PeakFinder App Negative ReviewsPeakFinder GmbH

PeakFinder Negative Reviews

4.7
4.70655 star

Total 33 Negative Reviews

PeakFinder App Complaints & User Negative Comments 2024

PeakFinder app received 33 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Have you ever had a bad experience using PeakFinder? Can you share your negative thoughts about peakfinder?

Please wait! PeakFinder Facebook comments loading...



PeakFinder for Negative User Reviews

Not quite accurateI use this app in the In the north Peak District but find it’s not quite as accurate as I thought it would be. Maybe it’s a mistake I’m making so any help would be appreciated. I’ve installed it on a new iPhone 13 pro and the internal compass works well.Version: 4.4.18

Mad I spent my free gift cardBought this app with a gift card I received from work. Mad I even used someone else’s money to buy it. Only knew about 5-6 of the mountains in my area when I live in the Rockies and 360° there has to be literally at least 20 visible by the naked eye from town. No matter how much I calibrate the view finder it’s off. Took a drive 1 hour away and thought “hey! Let’s see what these mountains are called”.. whadaya know.... trying to tell me they’re the same mountains as the town I live in... bummed cause I was super stoked for an app like this..Version: 4.1.6

This appGood app once you get used to it.Sometimes it has trouble finding the peak you are pointing at but reorienting compass cures that,.Version: 3.5.2

Needs workAfter selecting a view location, not my current location, at every step my selected location is discarded for my current location. It needs a ‘lock’ option, so for planning and using the app to its fullest. But after using the map to select s view location it should remain the view location. Otherwise it’s super cool. Lots of potential..Version: 3.5.0

Waste of timeEvery time I open this app it Euterpe needs updating or shows a blank screen. I always think this is a perfect time to use it and it’s let me down almost everytime.Version: 4.1.6

Not goodIf you live in the Alps, the sheer volume of mountains it shows is too great when you lost those near you plus there's no search facility. The map doesn't appear to change. Also the names are in German. I live in the French part so the German names are meaningless to me. Perhaps I'm not using it correctly but after 10 minutes trying I've given up. Bit of a waste of money. May be useful somewhere less mountainous?!.Version: 2.6.0

Doesn’t workI am sitting on top of Mt Watkins in Yosemite writing this review, with Half Dome smack in front of me, and it doesn’t identify Half Dome, nor Cloud’s Rest, which is directly to my left, nor several other prominent peaks. Keeps saying error, data for this location not downloaded, log out and then back in and a bunch of other crap I can’t do in the field because I don’t have my password with me. If it doesn’t work when I want to use it, it’s utterly useless..Version: 4.6.11

Very poor compass calibrationI have an iPhone and genuine Apple cover. Every time I try to use PeakFinder it is looking the wrong way. After repeated compass calibration it sometimes comes right. The compass on my Ordnance survey app never fails. In summary, this app consistently fails to provide the details of the peaks I am pointing at and I regard it to be a complete waste of money..Version: 4.4.9

Peak finder earthI want my money back.Version: 2.6.0

I should have read review!This app does not name Mountains! Do not waste your money. I live in the Rocky Mountains, this app allows you the privilege of choosing a name of hundreds around you & deciding which is which ~ I am not buying another app! Apple should know better ~ come on Apple we know you have trillions of dollars from our support! Don’t let us down now!!! Robert J.Version: 3.2.11

Not very user friendlyMy friend bought a peak finder app for her Droid based smart phone and I was so impressed with it that I had to get one for my iPhone. Sadly the one she has is not made for the iOS software. So I got this one. Two major flaws I’ve noticed: -It’s often inaccurate and you have to line it up manually. This requires you to match up their line drawing with the mountain range you are trying to place. This can be a little ambiguous and has left me feeling less than confident in knowing for certain which peak is which. -Second major flaw, you can’t just snap a photo of the peaks and their names, you have to do a screen shot. That requires pushing the power button and home button simultaneously. Doing that requires two hands and readjusting one’s position. I can’t simply pull my phone out quickly, point and shoot. I have to stop, make sure I have two hands available and then do a screen shot, which is a bit trickier for me to pull off while trying to hold the phone up and hold it steady. My excitement for this app disappeared quickly after purchase. I’d actually like to return it if that was a possibility..Version: 3.2.11

Peak finderPure crap. Not worth downloading for free..Version: 2.6.0

Complicated.As with most other apps, they start out simple and easy to use. Then they develop them further and only the young people can understand them. You have three categories of people under 45, under 70, and older. This happens like all the others and a piece of crap. But used to be easy and be able to see amount and easy is now a complicated piece of nonsense. I tried today the hiking one and I can’t even figure out how to stop the hike or turn it off what a piece of crap.Version: 4.7.19

AccuracyNot completely accurate.Version: 4.4.18

Not workingThe app tells me I need elevation and peak data need to be collected before using yet it just goes to a blank screen. Paid for an app I can’t use.....Version: 3.7.2

OkSometimes good but misses some mountains 😞.Version: 3.8.1

Doesn’t workYesterday...a couple of days before Christmas...I was standing directly in front of the Colorado 14er Quandry Peak just to see if this worked. I did this because every time I’d used it in the past, Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, I’ve thought it wrong. So I tried it at a mountain I’d trekked up, photographed and generally know well. It was not even close. Quandry wasn’t even on the screen. So I tried it again today, pointing at the front range south of Denver. Pointing due west at Mount Evans, I saw Horsetooth mountain, which is about 90 miles due north, showing up about SSW from the direction I was aiming my phone. I should get my money back. And, in fact, I want my money back..Version: 4.0.4

Unable to download dataThis should be a great app but I have tried at least ten times to download local data - every time the download fails, no reason given why. App is unusable without data - waste of money!.Version: 3.2.11

Why no Ben NevisWhy would the Ben Nevis label not show up despite standing in front of it, Carn Mor Dearg did show up labelled..Version: 4.2.28

The app doesn’t recognize direction properlyI have to keep adjusting the view that the app provides with my finger because when I move the phone around it doesn’t show the actual mountain. It’s actually somewhere in the back not where it supposed to be. I did the compass calibration many times and it doesn’t help if I am in the area that I’m not familiar with. I have no clue what mountain am I looking at only if I’m sure of the mountain, then I could adjust the view by swiping left or right to show the correct peaks. This is an iPhone 14 pro max..Version: 4.7.12

Yikes!Update: I’ve deleted and reinstalled the app again. It seems to be working for the most part! I’ll see what happens when I travel next week. I saw a few posts about it getting “stuck” in a location. I think maybe that’s what mine is/was doing? Original: I don’t know what it is about this app but it’s never worked for me. I’m often in southern CO, northern AZ and southern NV and it’s laughably wrong. I’m currently in NV and it’s telling me peaks in Vegas are actually peaks from central CA! It’s like this all the time. It’ll tell the mountains in front of me are actually 10 mile behind me, etc. Yes, it’s updated. I’m using an iPhone 11 Pro, do not have a magnetic case, and all of my other apps that use GPS/compass work perfectly fine..Version: 4.2.20

Crashes on launchApp crashes at launch. Running ios5 in order to retain Google Map integration with operating system (so that all my geo apps use Google Maps rather than the terrible Apple Maps). It may be this but their sales blurb says the app runs on ios5..Version: 2.5.5

Very inaccurateUseless!.Version: 4.3.2

Inaccuracies foundPurchased app based on great reviews. However, it has problems with accuracy and completeness. Used familiar territory around Vail/Beaver Creek as a test. Some peaks like Mount Jackson and New York Mountain correctly identified. Gold Dust Peak towers above everything near it, yet it does not show as visible. Other peaks listed as visible are certainly not. Some peaks 30-35 miles away are mis identified. Compass and GPS working fine on my phone. Overall disappointed with my purchase..Version: 3.7.2

Works Sort ofWhen I first got the app I thought it was great. After using it for a while it’s a pain in the brain. My PeakFinder “gets stuck” on a location (ie - New Zealand for example). When I returned to the US I could not get it to come back here. Every time I opened the app, it thought I was in New Zealand. I un installed and reinstalled it. That should fix it right? It did not. Unbelievable!! I open it a week later and it was back. Further, the app gets clocked a bit. The peak I am certain of that in front of me shows up 15 degrees to the right in the app. You can fix that but what a pain in the brain. There are other apps that are much better and easier to use..Version: 4.2.17

Not worth it!View finder is off track. I am fairly familiar with peaks in my area but thought this app would help with some I was not. App is frustrating to try to get to work and if unfamiliar with your geography it is useless..Version: 2.6.0

Always wrongNever points in the right direction despite calibrating multiple times..Version: 3.8.3

Last update has make it unusableSince the last update the app has been unusable, when trying to align the overlay with the camera the overlay does not follow your finger movement (and begins to zoom and move around erratically) making it impossible to tell which mountains are which..Version: 3.8.1

Keep asking download more details mapWhy can’t you just download fully detailed map in the beginning rather than keeps asking us when there is not signal. How do you know there is more detailed map without signal? Why can’t you give us a choice to download fully detailed map? I don’t really understand the logic of developers..Version: 3.7.2

A nice app but could use a filterThe camera feature is great for areas that don’t have many mountains, but using it in the Pacific Northwest makes it incredibly difficult due to the number of peaks. The app could really use a filter feature, for example hiding mountains over 50 miles away, less than 2500 feet, etc. I searched for this option on the app and couldn’t find it. If it’s there, they could make it easier to find..Version: 4.7.23

It used to work fineWhen I downloaded it, the app was great. Now for some reason it has gone all weird. I have to point it 45 degrees in another direction to give me the mountain I’m looking at..Version: 4.7.6

Not sureSeems pretty basic. Needs some detail about resorts and other info..Version: 0

Always needs to download area and there is no serviceEvery twine i want to use this app I get somewhere and the app wants to download the area but there is no service. Is there a way to pre-download the area data? A common place to use this app will be when you’ve gone somewhere that there is no service.!? Even when returning to a place i’ve used the app successfully before it will want to download again and it can’t leaving me not able to use the app..Version: 3.5.0


🙂 PeakFinder Positive Reviews
Is PeakFinder not working?

PeakFinder works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact PeakFinder.

⛔   PeakFinder Problems
Applications with negative comments similar to PeakFinder
Tinnitus Perú negative reviews, comments
Tinnitus Perú Negative ReviewsGIANNINA HONORIOLifestyle2024-04-12
Zavgar Online v3 negative reviews, comments
Zavgar Online v3 Negative ReviewsANATOLII KALUGINBusiness2024-04-12