Noom: Healthy Weight Loss App Negative ReviewsNoom, Inc.

Noom: Healthy Weight Loss Negative Reviews

4.7
4.70089 star

Total 85 Negative Reviews

Noom: Healthy Weight Loss App Complaints & User Negative Comments 2023

Noom: Healthy Weight Loss app received 85 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Have you ever had a bad experience using Noom: Healthy Weight Loss? Can you share your negative thoughts about noom: healthy weight loss?

Please wait! Noom: Healthy Weight Loss Facebook comments loading...



Noom: Healthy Weight Loss for Negative User Reviews

So far, so badWhere do I begin? Signed up through iTunes and quickly realized that Noom charges $44 per month; bu if going through their site, it is $199 per year if paid upfront. There should be the same price irrespective of where one signs up. When my free trial period was almost over, I cancelled the iTunes subscription and went to the site on the desktop. When going through the subscription steps, a page popped up asking me to help pay for the costs of the free trial period. Also, while signing up, I had to go through several screens soliciting add-on services and invitations for my contacts. Finally, I got to the page with registration information. Once I filled it out and hit send, a message popped up that an account like this already exists. I then tried accessing the account through an app and received a message that there is no such account. Talk about self contradiction! After spending 15-20 on the chat line with support, and then as much on the phone with support, we finally got my account reinstated and I was able to register on the desktop. After that all I had to do was delete and reload the app, enable cookies and change the password again on the account and it seems to be working. I can’t seem to access the data that I accumulated during the introductory phase, but I am too exhausted to contact support about it. Time will tell how successful the app is with losing weight, but the administrative part has been very unpleasant thus far..Version: 9.35.0

Inadequate customer support and coachesI am not the type of person to leave a negative review, but I had such a bad experience with this app. I was SO excited to get started and I really thought this was going to work for me. The app selects a “weight loss zone” for calories, and for some reason mine was set at 1700-2500 calories a day. There is NO WAY I would lose weight eating these calories as my BMR is 1800-2000. I was also unable to manually adjust my calories, and there was a section missing in my settings for weight loss speed. I talked to customer support 3 times and I sent multiple messages to the “Noom Guides” and all they gave me were pre-written answers and links to the FAQs. It is like I was speaking to robots, no one would help even though something was clearly wrong with my settings. I canceled my subscription 3 days into the free trial..Version: 10.47.1

I love Noom but it has a major flawI have been using Noom on and off for 4 years after successful weight loss but the one thing I always hated is that they say you can customize your own recipe but that is not true. The calories is automatically generated and is always wrong. For example, I am trying to log a recipe with 725 calories, it automatically makes it 2725 calories and you can’t change/correct it. I was told by support that it can take 3-6 months for the recipe to be in the system. What if you want to log it because you just had it and want to stay on track with your calories but can’t see it in your calorie bar because it Is incorrect? There is no place to type the correct information. Makes no sense why Noom doesn’t have it and Lifesum does. I might switch to Lifesum because I do not want to wait 3-6 months to log a recipe I just ate. I want to know how much I eat calorie wise. Noom should have made it so it so you can fully customize your dish and nutrition info. This is the biggest let down of the app. I have talked to support about this 5 times in the past 2 days and most of them are clueless to what I want and those that do understand say “it can take up to 3-6 months for it to finalize”. I have tried this before and it never goes through. I tried 2 years ago and do you think anything happened? Nope. Really upset with how Noom handles this. Just make it so we can enter are own nutrition information. Lifesum does it.Version: 9.39.0

Needs basic featuresI cannot understand how this app was created without the feature to track meals for the future days. It’s annoying that you can only track the day of so even if you’re planning your meals for the week in advance you have to write it down separately and add it into the app on the day of. This is a big flaw in my opinion compared to other apps such as my fitness pal and weight watchers which have this basic feature.Version: 10.47.1

Calorie budget does not properly account gor exerciseFor athletes whose calorie budget is determined primarily by exercise levels rather than base metabolism, allocating only 50% of activity calories to food calorie budget would result in death. It is essential that 100% of exercise calories be added back to food budget otherwise excessive weight loss will occur and athletic performance will decline due to consuming muscle mass for energy as well as simply not having sufficient energy on hand for exercise. This app makes dangerous and wrong recommendations for active people..Version: 8.36.0

Feels like a scamI signed up after being bombarded with ads on my social media. I have previously seen a dietician and had a regular personal trainer, so with the ‘free’ trial I figured it was worth a shot. The questionnaire was rather in depth and I thought it might be worth the $100+ ongoing costs paid every other month for custom meal plan, training a coach.... however all of those things are additional. I felt as though I would be paying over $100 for a glorified food/exercise log book. Then once I came on here and saw all of the negative reviews I ended my trial and cancelled all ongoing subscriptions via the website/personal coach (which is typically automated responses anyway). IMO, it is definitely not worth it. Better off seeing a real, certified dietician. The cancellation process so far has been easy. I’ve been advised that I will not be charged outside of my $1 trial period..Version: 7.3.1

Has potential, app is lacking for price pointI have tried Noom three times over the course of last year. I also tried it along the free app “Lose It” and I must say Noom is lacking! Noom’s food database is not populated enough at all. I find most foods I have to manually put it in, and then it wont show up on the coloured scale. This is a huge part of logging your meals. If you’re someone who likes a variety of foods or eat cultural foods this app ain’t it. Lose it provides you with a rich database of foods, including other cultures and homemade options. Additionally, the noom app is very very expensive. 250$ a year can pay for a private nutritionist, who can break down the same facts for you. Most of the information available that is based on “psychology” is okay, if you have never had that type of education around food habits. But if you’re someone who has basic psych knowledge or has done some form of mindfulness or CBT this might feel repetitive. Overall, i wasn’t that happy with Noom and would recommend some of the cheaper options with better databases and app functions. The app itself from a programmer standpoint is very simple, and lacks the technological advancements many other apps have. I do not recommend..Version: 10.47.1

False advertising + fat shamingThe claim by the app that it doesn’t put you on a restrictive diet is just plainly false. It gets you to count calories and restricts caloric intake per day. How is this not restrictive??? This app is no different from any other calorie counting app. Not only is it misleading, it also fat shames. It tries to convince the user that their habits need to change, making the assumption that anybody trying to lose weight has unhealthy habits. Very disappointed about this carelessness by an app that claims to have been developed by health professionals. I highly doubt it was..Version: 8.11.0

DO NOT USE THIS PROGRAM!!I thought based on the trial if I liked it I would continue to use it, however I got I’ll half way through and couldn’t complete the program due to illness. I was billed $129.00 on a automatic renewal without receiving any notification prior to being billed.!! I asked for a refund, with no response and they just cancelled my subscription. I’m still trying to get my money back. Also they said I can still use but have cancelled my access?? Worst experience I have had in customer service in a long time. Do not use this program!!!.Version: 8.8.0

App won’t workI downloaded Noom a week ago and started going through the setup pages. After filling out the demographic questions, a page with two options comes up (fit for good or lose weight for good). No matter which one I choose, the app just takes me back through the demographic questions. I’ve tried reinstalling the app and that didn’t work. I also emailed the company when I first had issues and got no response..Version: 8.24.0

App needs workThe core psychological principles behind the app are solid and well structured, but the app itself has many rough edges, inconsistencies and limitations. Issues include: lesson times listed as 3 minutes but having a 10 minute audio recording. UI navigation is all over the place - very inconsistent use of UI elements. Buttons sometimes don’t work. Lessons often use American units rather than what the rest of the world uses. It often used cute or self conscious rhetoric and is replete with American cultural references and idioms. The graphing and tracking of food, exercise and weight measurements are very limited - can’t even graph daily calorie records. All audio voices have a strong American accent - while generally not a problem, it can become grating after a while. This app could be great with a little work..Version: 10.45.0

Worst app of all ! Charged $20 during trial periodThey asked questions and asked me to bet $20 , I didn’t know that this was their trick. This is ridiculous.Version: 10.47.0

Great in theoryI think this is a great idea with really good tips and tricks. I think for some people it would be great but it’s not good for me. For the cost it’s not worth it because I can’t make the most of the functions. The food log doesn’t work because nothing scans and when I have to enter things manually it doesn’t tell me if it’s a green, yellow or red so that doesn’t help. Also my ‘goal specialist’ is nice but has only checked in once and it was late and the time difference meant it was even later. Also he asked me some questions then never got back to me. Great app but not worth the money for me. Would be different if the support network worked like it should and I could use the food log properly..Version: 7.9.0

ReviewWeighing in Step counter Exercise counter Budget counter Group communication Group coach All these applications are fantastic Find some of the reading material a bit too much - it’s a lot to take in. I don’t understand the role of the personal coach. There is barely any communication, and when there is it is just a one question answer QA. With no real outcome/ resolution/support. It’s not personal to you. I have put forward a particular problem for me and have had no regular if any enquiry on how I am doing, no conversation and no suggestions on how to cope. I think the working personnel coach would b the major difference in this app - and without it will be the reason I do not Renew my subscription.Version: 6.3.2

Helpful the first 1.5 months, afterwards insufficient support and guidance to achieve goalsThe first 2 levels of lessons (equivalent to 1.5 months of the program) were interesting and offered useful information about how to look at food and your food habits. However after completing the second level of lessons the information became uninteresting and wasn’t adding up to my knowledge. Second, I entered a plateau in the third week of the program that I couldn’t get out from in four weeks. I started counting Macros and my weight started shifting down again. This made me realize that Noom’s system of food tracking based on colors was not helping me loose weight as I was filling up my diet with carbs (fruit and vegetables and some grains). When I turned to the in-demand coaching it was a huge dissatisfaction because I went in circles with them for THREE weeks - they would tell me that I plateaud because I was eating too little calories, only to realize they were wrong every time (this happened three times). When I moved to the ‘goal coach’ it was also disappointing because instead of giving me advice she literally said ‘loosing 6 pounds might be tricky, but you know what to do so you got it!’ Really?! I never said I lacked motivation what I lacked was guidance to overcome the plateau and the coaches and Noom tracking system really disappointed. My goal was to loose 12 pounds in 4 months. I am back in track but under a Macro diet, not Noom..Version: 9.16.1

Please make a favourite function!I wish there was a way to save/favourite regular food items, instead of having to enter the details every single time. Especially for those not in the USA, there are very few ‘already entered’ foods on the app.. I am now skipping the full dets because having to do this every entry is way too time consuming..Version: 10.11.1

Could be better.Love the colour coding which is helpful. I’m learning to predict which colour my food will be. When actually logging food I find the app time consuming. It would be helpful to be able to move from each meal time without having to exit and go back to the home screen and tap on log meals. I am not always able to log my food in advance or at the time of eating. I find the add recipe a little difficult too. Not all ingredients come up automatically so now when that happens I just log the meal with all ingredients, again time consuming. In conclusion the app helps me to stay on track of my food and exercise. As for the support, I’m just not interested. I will achieve my weight loss goals then use a free app to track my food to stay healthy..Version: 8.2.1

Poor bookmarking history and support resolutionI’ve stopped my subscription four months after I signed up because the articles weren’t interesting anymore and I learnt all I possibly can from the program. The coach assured me that my progress and articles will still be there once I unsubscribed. Now my progress and bookmarks that I’ve paid for are no longer available to me after I unsubscribed. It took them awhile to address my concerns and even then they couldn’t do anything about it but apologize and give me a discount to resubscribe. No reassurance that this won’t happen again if I do decide to unsubscribe again. They’re saying that I have to hit the back button all the way to when I can still read my articles - not very ideal if it was months ago. There has to be a date picker to go back easily to the articles I’ve actually paid for!.Version: 9.20.0

Psych info useful, coach and app link to Apple Watch not greatThe actual Psych info and process is very good. I don’t rate the coaches, too American for a non American market- ie bit too OTT and doesn’t feel genuine. Disconnect between support and coaches, doesn’t work that well I reckon. App doesn’t sync properly with Apple Watch (I have a brand new watch) but it doubles up the value of calories earned and their help team cannot fix it and said that’s just the way it is even though it says it syncs with Apple- it doesn’t properly so please don’t buy an Apple Watch thinking you can use it properly with this app like I did :( also not a lot of food scanned in for non American users by the looks but will improve over time I’m sure.Version: 9.15.0

Good but beware the stringing alongHere’s my honest opinion after using Noom for over 5 months. I started at 87kgs and I’m down to 82kgs, so that’s a positive. The first half of the program is good as it teaches you a lot about the different types of food, in other words the good, the bad and the ugly of nutrition. Forcing you to log your food intake and weigh yourself daily is also a positive. Although the program has next to nothing about exercise, I joined a gym at the start and more than quadrupled my level of physical activity. So I must credit my weight loss to a fair chunk of the exercise and not just Noom. There’s only so much they can teach you about nutrition so the second half is an endless litany of jibberish about psychology. You can’t help but get the feeling that they’re stringing you along just to stretch the membership for as long as they can. Each day you think they will bring something new/valuable about nutrition or exercise but no, it’s just more of the same gobbledygook. In my opinion, exercise is an essential part of a weight loss program and yet Noom has almost nothing about it. My advice to anyone looking at subscribing to Noom is to give it a go but stop your subscription at the halfway mark and save yourself a lot of money..Version: 10.20.0

Read This FirstThe Better Business Bureau has issued a warning for users of weight loss app Noom. In a Wednesday (Aug. 19) news release, the bureau said it’s seen a “significant uptick” in the number of calls it’s received about the app. Between Aug. 16 and 18, the bureau received 1,213 consumer complaints about Noom, largely about billing and customer service, compared to 2,023 total complaints since July 2017. According to a bureau alert, consumers are trying to cancel during the free trial offer but are still being billed for between $20 and $40 in monthly subscription costs. Customers are also claiming they are being charged upfront for several months of subscription, in amounts from $120 to more than $180 instead of being billed monthly. “Nearly all consumers detail the difficulty they encounter when trying to get in contact with the company’s customer service to request a refund of charges,” the bureau said. The bureau warned customers to read terms carefully when they sign up for a free trial, especially for health and wellness apps..Version: 8.23.2

Noom as a calorie calculatorFood calculator not as easy to use as “my fitness pal”. Biggest pet peeve is it doesn’t remember portions. Weight graph motivating Overpriced and having to pay for a whole year was less than desirable and very unattainable for many people..Version: 8.14.0

Great idea poorly supportedThe programme itself has really good information and techniques to help on weight loss journeys, but it’s let down by a glitchy app with some horrible user interfaces. While some barcodes are available these are few and far between in my own experience. When you add one, the screen doesn’t accommodate the details properly so I’m having to keep saving and editing to fill in the details accurately (and there is no option to state nutritional info for 100g, but track a portion of 50g for example). Another thing is the recording of foods, particularly for recipes when you’re talking about larger quantities- because all options are pretty much scroll wheels, it’s like playing the wheel of fortune trying to get the right amount. Feels so unnecessary. My data, targets and other info I’ve input disappear intermittently throughout the day and need to exit out of the app in order to retrieve it (and then something else goes missing). Too glitchy to be useful. I love the plan but if I could ditch the app I would do so in a heartbeat!.Version: 10.31.0

Great results, disappointing appI would love to be able to write this review as a Noom user, however I can’t even get the app to open with my information. After about seven months of actively using Noom on a daily basis, I lost the weight that I had wanted to lose successfully (about 20 lbs). I was feeling happy and healthy and really excited about the results, so I decided to put a hold on the program itself and continue to use the app. What a mistake that was! The moment that I stopped paying a subscription, the app started to give me a lot of problems. Some of these issues were issues that I had experienced as a subscriber previously such as not being able to put in the foods after the meals or my step counter getting stuck— however after my subscription, the app decided to not work for me at all. I did everything possible and contacted customer support a number of times to try to get this resolved to no avail. It’s not the phone, it’s also an off the app they say, but I can’t enter Noom at all. One of my issues upon contacting customer support was that I was considering going back to being a paying subscriber, but how can I do that when the app won’t even open for me to begin with? We shouldn’t be chastised for deciding that we need a break from the program… As I mentioned in the title great results, horrible app. I hope that they solve this problem eventually, but I doubt it as it’s been months for me!.Version: 10.21.0

Love this app but not customer supportI was doing great with this app. I love the articles that they have to read, the way that they show you how to choose your food wisely so you can keep on track. However, I was logged off by the app and required to sign back in. Have not been able to get back on the app since January 1, 2021. I’ve contacted Support and at least 3 to 4 times a day I get the same suggestion to fix my problem from a different person at Support. I just realized tonight that it is coming from Zendesk which is an app and not real people which explains why I am being told to do the same thing over and over again that does not work. There is no way to contact a person at Noom to get help. I am so disappointed that I cannot use this app any longer. I even tried starting a new account with a different email and it still keeps bringing me to the window to upgrade which means I have to pay again and I have done this twice with no luck. Every time I sign in it comes back to the I want to upgrade window and will not allow me into the actual app. It is so frustrating not to be able to talk to someone to get help with this. I really wanted to continue to use this app and had planned on paying the $200 for the year to reward myself on New Year’s Day but found myself locked out. I even sent an email to the CEO, Saeju Joeng and received a reply from Zendesk. I was only able to use this app for 4 months. Great app if you are able to use it.😩.Version: 9.0.0

Awful AppIf I could give this 0 stars I would, this app is awful. I got the 2 week free trial (even though I still had to pay £1). I was assigned to a coach who asked me if I would like to draw up a plan, I agreed since that’s the reason why I wanted to be on the app. It took her days to respond back only to ask me what I wanted to do as a plan. Hmm? I mean surely she is the professional, why is she asking me since I had already told her I wanted to lose weight. Once again it then took her days to reply again, when she finally respond she simply answered yes we can draw up a plan. We was literally going around in circles. So I messaged her with my thoughts on the lack of service in which she was providing and low and behind my 2 week trial then ran out so of course she then failed to respond. Do not bother with this app it’s useless and they do not help you at all. If you want to cancel your trial you have to message them about it so I believe that because she knew I was going to cancel she made NO effort. However little did she know had she have done her job and I was left satisfied I quite easily would have become a full member. Their loss! I am now using MyFitnessPal which is working great!.Version: 8.7.1

IndifferentThe app and noom courses are great. It has changed the way of thinking about food and healthy living. However, there are a few disappointments: The price is not good compared to other apps that fo the same. The so called extras such as the personalised eating and exercise plans are not so personalised and were the biggest disappointment. In fact, I spent a lot of money on these for me and my wife only to get generic plans that seemed cut and pasted with a few minor changes. If I had known this would have been the level of personalised plans I could have taken 30min to search for exactly the same information from the internet and saved my money. My personal coach forgot about me after I was placed in a group chat. There was never an option not to be placed in a group and if I wanted to join a group I could have done so on another free social media group. However, I must add that my wife’s coach contacted her every few days so this might just be my experience. My advice… even though this app had good qualities, shop around, because chances are you will find exactly the same service for a fraction of the price..Version: 9.38.0

Interesting concept but falls short on some of the core elements it promotesThe articles are somewhat interesting and they are presented in a fairly engaging way, but that’s about where the good things stop for me. Meal entry is a big component of the app and I find it very cumbersome to use. It’s complicated and difficult to properly enter your own recipes into the app and you can’t share recipes with others. The recipes the app gives you are limited and sometimes contain errors. It does try to learn what you eat when, but sometimes the default portion options make no sense, making you take a minute or two to enter things properly. The personal goal coach is intriguing, but it’s basically scripted and feels fake. I get a message each week asking what I want to focus on and then a generic follow up asking how I did. It feels like an AI program could do the same thing and not like the personal coaching relationship it’s sold as. Don’t get me wrong, the coach is polite and encouraging, but it feels like engaging with someone at a call centre using a script as opposed to a personal coach. The group your assigned to is also intriguing, but I don’t feel like I was marched with an appropriate group. The vast majority of people in my group are in vastly different situations than me and much of the discussion is hard for me to relate to. Overall the app has helped me develop better eating and exercise habits, but I think it’s over priced for what I’m getting out of it and may have had the same results buying a book on healthy lifestyles and purchasing a generic nutrition and exercise tracking app..Version: 8.35.0

Basic health app with a updated modern lookTo be fair ive lost interest in this app. Im 4 months in and all I get from this is log food and drink water and read some reports and answer quizzes, my attention span does not handle quizzes very well. So this whole physiological app is very turning me off. On top of the first 2 months had articles that were audio that which really got me interested and which my active life being a traveling musician. I just dont find my attention span to do read research articles and be tested everyday. So I HATE LOGGING MEALS. Having to describe each item of food or recipe into an app takes forever. I felt that I spend at least a hour total a day logging food into this app. Talk about being judgmental and weary all day of what I have to eat. Not good for my mental health. Fail on this app. Way to be diet plan app with a fresh look. I had a death in the family and had to put the app on pause. I go to my gym quite often. Noom suggested exercise 3 months into the app but now I can pay more then the $160 plan for noom food plan and what not at $40 extra. But my artist management has paired me with a dietitian and personal trainer. And not getting wild reviews from the doctors. This app was misleading. At least they agreed to end my subscription after 8 months. Either way hope for the best for everyone else on this. If this app updates to more of what I got into 4 months ago. Maybe ill participate more.Version: 10.6.0

Overpriced poor supportYou would probably be better using an online calorie counter and reading articles about fitness. The coach support is non-existent or supplies canned phrases. The blood sugar monitoring is based on U.S. metrics which aren’t used in Canada..Version: 10.47.1

Program is great. New app release is terribleJust had to update to the latest version of the app. Far too many clicks just to record food and weigh in. I don’t need an option to share everything single thing I do. I preferred the old version of the app..Version: 10.45.0

SCAM!!No meal plan… so you pay $200 for…. The APP! You get no meal plan that’s an extra 79$ legit you are signing up for access to a horrible set up app and zero features nothing special my fitness pal is better set up then this! Don’t waste your money! There are no coach reach outs or meal plans.Version: 9.20.0

Calories all wrong when logging foodI don’t mind weighing out my food which is time consuming in itself but when you scan a barcode for foods using this app, the calories are nearly always logged wrong! I scanned a milk carton and instead of stating the milks calories, it offered someone’s customised breakfasts calories. Fat free Greek yoghurt is meant to be a ‘green’ food but scanned as a ‘red’ food but manually searched by brand was a green food again...? A slice of bread was stated as double the calories when barcode scanned even though the packet in front of me said different.... and on and on it went! It adds so much time double checking packets and manually inputting calories especially when you’re making something with multiple ingredients. I would have subscribed after my free trial as the concept it great but found the inaccuracies really frustrating as a large part of the program is based on food weighing and tracking for up to 6 times a day..Version: 9.4.0

Good Idea, way too expensiveThe tips and tricks taught during the process are interesting. The app itself and, especially, how payments are handled are a bit of a nightmare. It is really expensive but when I signed up for the 2 weeks trial (not free) I knew I would have been charged for a monthly fee afterwards. I didn’t expect to be charged for 4 months all together. No emails in regards, no notifications, nothing. The food log feature is basic and Americanised, frustrating to use to say the least. You are automatically prompted to ingredients with their default quantities, without suggestions of previous customised quantities selected and you cannot select an entire previously logged meal. It is just too slow of a process to keep it up. You cannot leave your support group (personally found absolutely useless and way too many notifications from it). The list of workouts/activities is scarse and alphabetically sorted, with no other options for sorting (not even the ‘search’ one). But most importantly, it misses ‘breastfeeding’ or ‘nursing’ option that must be included since the calorie budget for a new mum is different and a deficit too big could be dangerous. Cancelled the renewal as soon as I found the 4 month charge on my bank account and won’t recommend it..Version: 9.44.0

Not working for meI was really keen to try Noom. I have been with Noom for over 1 month. Not lost any weight. Not gained any motivation or lifestyle changes to loose weight. The lessons don’t resonate with me. I find the content to be very American with how they reference food and environmental influences. I just can’t connect with the program and would not recommend to any of my friends. Not worth the price. I also bought the workout plans and meal plans. They were meant to be custom, they were really generic and poor quality. Not a fan of Noom..Version: 8.25.0

Great App with poor customer serviceI loved Noom for the first few weeks, until I realized that the Groups feature is currently unavailable, and has been for some time. Noon advertises this as an important component of the psychology based weight loss app and it’s unfortunate that users are only finding out it’s unavailable after they have committed to a renewal after the free trial period. I am disappointed by the customer service I’ve experienced about this issue. It took many communications before Noon acknowledged that Groups are unavailable now, and not just that I am incapable of interacting with the groups. Noom declined to give a partial refund and instead offered a discount for future use. This is when the terrible customer service really ramped up. They gave incorrect instructions for claiming the discount multiple times. I still don’t have the discount applied nor have I received the requested partial refund, even though I have spent tons of time attempting to follow their varied and incorrect instructions. For a company that claims to use psychology to influence weight loss, it’s surprising how little they care about providing a partially functioning app with frustrating and contradictory customer service. Other than the lack of groups and the insufficient customer service, I continue to love the available features of Noom..Version: 10.45.0

Terrible Meal PlannerI paid $67 CAD to add on the meal planner. It was a complete waste of money. For example day 1: lime marinated shrimp for lunch and a pork stir fry for dinner / day 2: arugula white bean and sausage for lunch and sea bass for dinner. I don’t think real people actually eat like this, I surely do not. There was no cohesion to the weekly meals, no grocery list function, no calendar view, no overlap in ingredients. There is already a recipe space in the app - the meal planner is just the same list of recipes but for an extra cost. Skip the add on..Version: 10.47.0

Needs work but lots of potentialI like this app but the developers could make it much more user friendly. First, I need to be able to see my food diary without trying to log a meal. There needs to be a tab called Food Diary and another called Analytics where you can see your “colors” as they develop across the day. Currently, you can only see the diary or macro breakdown if you are about to log a food. Sometimes you want to see your progress without entering food, to analyze your data to plan ahead, but you can’t with this app. Also, I like to log ahead — I do this in myfitnesspal — if I know my work day will be busy, and this keeps me on track. You can’t do that on Noom. There is no way to plan ahead. This is particularly bad if I know I’m going out for one meal and need to plan the other meals to be lighter — and as a result, I keep going over, even trying to be conservative. And, finally, Noom doesn’t have a tab for logging exercise. You have to select “do more” and drill down to the limited exercise menu, which needs more options. They need to add HIIT workouts there. And finally, this is the beginning of week 2, and I have yet to talk to a goal specialist. I’ve gotten some bot-type interactions, but she won’t actually respond to me or my questions. She’s just kind of a push notification, like “good job for logging veggies today!” The cost is supposed to pay for the coach. If there’s no coach, then this is just a less robust version of myfitnesspal..Version: 7.9.0

So expensive!I saw the advertisement for Noom on Instagram quite a few times before I joined. The idea of changing the way you think about food and exercise was something I thought would work for me. It would help me with my negativity. The cost however, was not what I expected. I was just charged $26AUD for a 2 week trial. Ok, not too expensive. But at the end of that trial, to get the rest of my 8 month program, they wanted me to pay $219AUD in one bulk bill! That breaks down to roughly $6.85/week, that would be manageable. Not $219 in one hit! Having a weekly payment with the option to cancel said payment at anytime during your program, should be the main payment option. As a single mum of 3 boys, I could not make a $219 commitment. I desperately want to manage my weight and I thought Noom would finally put me on the right path; but at $219, I have already canceled my subscription. What a disappointment..Version: 9.18.1

This is a scam!I was charged for $129 after the 14 day trail. There wasn’t any communication about subscription fee. When I contacted the coach, she sent me a link to cancel the service. But I was still charged for the period of service I won’t use. I’m very disappointed with this experience..Version: 7.9.0

Too AmericanThe bones of what Noom does is okay - and a ‘NOOM lite’ that just offered weight graph, water intake, exercise and meal logger would be good after the initial few weeks. But it is very American, and doesn’t transfer for other countries so well unless you care for US culture. Bright young things coaching from very little hard life experience feels pretty clunky and divorced from reality to me. And psychology based on US consumption and social habits doesn’t necessarily work for demographics other than those to which the programme is primarily targeted..Version: 9.46.4

Unique. Could be better.Would be great if someone actually read the answers you give on the daily quiz/goals things. Also a “start over” type option. I fell off the wagon and now I’m days behind in the lessons compared to the group. Would be nice to go back or for the lessons to not progress when you have days you didn’t do the things in the app..Version: 8.13.0

Complete ScamThis app makes unauthorised charges to your credit card. Cancelled within the trial period, they say you have 14 days and I cancelled on day 11 only to find out I had been charged for 2 months on day 10. I unsubscribed in my Apple Subscriptions and messaged the trainer saying I wanted to unsubscribe- she told me I had to email. You go to the website and there IS NO EMAIL it says you have to message the trainer. Now my app doesn’t even have the option of messaging the trainer again. No blue bubble. They have been charging me for months and ignoring help requests through the website. It doesn’t even charge me regular amounts at regular intervals. $20 here $37 there $3 here $1 there and quite a few $121 charges. I’ve never written a review like this I’ve been caught out by apps before because I didn’t read the fine print but this is intentionally impossible to unsubscribe from and they are stealing people’s money. Just look at the non Apple Store reviews..Version: 7.0.1

Not impressedThis is a very expensive app for what it is. I actually found it boring and difficult to use. It’s very hard to log meals, barcode scans only work half of the time and a lot of the info is incorrect. It’s synced to my Fitbit yet it doesn’t automatically sync workouts and exercise and it’s slow to sync steps. It’s basically a calorie counting app which you can do much more easily on the Fitbit app or MyFitnessPal without having to pay a penny. The psychology lessons are ok but if you’re a seasoned dieter who has tried various other plans you know all the information anyway, you don’t need to pay £100 every 6 months to log your meals and learn that eating 100 cals of fruit is better than eating 100 cals of crisps! I’m sad to see that other users don’t realise that your coach is a bot, Noom are quite misleading and make you think your coach is a real person there for you, but it’s not! If it was you could probably justify the cost, but that’s not the case. I paid the full amount for my trial, £14, to use it for a week in good faith that this was going to be a revolutionary way to weight loss but unfortunately it’s just a calorie logging app with some common sense quizzes! It also doesn’t let you tell it if you are vegetarian/vegan which I think makes a huge difference to the food you eat and the information given. Do yourself a favour and get a free app..Version: 9.11.0

ResearchHey potential customers, I downloaded this app a few days ago but please note there are a few red flags I picked up on, with the trial the language is very suggestive and does try to guilt you into paying more. The language that they use is important although they say they try not to promote food as good or bad they still use a traffic light system which will automatically trigger your brain. But my main irritation is although they offer you personalisation theres none at all, they automatically put you on 1200 calories without even knowing how much you work out or any other factors only ask about your job. I did my research some of the coaches don’t even have the proper qualifications and that’s why no doctor would ever recommend this app. And you could be at risk developing an eating disorder as they do ask you to weigh yourself everyday, yes weight does fluctuate because muscle is heavier to fat just takes up less room in your body although they don’t mention that. I really came onto this app fully believing in it but I was scared most companies just want your Money and to have you be stuck in the same cycle so they can continue profiting. I’m sad to say it but this app is no different. The straw that broke the camels back for me was 1200 calories on the dot! Please please stay aware! Everyone’s body is different don’t just accept this generic information!.Version: 9.13.0

Disappointed!I thought I was dealing with an ethical company at first, but when I saw that my subscription was automatically renewed, I was surprised. I contacted them the day my credit card was charged and they said they would only provide me with half of my money back. I wouldn’t recommend this app/program as I think they use the auto-subscription to scam their customers and then act like they are doing them a favor by only giving them a partial refund. I was really disappointed and surprised..Version: 6.5.0

Really disappointed-I first signed up to noom about 2 years ago and couldn’t continue because of the cost. Now I’m back, but it looks like noom haven’t made any product updates in that time! During the sign up process, I signed up for the extra meal and exercise plans. Both were delivered as static pdfs and nothing appeared in the app interface (no meal planner, no extra recipes, no extra content) to reflect my purchase. Everything is manual. Nothing synchs with Fitbit apart from steps. Exercise? Enter it manually. Meals? The database doesn’t recognise the majority of barcodes I scanned meaning having to manually enter them. MyFitnessPal has those food items in their database but as I said, nothing synchs to noom so manually entering it is! For a subscription based service I expect more automation. Looking at the last 5 months (that’s as far as it will go back) version history of the app, there have been no major updates or feature releases and only bug fixes. It looks like this is a zombie app making someone somewhere a passive income. If you have lots of time on your hands and love manually entering everything, then this is the app for you. If you want a tech supported weight loss journey that works with and enhances your existing tech, then this isn’t for you..Version: 8.32.0

Really disappointedSigned up, followed the plan, even paid for the email plan. No coach reached out, no plan provided! 1 month later still nothing! Save your money!.Version: 8.10.0

Scam?I got a trial of Noom and on the last day of the trial I cancelled. I was still billed for the entire period. I contacted the coach who didn’t respond and also emailed support and was told I didn’t cancel in time despite the cancellation happening on the last day of the trial. I am seriously thinking that this is a scam if you get charged for a free trial. I am very disappointed..Version: 6.6.0

Wasted of money and timeBe advised: All you have to do is count calories. Some good information given in texts that are made long because of the need to be unnecessarily funny. The coach is not helpful at all - answer your questions with “I can’t help you with that. Let me know if you want to know more about ‘whatever’” and there comes another article. I felt like wasting my time and getting anxious. It was a waste of money and time..Version: 8.13.0

It's great. But could be better.This app is great, I only use this app as a calorie counter to log my meals and for my steps, and it is perfect at that. It has almost every food you could think of listed, with the exact calories. I was very impressed by this and for that person saying that there’s only American food you’re wrong. There is food here listed from Coles, Safeway, iga and Aldi aswell as every fast food place. There’s even vegemite listed. , download this app for meal logging. I don’t recommend downloading for workouts and tips unless you’re happy with paying and to be honest for what they’re asking you could get a gym membership for that price and that will do a lot more for you than a stupid app that gets all their information from the internet anyway. Otherwise pretty good app and the only downside is you have to pay to have a weight loss course set out for you to help you lose weight which is $70 AUD a month.Version: 7.9.0

Lights the FireI think it is a good app to get you moving in the right direction, but there is so much going on it can be overwhelming. While you have a coach they don’t do all that much and seem to recycle articles from the app? I see the point of the “group” is to build accountability, but these are strangers, it doesn’t really serve the purpose it is trying to achieve. Everyday you are bombarded with new facts about eating it is often hard to put them into practice because it is information overload (and I have a master’s degree!). So, I do think it is worth a try, but I don’t think it’s worth investing in long-term. Did you get all of that?.Version: 8.4.0

Not worth itNot worth it.Version: 10.47.1

Proceed with cautionNoom’s ok if you have almost no understanding of behaviour, motivation and change. It provides basic information that’s available free on the internet but packages it nicely in one convenient app. I’d recommend you try a zero cost trial before committing to a paid contract. $25 quickly turned to $100 after persuading you to take the personalised meal and exercise plan. It was not personalised in any shape or form. In fact, it was quite the opposite. Ok if you’re rich and desperate..Version: 9.20.0

A few creases to be ironed outI love this as a weight loss programme. So far I have lost 3kg of my 10kg goal, however the app could use some ironing out as there are a few things which don’t make sense. When you go to log your food, it suggests the same amount that you last put in for that kind of food, but then when you click on it, it reverts back to the original settings and makes you select the correct measurement and amount all over again. It only takes 2 seconds but when you are logging 20 things a day it starts to get really annoying. Another weird thing that happens is, when you are logging an ingredient, let’s say spirulina, the first weight that will come up is 1 cup (I don’t know who is eating and entire cup of spirulina in one go but I hope they are okay), so you switch to another measurement, let’s say tsp, it will then automatically scroll up to the equivalent in tsp, i.e 39tsp. If you are putting in that much why on earth would you be measuring in tsp? Can it not just assume that if you are measuring something in cups/tsp/grams that you just want to start at 1 and go up from there? Other than those things I really love the app, and I would be happy to delete this review and leave a 5* if they made these changes to the app so that it is more user friendly..Version: 9.7.1

Don’t bother if you live in CanadaSuper hard to log food if you aren’t American. They have nothing for Canadian chains or foods. They shouldn’t sell this app to Canadians because they don’t support it..Version: 8.14.0

Could be useful way too expensive. Be warned of big paymentsSigned up for the 2 week trial, then suddenly charged an amount for 3 months. No warning trial was up no email or anything. It’s a shame the app uses these techniques to get people in and paying hoping they won’t check their bank account. It could be a useful app why do they have to market like this? Very dissapointing..Version: 10.10.0

Not worth the cost!The amount they charge for this program is ridiculous. All the information they provide can easily be found ONLINE and for FREE. I wouldn’t waste your money on this. The “coaches” weren’t much help. They literally just Paraphrased everything I said to them. For example: they would ask me “what goals have you been working on this week,” and I would say I would say “I’d like to eat less sugar,” and they would say “so you want to eat less sugar, how are you going to do that,” and I would say “I will stay away from it,” and they would say “so your going to stay away from sugar for the week.” And that was pretty much the extent of most of my concert with the noom coaches! Major disappointment, I definitely thought I would be getting a little extra help. It was just the biggest waste of time/money. I got absolutely zero help from my coach. She sucked and honestly sometimes I felt like it was just computer generated responses. The only reason why I am even giving it one star is because I did like the calorie counting system. I don’t know what you are paying for when you pay the $200+ dollars for this service. Go download Lifesum or my FitnessPal for the same kind of calories counting system for FREE. Or spend the extra $30 ish a year for premium subscription for both those apps, which in my opinion get the job done equally as good! This app may be good for a select few, but if you have access to the internet I would just google “weightloss tools/tips,” and probably 90% of the information given to you on NOOM will be right in front of you for FREE on google. For real! Don’t waste your money..Version: 8.1.0

BewareI had signed up for trial period but did not know how to cancel. I thought they would send me an email to tell me my trial period was coming to an end and to ask if I wished to carry on. I did not receive any message but was charged $129.00 on my credit card the morning after my trial period ended. I messaged right away to please cancel but was told I was too late..Version: 8.6.0

Quite helpfulThe food logging and weight tracking is helpful. I have not yet got the step tracking working so can’t comment on that, but I imagine it would be helpful. Working through the “psych tips” is tiresome and most are things many people probably already know, although knowing doesn’t always equate to doing. Finding the threads to comment on is difficult and I don’t really enjoy wading through and adding to them. I am in New Zealand and don’t always know what people are referring to. Occasionally I don’t understand exactly what the question is asking. I’m reluctant to waste other people’s time reading something I’ve only written because I was asked to, not because I actually had something worthwhile to say. (More than happy to comment when I do.) The data provided for food logging changes , which can be confusing, and there are long lists of products I’ve never heard of to scroll through. People who love spending time on social media might like all aspects of Noom more than I do. However, some aspects are helping me and probably could do even more of there were a version available specifically tailored to New Zealand brands and products..Version: 10.1.0

Misleading discounts and incorrect dataTo lure you in, they offer 80% off the supposed ‘full cost’ of AU$983 per year. So you get it for the ‘discounted’ price of AU$197 per year. Trialling it out, I found a lot of data inconsistencies. The colour coded food lists didn’t actually correspond to the colour codes in their food logging feature of the app (many foods that are listed as ‘green’ are actually ‘yellow’ when you go to log your food in the app). And when I looked at two food products that had identical caloric density, one appeared as a ‘green’ food and the other as a ‘yellow’ food when food logging. It made no sense, and when I questioned the Noom Coach about this, she said “It looks like you’ve stumbled on a bug!” I don’t expect to be reporting bugs in the system after just starting to use it. Other people rely on this data abd don’t question it. It’s not fair to charge people that much money and not provide consistent data. Finally, when I cancelled my subscription they tried to lure me back in with a 65% discount off the ‘full price’ of AU$651 per year... But hang on, wasn’t the ‘full price’ equal to $983?! Hmmm.....Version: 9.15.0

Not worth itThis app doesn’t work. They bill you constantly and don’t even send you an email that they are charging you. Complete waste of money. Not recommended..Version: 6.14.0

LucyAs a general weight-loss program it has helped to some extent. But my experiences with customer support were absolutely appalling. Despite them giving very detailed (but inaccurate/inappropriate) replies in the chat function, the customer service provider timed out really really quickly and was removed from the chat before I even had time to screenshot the replies, let alone read them. Accidentally leaving the chat was really easy to do, and archives/transcripts of the chat conversations were not automatically recorded. When I complained about this, the instructions I was given to request a transcript asked me to select options that weren’t available. I also found the quizzes really intolerable. Given that emotions and distorted thinking play a huge role in our eating habits, I found it really confronting to be asked questions about those distorted thoughts, and then be marked right or wrong. I understand that the purpose was to teach us facts to challenge thought distortions, but the way it’s done here did nothing to change my mind/alter my thinking, and just made me loose a lot of respect for the program. I’m not ever going to be engaged by a program that rewards me for providing answers that I don’t believe in, nor is that strategy going to be an effective tool for creating long-lasting cognitive change. Noom markets itself as being psychology-informed, so this is a massive disappointment..Version: 10.9.0

I have lost weight but the app is annoying!So I have lost 8kg (17.5 lbs) since June using this app. I want to lose a bit more but the latest update is just so annoying I’m not sure I can use it anymore. I live in New Zealand, so on a completely different time zone to the states. The app gives a notification to remind you to log 3 meals per day. These notifications used to come at my standard mealtimes. Now the app seems to think I’m on some crazy time zone so I get reminders about breakfast in the evening, lunch in the middle of the night and dinner when I wake up. The app is already very USA-centric in terms of the food database, units and cultural references but this is just ridiculous. It’s just lazy programming and really makes me not feel valued as a customer outside the states. I won’t be renewing and will use another method to lose these final kg..Version: 10.31.0

Please read in full.I found it to be a good way to record my habits at the start. However, the day after I joined, I was inundated with spam emails from their partners and it is still happening. They told me that every time I read an article on Noom, whoever the article belongs to, gets all your information - including your email address. At this point I’m getting between 10 and 15 spam emails every 20 mins, every single day. And it doesn’t matter how many times I unsubscribe they just keep on coming. So much so that I intend to dump this email address, which I have used for 15 years, and start again. Noom won’t do anything to help so be warned. I am also cancelling my Noom subscription because my weight loss isn’t due to Noom as I completely resent using the app. UPDATE I can see that Noom’s Support has replied to my review, however let me tell you, after going back and forth several times with Noom Support yesterday, they finally agreed to cancel and refund my subscription. They also deleted all of my data as I requested and guess what? No spam emails today..Version: 9.46.0

Has potential to be great but isn’t.I’ve done two weeks of Noom and just unsubscribed. Why? Because I don’t think it’s very user friendly in comparison to a free app like My Fitness Pal. There’s a few steps each time you open it up just to log your food. Which you’ll be doing every time you eat or drink. Then if you want to switch between breakfast and lunch say, you have to go back out of it and then back in... hard to explain but it’s just annoying to use. Also, if I entered something like “instant oats” there would be so many choices and each one would be a different amount of calories. I found myself having to Google search a few items because it was so inaccurate. The “courses” you do each day are good. Interesting and upbeat to help you along they way with losing weight and making healthy choices. The psychology part was good but the app was a let down..Version: 9.0.0

Good concept. UI going wrong direction.I like the ideas behind my his app - applying psychology to weight loss and developing the tools and habits to maintain a healthy weight long term. It has helped me lose weight and work toward my goals. Bravo! Unfortunately, in the six months that I’ve been using Noom, the user interface has gone steadily downhill. It’s now slow to load and slow to commit user data (e.g. during food logging). Why? Isn’t this app mostly cached static content + a small database? The app will also periodically log me out “for security reasons” and refuse to login without an internet connection - very frustrating when trying to catch up while on a flight w/o WiFi. I also find the graphics repetitive and insipid. New fonts are also all wrong. Any app that requires frequent user data input (like food logging) needs to feel like it loads and responds instantaneously. This one used to be fast and it’s not now. Also every software release is not a “major release.” Some are probably more about new features, some more about bug fixes, etc. if Noom’s release notes were less cheerleading and more factual and specific, the user responses to releases would follow suit. In general, it appears that Noom needs to hire some more experienced software architects and incorporate higher UI performance metrics in their release criteria. Life is too short for slow-loading software with cheesy repetitive graphics..Version: 9.43.0

Waste of time and money for a botDon’t bother with this app or program! The “coach” is on auto response and it’s not even a quick one either. Had to wait 12-24hrs before I got any response and when I did... it’s all generic. Paid for a meal and weight plan and nothing happen on that. Lucky I checked my account and they were about to charge me another $199 as a subscription which I never knew was going to happen. Don’t bother with this app. You’re better off signing up for a real life coach!.Version: 8.14.0

Hard to log even basic foodsDoesn’t contain basic ingredients I often have to swap to map my run or google to look up basic meal ingredient calories eg dry lentils, dry chickpeas - which I then “add” and they disappear a while later Bad for people who genuinely do a lot of exercise as only replaces 50% of what you burn - because people usually overestimate how much they’ve run, but if the app has measured that I’ve done a 25 km trail run (ie I didn’t overestimate it) but the app only allows me to eat 50% of the calories burnt, it’s not a wonder I’d get hungry and low in energy and struggle to maintain the plan.Version: 8.15.0

FrustratingI bought the subscription and was happy with the app for a few weeks until bugs in the app began to appear. The most frustrating bug is the unreliable calculation of calorie budget. The standard budget for quickest weight loss is 1200 calories, however at the start of each day, and before I have taken any exercise or steps or have logged any food my calorie budget is a random number - today it’s 1360! Unfortunately this unreliability hinders calorie calculation through the day and has left me with no confidence in the app. I have contacted the coaches and the technical help team who have been asking me to be patient but this has gone on for months. The last message from the technical team was to say they have cancelled my rollover subscription 😱. Not good enough for me, and I’ve moved on to the MyFitnessPal app which is free and easy to use..Version: 7.8.0

Bad food data kills motivationTo be fair, the app is a good idea and the progressive learning is good. The issue now is that they made an error with their food data update and now the data is inconsistent. Some good foods are shown as bad foods and vice versa. This has been highly demotivating. For a program that cost more than $200, it is just not good enough. No longer can we enter the food that we have eaten, we now have to go to the analytic area after each meal and check ever food item to see if it has been given the right number of calories and that it is in the right category….ridiculous, considering that we are the ones learning about this so how do we know! The response from the company was to not tell us there was a problem and when asked, they expect us to hep them fox their data rather than sorting out their error. Yes, I am frustrated. The app was something that I trusted and used daily to help achieve my goals, now I just don’t trust it and I see my use falling and a desire to get a refund. Rant over..Version: 10.1.0

Do not sign up if your not sureIt is so hard to cancel your free subscription so you won’t be charged. The membership price is extortionate. They send you all round the houses just to cancel it. And if you can’t cancel it within 14 days they will charge you $99. To cancel your trial and membership they tell you to use a blue chat box. Which isn’t visible. So they tell you “if there is no chat box you need to look for an email we sent you with the subject - here’s your noom id”. I searched every one of my folders including ‘junk’ there was no such email anywhere. If you do find yourself in this situation go to the menu and select ‘messages’. It’s a robot not a real work coach the way they described. Tell the robot you cannot access the chat bubble and you haven’t received an email. They will then let you cancel. But not straight away. They want to know why.. then when you say it’s to expensive they offer you 60% off each monthly payment. Honestly never in my life have I witnessed such a con. The free trial is really not worth the trouble. Oh and it’s not actually free either. You have to choose what you want to pay from £1 - £14. I can’t tell ya what a waste of a pound that was. The app and diet plan is nothing special at all. You don’t need this app it’s common sense. Please do not waste your time and money. Trust me you will seriously regret it..Version: 8.6.0

Not for New ZealandersThe app’s articles and general functionality are good but the recipes, food database and food swaps aren’t very useful as they are American food types, brands, recipes and serving sizes. Also the messages from your coach and support group come in overnight because of the time difference. The food is measured in calories not kilojoules and all New Zealand food labels are in kilojoules so get used to having to convert everything..Version: 6.1.0

Useless waste of moneyNot worth the money, super expensive and all info and other features provided can be found for free online or through apps that don’t charge 130$+ to send you articles . It’s super expensive and ultimately useless, don’t waste your money..Version: 8.10.0

The Program is awesome, the App needs some workNoom is a weight loss philosophy based on gradually changing your relationships with food and exercise (not the sweaty stuff so much as the incidental stuff). And it works, provided you work with it and adopt at least most of the concepts. I’ve lost 10kg (22lb) so far, and haven’t been hungry or missed any particular foods. But the app... oh boy. It’s not really bad, but it’s not really good either. The flow is a bit all over the place. You get alerts but there’s no way to find why (I’ve had some alerts that to this day I can’t track down). You log food but the measures aren’t consistent and you can’t set a default amount. You’re stuck with a default of pounds, ounces, miles etc because it’s a US app - so you can (mostly) find metric but you can’t make it the default. These things are really only aesthetic I know, and with the concept of Nooms programme being so well executed even within the poor app framework, it’s easy to forgive as you watch the Kilograms melt with the Kilometres, the grams dissipate with the litres. If they improve the app this is going to even more of a world beater..Version: 9.8.1

Nothing specialThis is an expensive app for a program that promises to be different. It’s not. It’s a standard calorie restricted diet and food logger with the added, “bonus,” of a lot of irrelevant or obvious tips. If you had terrible eating habits and didn’t know anything at all about when you should be eating, you might get something from their daily readings. A lot of eye rolling quizzes daily, a group you’re supposed to feel accountable to, but you won’t. A “coach,” who pops in to offer incredibly generic suggestions about once a week and some really odd cornerstones to a supposedly, “psychology,” based program. Daily weigh-in is the first or second item on the to do list. The program never explains why that is. I reached out to my coach and group leader as to why Noom makes that a top priority and then struggles to constantly keep people motivated when that daily weigh in often doesn’t show you what you hope for. I mean, we all know the scale fluctuates for all kinds of reasons, but it’s disheartening to follow a program strictly and be asked to measure daily and so no or backwards progress. A weekly weigh in seems more effective. My group leader didn’t respond. She just liked my comment. My coach told me that I was “empowered to enter any weight I wanted.” No kidding, bud. My question is why does Noom make daily weigh in such a high priority and then spend all their time telling people not to worry about it. I lost weight, but no better than free apps like LoseIt. The material is no better than free apps. There’s no big secret wonderful thing here. Save your money. Get a free meal log and step counter. Most unappealingly is that the last few “lessons” I’ve had on the app are now encouraging me to try stuff from other fad diets like Paleo. Total garbage. Not as advertised..Version: 8.12.0

AverageI tried the app for 3 days. I found the food logging database was severely lacking. As a New Zealander I found some of the (common) foods I ate weren’t in the Noom database and in order to add them they had to be submitted for approval. I’m going back to using MyFitnessPlan which has a larger logging database. I also found some of the content buggy and would just give me a blank screen. Notifications were switched on but only seemed to come up for logging dinner would be better if the morning notifications worked especially for weighing in for example. It’s an OK app I guess but definitely not worth the subscription fee imo..Version: 8.0.0

Not Free14 day trail or pay per month!.Version: 8.1.0

Scam- Automatic money chargesThey ask you to donate/pay as you can when you sign up for 2 weeks trial. Then automatically charge you 159 dollars ( for 4 months subscription) from same credit card you used for trial donation WITHOUT consent or agreement to renew or sign-up for full program. Then when bill arrive to your credit card you go to cancel but you CANNOT. You must send messages in writing to your coach and then they reply with links . Total scam and illegal use of credit card to charge you money for things you did not agree on. No refund either after automatic charges..Version: 8.10.0

Not worth the money, better off with MyFitnessPalI’ve lost weight but that is mainly due to the calorie tracker which you can get for free elsewhere. The group wasn’t good for me. There were loads of people all chirping in with their own thoughts etc with very little guidance from a ‘coach’, given that this is a major feature that you pay for I found it disappointing. I also had technical issues with the app, which I contacted my ’coach’ about on a number of occasions but their advice did not work. After my third attempt at resolving the issue I cancelled my monthly subscription to which I got a sarcastic and borderline aggressive message sent to me from the ‘coach’. All in all, not worth the money at all as there are other apps out there that do the job. I have given two stars because I did see weight loss, but no more because the level of service is so poor. It seems as though what noom wants is for you to pay up and get results purely through the app with no additional support, but it is the support that you are actually paying for..Version: 8.37

Don’t waste your timeI thought this app would be different. I paid for the plan, and that was it. No support, no help, nobody reached out. There is no customer support. No number to call. You leave messages in their “help” chat and nobody responds. Just automatic computer messages. I paid for a plan, plus an ad-on meal plan and workout plan. Again, nothing. No link, no help, no plans sent to me. I’m so frustrated with this, and nobody is available to help..Version: 8.14.0

Lost potential, could have been greatNoom seems like a fab idea for young adults to lose weight, weight watchers on your phone without the need to go to meetings in real life, perfect for that busy life style. I loved the articles that helped motivate me each day, and how they paired psychology with eating, something that most apps forget about. However, they try too hard to cut corners, charging around £40 a month (more than my gym subscription) for what is essentially a robot person. I’d have happily paid for the app if I had good results, £40 a month is a high ask so surely it’s good? At first I was good, the idea of having my goal specialist keeping me accountable helped keep me motivated but it only took a few experiences with her to realise that she was some form of cyborg. Half robot half human, she’d high give me and give me tips at 1am, she never set a single goal with me through out my entire trial period (despite the app telling me that I should have my goal), and I was never paired with a group coach or a group. The goal coach gave very generic responses, “you seem to have logged 10 foods, well done! What do you think you could change to improve?”, she obviously hadn’t looked at my food diary and given some generic response. Why would I pay £40 for a robot that rarely even speaks to me. Please fix the app and reconsider the corner cutting, it could have been great.Version: 7.3.2

A good recovery...I had a similar experience as so many others, I signed up for a very affordable trial but couldn’t find a pricing model until I was suddenly charged $199 2 weeks later! No email or message, I only noticed the charge in my CC! I messaged the “coach” & got an auto response.... I did get a full refund in 24hrs! They build a weight loss program that helps change the mindset and will probably be very effective for those that can afford it..Version: 8.0.0

Asking for credit card before trialClearly a scam, I didn't even know apps were allowed to collect that kind of information instead of billing through Apple!.Version: 8.15.0

This is a scam! Don’t do it!This is a giant scam! Don’t waste your money! The content is time gated, the “live service” option is a robot most of the time and a “once a week” once again time gated system. There’s nothing new here. The dietary information is widely available for free! The “personalized system” isn’t personal at all. Nothing is actually groundbreaking… they are just helping you build bad spending habits…. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!! Or your time!.Version: 9.20.0


🙂 Noom: Healthy Weight Loss Positive Reviews
Is Noom: Healthy Weight Loss not working?

Noom: Healthy Weight Loss works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Noom: Healthy Weight Loss.

⛔   Noom: Healthy Weight Loss Problems
Applications with negative comments similar to Noom: Healthy Weight Loss
GC 2023 negative reviews, comments
GC 2023 Negative ReviewsEyas AlsharaihaUtilities2022-12-19
My Sales 3.0 negative reviews, comments
My Sales 3.0 Negative ReviewsSANTANDER CONSUMER ESTABLECIMIENTO FINANCIERO DE CREDITO S.A.Business2022-12-19
Shoot The Crowd negative reviews, comments
Shoot The Crowd Negative ReviewsMarula Games OUGames2022-12-19
Only Tap This negative reviews, comments
Only Tap This Negative ReviewsYagmur Cansu YildirimGames2022-12-19