The Roku App (Official) App Negative ReviewsROKU INC

The Roku App (Official) Negative Reviews

4.7
4.7363 star

Total 77 Negative Reviews

The Roku App (Official) App Complaints & User Negative Comments 2023

The Roku App (Official) app received 77 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Have you ever had a bad experience using The Roku App (Official)? Can you share your negative thoughts about the roku app (official)?

Please wait! The Roku App (Official) Facebook comments loading...



The Roku App (Official) for Negative User Reviews

Works sometimes.Only works maybe a quarter the time. Works great when it does.....but takes forever to connect/reconnect..Version: 6.0.5

Do NOT download this app!The app works perfectly for the first time after you connect it, but as soon as the TV turns off, it won’t stay connected and you can’t wake/turn on the TV with the app even if your phone and TV are connected to the same network. When I tried forgetting the device and re-adding it to app, it also says that the device cannot be found, even if the wifi connection is the same for both and the signal is strong. I have read the official support site and other sites that recommend restarting both the app and TV, and checking to make sure the app and TV are on the same network, and it does the trick…until the TV turns off again. At that point, it is easier and takes less time to just use the physical remote, and if you can’t use it, you’re out of luck. I even tried updating the app to see if the problem was resolved, but both changed. This app doesn’t serve its purpose and it is definitely not worth all the hassle. Save yourself some time and frustration and just don’t download this app. Roku, please just fix the app so it actually works for once..Version: 8.3.1

Pretty terribleDoesn’t stay connected.. third party apps respond faster and stay connected. Don’t waste your time..Version: 8.11.0

Only for USAA lot of the free movies will only work in the US. They even send me emails with the latest free movies and every time I go to them they say sorry only available in the US. Smarten up ROKU. At least don’t send emails with offers of free movies when you know very well I am Canadian!!!!. Don’t buy Canadians.Version: 6.1.2

Works but inconsistentlyIt’s a great little app when it works with a channel menu so you can easily navigate to your favorite apps. Downfall here is that it will not always connect to the tv and when it does sometimes disconnects fairly quickly. The only way to get round this is by disabling Wi-Fi closing the app the reconnect to Wi-Fi before relaunching the app. This is a fairly consistent method to get around the connection issue..Version: 9.2.0

It’s not working properly again with new updateLots of bugs, rarely connects to tv now, y’all need to work out the bugs!! It was working great until the new update. Please fix!!.Version: 8.0.2

SatisfactionUseless will not set up. I guess I throw it away now and tell as many people how poor it is as I can’t get it o work.Version: 6.1.5

Remote Control ConnectionI swear I am never this guy to write reviews and complain about products. And I actually really appreciate all that something like this exists because some remotes these days have a ton of different batteries and they are always dying on you or not responding. I only put one star to get some attention because I think that there is one thing that everyone who uses their iPhone as the remote for their Roku tv (which I think you would be surprised at how many people do) has issues with is getting the Bluetooth to connect more rapidly. I know this probably comes off douchey but I really appreciate Roku. I only give this review because I like the product and I want to enhance it and make it better. It seems like, and this is not every time mind you, I spend a good 2-3 minutes trying a bunch of weird techniques and it’s not ideal. Ideally I would tap on the app, it would open, and have an option or setting to always make it so each time I open the app it automatically goes directly to the remote every time. Again, thank you Roku for all the progress this far and I appreciate your time. Thanks..Version: 8.4.2

Can no longer connect to my TVsUsed to work so well. Now it can’t detect any TV I have at home. Quite disappointing.Version: 9.4.0

Serious connectivity issuesUpdate a month later: still having issues multiple times a day! It works one second then just disconnects! Ridiculous. Having serious trouble connecting to my two Roku devices, from two different phones and a tablet. I shouldn’t have to delete and redownload the app once a day!!!!!.Version: 9.4.0

Private listening drops outSince the last update, private listening repeatedly drops out every few minutes. Roku recommends restarting the box to reset, but this is only occasionally effective. No problem with private listening until the last update. Sad because private listening is a very useful feature to have..Version: 8.2.0

Horrible app.I’m not sure what the thought process is when these apps are developed, but you might want to make an app that actually works with all of your products. This app used to be fine, but it all of a sudden will not connect to my TV anymore and I’ve made no changes that would’ve caused that to happen. I’ve tried all of your generic, run-of-the-mill troubleshooting answers you give on your website and none of that works. I put in the IP address manually and it STILL told me it wouldn’t connect. My network has already granted permission, and the phone and tv are on the same network. There is no reason I should have to bend over backwards to fix this. You shouldn’t be giving generic answers. Either fix it or send us new products and make this right. I’m not going to buy anymore Roku products at this point. There seems to be a lack of any effort to address that issue, and from what I’ve seen on the internet those general solutions aren’t solving the problem. So it must be internal with the app/TV itself. Please address..Version: 9.2.0

Doesn’t workCreated an account and attempted to stream Disney+; however, when I chose the video the app endlessly requests me to sign in. It just constantly pops up the sign in option and doesn’t allow me to watch anything..Version: 6.1.5

To much timeIt takes forever to get a connection.Version: 6.0.5

Note To App DevelopersTheoretically, a brilliant app. The reality of it is that this app in the year+ that I’ve been using it has upgraded many times, each time seeming to get more and more glitchy...and not really adding anything of great positive change to the app. I’m at the point now where about half the time neither ios device I use is able to connect to my Roku tv and almost always at least one is unable to connect. Yes. I know about unplugging the tv for a few minutes to reset it but it’s rather annoying when I’ve just prepared a meal and I’m sitting down to watch something and have to wait an extra 5 minutes while my food gets cold for the connection to reset. So here’s the message I’d send to the developers: The app, while the other features are cool, is designed to be A REMOTE. If it can’t even be used as a remote then YOU ARE FAILING AS DEVELOPERS OF THIS APP. Forget the extra nonsense until you take care of these bugs preventing us from connecting the remotes to our roku tvs. Thank you..Version: 7.2.0

Recent changes broke itYup new iPhone 14 and app was losing audio connection but at least it would reconnect but now just crashed and restarted phone and Roku app sits on splash page and no spinning graphic. Removed and reinstall now. Now I get the new user hints….AGAIN. down to 1 star now as it’s annoying. I use this app mostly to listen late at night using the headphone connected to phone. Used to be 5 stars until it broke. But a short while ago (couple months maybe) it crashed while using it. Couldn’t hear anything on headphones or TV. The TV started playing one I hard stopped the app. Tried going back to app and it would sit at the splash screen for many minutes and never load. Resorted to remove/delete the app and reinstall it. But just happened again so now reinstalling again. Last update said it fixed private listening crash. I tried it last night. I lost the connection and it started playing over the TV this time I was able to get it reconnected and worked again. Went to open app tonight after work and NADA, only thin was splash screen with roku logo tried to wait and it didn’t seem to ever get past that. Deleted YET AGAIN, FROM PHONE, and will be downloading again after I post this review and hope it works. AND BACK AGAIN DELETE AND RE INSTALL. it crashed a couple times and I had to force close the app. And it restarted and worked crashed few mins later and now same. splash screen, no spinning graphic and never starts..Version: 9.4.0

Bugs bugs bugsCouldn’t even get past step 1: Tried to create an account in the app and just get a continuous “unable to create account” message. So no Roku for me..Version: 8.10.2

Eco-modeThe app does always said that my TV is in eco-mode, so I can’t use the application. Sometime it works and sometime not....Version: 6.1.4

Crash after crashNot sure what’s happening since the update but the app will not load anymore and just crashes. I was hoping to use Roku to upload AMC+ to my watching package, ready for TWD new season next month but saddened to find the app no longer loads on iOS. Currently running latest software updates so the issue isn’t my end. Hoping that the developers check out this issue promptly.Version: 7.4.0

Can’t use headphonesWith new update whenever you try and connect headphones with the app, the app will crash. Really disappointed..Version: 8.10.2

Private listening doesn’t workMy main issue is that I’ll plug in my headphones to listen to private listening only to be kicked out of it 30 seconds later, I re downloaded incase there was an update and yet no difference, this is annoying since I live in a very loud household. Other then that it works alright. I wish I knew where to find a few options for this :/.Version: 9.0.0

Currently not workingThis app can no longer find my Roku device, when both my phone and Roku are connected to the same network. Have also put in my Roku’s IP address and get a message saying “Roku cannot be found at this address” even when the device is online with the IP in front of me from the Roku settings menu. Tried deleting and reinstalling the app, tried restarting both the device and the app and still nothing. Something has gone seriously wrong recently. Please fix!.Version: 7.8.1

Update ResolutionHi, please update the resolution of the backgrounds on the app on iPad to at least 4K resolution. When opening on iPad the backgrounds are blurry as if they were designed for a smaller device like a phone..Version: 9.2.0

No goodNot helping me at all.Version: 9.4.0

Good app but needs updatesI lost my remote 2 - 3 days ago and I used this app! When I first did. It was okay. The next day I realize you need to have your tv on for the next day otherwise you have to get a remote. The channels are cool though however sometimes you want to watch something and then you have stuff you don’t like. That is just my opinion. I get the thing of it needing to connect. However don’t turn off you tv ever otherwise useless app! My mom bought 5 yesterday. Yes that is right, I said 5 just in case if I lose another one. I have another spare. Sometimes the needs connecting plays for no reason. And is this just my tv but the Roku TVs disconnect the WiFi after turned off for hours. Not even a day! You need to change this. Or make a button to turn it on when not connected. Other then that. It is a good app. Not the best though. If you make this app better. I will regret this message. But for now, this is ridiculous!.Version: 7.4.0

Can be very frustrating at timesThe app is a great alternative to using the remote, especially if you are someone like me who looses it every 5 seconds. I have the app on a setting to where i can turn my tv on through the app. A lot of the times the remote is not connected so it doesn’t turn on my tv. The main reason I have this app is to listen to the tv with my headphones. A lot of the times it gives me problems and it doesn’t always connect to my headphones or it will connect for a little while and then start glitching later. This app has a lot of problems and its so annoying when I turn on my tv expecting to use my phone and its not connected. I don’t understand why its not connected when i have an internet connection. And also when the app starts glitching is causes my tv to glitch and turn off. And sometimes my tv doesn’t work unless i get up and unplug it and plug it back up again. As i said before, this is a good app and is very convenient, but at the same time it can still use a lot of work in the meantime..Version: 6.0.5

Can’t prevent phone from auto lock?One glaring omission from this app is that there is no option to prevent the screen from auto-locking. That seems like such an oversight of something so essential in a remote app. Imagine you have a physical remote that sleeps and may or may not reload when you want to use it. Behold Roku app. Turning off auto-lock for the entire device just to keep the remote open is really a bad and unsafe alternative. Unfortunately with all the great features this app provides (especially the swipe controls and keyboard) this app becomes completely useless because eventually you will find yourself taking the path of least resistance and just reach for the physical remote. Please please add an auto-lock prevention option. IOS has this capability and from experience it’s relatively minimal effort to implement this functionality. Also Roku doesn’t seem to have an email to suggest missing features, so I’m going to be pessimistic here and assume Roku probably won’t read this and this app will never get this option. I so hope I’m wrong because I really want to use this app 🖖..Version: 4.2.3

OkayI’ve had this remote since I got the tv, the actual remote is rubbish battery only last about two-three weeks so I decided to download this one. Was working perfectly without a hitch. And since I have two now tv sticks in the house it always picked up both fine. Than last week it just suddenly stopped working every time I go on to the app it would freeze and crash. And now it doesn’t even bother opening in up..Version: 7.5.0

Bluetooth flakey / loss of device connectionI’ve been using the Roku app for about 2 months. All of the basic functions work which is great. My issue with the app is the Bluetooth functionality and the overalls app connection. The app seems to work for a time, or can work longer some days, but the app often will randomly drop signal for the headphones, lose my Roku sound bar and freeze up. I have to restart the phone, the headphones and the sound bar to get it to work again. A retry / reconnect on the sound bar never re-finds the sound bar. The aftermath of the app freeze on the phone and it’s connection with the Bluetooth headphones is what demands a phone reboot. I love the idea of the app and the potential. When it works, I love the functionality and option the listen and control our tv discretely as my wife is a night nurse with an opposite sleep schedule. I’d gladly do 5 stars if it wasn’t for all the disconnects resulting in hardware/software freezes..Version: 8.2.0

Never againOh, I don’t know really if never again. If Roku admits that they have a problem, then I might get a new Roku when the time comes. Meanwhile, I have four Roku devices, all different versions, and only the very oldest one which is I think a Roku 2 does not have this problem: the remote basically does not connect to the device. Or rather, it does connect then loses the connection and acts like it has run out of battery. The problem with that is the next minute the battery strength is strong, and then weak and there’s no connection and then strong again. So I use the app on my cell phone. That works except for two things. 1) the app loses connection to the Roku device. I have to go to the “dashboard” and reconnect the app to the device. That works until a minute later. 2) because the phone is tied up being a Roku remote, if the phone rings, I have to lose time answering it, hustling over to the Roku app so that I can pause whatever I’m watching, and then I have to find my way to the phone app so I can answer the incoming call. That’s all inconvenient..Version: 9.2.0

Don’t use this appUse a non official app because this app never works. Absolute trash.Version: 8.11.0

Frustrating at times. Even after update still doesn’t work.Biggest problem I have is that me nor my wife can connect to both of our TVs to access the remote in the app. I am connected to WiFi and it’s full signal in the living room and in the bedroom. My wife was having troubles a month ago for about 2 1/2 weeks and then it worked for me no problem. However about 4-5 days ago I can’t connect at all. I have WiFi connected to my phone and both TVs and the app is updated however the issue still persists. It’s a bit frustrating guess I will just go ahead an buy 2 new Roku remotes due to the app inconsistency we have had. I will say that when it’s worked for me, it was an amazing app however its not always easy to keep track of a physical remote when you have 2 kids that love to grab it a hide it, forget where they put it or it gets lost. So that’s why the app is always my go to to be able to quickly get the tv on without the 30 mins to all day search. Maybe others have had no issues like I’m having or maybe they have. Anyways 4 stars for the times everything worked however it pretty much useless when it refuses to connect..Version: 7.8.2

Temperamental remote replacementFamily room Hisense tv remote broke. Roku 2D box in bedroom remote wouldnt work on hisense got this app on my ipad and 2 iphones to recognize both devices at first. Sometimes connection has to be re established if i leave my house, today i had to shut down the other phone, which did not leave the house, for it to recognize the hisense, but the phone that left the house nothing works anymore, not even reinstalling app and manually imputing the ip address. They are signed into my roku account by email. My ipad so far isnt doing this. Shows anything free is junk. I had to take the phone off the network shut it off and reinstall the app every time i leave the house with my phone and it sometimes recognizes my tv after all of that. Its a pain. Nope didnt work this time says the tv in front of me isnt on the network, only the bedroom one i have to keep putting the name and location every time i reinstall too. My other phone is no lnger recognizing my tv either.Version: 7.8.3

It doesn’t workIt doesn’t work.Version: 6.2.2

Love the app!I love the app it’s amazing! But there are lots of set backs that make this not work properly, one is that the remote almost never connects to my tv. It could be the tvs fault but the app also has problems with other tvs and Rokus. Second, I have to click the buttons on the remote multiple times for it to work and it has a super late start so if I press back once, doesn’t work press it again seems like it doesn’t work but then I press it again and it goes 2 times making this harder than it needs to be. Also depending on the tv or Roku it doesn’t have some of the controls for me like the power button is gone on a tv and it’s there on another, I feel like it should stay the same. Those are all the problems but it has some great features like if you’re connected to a tv you can choose channels and there’s a way to type so you don’t have to manually type with the remote buttons. Sorry for bad talking your app it’s great but those things could be fixed hopefully.Version: 8.10.0

Nice app but has its issuesI really like the app and it has great features for controlling the Roku stick when the remote is lost. However, it constantly tells me I’m not connected to the WiFi! If I switch between apps it works for 5 seconds before telling me I’ve got no WiFi again! If this issue was fixed it would be a 5 star app, until then it’s just an infuriating app that I avoid if I can..Version: 7.3.1

APP functions stupidlyWhy bother to have a mobile app that you can’t use unless you connect with a fixed wireless? I tried to go into update my payment information for my new credit card. I can’t accomplish this because it will not connect and less it has Wi-Fi. We only use fixed secure Wi-Fi because of data security issues. I certainly don’t want to break this rule in order to go on this app to update my credit card information. This is a stupid design that they need to fix. Most of us have unlimited data and are not concerned about whether we have Wi-Fi. Also if I were using this app on a road trip with my kids I would want them to be able to look on their iPad whether or not we had access to reliable Wi-Fi. Stupid stupid stupid design. Any app to sign her that is this out of touch with the purpose of its application needs to be replaced. Roku needs to fix this or I suspect it’s going to be replaced with the mini market alternatives that have now developed including Apple Watch doesn’t have this problem..Version: 4.2.19

Won’t load.I downloaded the Roku app 2 years ago after my remote stopped working. I’ve never had an issue with the app until now. When I open the app it loads but will never go any further then that. I originally believed it may be my phone I’ve restarted my phone twice, I’ve since re-installed the app 3+ times with no change. I’ve tried using the app on different wifi networks, no change. I’ve tried using my data, nothing. This has been ongoing for a over a week and a half. No improvement or change. Just a purple spinning wheel on the main screen when you open the app. Can’t even turn my TV on or off. Truly irritating. I’ve resorted to using other universal remote apps but the ads are just as irritating as the loading screen..Version: 9.4.0

Crashes When Airplaying Video and Using RemoteI noticed it crashes everytime I try to Airplay a video and then go to the remote to route the audio to my headphones instead of the TV..Version: 8.10.2

Make usable when on Mobile dataLove this app so much but please make it so you can use your mobile data to access the app because I hotspot my tv and like using privet listening but i can’t because it won’t let me on the app when using mobile data. Jan 20th 2022 - okay so you have now made it that you can access the app but can’t connect to the device on mobile data? I can connect manually but when I hit the little remote icon it says I have to have a wifi connection. Really getting on my nerves now..Version: 8.0.4

USED to be greatI used to love this app. I mainly used it for the Private listening feature. I would use it all the time with Jabra wireless earbuds to watch movies and would have no problem. However, within the last month , when I connect to watch tv via Private Listening … the sound cuts out. It screeches and drops connectivity. I can’t go five minutes without the sound dropping and when I touch the Private Listening headphone icon to switch it back to tv sound …nothing happens. I tried it with a pair of Bose wireless earbuds and it does the same thing. No problem with the Bluetooth because I can listen to music on my phone via either pair of earbuds with no connectivity issues at all. App will show an error “Your Roku is not online proceed without connection ?” … while I’m literally watching the tv. No streaming issues. I finally tried a pair of wired earbuds …and it worked with no problem. Major issues with Private listening when connected to Bluetooth headphones. Please Fix !.Version: 8.2.0

Crashes all the timeVery bad app. It crashes all the time and the remote listening is a joke..Version: 8.11.0

New update not workingWorks great until it updated. Can no longer find the wifi and will just close. Please fix..Version: 6.0.6

It doesn’t workDoesn’t work most of the time.Version: 9.4.0

Mehh.. when it wants to work it’s greatSo the app decides when it wants to work. I’ve had it a while and have 2 devices a Roku tv and a tv stick. It connects to them both sometimes. And then maybe one and not the other when both in use. Nothing changes they are always on the same network. It’s frustrating! Changing it to one star.! Tried everything still temperamental one min works and then for months it won’t connect. I have the Fire TV remote too and not one issue.! I only use this for the remote anyway.Version: 8.8.3

Love Roku, Hate the shameless trick adsRoku May be the best universal media platform available, which is why I feel tricked and angry several times a week due to their shameless screensaver ads. If you pause a program to get a drink or deal with something on your phone long enough for the screen saver to come on, it would make sense to resume your show by pressing play. Nope. In Roku World pressing play immediately loads up whatever add based sponsored content was scrolling on the screen saver, usually it starts downloading some new channel. Roku knows this and does it shameless and intentionally. Then they can go to their sponsors and and tout the “clicks” and “downloads” they got, but it is all fake, a trick. I hate it and is the only complaint I have with Roku. I can’t stop it and I should have learned by now, but Roku knows what I have discovered, it is ingrained almost innate to push the play button to resume your show rather than the back button. Shame on you Roku. You have the best platform, no need to trick us..Version: 8.10.0

Used to love RokuBut they’ve been pretty disappointing recently. My current issue is trying to figure out how to cancel subscriptions, and being unable to get into contact with anyone from Roku Anyone at all, is impossible. If I go to the site of what I’m subscribing to, it says I need to do it through Roku. When I go to Roku’s website, it says I need to do it through the Roku. I don’t see the option anywhere on the ruku, it’s not on the faq, their online “help” system is worthless and just puts me through circles. And their customer service line that they hide the number to (bet you can’t find it on their website) just saying to go online for help. Which isn’t helpful at all. So I’m about to just call my credit card company and file a fraud claim, I don’t know how else to get the payments to stop. Another annoying issue from about a year ago. I bought the top model of Roku since my old rule stopped being serviced. The most expensive, fastest model. Within 2 months it’s telling me I need to buy a memory card since the Roku is full, and until I do, it uninstalls apps to make room for the ones I use. All I use is 5 streaming channels. That’s literally the only apps downloaded on it besides what comes in it, which shouldn’t be a lotl. If I’m buying the most expensive, top end model of a product, I shouldn’t have to buy additional add ones to make it functional. I feel like Roku made it big and then stopped caring about quality, just on profits..Version: 7.8.2

Constant buffering, terrible pictureIt worked for three months, now it keeps telling me that I’m not connected to the Internet, accompanied by constant buffering and terrible picture when it does work. All other devices in the home are connected to the Internet and working perfectly. I have fibre to premises, so I have a really fast and solid Internet connection with no dropout. It’s not my internet connection, it’s the Roku. I’ve tried all the things I can find advised online to fix it and none of them work..Version: 7.0.5

TCL Roku TV - RemoteI use the remote on the app for private listening using my Bose Quiet Comfort II headphones. When it works it’s fantastic! Lately I’ve been having so many issues with it doing this 30 second countdown to wake my tv up out of “eco mode” for no reason at all. My tv is not in eco mode. I wait the 30 seconds for it to connect and it starts all over with the 30 second eco mode stuff. I get so frustrated. I’m a techy. I know my way around these issues by searching from solutions from others. Currently I’m turning Airplane Mode on and off to reestablish my WiFi connection. That seems to fix the issue for a little while, but come on. Why should anyone have to do this? I’ve had this tv for two years now and have always had this issue with the remote feature on the app, but it’s gotten so bad I felt I needed to leave a review. The app remote has also started not working when I try to turn my tv on. And yes, both my phone and tv are on the same WiFi network. Major frustration. Please fix this issue already!.Version: 6.2.2

Won’t workApp won’t work. I switched internet companies and now app can’t find my tv.Version: 8.11.1

Good but problematicWorks as an alternative to using the provided remote, which plays havoc with various remote controlled lights, however I need to switch off the 5ghz channel on my router to use the private listening function, and even then it doesn’t work properly as the audio drops for between 2 and fifteen seconds every ten seconds or so. Ultimately a flawed app which doesn’t really work in a standard setup.Version: 8.2.0

Worst app everThis app has stopped working suddenly it tells me Roku is not connected when it is connected and has excellent connection also says no roku device can be found when I type the IP address it tells me there is no device on this network when there is and tells me I need to enable permissions which have already been enabled and even when I turn the permissions on and back off it still won’t detect device even tried uninstalling and reinstalling the app still not working this app is beyond belief you would think after years of this problem Roku would have sorted it by now but no it’s a case of we have your money so stuff you we won’t bother fixing issues with our own app which means you can’t use your phone to control the device like we promise or use private listening never mind the fact this constitutes false advertising Roku have known about this issue for years now and still not sorted it customer service and care non existent with this company..Version: 7.2.1

Good ideas TERRIBLE qualityThe features of the remote are quite nice, but the execution is atrocious. It takes minutes for a single command to go though and the audio disconnects constantly from my headphones and I can only turn it on with my phone about 1/10 times..Version: 8.11.0

TemporaryWhen I first got my Roku I used the app a lot to download new channels and pause the tv when my kids were watching and ignoring me. I really liked it. Today I’ve gone to use it to search for a channel after not using the app for a while and suddenly my device is no longer listed. When I search for the device it tells me it isn’t connected to the same network (it is), I’ve tried doing the manual option and it tells me the same thing. I’ve also done all the troubleshooting options to no avail. So now the app is redundant for me..Version: 7.2.0

Private listening stopped working about 5 months agoRoku app was pretty awesome at pairing with my now tv stick and using the Bluetooth so I could listen through private listening. Great for somebody like myself that stays up late - tv doesn’t bother anyone. Past few months it’s stopped working - will suddenly disconnect after about 30 seconds. Won’t work with any apple device at present. Pretty pointless app now - was using it a lot but that was mainly the reason. Other than that it’s basically a remote but I have one already and there are plenty of other decent free remotes out there on the App Store. Yes - tried trouble shooting and tried all the advice I could find but doesn’t make a difference. Happened after an update on apple devices and also the Roku app was updated too. Pretty redundant app now..Version: 8.3.0

From an accessibility standpoint, the watch app is pathetic!I haven’t found many issues with the iPhone app, but nobody, including me, has all day to read or in my case, write my entire review about what’s wrong with the Watch app. It’s so much easier to write what does work, and that’s kind of pathetic. Everything should work with voiceover, meaning this is an accessibility issue. Your TV talks, but you fail to understand how well accessibility needs to work on your apps. All I can say is, everything on page 2 of the app works, but nothing else does. I can switch from page to page, but heaven forbid I should touch the page chooser, because it ends up going back to page one, which is beyond frustrating! When I’m trying to do something on page 2, then I go too far and get to the page chooser, it goes back to page 1. That should not happen! When there are four pages, and only a quarter of them work with voiceover, you have a problem. Accessibility should be one of the first things you should check before releasing an app..Version: 6.1.5

Great apart from the one feature I wantedBeen suffering from audio issues when using headphones with the remote and one suggestion was to use the app instead. However, while the app looks like it would be great if I lost the remote, I can’t get the headphones working with it at all. The help/FAQ says to open the app and plug headphones in, but that has no effect. I’m on iOS and have the latest version of the app (it certainly says it supports headphones) but no dice. So kinda annoying. And remote batteries are fine, have restarted roku, and no I’m not fiddling about with wifi channels..Version: 7.2.1

App does not workThe app worked really well for a few months but know I am not able to download to my phone..Version: 9.4.0

Doesn’t workIt worked for the first year of having the TV. Now it won’t connect at all. I’ve tried uninstalling and installing again but that doesn’t fix it. TV doesn’t seem to need update. Netflix doesn’t work on ROKU TV anymore either. ROKU does not age well..Version: 8.11.0

Roku services bricked?Been using this app with my Roku TCL TV for years without a problem, but as of yesterday this app just refuses to connect with my tv at all. It will even detect the tv but not connect with it, no matter how many times I tried. Another related issue is that I can’t seem to stream content from my mobile devices to my Roku tv anymore. Used to be able to beam whatever video I was watching on my phone straight to the tv, but now that doesn’t work either. Just like before, it detect that my Roku tv is there, but when I select it to stream from the phone, nothing happens… This all leads me to believe that there is a clear issue across Roku’s services. Perhaps their systems are down? My Roku tv still works fine otherwise, so I won’t give this a 1 star review, but as a wireless remote to my Roku tv, this app has effectively been bricked and made useless. I’m hoping Roku gets a handle on this issue soon, because the current update didn’t fix the connectivity issue and I still can’t use it to operate my tv..Version: 8.0.3

Your app DOES’T WORK!IT DOESN’T REMOTE. WHAT KIND OF REMOTE DOES NOT REMOTE!.Version: 7.8.0

Convenient BUT -Super convenient app if you’ve lost your remote or are feeling lazy, however, i’m not certain if it’s the app or my wifi, (noting that my wifi doesn’t do this with ANY other app) but it causes some issues. If my wifi is on when i try to open the app, it won’t work. I have to disconnect wifi, use data, open app, then connect to wifi. & then, it’s a game of tag. It’ll connect to my device, but then my wifi disappears, and it takes about a minute to get it back on. Not a big deal, i’m just usually using it to entertain my toddlers when they’re already screaming. When i do have wifi, it won’t connect to the device, and vice versa. I have to reconnect my wifi every 2 seconds using it. I’ll be in the middle of scrolling through shows and wifi disappears. Reconnect. Then have to reconnect device. Start scrolling again, and wifi disappears. Like i said, i’m not certain if it’s the app or my wifi, but no other app causes this issue, including another Roku remote. (i like this one’s set up better).Version: 9.1.0

Great app when it decides to workI mainly use this for when I lose my physical remote or private listening when I want to watch TV, but not wake up housemates. It seems quite frequently it has stopped connecting to my TV saying that my TV may be in “eco mode” and asks me to “wake it up.” My TV is never in “eco mode” and I’m usually in the middle of a show when this happens. The only way I’ve figured out how to get it to recognize my TV again is to completely unplug my TV for about 20 seconds and plug it back in to completely reboot it. Then it usually works, but will often disconnect during the same watching session. It’s very random, too. Sometimes I can go a whole day without this problem. Sometimes I give up and just watch stuff from my phone because I can’t get it to private listen for more than 5 minutes. I have a strong WiFi connection and my bed where I try to private listen from isn’t far from my Roku TV. I don’t think I’ve ever reviewed an app before, but this needs to be fixed. I’ve looked at reviews from a year (and longer) ago complaining of the exact same issue. PLEASE GET THIS FIXED, roku developers!.Version: 6.0.13

Have never been able to connect to tv.Ridiculous. It doesn’t work on either one of my tvs no matter what i do. Tv and phone are on the same network, tv is up to date as well as my phone and the application, and it only connects randomly and will immediately disconnect randomly. It only lasts for seconds. And i suspect it has everything to do with the fact i have kinetic wifi. It’s a pain. The Hisense and onn roku lacks volume buttons therefore there is no control besides changing channels without any type of remote and it’s ridiculous. I regret purchasing my roku tvs at this point. It’s been years that i have had this problem with the app. No matter what i do and try it refuses to connect and recognize my hisense or my onn. I cannot STAND it anymore. Please fix this because i am not the only one with this problem and you are only driving customers on a tight budget away. Remotes are 20+ bucks a piece at my local stores and i have a baby on the way to save up for. I know that doesn’t seem like much but it’s ridiculous when i have a free app that SHOULD WORK REGARDLESS. i shouldn’t have to get a remote! Totally unfair..Version: 8.7.0

Good for the most partJust like to stay on the foundation of Jesus and be in straight pride..Version: 9.4.0

When it works, it’s great! However…When it works, it’s totally awesome! It gives you all kinds of info about programs and allows you to use your phone as a remote. It’s worked for many months. Today, for unknown reasons, it just stopped working. I hadn’t changed anything. The app now absolutely won’t connect to my Roku Streaming Stick 4K+. The stick works fine and is connected to the exact same network as my phone. My phone’s network connection is fine. The TV is fine, Roku is fine, the remote is fine. They all are working fine together. The app just won’t connect. I tried connecting manually in this app, carefully matching up the IP address of the stick to the app. The app still won’t connect. I deleted the app, then reinstalled it. The app still won’t connect. I even did a soft reset of my phone. The app still won’t connect. I disconnected the power to the TV and the Roku. No matter what I did, and no matter how carefully I read and followed the instructions in the online Help for this app, the app won’t connect. I give up..Version: 9.2.0

MehLove it when it works but only connects to my tv 50% of the time. Kinda useless if you ask me..Version: 8.11.0

Constant crashing - Private listeningThe Roku app seems to go through really good periods and then really bad periods! For the last few months the app has been unable to find any of my Roku devices, the only thing that changed on my network was the Roku app was updated! Now finally after two / three months and the latest update it can find the Rokus but every time I click on the private listening feature the app instantly crashes! So frustrating as I use the feature all the time due to both my wife and I working shifts!.Version: 9.1.0

Crude software mostly designed for paid tv streaming.I was promised it would be easy to view my pictures from pad and phone via the Roku device. It is anything but!! Finally getting the pictures to just show on the smart tv with roku device connected, if I hit any other option like adding music I cannot find a way to get back. Pages keep freezing and the software options are very limited. The home page has every option for paid tv channels but no “Play on tv “ option. What with that, being forced to give my personal data and credit card details in advance and the difficulty to simply do what I wanted and thought I was buying.., this kit is a pain to use. What a big let down!! This app is incomplete there must be a better way..Version: 4.2.8

Private listening crashThe app worked great in my previous iPhone XS. After I upgraded to an iPhone 14 as soon as I hit the private listening button, the app crashes. That’s the most important part for me about using Roku. Frustrating.Version: 9.0.0

Keeps disconnecting!!The most frustrating thing ever, I can only click one or maybe two buttons if I’m lucky before something pops up to say there’s no connection. I then have to go to settings and click back onto the app and it lets me click another couple of buttons before doing the same thing. It’s not my WiFi connection because everything else is working just fine on the internet. Useless app! Only using until I can buy a new remote..Version: 4.2.17

Newest update just crashes before it loadsI updated about a week ago and ever since, it crashes right after I click on it before it can even open, was good before, a little buggy but fine.Version: 9.4.0

Good app with broken featureI used to use this app a lot, but one feature broke in recent months which makes it useless for me. The headphone connection keeps dropping. It used to work flawlessly, so I’m not sure what’s changed. My headphones stay connected to my phone as normal, but the direct link with the app drops out after a minute or so and I lose the audio connection to what I’m watching. EDIT: 2 app updates since I wrote this review but private listening is still broken..Version: 8.3.1

Never worksI have perfect wifi yet it wont connect to my tv literally ever, i can run every game on my playstation no ethernet but yet my phone cant connect to a tv not even 20 ft ahead of me.Version: 8.10.2

Not compatible with Sky Q remoteLike many I have discovered ROKU as an App on Sky Q. It is a nice idea with lots of free content. Watching The Village and loving it. Only problem is that it is impossible to fast forward or rewind using the Sky Q remote. It is very clunky to try to navigate through what you are watching. Also the i button does not work. Bit if a shame really and makes me less likely to use the app.Version: 6.3.3

This app never works properlyThis app is constantly having issues. My Wi-Fi connection is strong. It doesn’t matter how close my phone is to the Roku tv. I’ve tried restarting my tv and deleting the app and redownloading the app multiple times. It still has the same problems. Nothing helps. I downloaded this app because my tv remote is broken. This seemed like an easy solution. Nope. It doesn’t power on my tv like it’s supposed to so I always have to find some other way to do. Then if I get the tv on, the app won’t connect no matter what. I always try to connect it manually by putting in my IP address and that doesn’t help. So after closing the app and opening it over and over again eventually I might get it to work. But what’s even more frustrating is that once it does connect it’ll randomly stop. I’ve tried leaving my phone unlocked and keeping the remote app open and on the screen, I don’t always open other apps because I’m worried it’ll mess it up. But it doesn’t matter what I do. This app has a much better review than the other one but that’s only because the other one does absolutely nothing. This app isn’t much better..Version: 8.2.0

Roku tvThe power button will not work for my tv.Version: 8.10.2


🙂 The Roku App (Official) Positive Reviews
Is The Roku App (Official) not working?

The Roku App (Official) works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact The Roku App (Official).

⛔   The Roku App (Official) Problems
Applications with negative comments similar to The Roku App (Official)
Roku Smart Home negative reviews, comments
Roku Smart Home Negative Reviews

The simple way to a smarter home. The Roku Smart Home mobile app is the only smart home manager you need for your Roku S...