Retro Bowl App Positive ReviewsNew Star Games

Retro Bowl Positive Reviews

4.8
4.82169 star

Total 232 Positive Reviews

Retro Bowl App User Positive Comments

Retro Bowl app received 232 positive comments and reviews by users. Can you share your positive thoughts about retro bowl?

Please wait! Retro Bowl Facebook comments loading...



Great Game!!!!This is such a great game. Brings back memories..Version: 1.4.76

Good gameShould be on steam.Version: 1.4.76

Lots of funCan’t stop playing..Version: v1.1.92

Edited review - I was wrong - it’s still good!Just picked this up again after a year or so of not playing, and while there are a number of good improvements, was worried that maybe the balance has tilted slightly towards pay to win? After playing a little longer, my fears were unjustified, and back to full 5 stars.Version: 1.4.76

Best Game Ever!!I rarely rate games.... but this is the best game ever! So much fun to play for hours. Brilliant work. It would be nice to have real players names (a good touch that you can edit) and I do understand there are likely licencing issues around names. Keep up the good work... simply love this game!!.Version: 1.4.22

Very AddictiveVery addictive game- I love building up and trading players coaches etc.Version: 1.3.42

Fantastic Find!I’m not sure how I stumbled across this game but I’m glad that I did as it is now my go to game when I have 5 mins, 15 mins or 50 minutes to spare. Well done to the developers for coming up with such a fun and addictive title!.Version: 1.3.42

Excellent little game.Simple enough, involved enough. Great fun and addictive. The perfect little game to dip in and out of but feel like your on a journey with your team. Great game..Version: 1.4.76

A must-buyI originally downloaded this game never hearing about it beforehand, played through the first three games, and came across the wall to purchase the rest of the game. For $1. After paying that $1 I have put countless hours into this game building different teams, coaching staffs, and mastering the different concepts the game had to offer. Before the most recent update, I believed it was too easy to score field goals — which was quickly remedied as it is now more difficult which is GOOD. This simple mobile game provides the GM experience you would like to see in an official EA Madden game, but simplifies the gameplay to offensive efforts only, having the defense simulate itself. Playing against teams you’ve built in the prior year can become your worst enemy as you’re going against your own evil creation. You can call audibles, timeouts, cut players, praise/fine players for certain actions, and so much more. The only recommendation I have for the developers of this game (if possible) is to try and implement a lateral system so the football can be passed off to another player close by to avoid a tackle, but with a higher chance of fumbling. Other than that, this game is an absolute must. Even if you know NOTHING about football, you will quickly pick it up and never want to put it down..Version: 1.2.12

Actually 4 stars but I want this to get noticedIts a great game for many reasons, and its frankly addictive. Ive been glued to it for a couple days now. My only problem with it seems to be that the better quarterback you have, the worse the receivers will be at catching. I found a free agent qb with maxed throwing stats and my receivers are as fast as they can be and both with high catching stats as well, but repeatedly the ball bounces right off their hands despite beating coverage. Honestly if people could know that the arm strength is a cost for catching, then I wouldn't have signed a 5star free agent and neither should anyone. Maybe if the drawback was intentional then maybe make it more obvious?? Or if it's not meant to be a drawback then maybe fix the bug? No other factors like morality or contract lengths have came into play as far as their gameplay ability goes and this possible drawback/bug has costed 2 game wins already. Love the game regardless, but that is a frustrating part of it..Version: 1.4.52

FunI played this game for a long time and it’s fun.Version: 1.4.76

Continuous funLove this game so much. Nice and simple yet you can sink hours into it while developing your teams skills. I would love to see a college football teams expansion which you could play through before entering the NFL this it would be absolutely amazing. I would also like the ability to change difficulty as although the playoff run is always challenging once you have played the game enough you can normally reach the playoffs in a single season after joining a failing club. Other than that great work all the little updates have only bettered my experience. Best mobile football game on the market in my opinion 👍.Version: v1.1.92

.99 for full versionHonest I love this game and am definitely gonna get the full version it is a gem of a game and not a disease like other games that are plagued with ads this game is pure clear the developers want a quality game and enjoyable experience for the player than making money.Version: 1.09

Great gameLove this game, definitely worth paying the 99p for it. On my 3rd season now and moved teams. Only thing I’d like the developer to do is tweak the sensitivity of the running backs when you move them they don’t always do anything or just stop?.Version: 1.16

RetroVery fun.Version: 1.4.76

ChurMean as.Version: 1.4.52

Fun and all but...Great game one problem I’ve had is that is I want to make a play with the quarterback it glitches and gives it to the running back which one reason I’ve lost many games overall this is the only problem I’ve had other than that I love this game😊.Version: 1.4.76

Great so farI am finding this game great at the moment, I am in my second year and doing well. It is easy to pick up and play, learning curve was high to begin with but once you start making good management choices it gets easier (at this point in time) anyway I highly recommend it for the time I’ve played (I was offered some in game credits to do review now).Version: 1.3.14

Great game even with the free versionSimple but enjoyable game. You’re given the opportunity to build a team from bottom dwellers to champions through drafting and upgrading your front office. Offense only is the only thing I can fault with it.Version: 1.3.79

Taught me how football worksGetting into this game has taught me how football works. No other football game has taken me past confusion with football and into understanding like this one. Like, I knew nothing about football before playing this game, nothing, and now I understand a lot! I was obsessed with this game for a while, but after a certain point I felt like there was no challenge. Every game basically plays the same way. Especially after optimizing my team, I started crushing almost every game except maybe one or two in a season. Starting a new game doesn't rekindle my interest either because the games still all play the same. I'm not sure what I'd like to see change. But I HIGHLY recommend this game all the same. Especially if it's free! Edit: Actually I'd like to play defense. Right now you don't actually play when the other team has the ball, text comes up that tells you what's happening and you don't control any of it until you get control again. If you have a low star defense, you can expect an opposing team to score every time they get the ball, making every interception devastating, and you can't do anything about it. It would be nice to have more control in order to mitigate this and also it'd just be fun! Still highly recommend..Version: v1.1.92

Decent birdYup.Version: 1.4.76

GREATAwesome but if there was online H2H it would be even better 100% better then madden mobile.Version: 1.4.76

Great little gameA fun little game. Worth playing for free but open up a few more options for a small fee. There aren’t a lot of options, but the simplicity makes it more fun and less nerdy. The controls during a game can be a little fiddly..Version: 1.4.76

Can’t play since updateReally need the developers to fix this. Just updated the app, can’t get past the bye week without an error message popping up. Please look into this as this is my favourite app at the moment.Version: 1.3.35

GreatCan’t keep my hands off.Version: 1.2.12

A+I've had retro bowl for awhile, and I've seen it go through many fun and amazing changes! This is by far one of the best sports games on the market. It's incredibly simple yet extremely addictive and entertaining! However amazing this game is, there's always room for improvement. Some things I would want to see changed are: 1) Option to simulate games. 2) Better variety of free agents. 3)Ability to play defense (in whatever way that may be, whether it be picking plays *blitz, *man to man, *etc. or singularly selecting a certain player *could only be star players), also with the choice of playing offense and/or defense. 4) Ability to see rest of draft class. And lastly 5)the option to change the length of a season (my suggestion would be an 8 game, a 12 game, a 16 game, and an 18 game) As for the last one I would also suggest giving the option to skip to certain points of the season. Thanks so much for creating this wonderful game and I hope you're able to see my suggestions and put them to good use! Thanks again!.Version: 1.3.42

Amazing for any NFL fanLove this game, the graphics the details and really enjoying the update where you can call time outs! Be keen to see if you can control the defence on future versions! Hours of fun and it’s the perfect pocket game to kill time!.Version: 1.3.14

Very goodJust here to get free credits.Version: v1.1.92

Best American football game on iOSOnce again conclusive proof that playability will win out over graphics. Deep experience building a franchise and end of season drafts and roster development as well as fantastic game play harking back to the classic Tecmo bowl..Version: 1.16

Addictive, Simple, FunThis game is the best complete American Football game mobile app I've ever played. The gameplay is easy and quick to pick up, and if you enjoy football at a more knowledgeable level there's actually some depth to it that you can enjoy. Really fun, and the limited free game is 100% worth a try..Version: v1.04

GoodGood time killer.Version: 1.4.76

Addictive!Absolutely loving this, and a steal for 99p after getting the first handful of games for free. Looks simple, but very addictive and has that ‘just one more game factor’. There’s nothing like your receiver breaking free from a CB and making for the end zone (although invariably they get chased down). Would like to see some tweaks, such as the chance to onside kick when trailing, but given this comes from the New Star Soccer stable, I’m sure it’ll be added to over time (the Retro Bowl account is very active on Twitter). Five stars for an excellent game..Version: 1.13

GreatEverything a mobile game should be: Fast, immersive, fun..Version: 1.4.49

Nice gameNice game.Version: 1.4.49

AddictiveExcellent game. I can’t put it down. Hard to keep the players morale up....Version: 1.3.42

Good game!Fun game!.Version: 1.4.76

Good and getting even better!Retro Bowl skilfully takes 8-bit, simple, and arcade-ish graphics and controls while simultaneously giving the player the management options that make it feel strategic but not overly-complicated. With every update, Retro Bowl adds new features to make the game better. Whether it be aesthetic differences (such as the addition of team customisation) or gameplay (such as the addition of timeouts and audibles) the game feels even more complete and enjoyable. I speculate that the game will continue to be updated for a while, so despite some people complaining about the lack of onside kicks or retired players not returning as a team coordinator, I am led to believe that the voice of the community will be heard and that Retro Bowl will continue to get better and better over time. Overall, this game is definitely worth a shot, so if your finger is just hovering above the “Install” button, give this game a chance and I am sure that you will enjoy!.Version: 1.3.37

So far enjoying it...So far I’m really enjoying this game. It’s the best American football game I’ve played in a while. The problem is that when it says if i want the unlimited version of the game and I press yes it says that I have no internet connection. I clearly do. I’m not sure if this is the same for everyone. I just want to play the unlimited version...other than that it’s a great game, the maker of this game has outdone themselves!.Version: 1.4.82

Awesome gameI love it.Version: 1.4.76

Great GameplayLove this game...brings a retro feel to new age devices. Controls are great and very fun..Version: 1.4.76

Fun gameFun game.Version: 1.4.76

Great GameSo. Much. FUN!.Version: 1.4.76

The perfect football gameRetro Bowl is incredible. I’ve been having such a fun time. The controls are amazing, the pixel style graphics are so perfect and I love all the franchise features as they keep me coming back. This is the perfect football game for iOS. Thank you! I’d love to see a baseball game made the same way!.Version: 1.4.22

You’re probably like me...In the sense that you were just chilling, sitting in this quarantine mess, and thought, meh... I’ll check the App Store. That’s how I got here too. Downloaded this game and let me tell you, download this game! It’s dope. Manage your team, sign contracts, draft 3 rounds, grow the team, work within cap space, the list goes on. It’s like a mini 8-bit madden franchise. they even suggest you play with a low ranked team and turn them to the best team in the game. That’s what I am doing and I’m enjoying improving my team as I win games. You have to keep track of your players’ moods and make decisions that impact your team, coordinators, or fans. The best part is.... THEY AREN’T IN YOUR FACE WITH THE ADS FOR IN APP PURCHASES.. Do you want to spend a dollar for the unlimited version they put extra work on and make it cooler and more interactive? YES... OBVIOUSLY I DO. Because I’ve spent a dollar on worse things and this one would actually go towards game improvements and other dope games like this. Quality game, 6 stars, great detail, thank you for your contribution devs..Version: 1.2.12

It’s greatThe game plays very clear it’s fun to play my grandpa was in the NFL and I showed him the game and he lives it.Version: 1.4.41

Cracking gameJust want to say i love this game. Brings me back to the old games you would play on the Commodore 64. What i would love to see added is watching and picking plays when your on defensive(probably a lot would disagree with me,but it’s jus my opinion)then i think the game would be complete. Love the updates you have added though.Version: 1.3.14

Love itA great balance of simplicity and fun with the strategic team-building side as well. The only change I can think of is to have the in-game option to either watch or skip seeing how your team’s defense plays..Version: 1.3.79

I don’t play football but this good footballFootball American fun.Version: 1.4.76

The bestBest American Football game on the store, no doubt about it.Version: 1.4.76

A lot of funThis game is great fun, short snappy games, with a great sense of progression and learning. I played close to 30 seasons and still found myself wanting to play another season! Also, I would say it’s worth paying for the unlimited version. I don’t normally like making in game purchases but in this case it’s great value and it allows you to tweak things to suit you, rather than just removing ads or getting upgrade items. So stick some classic 80s NFL games on the TV, fire up the Stranger Things soundtrack and dominate the league..Version: 1.3.14

Retro bowlGreat game.Version: 1.4.76

GoodThe game itself is outstanding, I liked every moment of it, I would like a version of it where it has different sports, for example soccer you have the main big countries and then you select where you wanna manage and go from the bottom league to the top divisions in said country and in the European continents you would have the champions league and Europa league so it’s more fun and the actual transfer windows. Also would like sports like basketball, baseball, etc I think it would be good for the App Store and people who like to play the retro bowl game.Version: 1.4.49

Awesome gameJust got into NFL recently and I am really enjoying this game! Would totally recommend to someone who is looking to get into NFL!.Version: 1.4.81

Amazing Football Game.This is an awesome football game. I’m a big fan of pixel games. I purchased the full version yesterday and I’m happy with the purchase, it is nice and cheap! I like how the games don’t feel boring. In a future update could you make it possible to bring 1 player from your old team to a new team. Or maybe have a daily challenge that gives you a few cc. Thanks for making such an entertaining game!.Version: 1.3.37

Cool gameVery fun n.Version: 1.4.76

Awesome simulatorQuick gripe: Honestly the actual game play is so simplistic I would love for more simulation elements to be added into the game. Maybe more in season options to shack up the roster like proposed trades. A more entrance level credit option for some low end free agents. Of course my larger idea is having players have a bust or gem potential with younger players. Everything is very predetermined. I can see the players potential in the draft and as long as I as the user am decent enough at the inputs there’s no downside to even one star players, since I can use my own personal skill to “takeover the game” through the air. Maybe if 1 Star QBs felt worse or couldn’t make the plays I see in my head, but that feels like the wrong answer the right answer sounds like having maybe a few more randomly generated elements to spice up the flow of the game. Other than that difficulty complaint. This game is nostalgic as all hell to look at, and a joy to play. The way you manage resources and grow attachments to your team is exactly what I look for in a game like this. You guys really nailed this development!.Version: 1.09

Great funAmazing fun, and great even free to play but i recommend buying the unlimted version for 0.99 purely just to support the devs for making an awesome game, please dont change the core gameplay in future updates!! Would love to see you guys make another game similar to this.Version: 1.3.61

The Best NFL game I’ve ever playedI think this is so great. The graphics are good, it’s 80’s retro style really brings me back, and it’s realism somehow astounds me. It’s just like the real thing!.Version: 1.4.76

NiceNice.Version: 1.4.82

Perfect to Pick Up and PlayThis is a fantastic game and in certain ways better than the latest and greatest on the market today. I remember a time when you could just buy a game, pop it in your console and get up and running in less than 5 minutes. Now you need to sign into accounts, be connected to WiFi, and have to download updates all the time. It’s understandable given the complexity of modern technology but it does take away from the overall experience. Mobile gaming has followed a similar route and when playing the latest FIFA and Madden games its crazy how many things you have to do to get started. Retro Bowl has brought back that nostalgic feeling to gaming and I look forward to building my team whenever I get the chance. It has a simple interface in which you are always playing offense while the defense is simulated for you. You aren’t overwhelmed with choices and being able to simply choose between passing, running, or a QB sneak instead of memorizing countless A, B maneuvers keeps the game fun and light. It’s ultimately very straightforward and something I could even see more technologically adverse people enjoy. Sometimes, simpler really is better!.Version: 1.4.52

Absolutely love this gameHighly recommend! I payed for the full version and no regrets. For the dev though, since the update I can wind down the clock to under 20 seconds, and the opposition often scores. A tweak here is needed..Version: 1.4.49

Really quite funHonestly I don’t much enjoy mobile games but this game is fantastic.Version: 1.4.22

Love the gameThis is an amazing game and really enjoying it into my second season. Only issues are minor, when you move teams you can’t see there roster so don’t know what you are moving to and if you have premium you should be able to pick your team from the start. Also, would advise the developers to allow fix the rate of injuries because they are soooo frequent and also see if they can add a defence play possibility. But the game for what it is, is amazing.Version: v1.04

FunFun.Version: 1.16

So addictive!This is such a great game and I can’t stop playing it! Whenever I have a spare few mins I automatically reach for my iPad for a quick game. As a big Rams fan I can’t wait to get the chance at taking my team to the Retro Bowl! I am so happy to finally find a worthy football game to play, beats madden hands down in my book as it actually involves playing the game rather than collecting pointless tokens for pay to win crap. Yes this has some micro transactions but to support the devs of this game and keep them adding more I am happy to hand over my pennies. Keep up the great work!.Version: 1.4.49

Awesome gameSo simple and easy Takes me back to when playing nfl was good.Version: 1.4.22

Great little gameI know you’ve got to buy coaching credits to really get started, but it is well worth it. Easy to pick up, fun to play and challenging as you progress. If you love American football and want a game you can dip in and out of, this is definitely the one for you..Version: 1.4.82

Like itFun game and great for killing time.Version: 1.4.76

Everything about it is great except for 1 thingEven on extreme difficulty, it is still pretty easy for me.Version: 1.4.76

Classic graphics excellent mechanicsTerrific free game!.Version: 1.4.76

Worth the 1.39$It’s not laced with micro transactions, gives you a good idea if you would like the game before purchasing it. Overall it’s a good time killer.Version: v1.1.9

Better tutorialI only just got this game yesterday but I’ve been playing it not stop, it’s fun as an arcade game but also has a great amount of detail. The only minor issue I have is, the tutorial lacks some information like when the draft will be or how to change team. Other than that it’s a really great game!.Version: 1.13

GameVery good game.Version: 1.4.76

Wow, really funThe only thing I would say to improve your game is to make the animations for the defence. Overall a really fun game with no ads..Version: 1.4.49

Brilliant GameI don't normally play or review games on the app store, but I had to make an exception for Retro Bowl! This game is fantastic. It's great retro fun, and best of all it doesn't even have any ads. I paid the £0.99 to upgrade it to support the devs, and now I get to customize the teams which is great. Please keep it up!.Version: 1.3.14

Love itLove it The only thing that would be cooler is if when it’s the other teams go you get to try and defend.Version: v1.1.9

Best mobile game i've ever playedIt's definitely the best mobile game i've ever played. i've played it for almost a year now, i started in march 2020, and i've been playing it since. i love pretty much everything that's been added in since i first played i just have one suggestion that i always wished would be added to the game. i would love a way to just simulate your own game. it would make it more fun and appealing to the people who like the franchise aspect a lot so we don't have to play with a no name quarterback and get blown out for 16 games lol. i think it'd be cool just as an option so you can play or just skip to the draft and draft a better team. it'd also be cool if there was like a fire coach setting where you could be fired for extra difficulty, or if you could play defense that would make this one of my favorite games of all time. in all it's an amazing game, i love it, and i've been playing since around the time it came out i believe and i got some of my friends to get it too. i understand it's new and it's still having plenty of stuff added to it, but i'd love to see some of the stuff i suggested updated into the game at some point..Version: 1.4.52

One of the best games I’ve playedFirst and foremost, as the title suggests, this game is amazing. I have a save file that I’ve gone 17 years with and still haven’t gotten bored of the game it’s that good. Overall everything is relatively simple which makes the game easy to play but it has enough features such as training players and hiring high rated staff members and players, and being able to upgrade facilities, to make the fun last and give it a bit of a challenge as well. So if you’re looking for a quality sports game, or just any game in general, this will have you entertained for hours on end. Developers, if you are reading this, my only suggestion/request would be to implement being able to see other teams rosters as well as your own and allowing the player to be able to attempt trades with draft picks or players because right now only the computer can offer trades and I feel that having the ability to offer trades ourselves would amplify the game that much more.Version: 1.4.52

Just a great gameLots of effort has been put into this game, the most in-depth franchise mode I’ve seen in a long time. With constant updated there is lots to do. One thing I’d ask is to add a commentary team that occasionally appear with subtitles below saying stats about a player or that it is a rivalry game or a prime-time game.Version: 1.4.41

GameVery good.Version: 1.4.22

The jump for ball mechanic-We choose when and when not with a swipe up.I have played for a while. It is my most played game on my phone. I have it running more than any other app. I never leave reviews but I guess after more than a year of playing this I guess I should leave a 5-stars. My one thing to say is receivers jumping for the ball. Sometimes they jump when they shouldn’t. When it’s an open route they beat their man if they follow where the ball is thrown it’s a nice TD. Instead the receiver stops and jumps and either catches it and gets tripped up, or he tips it for incompletion or an int. I see the point of the jump ball from the end zone to one on ones and it’s amazing when it goes your way. It being a risk/reward, we the player should choose if they jump or not perhaps with a swipe up on the receiver after the ball is thrown. Another thing is throwing over the middle to an open slant that is a 1st down and the RB jumps up like he is Micheal jordan and snags it and gets 2-4 yards and can mess you up bad if it’s 3rd or even 4th down..Version: 1.4.76

It’s funIt’s really fun.Version: 1.4.76

Retro funGood game.Version: 1.3.42

Good boredom gameFun game. Good time killer.Version: 1.4.76

Great gameHard to put down.Version: 1.4.76

Good bones but a few suggestionsFirst and foremost, this game is already a lot of fun. All I feel it really needs is a few improvements to better both the actual gameplay and simulation aspects of it. Pass interference is my key gripe. Really takes the wind out of drives and is a bit frustrating, especially when you first takeover a new team and have bad personnel. Secondly, being able to change formation and choose where your personnel go on the field would be a welcome change. Thirdly, I have yet to experience growth from my coaches, unless I have been doing something wrong, getting my coaches xp is something that hasn’t occurred yet. Finally, maybe some end of league accolades or a player HOF to encourage retaining players and building their story and legacy towards your team. It might not have been what you sought out for when you started out but the potential of this game is off the chain! Thank you so much for making this. PS: The salary cap forced me to cut some players in order to complete the draft. Is there an option to forego draft picks or can one be made to trade a draft pick for a pick the following year? Thank you so much!.Version: 1.09

Nostalgic gameGreat game! Reminds me of playing tecmo Bowl on Nintendo!.Version: 1.4.76

StellarGreat game.Version: 1.4.76

GreatSuper easy super fun flashback.Version: 1.4.52

Great gameBut also gimme dem coach credits Go pats.Version: 1.4.76

Another masterclass by Simon ReadAs a born-and-bred Brit, I struggle to get into American football games because of all the complex tactics. This game streamlines the experience beautifully. The only (minor) gripe I have is, as is common with Simon Read’s New Star games, it’s almost impossible to get your hands on enough in-game currency to excel at the beginning, which makes for some frustrating losses against more difficult teams.Version: 1.4.76

Best Football SimThis game is one of the best in the whole store in terms of replayability and fun. It’s a great football sim and gives you plenty of reasons to keep coming back. The full version is also worth it for the money as you get so many new features unlocked which make the game even more replayable. Highly recommend this game and I’ll still be playing it for months to come. UPDATE: So I have continued to play for the past couple months and each new update adds more to the game and makes it even more fun to replay. The one thing I want now is the ability to set the difficulty of each team in the team editor. Maybe add a new “Custom” difficulty for premium members only who can change the star level for each individual team. I created 32 custom teams each with their own theme and I’d love for them to stand out with their own levels of difficulty. I’m sure this wouldn’t be hard to add but it would make a big difference for those people who really want to take full advantage of making custom teams. Great game again!.Version: 1.4.76

Really funAmazing fun and entertaining.Version: 1.4.76

Big fanOnly had for 2 days but have easily already played this addictive game for 5 hours! Hahaha get on and enjoy.Version: 1.3.42

PerfectI wish we could have a full roster of named players and maybe play defence but other than that. Wow..Version: 1.4.49

MoreThis is one of my favourite games on the App Store. You should bring out another game like this with baseball or something.Version: 1.3.42

Worth the purchase for a franchise simulatorThis game is $5 worth of fun for 99 cents, so who can argue with that. It is basically a franchise simulator, because there is not much you can do in terms of gameplay. If you have good players and coaches, the plays will go well. If you don’t, they won’t. I would advise two settings: set the difficulty and medium or at least something static. I’m a franchise simulator, you want to see your moves reflected in the players doing better. But with dynamic difficulty, they really don’t so it feels pointless to improve. It’s not like you can learn to play better against tougher opponents. Second, set your roster size to the max. Anyone not on your roster is awful. So if you have to rest your RB or he gets injured, you can’t run that game. It’s awful. So you need a backup on your roster. But with only 8 or 10 players, you can’t have backups everywhere. They should expand the rosters. Anyway, this is fun and more than worth 99 cents..Version: 1.3.79

Perfect for us ‘80s kids 👍🏼Love the Tecmo Bowl feel but with a bit more skill needed in passing as well as the team management aspects. Not sure how you may one day integrate player control ability for defense, I’m sure there’s some algorithm in place to determine outcomes based on skill levels and whatnot, would be neat to try, with the option to turn it off and on maybe 🤷🏼‍♂️ One and ONLY gripe is with kicking. I hit that arrow in between the slotted area ALL the time and never seen so many “Doinks” 😡 it’s quite aggravating. Not sure if it’s due to ability, but a lower skill level should simply make the arrow move faster, if you nail within the Gray area that should be a sure shot MADE FG. As it is now, you have to always hit it on the very low area to make it, frustrating as h*ll, but I’ve gotten over it lol, just a thought. Killer game guys, I’m sure you could go bananas adding this and that, but keeping it fairly simplistic is what makes it nostalgic and fun 😊 5 stars here (and I rarely give that out, but younger cats may not get into the Nintendo feel, so what lol).Version: 1.4.49

Great funExcellent fun, simple game play and plenty of front office options to keep things interesting..Version: 1.3.14

So good, I can’t stop playingHands down an absolute banger of a game, unsure why all my lineman and D players keep saying I’m ok/poor/terrible every year tho. Should add an X-factor style so like if your WR has 5 catches he gets a speed boost or something or a lineman gets 15 blocks he is unbeatable for a possession, massive potential for an already great game.Version: 1.4.76

GoodGood.Version: 1.4.81

Fun game, great features!The developers achieved what they set out to do. Created a fun, retro football game with a nod to Tecmo Bowl. It’s more of a team management simulation, than an arcade style game. Still very fun and has great, well designed features and gameplay..Version: 1.4.76

Great but gets easy after awhileI’ve had this game for about 2 weeks and love it, it has definitely been worth it for only 99p. However there’s just a few small issues such as the running backs being really slow and pretty much useless and I also feel as though after having this game for so long I’m having 16-0 seasons every time and pretty much always win the retro bowl which is making the experience not as fun anymore. Despite this I’m still loving playing the game whenever I have I the chance..Version: 1.16

FunYea na pretty fun.Version: 1.3.79

Absolutely loving itWhilst in lockdown I haven’t really been able to find a game that would keep me occupied without straight deleting until I found this gem! Absolutely loving every moment of it and even recommended to friends..Version: 1.3.14

UnrealAmazing game to play, could play for hours and not get bored with it! 100% recommend.Version: 1.3.79

Great gameLots of fun, great price..Version: 1.4.76

Could add manager related scenariosThe game is brilliant and I personally think one of the best mobile games To make the game more interesting and immersive interactions between players and the manager could be added, or the press questioning the manager multiple times after a game I think that if this was added I would play a lot more but the games is brilliant as it is and would highly recommend.Version: 1.4.76

Great Game!This game is absolutely fantastic. 100% recommend to any fan of sports or pixelated games. It's so fun, enthralling and entertaining to play the games, and interesting to manage your team to be the best there is. Only recommendation is that in the future we can TRADE for other players on other teams, not only sign them as free agents. This game is awesome! Keep it up guys.Version: 1.3.61

A suggestionAs you can see I rated it as a 5 star because the game is great and I love to play and I will never get rid of it but I think instead of auto balls you should just be able to choose your play between run and pass and when you choose run you get much more blocking I rarely run the ball because of how it is now. Also you should make so you can watch the defense and choose cover run or cover pass doesn’t matter if you play or not. One more thing is you should be able to return your punts and kick returns and just make it so you can choose which WRs or RBs returns the ball. But the game is so good and I hope retrobowl creators read this you guys should get more advertising because this game is amazing, unique and simple. The only football game that is your competition is Madden Mobile but Madden just gets really complicated, easy and always having to play. Good Luck Retrobowl and please respond if you can and tell me what you think about my ideas. Thanks for making this game.Version: 1.3.42

Great little game!Great football game, love the retro feel! While there’s not much to do in the way of selecting the tactics on the field the gameplay itself is brilliantly simple and the choice between running and passing can be tense! Building your squad then moving on to a “bigger” team can be tough but makes the long term goal of managing your favourite team worthwhile Highly recommended.Version: 1.16

Really good game but can be improvedHi hopefully you see this, this is the best football mobile game I have played but I am finding some flaws the more I play. I am into my 5th season and I am finding the run game to be useless. I have a very good OL and a good HB but I can never seem to have success. I also see players stamina to run out very fast and makes big plays almost impossible. I would like to see a way to play defense like just as one of our star players. Also more customization and stat tracking would be great to see. I would love to see a custom team mode and longer games where we could make the uniform and team name mabey even hole field. For stat tracking I would like to be able to see other teams players stats and mabey even a mvp given out each year. I feel this would add more depth to the game and I would even pay extra for there’s changes. I have been waiting for a Mobile game like this for a while so I hope you take theses changes into consideration. Thank you for reading.Version: 1.09

It’s a level of customization that Madden used to haveI downloaded this game and didn’t know what to expect. I actually figured that I would delete the app entirely later. However, once I saw how much customization you can have, I’ve been playing it so much. You have all of your nfl teams. Okay, it’s not really NFL licensed. But the silver and blue team called “Dallas C” is close enough for me. But what has sold the game for me is that you can change any and all teams to be what you want. I made every team different, put them all in cities like Roswell and Tulsa, and added silly team names like the Roswell aliens or the Auburn Ninjas. You can also change their uniform colors on top of that. The only two things that would put this over the top would be if you could view other teams players and stats, and actually request a trade yourself. Usually if you want to trade a player, you just get a pick in the upcoming draft. If you could view other players stats (and maybe have an option to view the league leaders in passing for example) and decide who you want to go after, this would be the perfect simulation..Version: 1.4.49

FunI’ve played lots of console NFL games and this is a great mobile take on American football. Simple and fun passing and running mechanics with team management. Nicely presented. It’s great..Version: 1.3.42

Absolutely incredible game!I found this game a couple years ago and I’ve been hooked ever since. For me, it was one of those games that you can’t stop playing for the first month, then you stop for a week or two, and then your hooked for the next month. The simple controls can make anyone a pro and the satisfaction you get after getting a perfectly timed juke on a defender is unmatched. The idea of building a franchise up from the bottom is extremely addictive and it forces you to really fight for every playoff spot( and even purposely lose a couple games for a better draft pick). Signing toxic players and hoping that you win enough to improve their attitude in order to trade them adds a risk factor which I love and I believe it is better than a particularly large football game that has a lacking franchise mode. The only downside to this game is the fact that you can’t play defense and you have to rely on luck of the cpu to help you out. Otherwise, AWESOME GAME!.Version: 1.4.52

SuggestionsG’day, great game, just have a few suggestions. *Able to play on defence too. *Manually receive kickoffs and kick off. *Manually punt and return punts. *Option to play 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 minute quarters. *The quality of team ratings changes over a few seasons (the same teams always appear to dominate and make the playoffs, even after about 20 seasons of playing). Anyway, just a few suggestions, keep up the great work and congratulations for manufacturing such a great game..Version: 1.3.79

Awesome fun!Tried too many games recently where they just don’t hold my attention. Retro Bowl surprised me though and I’ve lost so many hours to “ah just one more game!” Would be great to see a bit more variation like controlling punt plays and perhaps some defensive options too..Version: 1.4.52

Simply amazingDear developers: I love you. This is football perfection (die hard Bears fan, so yes, I bleed football, but done right). This game is a perfect amalgamation of a football rpg with the GM aspects, a techno bowl successor with the gameplay, and Maddow, with the players rankings, drafting, etc. i am I total love with this game, and it was free. I love it some much I HAD to buy the full version. Only a couple of naggles. The main one is difficulty. Hard and dynamic give a challenge by being cheaper. High star players no longer catching the ball, at intercepts EVERYTHING, and even 1 star defenses will give your 5 star offense fits. This must be evened out, as on medium were GODs on the field. I difficulty in between would be nice. I love sitting back and waiting to see what my defense will do without my interference but I’m sure there’s some way you can give the option of calling defensive plays just not control the players. That would be awesome. Otherwise, the nuance in this game is deeper than many console game. My players with drug problems had on filed issues. My star wideout declined with age. Players whose stats weren’t the best shocked and out performed as 5 star players underwhelmed. It is amazing how they incorporated most aspects of football into this little package. These guys need a [email protected]#&@## award for there efforts. Bravo guys..Version: 1.3.79

Amazing funReally good wee game - like the dynamic difficulty which provides a nice challenge..Version: 1.4.41

Great game!I downloaded this game a couple of days ago and I’ve already played about 5 seasons it’s very addicting and feels better then maddens franchise mode. It would be cool maybe if they showed a simulation of the defense instead of just saying “so and so missed a tackle” actually show the play. It would also be awesome if your players could lateral the ball behind them to avoid getting tackled but of course make it a high risk of a fumble. I also think it would be awesome if there was an actual roster system that showed each teams roster with their stats to where you are actually able to trade players with other teams. I know it’s supposed to be like an arcade game but an online system would be awesome. Allowing people to join your franchise and while playing the game it’s almost like a tug a war to see who can score the most while watching your defense try and stop them. Just a few suggestions to add to the game. The game is already a 5 star in my opinion but if they added these I honestly think this game would be a huge hit!.Version: 1.3.14

YupYup good one.Version: 1.4.76

Probably one of the best games on mobileIf you have even a passing interest in football, get this game. Perfect combination of quick to play, challenging, deep enough strategy to keep you interested but not so much too bog you down, great visuals..... I don’t know man, I literally play this every single day and I’m not sure how it’s so addicting. Just a great pick me up and play for 5 minutes game. Or until your legs go numb..Version: 1.4.76

Great gameWonderful game to play on long car rides.Version: 1.3.79

AddictedWhat the title says.Version: 1.4.76

Awesome gameSo fun, easy and keeps me busy.Version: v1.1.8

Very addictiveOne of those games where you find yourself thinking, “just one more game”!.Version: 1.4.22

Great gameGreat game way better then expected I just wish we could choose from 3 plays for example but still really good.Version: v1.1.8

Well doneLove the passing. The gameplay is nostalgic and it actually is well made. Enjoyed it throughout the first season. It has scenarios after each game which you can control. Like if a player stayed out after curfew or was caught with drugs. You can control if you want to discipline them or ignore. It will add fans or drop moral and each game gives experience so you can level your players. You get to choose what ability to upgrade like QB hits level 2 you can pick arm strength/ accuracy/ stamina or speed. Has full stats for each game / year / and career for each star player. You spend just $1 you can name everyone for your favorite teams. Hire coaches and upgrade stadiums. It’s really well done. Only down side so far is you don’t get to play defense and the RB and WR just run in a strait line after they do their route. You have to swipe up or down to dodge but feels kinda basic. Wish it had a directional pad to control. But the QB play is a lot of fun. You control how far you want or to throw short or lead the WRs. And of coarse it looks just like tecmobowl. Definitely recommend if you are a fan of the old game. I can’t stop playing it..Version: 1.2.12

Super fun but needs some easy fixesI started playing a few weeks back and i love this game, but one thing i found difficult was my morale was always so low with no way to bring it up. i felt like every game a player had a dui or was fighting. there are very few positive situations that arise, like i could throw for 800 yards and the postgame interview would be “what are your thoughts on (insert DB) today” and the two options are both negative. not to mention the fact that i can be 6-0 with 70% fan approval, then lose one game and it plummets to 45% approval (yes that actually happened) there needs to be more positive rewards. secondly i think the draft picks really shouldn’t start with such high ratings. maybe put one or two that start out as like 3 star prospects, but most of them should just be 1 or 2 star players with POTENTIAL to be 5 star, giving you an incentive to hold onto your investment. and also maybe make make coaching credits a little easier to get? everything is super expensive and by the time i can afford to upgrade facilities or get better coaching, my star players are retiring or on different teams and i have no QB because i spent all my coins on a 3 star offensive coordinator. again, fantastic game, but please take some of these things into consideration. thanks!.Version: 1.4.22

Great funReally enjoy this. Looks basic and simple but it really gets you involved. Reminds me of the Intellivision console that I had great times with my Dad. Just shows that high end graphics are not needed to make a great game. Excellent development team. Thanks for the fun.Version: 1.4.76

GameGreat game 5 stars.Version: 1.4.82

This is so much funThis game is amazing and I love the old graphics. The only thing I can do better is in the next update make and online so you can play against friends.Version: 1.4.41

AmazingFantastic little football games, highly recommended.Version: 1.16

Don’t ruin it***update*** They have made a few updates since my initial review, and the game is still the best game out there. Good job, dudes. Keep up the good work. Been playing this game for a few months. It’s a pretty challenging game, classic design and has been lots of fun. It’s starting to lose the fun, though. After the last update, I feel it’s changed too much and made it really really impossible; short passes are fumbled every time, long passes are intercepted. The opposition team with a 1 or 2 star offence scores on every play against my 5 star defence. But it’s still a good mix of a management game and a simulation, making sure you have enough cap space is hard enough when your franchise quarterback goes up in price, but do you really need that kicker... ? Great graphics, remember it’s supposed to be fun. If my players or team get fumbles and interceptions all the time, but the AI do not, it’s not fun. I’m fed up of losing to the Patriots. 😂 Don’t change the game too much, keep it simple. It wasn’t broke. Keep the fun..Version: 1.3.14

The Perfect Game For MeI’ve played 42 seasons and love this game. I’ve read the bad reviews to see what people are complaining about and in all cases - they just aren’t good enough at making football decisions. If your QB goes down, figure out how to pass with the backup. The targeting line is simply not accurate. Adjust your throws. Having a great Coordinator will help all your backups. If the defender can grab the receiver, figure out where to throw the ball so that doesn’t happen. If your Running Back can’t run well, throw the ball. Get a back who can catch and use him as a receiver when the wideouts are covered. Sometimes your defense lets the other team score easy? Go for 2 each time you score. The other team is far less likely to score if they go for 2. That couple of extra points can win the game. To those who gave up... you just weren’t up to the challenge. Updates change things, adding a new challenge. It’s a great game. I love the progressive addition of female Coordinators. I’d love to see an all-female player version. Girls love football, too..Version: v1.1.92

Great gameGreat game, fun to play. But it would be cool to see players on others teams and also make trades not just receive them..Version: 1.3.61

Great gameGreat game so much fun really worth getting it, I have heaps of fun playing it, I would love to see another game of the same style but maybe basketball or something.Version: 1.4.52

5 star game with minor issuesFirst of all the game is a fun little time waster. If you miss the simplistic times team building in madden, this is a nice little throw back. The only issues I have with the game is that your players get injured. A lot. And I don’t mean like your QB goes down for the season and you’re screwed, I mean your players get injured every. single. game. And these players will be hurt for 1 or 2 or 3 games, come back and get hurt again two games later. Even with your training facility completely maxed out, the players get hurt. And it stinks when they do because the decline of your offense is incredibly noticeable when one of the star players you signed or drafted isn’t there. The bot players with no names run like they’re wearing lead shoes which takes away from explosive plays. If your RB gets hurt, the replacement back is unusable. Another minor issue I have is you can have a maximum of 10 players with names, and these players are the only offense and defense you have because like I said before, the nameless players are useless. Aside from that this game is a ton of fun, and I highly recommend it..Version: 1.3.14

Thewally❤️Great game.Version: 1.3.37

Mad fun!Retro bowl is sick, great fun simple but interesting gameplay and a deep enough front office section to keep things spicy.Version: 1.3.79

Incredible Simple and Addicting GameplayLet me start off by emphasizing this game is amazing. The gameplay is easy to control, yet makes you feel satisfied when you’re able to break off big plays with your team. The GM aspect of the game is probably the weakest part. You’ll get draft picks every years, but they’re useless when you’ve built a team you want to stick with. This is due to the game only allowing 10 players on your team, which I would like to see maybe 20 at minimum. The trading lacks usefulness as well because you can only trade for draft picks (which again are useless). You are able to play game without spending money, but if you want high level players early on you’re going to need to drop some cash. I personally have zero problem with it as I want to support this particular Devs games because the template could be used for others sports as well. Overall great game that I’ve played everyday for the last 4 days and I’m still interested..Version: 1.4.22

Play it for real...I love this game. Set it to easy, you’ll win every time. Even the smart option is too easy. Set it to hard, try running the ball as often as you would as a coach... good luck! You get limited time before you get sacked, if you are missing key players it’s easy to see why. Throwing every time is cheating what the Dev has achieved here. And try doing it when your QB gets injured 😂 Finally an NFL game you can play for a few minutes at a time between TV adverts or much longer... latter being likely 😀.Version: 1.2.12

Play it like the Big 12!!!There’s two ways of playing this game: 1: Play it normally, with dynamic difficulty. It gets hard pretty quickly, but there’s also the need to adapt when your kicker / QB / WR goes injured for 4 games. It’s not even worth kicking an extra point if your kicker’s injured, just learn short passing! 2: If there was ever a chance to play it like the Big 12, this is it! Keep it on easy, and learn how to play Air Raid / long passes. Defence is of course optional in many cases, but it’s fun seeing just how hard you can push it. My record is 11 TD in a game. Enough to make Gus Johnson calm down a Bit! Great game, seriously worth it. In app purchases not required to have fun, can just make it easier for you if you’re starting out. You get enough in game to mitigate having to buy anything..Version: 1.3.14

GoodExtremely fun game no ads.Version: 1.3.14

Great game but some features to add that could make it betterBeing able to control defence also not just offence for example choosing the players like doing a blitz man coverage zone also to control players in defence like hit stick or interception - Adding corner backs and safeties instead of defensive back - For upgraded version 14 roster give more depth for lineups - When the ball is fumbled and picked up play still continues not just stop on down - Being able to choose offensive plays example choosing plays like run or pass - Adding play action passes and rpo example read option on run pass play action seam - Being able to change routes for players example from slant to streak or post zig zag etc - Clock management - Adding Qb spike and qb kneel - Adding real life nfl rosters and even throwback rosters with current players and retired players Multiplayer - Online vs Head to head - Online franchise Online season to Super Bowl Bluetooth friendly match Bluetooth franchise Practice mode.Version: 1.4.82

I’m rock hardI was playing then woop it happened.Version: 1.4.76

Simple yet beautifulThis game achieves the difficult task of making something easy to learn and difficult to master despite relatively simple gameplay. An effortless time waster that will keep you going for hours..Version: 1.4.52

Best football/sports game on hereI have always been in search of a game just like this, the nostalgic feeling it gives with a dabble of modern day managing a team satisfies and then some. With achievements to unlock and season to season, game to game decision making his game keeps you going. Each stadium and weather has a uniqueness that surprises you as a 90’d game would. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a nostalgic feeling similar to Organ trail. My only suggestions would be as follows, play selection rather then it being what the game gives you, bigger roster availability, introducing more mobile qbs, seems all qbs have little to no speed, punting yourself rather then having game do it for you, and defensive playing although that is not a show stopper for me. Over all thank you this game has got me though the quiet times at work and at home during this stressful and uncertain time I will certainly be looking for more games from this company and continue to play..Version: 1.2.12

An actual fun gameHard to believe it, but so far I’ve enjoyed this free game as if it were a real deal paid game. Small elements of Pay-To-Win going on, but hopefully you can have a decent time grafting through the difficult areas. So far, hasn’t been impossible to win, just clearly would be easier if I pay..Version: 1.4.76

All goodsAll goods.Version: 1.4.76

Retro Bowl > Madden 21I was in my car and I was looking for something to do. I had watched some football videos so I looked for some free football games on my Phone. Found this gem. The franchise is so deep. You can talk to players to get morale up, you have coordinators that effect your play, you have press conferences directly impacting your team, and it has very efficient stat tracking. It is very innovative how they have done their gameplay. Instead of trying a 3D, realistic-looking game, they go full Retro and make the entire game 8-bit. It is very fun to play with. As much as I wish I could play defense, I think it makes the game exciting to see how that will go. This game has no bugs as far as I can see. And the great news is, I have only played this game for 1 day, so I’ve barely scratched the surface. And the game is only two months old when I’m writing this, so it still has many updates to come. My wishlist for future patches: a more in-depth offseason including training camp and free agency, changing the difficulty for beginners and for more experienced players, online multiplayer, some plays are overpowered so nerf them, trick plays, new running mechanics because it is near impossible at the moment, online season, play now (both versus cpu and online), and the ability to practice..Version: 1.4.22

Another crackerI really like the New Star games, they are deceptively well conceived. Don’t require too much skill to master, enough variety to be interesting without being overwhelming, nice progressive elements, good mix of short and long term goal setting for the player. Very well designed and well implemented..Version: 1.3.42

Great gameAwesome.Version: 1.4.76

This game is great!I’ve never played football before but this teached me the game rules and I love this game now, I recommend to all!.Version: v1.1.92

Great appStraight forward and easy to start learning how to become the champions. Like the old times before 20 buttons later and you can finally hike off the ball..Version: 1.4.76

Glorious Pick-Up-And-Play StuffExactly what it says on the tin - super accessible gameplay with a surprising difficulty curve. Worth paying the extra 99p for the additional features. Would love to see a defence mode introduced in the future but tbh it’s nearly perfect as it is..Version: 1.4.22

Sick game - some ideasLove the game have been playing it for about a year now. I would love to see the game add trade between other teams instead of only free agents, like I could trade 2 picks for a round 1 value player or something like that. A game this style would also be awesome for a basketball game!.Version: 1.4.52

FunGood game.Version: 1.3.79

The perfect mobile gameIt’ll sound funny but retro bowl is one of the reasons I started following the nfl more than just watching the super bowl every year. I saw this game on the App Store the day after super bowl LIV. I’ve been in love with this game ever since. The game is fun, satisfying, and rewarding. You get to take the coaching role as any nfl team you like or even create a new team. And this game is less than $2 at the time of this review. Get this game! Support the developers and show the world that there is an interest in fun arcade-like mobile games.Version: 1.4.52

Great but..Add defence that we can control and make a league where you can make your own character.Version: 1.4.52

Love itUPDATE Got some of the features added and thank you but would I would like to have the draft be like the nfl draft and also have the option to trade draft picks for players or trade up in the draft and I don’t know if this is a glitch but the rush and alternate uniforms are the exact same. One more thing would like if on week 12 it be thanksgiving and week 16 be Christmas and if for the kickoff game it has the the kickoff logo and for the playoffs it has the logo for the wild card division and conference games . Great game favorite retro game but I would like if the dynamic setting was fixed because it’s way too easy and I wish that the draft was like the nfl draft were the worst team gets the first pick and that the best team gets the last pick(s) and as well as changing the playoff format to the new nfl playoff format were it has 7 playoff teams and that the 1st seed gets the bye and small thing but would like also if we could be able to get different uniforms and customize the uniforms and that it would be free for unlimited version users. Overall great game would like to see those changes..Version: 1.4.76

Sensi Soccer for the NFLThis games is so addictive yet simple!!! Ive been hooked for weeks. Theres so much in this game from 3 save modes, the draft, injuries, managerial mode and keep up the morale! I even paid for the full mode as it was well worth the pennies! Theres a few creators for ios which should take note of this games depth!!.Version: 1.3.42

Lots of funYou don’t need fancy graphics, you just need addictive and fun game play. Can you manage to roster your own NFL franchise team and then hold you nerve as you control your QB trying to make that Q4 touchdown pass?.Version: 1.2.12

Great gameHeudj.Version: 1.4.76

FunIt is fun lol.Version: 1.4.76

NiceNice.Version: 1.4.52

GreatGreat.Version: 1.4.76

Best time passer, even if you aren’t passing timePossibly the most addictive and fun sport game on the app store. Fun, action packed and intense. Great bit of fun..Version: 1.4.52

Bought it and was not disappointedThe game is now free, but even when it wasn’t I was looking for a game exactly like mid you I don’t really care for football I’m more of a basketball guy but I played one free season and was amazed back at its early stage I couldn’t help but buy since my birthday was in a few days with a small very small portion of the money I bought this game and nba2k20 mobile I played retro bowl and I have been playing for 1 year and just recently stared really playing this a game agin like a month ago I won 4 championships in a row I maintain and stack my roster I have attachment to my players I wish you could look at everyone in the leagues stats tho and there was deeper progression system I want intel on teams and when I don’t sign a player I want to see where he goes i also want a option to sim games although there aren’t that many I sometimes don’t wanna play some, I showed my friend and he can’t stop playing this game he wants a stacked roster like me but I’ve been playing so long and also bought some stuff you might be a one man team but take you time and make this happen I’m a happy Customer I want it to be EVEN better though write me back if you see so we can chat maybe..Version: 1.3.42

Great game, but not always balanced wellI like this game and I think it’s well worth the price to get the full version. I’ve played through probably 30 seasons so far. That said, the devs often “over-balance” the game at their updates. It seems like after every update you have to totally change your offensive game plan to be able to win games. For example, playing on the highest difficulty I was able to average 4-5 yards per rush attempt, with a nice balance of a few 10+ rushes and a few getting stuffed at the line of scrimmage. Now after the most recent update, rushing is next to impossible and with the same team I’m averaging maybe 1-2 yards per attempt with a solid half or more of attempts going for 0 or negative yards. This is with a 4 star RB and two 5 star offensive lineman. Now I basically have to throw every play, which just isn’t as fun. I don’t want to sound overly negative. I do genuinely enjoy this game. It’s a nice medium between a casual mobile sports game and playing franchise mode on Madden. Really my only complaint is that the “tweaks” that the devs list on the update notes (and in fairness to them, they do post thorough update notes) occasionally overshoot what I would consider balance..Version: 1.4.49

A ton of funA great little game. Well worth the price. The games don’t last long. You just play offense and it works very well. Had some great games already. Well worth picking up I’m already in season 138 !! Gets addictive trying to get new players to break career records. A great game.Version: 1.4.22

Great game!Love it. Classic Madden..Version: 1.4.52

GREAT GAME WITH SO MUCH NOSTALGIAI remember playing GameDay 2002 when it was on on the PS2 or 1. Can’t remember but I loved playing football, don’t get me wrong, new football games are great with their graphics but sometimes I’ve always wanted to go back just play the old stuff. With retro bowl, it fulfills and brings back so many memories. With choosing your favorite or starting off random, the challenges and perks of each player during a draft. This game makes me feel like I’m still kid. I LOVE IT’! One thing if the creators could add though is adding the Pro Bowl into the game. Imagine having won the retro bowl so many times but then going to play a bonus pro bowl with all the top players from the season. That would be awesome. And I know a lot of people wonder about Defense, there should also a way to play defense too. I’m addicted to playing this game, but I would also love if there was feature where we could play defense as well and also have the Pro Bowl added to see all the other players from different teams. Hopefully this happens because people will love it even more!!.Version: 1.4.76

AmazingAwesome game. I play it whenever I have downtime or just get a chance to. The ability to customize your team and manage free agency, coaching, the draft and much more is an aspect I don’t see many other games implement. Obviously I don’t have much bad to say, but there are some tweaks I think would make it even better: Increased chance for interceptions to be by star DBs. I feel like having 2-3 really good DBs only increases the chance an INT happens, not increasing the players chance. I’d love to see my players get more chances to improve their stats so I can see the actual impact they had in their career in the HOF. Simulated games. I’ll never get tired of the game but sometimes I just don’t feel like playing the 2-13 Jaguars in week seventeen. I think simulated games would be really cool to see for research purposes on how to build a good team for newer players. Lastly, I think being able to see a players stats throughout their whole career by season would be really cool, especially if they were traded to you or picked up in FA. Idk about others but I like to see my team grow so getting that story through their stats in their whole career would be awesome..Version: 1.4.22

CoolRad.Version: 1.4.76

New Star Games does it again!I’m not an NFL fan but I understand to basics of the game and this game has made those basics fun and require minimal input. As expected there is management of the team and upgrades to get the more you play so there’s plenty longevity! Also I’m a sucker for Pixel Art and it’s executed real well here. And the music is top notch. Well done!.Version: 1.4.76

This game is incredibleIF the retro aspect makes it this great THEN if the game had 2k graphics this would be a hit with all peoples..Version: 1.4.76

Touchdown!Great game, easy to pick up and play for few minutes or a longer session. Easy to control players and enough depth to give you a challenge. Highly recommended and great value..Version: 1.4.76

Great game please add morePlease add some type of play calling, also sometimes when I’m on the 50yardline and it’s 4th down it only lets me go for a field goal or 4th down but sometimes this can be bad, if my kicker can’t make a 60+ goal and the game is close I would rather punt, also please add some play calls prior to lineup maybe even for defense as if the opponent is on their 15 and there is 12 seconds left I would have only dee coverage to Prevent Hail Marys, also please add some type of hail Mary’s for us as the qb can only throw maybe 30 yards with max arm strength, plus maybe where I can run out of the pocket with qb but still throw as long as I don’t cross the line of scrimmage, speaking of which maybe add some penalties as it says bad moral causes them but I don’t see them ever. This game is great but I feel some addition can make it more in depth for long term playing to spread to our friends to help you make more money, as I paid for this in my tablet. Especially some defensive play, even to be able to watch it would be cool. I understand playing defense isn’t as easy but having a few playcalls would give defense more depth.Version: 1.4.52

NostalgiaIf you remember the classic 8-bit era sports games, you’ll love this. I really appreciate the lack of ads. Not only that, but unlocking the full game is a steal. Best mobile game I’ve played in a long time..Version: 1.3.42

Extremely fun, but difficulty needs to be tweakedThis game is an absolute blast, but after a season or two the dynamic difficulty just wasn’t giving me enough of a challenge. I moved to the hard difficulty and all of a sudden every player on the field becomes a ball hawk and are always faster than your players. I turned it down to medium to see the difference and now I walking all over opponents. Either the hard difficulty needs to be tweaked or the dynamic difficulty needs to be adjusted. I just want the really good teams to feel like a challenge and the really bad teams to go by like a breeze. When you play a team that outranks you then I understand the difficulty spike but on the hard difficulty I was a 4 star offense playing a 3 star defense and they managed to outplay all of my players everytime. A good difficulty level should not feel like the opposing side is cheating. Beyond the difficulty frustrations everything else in this game is spot on. It’s honestly a must download for anyone who loves football..Version: 1.3.79

Real retro football with the mobile touchUnlike most football games on mobile this one is actually fun. I think the option to play defense as one of your players would be nice or at least to watch your team play defense. It’s also nice to skip the defense at times so having the option and not forcing it would be good. If the game also had a place where you could check your teams all time leaders in the different stat categories that would be great. I’ve played 15 seasons and I would love to have my team’s player accomplishments past & present posted for me to see. It’s a reason to keep playing and breaking career/season records of your players from the past along with having a sense of investment in keeping your older and normally more expensive players on your team. Overall the game does a great job of bringing fun sim style football and team management in an easily approachable package. This game is not a pay to win game. This is a developer that deserves our support for providing us starving football fans a mobile game that is actually a game..Version: v1.1.8

Amazing game - so good I bought itSometimes it’s hard to justify spending money on a free game and to be honest this game is perfect without paying for it. I paid just to show support for developers. This game is amazing. You will spend hours playing it. No politics, no egos, just football and it’s glorious..Version: 1.3.79

My favourite game by a distance!What a great find this was. Love American Football and this is a great game. It’s the game I go to when I have a few minutes to burn but also can easily find myself playing for longer, just so I can get to the playoffs. It’s just intuitive to play and most importantly fun. That’s before you have to think about your roster, working within the salary cap, trading your favourite player before he leaves for nothing. Don’t delay and download this today, you won’t regret it..Version: 1.4.49

Thanks5 free coaching credits.Version: 1.4.82

Good gameGood game.Version: 1.3.61

Better then most Madden FranchisesThis is one of the best game for me on my iPad. The graphics are good, I like them and I’m a young person. Also a very good thing in this is the team morale. I love it because it adds some more depth into the gameplay and almost gives it a storyline to follow. The player ratings are also a good way to tell if a player is good or not. In the draft, that has helped me exceptionally by finding players that upgrade the positions I need and to fill gaps in the team play. That also leads me to another topic; the draft. I love how it only has 3 picks and how simple it and easy it is to make picks and find players to help the challenge of building a dynasty. I also love that after around 2 seasons you can change teams. It helps me decide wether to help try juice up another team or stay with my dynasty. Trading is also a really cool thing in this game, because sometimes the computer comes up to me to offer a trade. It can be for my players and draft picks or theirs, but I can also trade my own players. Sometimes that’s what I do to make a new team and save file challenging. Overall, one of the best games in the App Store to me, best football app by a big margin, and overall a very exciting and fun game to play. I hope if your reading this, please give it a shot, you will NOT REGRET IT!.Version: 1.4.22

Fantastic!Sooooo much fun and doesn’t ask too much of you. Perfect game to play while on the toilet!.Version: 1.4.76

LoveLove the game so fun.Version: 1.4.76

XxTumeke game.Version: 1.3.14

Good gameFun.Version: v1.1.92

New favourite game!I’ve been a one game guy for a few years now and I’ve struggled to find a new go to game. Within minutes of playing this I knew I had found a new game that will annoy my wife as much as the old one does..Version: v1.1.8

Great gameDefinitely not doing this just for the credit.Version: 1.4.22

REALLY FUN GAME!This game is super cool, fun and for me, quite addictive! I recommend this game for NFL fans that don't care about the pixel graphics, but I also recommend this game for a lot of people as well. 5 STAR is what I rated this game. I hope lots of people rate it 5 STAR as well. Thanks..Version: 1.4.22

Great gameLike old school football.Version: 1.4.76

Great retro Football!This game is so fun and I was happy to buy the full game for $1.40.Version: 1.4.76

Brilliant!Absolutely brilliant game and all the updates have been fantastic. Two small gripes though: the latest update seems to have removed ‘forward progress’?! It would also be nice to get some more ‘hall of fame’ achievements to work towards. All in all, one of the best games I’ve ever bought, worth every single penny of the 99p and still great fun 15 seasons in!.Version: v1.1.8

GreatThis is truly a fun and enjoyable game, I am glad that I payed for the full version and am satisfied with my purchase, this game makes me sit for hours going through season after season signing player after player, very enjoyable thank you!.Version: 1.16

Great GameAt first... The simplicity of this game worried me; thought I’d get bored. Turns out the simplicity is the best part. The algorithms are accurate. Game play is fun. Not sure why folks are complaining about paying $1.39. Stick a crowbar in your wallets people... great game + $1.39 = bargain! C’mon! Would be great if there was a similarly as simple hockey version..Version: 1.13

FunSimple but super fun.Version: 1.4.76

Great gameExcellent.Version: 1.3.42

Good but no storeI love the game and I want to get the full version but my store won’t open it’s like black and doesn’t let me into the store.Version: v1.1.92

It’s okBelieve it.Version: 1.4.76

NewStar have done it again!Speaking as a player who enjoyed more hours playing New Star Soccer than I care to admit. Retro Bowl is just the right mix of familiar mechanics and new experience for me. It’s heartening to see that the temptation to overdo the in-app purchases has been avoided this time (It’s a shame what happened to NSS). I think any sports fan would find this game a great time killer..Version: 1.3.79

Been Playing This Game During QuarantineI have been playing this game while in Quarantine and I can safely say it’s one of the best mobile games I’ve ever played. Great job guys!.Version: v1.1.92

More than I expected!Man this game is simple, fun, and awesome! Not only do you control the office but you are in charge of the entire team, staff, facilities and attributes for everyone you control. You are the GM and head coach and you have to make decisions that you deem right for your players, coaches, fans and franchise. This game was well thought out and exciting. Even the difficulty is unique as your players performance depends on how well they trained or how tired they are from previous games, plus the strength of your opponent. Low rank teams will put up a fight but the high ranked teams will demolish you if you’re not careful! I’m in week 14 and in a tight run to make the playoffs! There’s so much that goes into your decision making like a real GM and I would’ve never thought this game would have it all. It would’ve been great to control some defense too, I drafted 3 DEF rookies to start my new team. But playing offense is just as fun. This definitely gives you some Tecmo Bowl memories but this is a great adaptation. Highly recommend this game! And if my review doesn’t convince you, the menu music alone is worth your $1!!! The retro synths with the beat drop is straight FIRE!!! RETRO BOWL LESSSGOOO!!!.Version: 1.3.14

YeahIt’s pretty fun!.Version: 1.4.76

Good gameReally fun game, even for those who didn’t play football.Version: 1.4.76

Could play it for hoursIt’s one of those games that you can play for hours until your battery runs out, and then you go again once charged! Very addictive and I don’t even know anything about American football!.Version: 1.3.14

Game playFirst, outstanding old school copy of tecmobowl. I love the side view of the field as opposed to behind the QB view. Tecmobowl was always my favorite football style game. I do realize that this is a more arcade style of play, but the Devs have done a great job continuing to add more strategy elements. I would love to be able to use 2 running backs in the same game. Either a 2 running back play that switches between a 2 TE set or a 2 RB set random. One other is to somehow add an automatic switch on 3rd and 4th and long to a delegated 3rd down back. One other thing is to tighten up the defense even on extreme mode. Run “D” is ok if you have an average back, pass “D” is pathetic as you can just pick apart even the extreme defense if you have decent players. Yes, there is still the occasional interception or incomplete pass, but I play on 3 min quarters so there is always time to recoup a couple bad plays. Bad plays against a 5 star “D” should be hard to come back from. There are other things, but that’s tops for my requests for now. Again, Devs keep up the great work. This game continues to keep me entertained and add a bit of nostalgia back to the Tecmobowl days..Version: 1.4.76

Awesome!Super addicting!!.Version: 1.4.76

Great game but far from perfectThis is a game that I got recently but already love. The graphics are cool and simple and the gameplay while repetitive has a unique style. As far as the problems go they are more like suggestions to improve not reasons to not play. I wish there was an option to defend, that there were more options in the main menu, the game gets a little repetitive and once you get the hang of the controls can be easy. Love the game though and would recommend for people to download..Version: 1.3.79

Very goodVery good.Version: 1.4.76

Great game but..I’ve deleted and re installed this game so many times for one reason. After a while it gets to easy. I played with only 1 star / half star players and still won the super bowl. Would be nice for an easy, medium, hard option. I’ve they’ve done that since I’ve been gone... no flaws!.Version: 1.4.76

Warning: This Game Is PerfectMy roommate got this game a few months ago, and every day I would hear the little retro music from the living room. He never really made a big deal of it but I would ask about his team and he would give me player updates. The depth of this game is so immense. It’s simple if you want it to be and it can be infinitely nuanced if you are looking for a more advanced level of play. He finally told me that he joined a league and I just had to get this game for myself to see what the hype was all about. I was not disappointed. I’m on my second save, 1 season with the New York Jets and have my sights set on the retro bowl this year! Let’s gooo! Needless to say I’ve sent a link to every single family member of mine, football fan or not, this is a must have. Great art style, fun music, intuitive controls... you name it, Retro Bowl’s got it. My favorite thing is the strange sense of pride you get from the random first team you are assigned to. I was never a Jets fan. I grew up in Dallas, TX. But hey now I’ve got some pride in my franchise. Do yourself a favor and give it a try. IT’S FREE!!!.Version: 1.4.22

Retro bowlGreat game.Version: 1.4.82

Best gameBest game easily.Version: 1.4.76

Worth the moneyI’ve never paid for a phone game before until I found Retro Bowl. This game is honestly fantastic. I’d expect nothing less from a New Star Games game. All sport games should aim to have the same quality as NSG games. Awesome.Version: v1.1.8

Excellent game. Latest update fantasticSuch a good game. Fantastic replay. Love the new icons denoting mvp and bowl rings. Would be awesome to have these in stats pages too. Would also be cool to expand stats for best in league tables and best of all time for various stats. Could you increase the Salary cap each season if team tops group/league/bowl? Would be nice not to have to cut some players when they need to be renewed. Latest update is great..Version: 1.3.42

Let’s go retro!!It’s a great little game, all the charm of tecmo bowl, but with vastly improved playability. Only been playing a short while, hoping there’s more of a difficulty curve than the other comments would lead me to believe, but still at .99p you can’t go wrong..Version: v1.1.8

Pure FunThis game is pure fun, it has no flaws and should be a televised sport!.Version: 1.4.81

Very goodHad fun, wish you could see the characters when the enemy team had the ball.Version: 1.3.79

GoodVery fun, well done.Version: 1.4.76

Good stuffThis is really fun and easy to pick up (and doesn't shove ads in your face!) but if I had to critique it at all I'd say the swiping to dive and move up and down whilst running with the handegg need to have an option to use on screen buttons rather than a swipe, as most of the time the swiping is annoying and doesn't register, or you move up when you meant to dive or visa versa.Version: 1.3.79

BrilliantGreat game, would recommend to all ages.Version: 1.3.79

Good little time killerSimple and fun.Version: 1.3.42

Really enjoying this game!Haven’t had too many games to talk about lately, but have already talked this game up to my friends. I’m no football buff but this is awesome.Version: 1.2.12

Great game. Here’s some suggestionsI was thinking it would be kind of cool to have the league be more dynamic and maybe some coach and player relationships. I was just thinking of an instance where I really liked a WR I had in ATL but after 9 season I left for CIN and since realistically that player would not have retired if his contract expired and you could maybe contact old star players to ask them to play for you again and their decision is based on your relationship. Another idea would be player to player relationships where if my QB has thrown my WR 400 TD’s i think they’d enjoy playing with each other at that point. So along with the other suggestion, let’s say for instance; I have a really good WR and QB combo in ATL for 6 seasons then I leave for CIN and with my good relations with the WR he could influence either the relationship system between the QB and Coach (player) and you end up getting your star WR and QB combo while rebuilding a franchise. Think like Tom Brady bringing Gronk to Tampa Bay. Either way thanks for reading this far and I really enjoy the game!.Version: 1.3.37

GoodPretty fun game to play.Version: 1.4.22

Easy to enjoy, exciting to masterNice game to fill that couple of minutes of phone time throughout the day... though saying that I’ve been playing for half an hour now on first play. Definitely a decent free game not P2w.Version: 1.3.79

Excellent game!I’m not much of a fan of sports and sports games, but this game truly impressed me..Version: 1.4.49

Best football game I've playedThis is what a great game looks like. I'm not one to usually rate a game, but this one deserves it. It keeps calling me back to play it and that is something I see in console games not mobile games, but these developers did great. Yes it is retro which is a let down due to the fact that I play 3D games but that doesn't particularly matter, what matters is the fact that it's fun Now even though it is a fun and amazing game, it does have its flaws, for example your never explicitly shown how the catching works, I had a guy on my little marker showing where the ball was going but the guy three feet in front of him intercepted it, another issue is that you don't get a defensive gameplay view, just text bubbles telling you what's happened, it makes the game faster but it makes it feel like you're not fully in control of your team, I would be happy with just watching it instead of reading it, one I feel a bit more control because I can see who's not doing well or who is great, secondly similar to my first point, I'll be able to know who's my weakest link, if that was fixed I would be happy. Nonetheless this is a great game, but needs a few adjustments.Version: 1.4.22

Applications with positive comments similar to Retro Bowl
New Star Cricket Positive Reviews, comments
New Star Cricket Positive Reviews

A big welcome from New Star Games as we expand the BAFTA award-winning gameplay of New Star Soccer into a whole new spor...

New Star Soccer Positive Reviews, comments
New Star Soccer Positive Reviews

Welcome to New Star Soccer, The best football game on mobile and tablets. (Eurogamer). The soccer game acclaimed a...

Retro Goal Positive Reviews, comments
Retro Goal Positive Reviews

RETRO GOAL is a fast and exciting mix of arcade Soccer action and simple team management, from the developers of hit spo...