Raya App Negative ReviewsRaya App Inc

Raya Negative Reviews

4.2
4.24333 star

Total 110 Negative Reviews

Raya App Complaints & User Negative Comments 2022

Raya app received 110 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Have you ever had a bad experience using Raya? Can you share your negative thoughts about raya?

Please wait! Raya Facebook comments loading...



Raya for Negative User Reviews

HomophobicIs this app homophobic app?.Version: 4.19.0

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!They charged me 4 times for membership and the app doesn’t even work! Won’t let me log in and when I emailed the customer service team multiple times they either don’t respond or tell you to delete and reinstall the app. Awful.Version: 3.7.4

Waste of timeWaste of time, not worth the waiting time!.Version: 4.5.1

Waste time to waiting.It wasted time to waiting for on Raya because on wishlist and keep people waiting..Version: 3.85.0

Female of color perspectiveHardly any people of color on here. It’s 95% white and I’ve asked from a male perspective of friends that are on here. Guys said the same, hardly any women of color. I’ve even suggested some friends of color in entertainment and they are still waiting. 🤔 Also, Raya recycles the same guys, I noticed I’ve passed on guys and those same guys show up again. Repeatedly. Another issue, which is not a Raya issue, but you will connect with a guy and he won’t make the first move of just saying, “Hi!”.Version: 3.97.2

App is a rip offWhen you consider that the app is not free and that you must be accepted to join, it is most definitely a sub par experience. First off, they limit the amount of people they show you in an effort to make you pay to see more people, even though you already pay for the app. Additionally, I often cycle through the same people, many of which are located nowhere near me so when it comes to actually meeting someone, your options are somewhat limited. Lastly, it seems that many people are not on the app for the purpose of meeting and/or dating new people but rather as a way to gain Instagram followers etc. Just know what you’re paying for..Version: 3.86.1

Waste of Time / MoneyLol I want / need a refund. It renewed my subscription despite the fact that I only selected one month to pay for services. Now I’m being charged for a second month even though I NEVER use the app. I would really appreciate a response to this review as I’m very unhappy with the charge. It says “email Raya” on the app but doesn’t even navigate me to do such and there is no way to reach customer service outside of the app. Socially, the app is boring. People are boring. I want my money back..Version: 3.73.2

Waitlisted for years despite referrals (stealing contacts?)The waitlist is a complete lie & probably just stealing contacts. This app has received 17 referrals from my contacts from people on their app for me to join over the past 3 years and still waitlists me. Their support hasn’t responded to emails from their support page and not to have an ego but they cleared people with far less of a public presence on there.. I get that this is supposed to be somewhat gate kept but their waitlist I’m certain just means youre ignored and the longer they keep you on there the more it’s patronizing…..Version: 4.23.0

UselessYou need to let the app access your contact list and hopefully one of your contacts uses this app as well and they can vouch for you. I don’t want all my contact knowing I’m using a particular app! Stupid idea.Version: 3.12.2

Can’t choose locationCan’t choose location of those to select, so makes it pretty difficult when everyone shown is abroad..Version: 4.15.0

Don’t botherThere are severely limited options - even less so when I filter through people who live on a different continent. The app is clunky and not very user friendly, major UX issues when you consider how many dating apps have paved the way.Version: 3.89.1

Doesn’t work properlyFirstly, you wait ages, over a week to be accepted. There are no updates so you have no idea what’s going on. Then it’s really buggy. I had to upload images a few times because they wouldn’t upload at first. Then when I get to the payment section it said there is a problem. No idea what the problem is. Emailed them straight away. No news back yet. Pretty frustrating & clunky experience. Especially when there are really easy to use dating apps available that are more well known. 🙄.Version: 3.73.5

This seat’s taken.If you want to remember what it’s like to feel the shallow rejection of high school wondering why you didn’t make it into the group of mean girls, then you should “apply.” Only to find that if you do actually get in, the only thing measuring creativity and professionalism is the ability to appear cooler than your craft, unless your craft is spending your daddy’s money in Bali while managing to angle your subtle bikini body and fresh cut French bangs while pursuing a moderate influencer modeling career. The fact that it measures “creativity” based on another app’s social count in ratio with hotness or celebrity association without even asking for a website or profession is telling that this is basically a “hot or not” instafame app that reflects all the feelings of classism for those wondering on the waitlist. It is an excuse for perpetuating elitism culture and selection without substance..Version: 3.14.4

What a wasteLiterally the worst dating app. You pay to use it monthly and are shown matches in other countries!.Version: 4.20.1

Price??? UnclearHow much does everyone pay? I got accepted after about two weeks. I heard the price goes up if you’re ugly and my estimate was like 2.5x higher a month than my friends. I’ve heard it ranges from 10$-20$ but they want 25$??.Version: 4.27.2

Don’t botherDon’t waste your time with this app it’s constantly broken or doesn’t work half the time and that’s if you can even get on the app multiple people including myself have been waiting weeks months on a waitlist which I’m beginning to think I’ll never get on it’s just a pointless app that takes up memory and space on your phone.Version: 4.29.1

Raya in London is dissapointingMaybe it’s good in places like LA, but a total waste of time in London. They will be showing you a limited number of people outside your country, so it’s very difficult to get a match. A lot of people on raya are just for the scroll or to get more Instagram followers..Version: 4.22.1

MehThe concept is great however you swipe through the same small pool of people everyday. You’re also limited how many you can swipe. If I swipe no to someone than I don’t want them to keep coming up in my pool of people which is what happens. I say no to the same people over and over again. I feel like there is no one on this thing since I keep seeing the same 30 people over and over again. Also I noticed some of the people on there(some I know) I’m wondering how they even got on in the first place. I had one date out the however many months on there. Not really worth it..Version: 3.27.3

No AccessGot three mates who vouched for me on it. Five months. Still no access. Garbage. Don’t waste your time..Version: 3.95.2

Pretty uselessFirst of all here are eight people that don't even live in the same state. Okay now wait twenty hours before you can see anyone else. Oh, you live in NYC? Here's six people from Nashville, LA and Spain. What do you think? Pretty cool huh? This app is mostly just for people to promote their instagrams at this point. Used to get tons of matches and now nothing, the algorithm is off to say the least. As an experiment I liked my friend's profile to see when I would pop up in her feed, and she has been swiping for months waiting to find me and still hasn't lol. Additionally I screen shot MY OWN PROFILE because I no longer had one of the photos and it flagged me. So sick. Sick app. 🤘🏻.Version: 3.86.1

A scamI literally just spent $$$ on a 3 month membership only to find out the app gives you about 5 swipes (not likes, swipes) A DAY. And on my second day it didn’t give me any choices at all. The only way to get access to more options is to pay extra. It’s a straight up scam..Version: 4.16.0

WaitingI applied 2 years ago and I’m still on the waiting list? Ridiculous.Version: 4.5.1

Not worth the energyDon’t even bother if the wait list doesn’t get updated....Version: 4.5.1

Dont waste your time/moneyInterface is confusing. The combination of network/looking for love is not well thought out or easy to navigate. The quality of options is sorelyyyyy lacking and the search limitations make that feature almost completely useless. This app feels like its still in beta. The PR makes this app sound super exclusive and premier. Pay your PR people less and your engineers/product/UX people to make this worth anyones time..Version: 4.10.1

This app won't be around for longIf you can't join because you don't know anyone who's already on it, then this will fail..Version: 2.0.8

The app tracks you - hence the waiting listWait list 🤣😂 I’m pretty sure this is a scam bc I don’t get wait listed for anything - VIP all the way, which I thought was the theme of this dating app. They track your contacts, location, purchases, etc etc thru the app (check the privacy rating in the App Store). If your waitlisted I suggest you delete the app immediately otherwise you are allowing them to track you while you wait 🥱 No thanks.Version: 4.16.0

Useless and unefficientAllegedly elitist dating app? Well this is a total marketing scam! You have to be co-opted, pay a high fee, give away very personal data, all this for what? Nothing. The number of daily profiles available for consultation is very limited (restricted by Raya) and this tiny selection is not even tailored for you. Also, I live in London and most of the suggested profiles live on other countries/continents! Save your money and time, don’t download this app..Version: 3.94.0

ObsoleteTraditional dating apps don’t work for me. I kept running into people that felt either threatened by my success or were aggressively trying to take advantage of it. I feel safe in this space. I also find with my crazy hours/touring schedule, I could really only end up with someone who is equally busy and career driven. This app filters out the static. To me, it doesn’t matter if they only show people in my city because myself and (I’m assuming) most other people on the app travel so often that it doesn’t really matter. It’s fun and I’m having great conversations. It was frustrating being waitlisted for 4-5 days when all my friends were on it but it was worth it in my opinion. I don’t really want it to be accessible because then it doesn’t serve the same purpose. Honestly, being a “celebrity” completely takes away your ability to get in on the dating app fun and this has been so fun for my REALLY famous friends to do what everyone else is doing. Great app concept. Yes it’s kind of elitist but isn’t that *sort of* the point?.Version: 3.74.0

How long does it take to get accepted?Hello there So since I didn’t allow the app to get access my contacts they put me straight to waitlist although i did connected with my Instagram account, i have been on the waiting list over 3 months now this is ridiculous. Well i dont want my friends or family know about my dating business so i wont be connecting with my contacts so please can you sort out this? If not then i just have delete it.Version: 3.19.1

Not sureWell I applied, had a referral. Waited only a few weeks so far and that is / was expected. But I’m a little confused by their digital experience. As whilst before if I opened the app I was created with a clear massage ‘pending’. Now it’s just the Raya logo on a white page, nothing more. So impossible to know if my app is pending or something has gone wrong and I should re-download the app.Version: 4.21.0

Raya reviewOn good days the app works, on bad days it does not work😒 photos don’t appear only old messages in chat boxes. No more then 10-12 guys shown. Then if you want to scroll through more you have to wait few hours or pay £40 plus to see more guys. 🙄 ... the men are more sophisticated then tinder but a lot of geeks too without impaired social skills 🤦🏻‍♀️ 2/5.Version: 3.82.0

No longer maintenedCan't log in anymore, Instagram log in shows up then 'the page cannot be found'.Version: 2.0.39

Waitlisted for 5 years...I applied to Raya in 2017 and never heard anything from them. Fast forward to 2021 , I thought I’d try again. Well when I downloaded the app it says I’m still on the waitlist. I can’t change my application, or even view it! I honestly don’t remember what I put in my initial application 5 years ago and a lot has changed since then. I would like to be able to update my information- I’ve moved, changed jobs, changed my appearance- all factors I assume are important and after 5 years obviously they aren’t planning on letting me in but with my updated information maybe they would. There is no way to contact customer service through the app, or view my application. I’m an actor and model and have been recognized on apps like Hinge or Tinder and would prefer something more exclusive which is why 5 years later I’m still interested in trying the app. Come on Raya! What’s going on?!.Version: 4.0.0

SMH “Tone down you harsh comments it’s a safe space”I read a review that said something like this and I was confused because this sounds like it comes from someone who is already in the app. This app is discriminatory plain and simple. I understand it’s to create a safe space for people but what deems someone “worthy” of the app? All I wanted was to get away from the tinder BS and try to find something real but I can’t do that bc I’m not worthy of this app apparently. Y’all should be ashamed. When you really break it down the app is pretty messed up. You apply like a job, you wait for a response and more likely than not you’ll get turned away for one reason or another. It’s contribution so discrimination and it’s just not right. Like I’m sure their turning more people away than accepting. Unless I’m an outlier but doubtful.Version: 3.36.3

Enourmous failure of a selection process disguised under the exclusivity labelI applied years ago just to test it and at that time I didn’t even know I needed a referral to get in there, my application got sent into waiting list obviously. 2/3 years went by now and I am still not given the chance for reapplying despite half of my single friends being in there and trying to send me referrals. This is just ridiculous. If this is the way they select people I am seriously doubting on the quality of matches they offer..Version: 4.6.0

Limited, not worth the moneyI know several people who meet interesting men on this app but honestly I find it hugely frustrating. Been on and off it for about 3 years; the lack of ability to specify geographical location is hugely frustrating - not everyone on here has international jobs - so when you scroll through your limit of 20 people per day (eye roll) over half of them live hundreds of miles away. The other half are often unattractive for various reasons and then if you do match with someone there's no conversation. Honestly it's a massive disappointment. Perhaps if I was 19 and a model rather than 35 and a business owner I'd be more successful....Version: 3.73.5

Pretentious people onlyThis is no different than the other apps except everyone is super pretentious and won’t message you. If you message them the chances are 50/50 they will respond. Im a cute girl and dont encounter this problem with the other apps! People must think they are really special on here. Not sure I understand the application process because there are way too many dudes on here with sub-par profiles who are not famous or have big instagram followings..Version: 4.13.3

RidiculousI have been on the waiting list for 6 years now, and still waiting I’m getting really annoyed, as I haven’t even had any news on my application during these years I have reapplied and reapplied and still nothing. I am absolutely disgusted and devastated to not be given the chance to use the app. And have came to reality that I’m never going to get to. 😔💔.Version: 4.16.0

Don’t get this app!!!I’ve been waiting for months on the wait list they hardly accept anyone and I hear their very homophobic and won’t let a lot of lgbt people on their app so just don’t it’s a waste of time horrible trash shouldn’t have a biased wait line 🤷🏼‍♀️.Version: 3.88.0

BadYes, I know, I waited a year for an answer back. Still no answer. Very bad..Version: 2.0.35

They want to much money for what it isNot a lot.Version: 4.23.1

Not a dating app. Trash.Sadly after years of being on this app, I have rarely been shown singles in LA where I live, and have rarely been messaged once we do match. This app seems like a glorified Instagram with no inspiration for people to find love, just create a highlight real making them all look like celebrities. Many probably don’t even have real jobs or the financial security to pay for the app. There’s also no help access. I had to reach out on Instagram to find out why I’m being shown singles in foreign countries or NY/Miami. If the app really supported people in finding love, it would show me options in my city..Version: 3.84.2

Waiting 3 weeks alreadyHurry up and accept my application..Version: 3.74.2

Terrible waste of money, not inclusive or safe for LGBTI am based in London and since I’ve had the app 95% of the people I’ve been show have been based in NYC and LA. It only shows a limited number of people at a time which would be fine if these were in my location but they are not. Not only that but I used to get new people daily however it is now Thursday and it hasn’t shown me any new people since last Saturday. I’ve tried using the ‘nearby’ section but my preferences aren’t carried over into that section so I’m seeing people well below my arrange range and more concerning of the wrong gender! I also have no way of knowing whether the people I am attracted to are part of the LGBT community or not, this is not safe for queer people! Also this app shows no members in south of the river which is obviously not the case..Version: 4.27.0

Changes neededAlthough it does not always matter ... it’s really useful have people’s height on their profile and to be able to see who likes you back.Version: 3.81.1

Waste of time.....Trying to sign up but as I’m not an Instagram user, I prefer to keep my life private, I am unable to register. For all the hype, I think the sign up process is more about auditing your Social Media history - then it becomes just one more online popularity contest... So, it does not look like it’s exclusive, only discriminatory......Version: 3.88.0

I don’t have an Instagram accountIs that the only way to sign up ⁉️.Version: 4.4.0

Very slow support, buggy and got kicked off in errorReally great people but the social interaction is very, very sparse. Interactions are quite rare. Rich when you get the right person. But the interaction design seems a bit imperfect. I did encounter some stressful errors Be careful: if you you change countries or iPhone stores, the app may not let you renew. That happened to me and I was locked out, and had to reapply. In general, if mishaps happen the support is very threadbare and slow..Version: 4.25.0

Rubbish techI’ve been logged out of my app for 2 months and sending endless emails to them. NO ONE REPLIED OR RESOLVED THE PROBLEM!!! Bear in mind I paid for this membership that’s not the service I paid for. Very ridiculous!!!!!! DO NOT USE IT. It’s a SCAM!!!.Version: 4.30.0

In the waiting list for more than 3 monthsI downloaded the app 3-4 months ago and I’m still in the waiting list..Version: 3.30.7

Gives you the same unattractive peopleThis app just recycles the same unattractive people from around the world over and over. You might get lucky once a month to find someone that is actually decent and chances are they don’t live near you. Also they want to make it “exclusive” so you only get to click a few people a day, I think it’s because they don’t have enough members since I see the same people over and over again. 🥴.Version: 4.3.1

Got bored after 10minHow the hell does this app even work? I couldn’t even make an account without making seven other accounts on other social network sites..Version: 3.2.0

An app for nobodies who want to feel like somebodyThe whole concept of this app doesn’t really make sense to me. my application was on a waitlist for over a year. who has time for that? an approval process should be speedier and swifter. it’s not that hard to approve someone since we know this is 98% based on your appearance, should be quick and easy. however when i contacted raya about why my application was on the waitlist for so long, they didn’t have an answer except for “they have no way to tell when a profile will get approved.” sounds like a watered down and weak way of just shirking your entire purpose for creating the app. either way, there are apps out there that seem to be more useful and better customer service. so i had them remove my personal data and i’m glad my name isn’t attached to something that’s going downhill anyway..Version: 4.19.0

Things have changedRaya when it first debuted used to be a tight knit community. Over the years, they seemed to “Tier” people based on their celeb status. If feels like there’s 3 levels. Normal people, b/c listers, and A listers. I know this first hand as I’ve seen and used my friends raya who’s an “A lister” in some respects. His matches and browsing is wildly different from mine. Bottom line, I don’t think this is fair, or legal. We’re all paying for the same service, but something eerie is going on behind the scenes on who the system works, which might be cause for legal action, and months and months of refunds..Version: 3.90.1

What happened?I go off and on with online dating, giving it a shot here and there. I have stints of giving relationships a shot and then come back to it, all the while keeping the subscription active. I’ve been on Raya for a while, I’d say almost 2 years. it’s not without the same issues as all online dating platforms, people ghost, they match and don’t start conversations, etc. I’ve accepted those as now normal behavior on dating apps. But I do think Raya has more attractive and interesting people, so I don’t mind paying for it with the prospect of finding myself a beautiful and creative person. In the beginning I match pretty regularly, but it seems I haven’t matched with anyone in months on Raya, despite the tons of new users I’m seeing and liking. I’m wondering if it’s because I’ve been on there for so long they’ve simply stopped showing me? It certainly feels that way. I know they claim to be selective and sensitive to the community, so I wouldn’t be surprised if they’ve deemed me undatable or something because of how long I’ve had the app. Def get in and get out with this app. Paying for it longer than a year seemingly puts you on their matching blacklist and becomes just a frustrating waste of money. I started up a different dating app recently and the matches are coming in hot. So, not to sound cocky, but I don’t think it’s me. Will not be renewing the next round..Version: 3.73.5

Waiting!!!Iv been waiting a year to get in. My whole family is already in..Version: 3.99.0

No answer for over 8 monthsCan I please have some form of response, I have been on the waiting lost for over 8 months. i think I've waited long enough and at least a response or an update would be appreciated..Version: 4.13.1

Discriminatory Against Black WomenRacist and discriminatory selection process against black women. If you look at the screenshots provided by the app, no black female user (or model) is presented, at the time of this review. The one black guy used works for the company -apparently he fills the quota. I have multiple black female friends with noteworthy accomplishments in the entertainment industry who weren’t accepted on Raya, yet I know of multiple non-black women who literally have done nothing professionally, and have hundreds of thousands less followers on Instagram. Raya mentions it determines the applicants’ worthiness by the quality of the applicants’ followers. The black female friends I speak of have numerous verified accounts following them. For those who question if Raya’s algorithm can account for race, be reminded Instagram is owned by Facebook. I have created ads on both Facebook and Instagram in which I was able to select my audience’s demographics including race, income, education level, etc. When you allow an app or website access to your Instagram, they’re able to see all of the information listed above. Black women and Asian men are the least sought after groups on dating apps, and discriminatory behavior by apps only worsen the problem. Zero excuses for Raya’s racist and discriminatory behavior..Version: 3.73.2

No new matches / frustrating experienceI am on Raya for friends and potential creative business connections. However, the app has not shown me any new people in weeks - the option no longer exists to swipe right or left. I am having a few light but active conversations, yet am not able to expand my network as I simply don’t even have the option despite paying the monthly fee..Version: 4.23.0

HideousThe worst dating app ever! Charges everytime you want to match with someone on top of joining fee..full of absolute ****.Version: 3.90.1

For spoiled, classist narcissistsI give it one extra star for the clever idea, trick a bunch of self-centered spoiled rich kid narcissists, I mean “influencers” and similar types of people, to waste their money and time on this elitist app. I think they should charge more since those types can afford it but obviously they want to also trick the (often poorer) wannabes as well. Most of us want nothing to do with those types of people though so there’s no reason to bother with this app. Most of these 4/5 star reviews are probably fake, sort by Recent and it’s mostly negative reviews..Version: 3.21.0

UselessNever able to link Instagram account.Version: 2.0.39

Do you guys discriminate against people of color?Still waiting to be accepted after I don’t know how many months. As a public figure with a large following I’m often surprised that people who are unknown and usually fit the mold of the skinny white woman, only leads me to believe that this site discriminates against people of color. Prove me wrong and accept my application. I want to see what all the fuss is about. I’m tired of regular dating apps and as someone who has lived half their live on television, I’d like a little more discretion, hence why I tried to get on this app.Version: 3.85.0

It’s a never ending wait list apparentlyBeen almost a year and no update on the waiting list. Like a millennial ghosting you instead of being an adult and saying you didn’t make the cut, or asking for more details. Just let us know we didn’t make the cut, so I can free up space on my phone for better apps..Version: 4.9.2

Really confused by the application processSo I filled out a short application with my name, city, Instagram, and work information. But no where was I asked to upload any photographs or answer any questions relating to my interest / personality. Is there a way to go back and do this? Do you do it later? Very strange application process if they don’t ask for direct pictures or any other information beyond work, location, and social media….Version: 4.10.1

Can not LOG in your apThis app is impossible to join or log in. Repeated requests to change Instagram password don’t work. It’s frustrating and misleading to be called the best members only dating up when you treat your customers like this VarvaraShavrova on instagram.Version: 2.0.32

Still waitingStill waiting to be let in despite the fact I was given a friend pass. It’s been over a month and no reply when I contacted them to enquire.Version: 3.13.0

Utter drossLike a dodgy 2nd-rate night club with sticky floors in the rough end of town, this app maintains a queue outside to invoke the illusion of popularity, but when you step inside you realise the place is empty for good reason. Avoid at all costs..Version: 4.3.1

App is 90 percent negative reviews for a reasonI think this app should be free as it’s rubbish and very disappointing, the fact they demand money from you and want access to your personal data is a slap in the face. Im a guy and this app doesn’t have any U.K. stunners just people conned into paying for the app - bottom line DONT WAIST UR TIME OR MONEY.Version: 4.13.1

Fake appI’ve been on the waitlist of this app since august 2019. I have a friend pass and 2 recommendations linked to my account and have never been accepted or had a response to my application or emails..Version: 4.0.0

A JokeI was interested in this app to connect with likeminded, creative souls but when they say it’s for “artists” they mean “influencers” & elitist socialites. It’s hilarious to me that you must have an Instagram account to even sign up, yet when you go to their Instagram account there’s not even 1 post. Not all artists, creatives, entertainers or writers dedicate their lives to the overrated life of swipes, likes and follows. If an app is going to waitlist people, then maybe ask for an actual resume or proof that the person meets that criteria instead of basing it off of looks, followers & the ability to master a plethora of filters. From the other reviews you can see the app is Glitch City, white washed, shallow & a tiny pool of the same people over and over again. I’ll stick to art festivals, LA trips, book shops & real life where people can’t wear their filters or have a follower boosted ego..Version: 3.73.0

Don’t botherWaste of time. Doesn’t work and just says I’ve been on a waiting list for months. Just a way of getting all your personal information..Version: 3.98.1

GlitchyExtremely glitchy app.Version: 4.8.0

Waste of timeOn the waiting list since 2 years.. friends sent referral codes and still nothing.. very pretentious….Version: 4.15.1

Maybe they are too exclusive?To be totally honest I am not sure how I got off the waitlist, but my theory is that I am a business owner in a sort of creative field (publishing). That and maybe they are trying to expand their members in certain geographical areas. Well, I have been swiping for a few weeks and I swear they are cycling through the same 25 people. I have seen profiles 3-4 times. There's almost no one in a three hour radius of me (and I live half an hour from a fairly major city). I have started to chat with one or two people but it just seems fruitless when I know they live five hours away. Yes spotting the very occasional celebrity is fun, but it's otherwise a waste of money..Version: 4.24.2

Quality people but doesn’t work!Raya has higher quality people on it (attractive people doing interesting things in the world) but somehow it’s impossible to actually connect with anyone through this app. Their algorithm must be crap or something because it doesn’t work. I have several friends on there and I’ve asked them and they’re having the same experience. And, I see in the reviews that others are finding the same issue. So, Raya, you better find a way to make your algorithm work and actually manage to have people match and communicate with each other, or you’re not going to last much longer. Also seems like a pretty small dating pool, because they keep suggesting guys they’ve suggested to me before, and they limit how many people you can see in a day so it’s not like I’m going crazy on there, swiping through a ton of guys… they’re just recycling them 🤷🏻‍♀️.Version: 4.22.1

Superficial and doesn’t cater to gay peopleThere’s like 100 gay people on this app. I’ve gone through all of them and only matched with 25! Everyone is superficial and it’s so expensive. For a paid subscription why do you have a limit on likes and in app purchases? Rubbish..Version: 3.73.2

SketchyAfter being approached by an employee or “ambassador” of the app to join - she asked for my info and some recommendations on any friends of mine who also might be interested in joining. From there she had her boyfriend follow up via text message (weird right??) claiming that he would be here to assist me and answer any questions I might have. Keep in mind this girl was directed to me from a high profile friend of mine...so I trusted it. Shortly after responding to this guy, he told me to keep an eye out for a text that would get me right onto the app, no wait line etc. After a week or two of hearing nothing and I followed up with the two “ambassadors” who to this day have not sent a single response back. I don’t care for dating apps and I could care less to be involved with this one. They hire small influencers to run around on Instagram taking info from high profile people with zero follow up or regard for privacy - an app such as this can only work if people like myself trust it. I have zero trust in this app or their staff. This is a very bad look and a sketchy system..Version: 3.87.1

Racist2 years I’ve been on this “waiting list”. Whilst all my white influencer friends are accepted within weeks. Clearly don’t want aboriginal people on your racist platform..Version: 4.2.0

Disappointing and lameReally confusing and not a whole lot of return on investment. Lots of issues with it. — I’ve updated my profile, but a pic I deleted is still there and won’t go away. —I can’t customize my search, so I’m seeing guys who don’t live in my city. —I can’t use location services unless I allow the app to track my location all the time. Then, even when I gave that a go, it didn’t allow me to look at more profiles, rather, it just showed me active users in different areas of the city —how do you actually match with people? If I heart a guy, is there a chance we will match like the other dating apps, or is it just going into the ether? —what exactly am I paying for? I can only see about 20 guys (MAX) a day, and a bunch of them don’t even live in my city. I can’t customize my search by profession, music, height, location, language—anything. If I want to reach out to someone I have to pay extra, and there’s no way to look at photos without going through their cheesy slideshow. Will NOT be renewing my subscription..Version: 3.7.4

Shallow - don’t waste your timeVery strange application process. From what I’ve heard this app seems to be for extremely shallow people who have no real purpose in the world. I don’t feel bad for being waitlisted or rejected as I work in the medical field and actually do something purposeful with my life and am not a self-centered moron. I don’t use instagram because I have better things to do with my time other than wait for likes. Get off your phone and go get a real life. Try looking for like-minded people around you, not on your phone. Tried this at the suggestion of a friend; yikes what a waste of time..Version: 3.73.2

A waste of time…What a waste of time. After hearing the hoopla for years, I decided to check it out. As an artist, this exclusivity with other creatives appealed to me. I heard about the infamous Wait List and their crazy criteria based on Instagram followers, etc. Well, I was immediately accepted as I took it as I have about 20K followers. Immediately there were the fees so I opted for the 1 month bit. Needless to say, I cancelled about 3 weeks in. Every single person on there barely had even 1K social media following (where was this 100K urban myth?!), most were just a bunch a kids interning or assisting in fashion or were hilarious wannabe social climbers. Where were the high profile roster of artists? The exclusive members who needed to meet their selective criteria? It was such a joke. I’m assuming at launch years ago it was the Soho House of the dating apps (which is what I was expecting). It’s basically a BYOB dance club in the Bronx. Raya. Um, nope..Version: 4.17.0

Not enough variety + distanceThe app itself is like any dating app. I gave it one star due to the selection of people on it + the location of everyone. I’m not looking for a long distance relationship!!!! Other than that I’d say they don’t mix up enough people from different careers so it’s pretty boring looking through everyone seems to be an athlete zzz.Version: 3.28.6

1 in a millionIf you want to date someone real use other dating apps don’t waste your time with this one.Version: 3.82.1

This app fell offThe quality went down and the price went up. This app used to be $7.99. There were some pretty interesting people on here and you could swipe through a lot of them. Now the app is $9.99 I only saw about 10 people before the app told me I have to pay $4.99 to see more people. That’s ridiculous! That’s the kind of behavior you expect from a free app. And even a free app lets you see about 100 people before they cut you off. They claim they want you to form “meaningful relationships” but they don’t let you see enough people to find someone you want to get to know. This app is a ripoff and I’m definitely disappointed. I will stay for this month but I’m canceling after that. The nerve charging me $10 per month and not letting me swipe through more than 10 people! I thought when you pay you get all the features. 🙄🙄🙄 stop taking advantage of people!!!!!.Version: 4.13.0

Two years on the waitlistIt’s been an interesting experience. I downloaded the app at a friend’s recommendation given my creative background and interests. Uploaded my information and profile background. And promptly was told that my application was on a waitlist. That status hasn’t changed. I am attractive and I am successful at what I do. But somehow the team or algorithm at Raya doesn’t think so. And because the waitlist doesn’t let you go beyond one screen in the app as a user you have absolutely no way to provide any feedback. It creates an unpleasant and rather elitist brand image that frankly is not that appealing..Version: 3.95.0

Profile pictures glitchI can’t give it a proper rating it because I have not been able to use it since I have been accepted. There is a bug in the set up process. you have add 4 photos for your slideshow. Every time I go to add the photos it doesn’t add then I try to go to the next screen and it tells me to select 4 photos. I already did that multiple times. They told me to restart my phone. Nothing works it’s super annoying and they aren’t doing anything to fix it..Version: 3.73.2

UnsureI’ve been on the app for a mont and have no matches, and I just paid £4.89 or £4.99 to skip the queue to see more people, so I was like “yay no more time limit” I thought that was it, unlimited! But no, I literally paid to see another 20 men? I’m so disappointed!.Version: 4.22.1

Classism at its WorstI’m not going to lie, in order to get in you need to be successful and be well known enough, not particularly famous but renowned. You’d think that with this elitism entry barrier that the app wouldn’t be reduced to pretty high school swiping and meaningless vain connections? I guess maybe get this app and get waitlisted for five years so you can meet a moderately successful DJ from New Zealand, but otherwise come back down to earth and meet people like a normal human being instead of stroking your ego with this app.Version: 3.19.2

Can’t update information while on waitlist for 2 yrsI applied to try Raya out 2 years ago! Since then I have just been floating in limbo on a waitlist. Unfortunately, like another complaint similar to mine, I can’t remember what I said about me? what pictures I used or anything when I initially signed up! A lot has changed in two years and I would like the option to update my profile. I just deleted the app, it’s very frustrating to not get an opportunity to see for myself it’s worth waiting for to get on and when if I ever do, all my information would be outdated.Version: 4.27.2

CrashesWas good but crashes as soon as I press icon? No idea why as it’s only started to do that. Doesn’t open for me.Version: 3.7.1

Approval Process = discriminationI’ve been awaiting approval for almost 6 months now. I’ve been invited by friends and have been told I’m the perfect fit for the app as a successful attractive young black woman. I can’t help but suggest that the app is anti-black. So disappointing. Sort it out Raya..Version: 3.87.2

Absolute thrash!Don’t waste your money they are so up their backsides. Keep me waiting on list for 2 months.Version: 4.20.0

No local people enoughHello my name is Jaime and I live in London. The app is not showing me profiles from London. Most of them are from NY. You should do something to make interesting people from London joying the app. Otherwise Will spend all the time seeing profiles from out of London. Thank you team..Version: 3.10.0

Price HikeFor what exactly? It was already hugely limited at the previous price..Version: 4.22.2

You can’t use this app if you don’t have InstagramI don’t use any social media whatsoever because it’s toxic and pointless to keep up with people I don’t care about. I downloaded this after hearing good things and I can’t even sign up because I don’t use Instagram?? I’m not sure if they partner with them or what, but there should be other ways to verify your identity like Tinder which I honestly think works better. Someone can easily still catfish if Instagram counts as “identity verification”. Immediate undownload for me and probably many other users who are digitally off the grid..Version: 4.0.0

It doesn’t workI have 3 friends on the app and a big following on social media, not sure what the criteria for getting accepted is but apparently I don’t qualify..Version: 3.92.1

Still so so so many bugsCan’t see connections, can’t see photos on profiles. Just a complete waste of time?.Version: 3.86.1

Not the best for matchingGuys will reach out to me on Instagram and say they liked my profile but I didn’t see their’s come up on Raya. Or I will like a guy but won’t match with him on Raya but will instantly match with him on another app. I’m not sure how Raya’s matching algorithm works but it doesn’t seem to work that great or maybe it has changed and it’s less efficient. Idk. A lot of matches don’t even write you and it’s the case with most people I’ve talked to. Like we’re just matching and too cool to message. It’s weird. Now the Instagram function isn’t working for me. An error pops up if you want to click through and see their Instagram profile..Version: 4.18.2

Application never got reviewedI waited a year. Very qualified..Version: 1.0.44

Elitist, classist, transphobic and vacuous.This is tinder without working class people. Value of a person determined by the amount of followers they have on Instagram. Also no option for trans, gender neutral etc..Version: 3.97.0

Mmm…Have been on a waiting list for a while so I can’t give my review on the app. IG - xmissmoox.Version: 4.30.0

Crashes all the timeApp crashes all the time after 10-15 secs on an iphone 8. Pls fix it!.Version: 3.95.0

Horrible app!Shows I’m on a waiting list for more than a month now! No update or anything. Impossible to get through. Even though I’ve got friends on the app, I can never get accepted & stuck on a waiting list which can’t take months for everyone, eh? Thanks a lot. Was recommended by a friend but won’t recommend any further to my friends..Version: 3.17.3

Increased pricing but no different than before?They’ve upped the price - yet you still only get 10 potential matches a day, you can’t select the country so some of those matches aren’t even from London and barely anyone ever messages each other… don’t waste your money..Version: 4.23.0

Please fix update battery burnDecent service with a so-so/survivable app, but recently I’ve noticed that updating Raya doesn’t complete and burns massive amounts of battery while attempting to do so. I have (reluctantly) allowed location to be set to Always, so I suppose some component of the app is running at the time of the update. But other apps to which I’ve granted “Always” for the location setting update without this issue. I’ve now twice noticed that my phone got hot, Raya was stuck updating (indefinite progress spinner in App Store’s Updates view) and the Settings > Battery screen shows a gigantic amount of battery having been drained by Raya recently..Version: 4.28.0

How are you even supposed to start using this app?I've never met a single person that's used this app. It's not popular at all yet it needs referrals to use? What? That makes no sense. 99% of people can't even use it..Version: 3.36.4

Extremely buggy!It took me 4 attempts to get past the input of my email as the app locked up repeatedly. I was later stopped and not able to proceed because I don’t have an Instagram account. This is the problem today with so many apps. They really or insist that you have some other social media affiliation. I don’t believe in social media and especially something as stupid as Instagram. I am a professional business and a professional photographer. My work is very important to me and privacy is paramount..Version: 4.5.1

My experienceThis app sounds great in theory but doesn’t actually work. A friend sent me a pass and after 6 months I decided to apply. I was weary that this app wouldn’t get me and sadly my instincts were correct. Covid and wanting some social interaction was my motivation. It’s great to be discerning and to want to cultivate an interesting group of people. Unfortunately to Raya that equates with tons of followers on social media or being well known. The really interesting people of the world are not addicted to their smart phones and posting endless selfies. I am very under the radar, have a private social media and don’t like to obnoxiously name drop the famous people I know /have slept with. But because none of their people know who I am or care to beyond a superficial assessment of what I have to offer according to the internet they decided to waitlist me ( with a friend pass). Grateful I’m not on this platform..Version: 4.2.0

Must be a joke.Racist app, I sent a Email to the know why I was still on the waiting list after 6 months, they clearly just said that they don't accept black peoples on their app. No comments..Version: 4.16.0


🙂 Raya Positive Reviews
Is Raya not working?

Raya works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Raya.

⛔   Raya Problems
Applications with negative comments similar to Raya
Calibre Biometrics negative reviews, comments
Calibre Biometrics Negative ReviewsBreathTaking Tech LLCHealth & Fitness2022-04-22
Crumpin Fox negative reviews, comments
Crumpin Fox Negative ReviewsChronogolf, Inc.Sports2022-04-22
Ashford Peri Peri negative reviews, comments
Ashford Peri Peri Negative ReviewsAsman KhanFood & Drink2022-04-22
beasanta negative reviews, comments
beasanta Negative ReviewsKota SaitoGames2022-04-22