid of it..Version: 1.1.9

App doesn’t work!I recently purchased a 2020 Toyota RAV4 XLE Hybrid. I was so excited to hear that it had an app which I could start/stop my car and lock/unlock it as well. However, I’m extremely disappointed with the glitches and bugs that this app constantly has. Since I’ve purchased this car (2 months ago) I have had my car not connect to the app 7 times. I’ve been on numerous phone calls attempting to correct this problem. This is, as I have already stated ...extremely disappointing!!! This app was a major appeal to the RAV4. I live in a northern state and would love to actually be able to use this feature to start my car during the winter season when we at times have subzero temperatures. Please fix the bugs in this app so I can use it!.Version: 1.0.14

Useless AppDidn’t work well on the 2011 back then. Didn’t work well on the 2021 Sienna either. Most of the time can never unlock the van whenever needed to use the app..Version: 1.1.10

Basic functionality, needs more featuresRemote start works, yet I wish there was a way keep the engine running after I unlock the door of my car. There should be an option that informs you of the safety concerns, and that you understand that you are choosing not to follow that in order to allow the engine to keep running after unlocking your doors. After seeing what Hyundai offers in their remote app, the Toyota app seems too basic. That app allows for adjustment of in car climate controls for both driver and passengers, seat warming and cooling, front passengers seat ventilation, and a plethora of other customizations that aren’t available through this app. I hope Toyota will bring updates to this app to allow for more remote access to car features..Version: 1.1.8

Non fonctionnelImpossible d’accéder aux fonctions de l’application depuis une semaine. Rien ne fonctionne. J’ai contacté le service sans résultat jusqu’à maintenant et il me reste le concessionnaire. Je suis en période d’essai mais je ne pense pas payer un abonnement à cette application si peu fiable. J’espère que les contrôle du véhicule seront plus fiables que cette application. C’est franchement une application a raffiner car elle pourrait être très utile. Dommage!.Version: 1.1.9

TerribleI originally had this app when I bought my 2019 Camry but it was very poor. Dead of winter and i try to remote start the car only to find out I’ve been signed out and I have to go through the entire process again of connecting the app to my car. The software just doesn’t work. I switched to a different remote connect and it’s been working great. Sign in today and tells me the app is no longer supported and gives me a link to download an app and brings me right back this app smdh. I’m not sure why I’m being forced to use an app that doesn’t work. If I could give a negative rating I would. Only reason I’m writing this review is because I’m being forced to use this app that doesn’t work for a service I pay for. I just want to be able to use the service that’s it. What’s troubling is I left this app several months ago and the rating was not good then but the rating is ever lower now so what has the developer been doing?.Version: 1.0.21

New app, same inconsistent resultsI was excited that my new rav4 had the option to remote start, lock my vehicle with my phone, and show status of doors/windows. Sadly this feature is so inconsistent that I don’t fully trust it. Sometimes it will lock my car in my driveway and other times it can’t connect. Then I get my remote to lock it, refresh the status, and long and behold it shows my car is locked. So, it connected after I used my remote when 3 failures with my phone to lock happened. Please don’t tell me it’s a issue with vehicle location. There is nothing blocking it and it’s in the same spot for when it also works. This system is crap and unreliable. I’ve also had it show my doors as locked when they were not due to vehicle status not updating correctly. Please don’t tell me to call customer service because I did and they were of no help and just have vehicle locations/obstruction excuses. This service needs to be FREE since it’s so unreliable. I’m a long time loyal Toyota owner since I used to be one of the few female Toyota master technicians and know the quality of their product, but this system falls WAY short. Update 11/02 Now when I lock the doors I get the notification they are locked but the app lock button just spins non stop with no vehicle update on screen saying my door are locked. The only way to get a vehicle update and to stop the spinning is to force close the app and reopen it. Remind me again why I am paying for this????.Version: 1.1.5

AppSeriously, ur app is crap....Version: 1.1.8

FaultI have 2020 Toyota sienna SE. There is nothing on the app where I can start my car..Version: 1.1.10

Activate remote control serviceI brought my 2020 Camry on March 1st. And everything was fine . But in June 2020, my remote control service stopped working, even though I still have contract till feb 27th 2021. I called on 1-800 number so many times and they told me to take car to dealership. Which I did for 3 times. They kept my car overnight, and told me it’s fixed. But never got fixed. Then dealer told me to call on 1-800 num again. And same procedures over n over. And still till today my Fob don’t work and remote control service don’t work. I don’t know what to do? I previously owned two Toyota pick ups and RAV4. Such a wonderful Toyota company and they couldn’t fix this prob on new car? What a shame. I even emailed to CEO of North America’s Toyota . Still no help no response at all..Version: 1.1.2

I have deleted this appAfter 14 months including a 2 month free extension I have been asked to pay a monthly fee for this useless app. I am tired of Toyota’s empty apologies. It certainly hasn’t been an positive feature on my 2020 RAV4..Version: 1.1.9

App stop functioning!I am no longer able to start the 2020 RAV4 Remotely, nor lock or unlock the doors. Everything else is updating & working accordingly. The best features that I required no longer function...frustrating..Version: 1.1.9

And they want us to pay for this?!?We have a 2020 RAV4 hybrid purchased in March, and have been using the Toyota remote app up until a couple days ago with a few glitches and now it does not work at all😡. Shows the car unlocked which it isn’t, shows our last location of a few days ago which we’re not at any longer. Called the customer service twice each time on hold for a technical person for 20 minutes plus each time! The second phone call the rep stayed on the line with me, I finally stopped the phone call at 20 minutes and said you need to have a manager of technical support call me back, this is the worst customer service ever! Reading the reviews I don’t hold highly that anything is going to be changed, nor will I be called back from a technical manager to resolve my issue and I will not be purchasing the service from Toyota! Guess I should’ve done the three question survey after the 20 minutes on hold, although I don’t think that would go anywhere either! Toyota get your act in gear and provide a functional app for the vehicles you sell!.Version: 1.1.1

Works then doesn’tIt’ll work for a day, then not again for a week. This cycle continues. I have uninstalled and reinstalled. I have turned wifi on and off. Basically tried everything I can on my end. Even talked with salesman, nothing they could do. SUPER FRUSTRATING that this isn’t the easiest app I have. It should be. Winter is cold in Canada.... Get it together Toyota, I thank you in advance for your quick response and remedy to this problem..Version: 1.0.11

No longer works!App no longer works. Specifically it does not start my truck any more..Version: 1.1.8

Inconsistent appI’ve had a 2020 Avalon Touring for three weeks and similar to other reviews the app was great for about two weeks. This week I’ve had it give me alerts for cars I don’t own. Then I had no information on my Avalon. Finally that re-appeared later that afternoon. Now today neither my Avalon or my son’s 2018 Camry show on the app at all anymore. It wants me to add a vehicle. When I try to add my Avalon back it tells me ”Hmm, we didn’t recognize that VIN. Please try again.” Very disappointing as this was one reason I was interested in the vehicle. We have a similar app from Ford and it is rock solid. The other thing I noticed when it does work, the response time from sending the signal from the phone to the vehicle is very long. To the point where one time, it was completely pointless. I was at the car already and it had not started the vehicle after over 90 seconds..Version: 1.0.20

Can’t add carApp has a server issue? Where I can’t add my car by vin.Version: 1.1.9

CHRI think it doesn’t show anything on the remote connect app except for the kilometres, does chr 2021 has a remote connect.Version: 1.1.11

DisappointedI was excited when my new highlander had a factory installed auto start with the app. After a day of use I was frustrated and angry. I live in Alaska, I NEED the auto start to work. The app randomly connects to the car even just ten feet away with good phone signal. It doesn’t show that the auto start shut off in my app so I have to shut the app and log back in each time I do anything with it, even try to start it 2 consecutive times. There is no indication on the car it is running, like the parking lights coming on, the app has said it started but I go out to a cold car. When the app won’t connect it won’t tell you why. And the auto start shuts off when you get in, massively unhelpful in cold temperatures. I’ve only had the car three weeks and we’re looking into replacing the auto start..Version: 1.1.7

If I could give this app 0 I wouldPurchased a 2020 Camry XLE mid May. Worked until, apparently, June 5th and now matter what I do, I can’t get the remote start, lock unlock to work. Status shows a red circle with exclamation mark (!) in it. When you open it it shows the passenger side rear door is unlocked. I just came out and locked the doors manually. It is locked. Tried to Contact the vehicle and just get a big X and it was not connect. It does however track my driving as mentioned in another review. That works but I can’t connect to lock or unlock my doors or remote start. This is one of the worst apps ever. Worked for a while 2 weeks. Can’t find any information anywhere on how to fix this problem. I’ve even tried to re sync it to the car and it says it is synced. Come on Toyota - what’s the point of having remote start if it doesn’t work. Give me fob! How about, in your canned Developer Response, you put out a help site where someone can figure out how to get this working. Shame on you Toyota. This is my 4th Camry since 1992 and I’ve never been disappointed in one before this app that won’t let me remote start my car. I paid a lot of money for this car and I and all of the other unhappy people deserve more!.Version: 1.1.0

It doesn’t workYou can’t remotely start your Toyota with this app. I tried so many times with my Prius Prime and it didn’t work!!!.Version: 1.1.11

FrustratingApp works fine until you actually need it in the real world. 3 times I needed to auto start and that’s when it decided to force me to enter the password to use the app. 10 minutes later of resetting passwords and finally getting in, the auto start says command failed. I’m able to lock and unlock the doors but not start. Oh and when the prompt comes up to let you store your new password into your iPhone, the app turns the screen black skipping that option..Version: 1.1.8

No respect for the french languageTypos and errors were submitted many times since october 2020 and yet nothing fixed even in the last version.Version: 1.1.11

Awful!!! Don’t get suckered inWould like to give 0 stars but can’t. Bought a new Toyota last March. Added to app for remote connect which was free for a year. Since I didn’t go anywhere this year I never used it. Received a letter to renew for a monthly fee so thought I would check it out to see if it was worth it. My vehicle is no longer in the app and I can’t put it back in. Called the number the app gave me to talk to someone. After a series of menus that made no sense I was put on hold. Gave up after 15 minutes and called the number on the letter. After anther 10 minutes of explanation I was asked if they could call the people who could address the issue. Was sent back to the same queue as the first number I called. I’m done! You know what you can do with your app. I am certainly not going to pay you for the privilege of having an app I can’t use!!!!.Version: 1.1.8


Why should I report an issue with Toyota?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Toyota to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Toyota customer and are running into a problem, appsupports.co might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Toyota.

Is Toyota not working?

Toyota works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Toyota.

Applications with negative comments similar to Toyota
Toyota Travel negative reviews, comments
Toyota Travel Negative Reviews

The Toyota Travel app supports Toyota Motor North America events. Only invited attendees may access the application, whi...

Toyota Key Finder negative reviews, comments
Toyota Key Finder Negative Reviews

* Please note this application requires the purchase of a Toyota Key Finder from your local Toyota dealer * Don't waste...

Toyota Engage App negative reviews, comments
Toyota Engage App Negative Reviews

The Toyota Engage App is your go to source for Toyota USA Product, Technology and Services information. Users of the T...

Toyota Dealership Recognition negative reviews, comments
Toyota Dealership Recognition Negative Reviews

The Toyota Dealership Recognition App is a convenient mobile app for use by Sales Consultants and Sales Managers to view...

Toyota+Alexa negative reviews, comments
Toyota+Alexa Negative Reviews

Amazon Alexa in Toyota vehicles brings her tens of thousands of skills and services with you on the road that Amazon Ale...

Toyota Events negative reviews, comments
Toyota Events Negative Reviews

Toyota Events is the official executive mobile app for Toyota executives event itineraries. This mobile app allows you ...

Fuse: Communication Hub negative reviews, comments
Fuse: Communication Hub Negative Reviews

The FUSE App is the official app for workers in Toyota North America and the automotive industry. This mobile app provi...

Toyota Entune negative reviews, comments
Toyota Entune Negative Reviews

Entune App Suite is an in-car multimedia experience that keeps you and your Toyota connected. Entune App Suite is ...