Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive App Negative ReviewsDropbox, Inc.

Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive Negative Reviews

4.7
4.76626 star

Total 147 Negative Reviews

Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive App Complaints & User Negative Comments

Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive app received 147 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Can you share your negative thoughts about dropbox: cloud storage & drive?

Please wait! Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive Facebook comments loading...



Too much money for notta lotta “service”After the recent update, DropBox stopped working properly for camera-roll upload on my iPad. Their solution? Remove the app, forget the network, fully restart the iPad, re-connect to the network, and re-install the app. Seriously? Good thing I have nothing else to do ... oh, wait. Basement flooded. So yeah, I have something else to do that's rather urgent. Good news is that yes, this did in fact resolve the issue, but really, I have other things to do in my life than reset apps with updates that fail. Especially when paying $75/month for the business version. For $75 a month I expect a MUCH better UI, amazing support, in-file search (not just the file titles), and so much more. Instead, we get the un/re-install merry-go-round, an ok UI, low-availability support (US normal business hours only), and an amazingly klugey sync setup. Heaven help you if your Mac has an external drive. What happens when you get a new Mac? It downloads everything from Dropbox again, even though all I did was remove the USB plug from the old machine to the new. Good job, Dropbox. Well done. Now I gotta wait for 4T of data to re-synch. Their super awesome support response? Well, we told you external drives might not work as expected. I’m totally looking for another service. Seriously, $900 a year for this? I feel like an idiot for locking myself into this “service”..Version: 104.2

FrustratingI normally use Dropbox on the computer. Uploading files is a breeze but using this app......agggghhhh! First of the Recent tab shows deleted files. These should disappear and not show. Uploading a file (the same file) does not prompt you to overwrite the previous file instead creates another file, so you end up with two.?.?????? Why??? I have tried to copy files using Apples Files app into Dropbox but that doesn’t seem to work. I mean Dropbox shows under the Location area so why can i not transfer files using this method? When i upload files using the computer and then open Dropbox app on the ipad the same files will say they where uploaded 1minute ago but say it was yesterday? Not today but yesterday! Thats wrong. Also i have noticed that on my iPhone 7 the battery usage drops considerably quickly when Dropbox is running in the background. NO other apps running. Wifi Bluetooth off. Background app refresh off. Just Dropbox doing “something” that drains the battery. I can even swipe away the app to stop it running in the background but it still does! Its now been deleted from the phone.! I have in the past emailed their support but honestly it seems to always be your fault. Not sure how this could be considering the non functioning of the app. Even taken screenshots and pointed things out but never interested..Version: 216.2

Formatting NightmareDropbox has been a 5-star app that has worked perfectly. But the latest version is a fail. The format of Word documents is glitched on my iPhone with its faint-looking font and indiscriminate bolding. Now I’ll have to try to find out how to dl the previous version..Version: 166.2

Over chargedI have been using drop box for years and recently went over my limit on storage for free so I upgraded. I went on to my account and I still had no extra storage space and my account was still saying basic so I assumed the upgrade didn’t go through. I have checked my bank accounts and they have been taking £9.99 for months. I have tried to contact them, to cancel and refund but cannot get through and it’s impossible to stop it as my account still says basic. It’s so frustrating!.Version: 156.2

All files lost and not given a refundEdit: The company’s response is unacceptable to me, neither taking accountability for their lack of communication or defrauding me out of my money. I will never be using or recommending their services to anyone and with these business practices I am sure they will go out of business sooner rather than later! I found charges on a credit card statement that I thought had been cancelled going back two years with a monthly subscription to Dropbox. Because the account was linked to an old email address that I could not recover, I lost about a thousand photos of my family and travels. When I contacted Dropbox the agent I communicated with refused to speak with me on the phone, could not recover my photos, would not refund me the monthly subscription that I had been paying for this “service” unless I gave them my credit card number over email, AND would not let me speak to anyone else. If I could give zero stars I absolutely would, this is a horrible company. Google Drive is superior in every single way and I have never had a single issue with them!!.Version: 174.2

3-device linked limitI have been enjoying using dropbox in the last few years and recommending this to a lot of my family members, friends and colleagues. Though, I think the recent move of dropbox to only 3-device linked on free account has a huge impact on many people. I can no longer use dropbox on my phone, tablet, laptop and work computer. This had led me to use onedrive. Quitting dropbox is sad but the cutting off current users’ benefits has a result. P/s: I think 5-device link would be a sufficient number..Version: 142.2

Garbage for how much everyone is using this serviceMy buddy has been trying to send me links on Dropbox for years and i used to always have problems with them yet I’m very computer savvy. I finally just signed up for an account because I was forced to transfer some legal documents. As far as I’m concerned dropbox is poorly designed. It should be so extremely simple yet it it is so extremely frustrating. On the desktop I have to login only to get to another page where I have to login again I go back to the first page it seems to be a verifiable page on by dropbox yet it just takes me to another login page very frustrating. Yesterday I’m trying to send the second MP4 file to my lawyer and it just won’t share it this year option is not even there. I could go on but I don’t care. I will pretty much avoid dropbox as much as possible and look for another file sharing service like you should too !!!!.Version: 136.2

The love is gone...I used to love Dropbox. Started using it when I was a student when it first came out. Now I used it mostly for ebooks in the .prc files and export directly to Kindle. Have it on both my Iphone and Ipad. But for some reason after the last update I cannot directly export those books to Kindle anymore. When I click on the file Dropbox doesn't recognize it as a Kindle document anymore and came across as data and said it is incompatible with Kindle when exporting. I have been doing it for years. It still works on my Iphone because I have not updated. I was planning to upgrade to a better account but with this issue I am about to jump ship and forget Dropbox altogether. Every major update brings more headache. I am considered tech savvy and can navigate thru pretty much major upgrade/updates on most apps. But this is just too much. I have many files in .prc and now cannot export..Version: 162.2

Not happyTrying to contact Dropbox to get advice on how to remove 2 step verification to no avail. Reason being I had a number text messaged to my phone to access my account but when I resigned from my job my employee wouldn’t release my number back to me so now I can’t access my Dropbox account ( with 15 years of family photos etc) Dropbox advise they cannot help me which I find staggering. Surely they must be able to quickly identify me and lift restrictions to gain access. What would happen if the telco went bust what would happen then for people to access their accounts? Be very careful people with your access to accounts Dropbox are happy to take your subscription money but are not any help when it comes to assisting their customers when in a crisis. Very very annoyed and disappointed with Dropbox to say the least..Version: 190.2

Poor scrollingPlease, please, please redesign the scrollbar. It’s impossible to use on an iPhone 11. That tiny little round excuse of a bar is so hard to press and drag. Also, why the hell do I need to log-in via a built-in browser when trying to submit feedback on your app. Please do put some more effort in the ux to make a full app instead of having vital sections like feedback loading in a browser. Thank you.Version: 218.2

Help!!I can’t seem to log into my old drop box account I purposely saved photos there that I can no longer get now because I can’t access my account due to there being no hotmail log in.Version: 116.2

Really frustratingTried reinstalling as advised by your help page, but it freezes every time i use it. It used to be such a great app and I use it all the time. Can’t live without Dropbox but the app needs to be fixed. Really frustrated.Version: 120.2

Awful experienceI recorded a video 14.5 minutes long of course it won’t send through normal channels so I thought great drop box option. Downloaded the app because it said it was better. I’ve signed up for a 30day free trial to even use, I’ve spent 1 hour 40 minutes uploading this video to it to send for the recipient to not even be able to view it without signing up themselves for the same trial. I am fuming. Absolute waste of time and will be cancelling and never using again. Next step going to try Google drive and hopefully that won’t let me down..Version: 218.2

DON’T DELETE THINGS OFF OF IT!So this is perfect. I can get things from my ox to my phone. Everything about this is useful. Except for the fact that downloading the application on your laptop never works. Nothing I ever upload on it shows up on my phones app. It’s horrible. It takes 10 times longer on the website and half the time it cancels. The website works, but the app on pc doesn’t. The big issue I have is that I uploaded it to the app on my pc. But I realized it didn’t work so I deleted off of that and went to the website. Big mistake. It deleted that ENTIRE FILE! I am not happy with that. And the thing is it didn’t even tell me it would! It didn’t even ask for confirmation! It’s a terrible thing. Please fix this and this will be perfect. Oh and one other thing. WHY DO YIU ONLY GET 5 GIGABYTES WHEN YOU DON’T PAY FOR IT. It also doesn’t help that they really overprice it..Version: 206.5

Gone down hillThis use to be great but now it is horrible When I am in need and there is a issue there is no support. The support is so bad it just as well be non existent They have a silly chat box that serves no reason other than to frustrating you more . Twitter support for a company is a sign someone is hiding for their responsibility. If need they don’t respond! Not here is the worst one A community based support meaning the owner of this community is so lazy it is passing its duty to the customers! When I made a post it took 5 days to get a response then the person could not help . The drop box feature and app doesn’t play well with others and is absolutely blocked by Chrome so sync a resume through Drop box is a fight every single time . If you have important stuff you need to save don’t do here because if no improvements are made you will lose access and with lame support options that means you are left out to dry! If your our paying for a premium services from here then you better make arrangements because any company than is unprofessional enough to charge people money without a customer support service is bad news and the reviews are starting to reflect this. There are other options that are free with 3 times the storage of DropBox and Drive that work beautifully with all browsers so google alternatives ..Version: 210.2

Upload « live » photosVery disappointed to realize that none of my « live » photos were uploaded to my Dropbox account. This needs to be fixed!.Version: 242.3

Dropbox appI tapped the drop box app to open it but it was taking a very long time to open the app and put my email and password in they accepted my email and password but it is taking a long time to log in I deleted the app and downloaded it again I know I have my email and password is correct because I have written them down before I made my account as well as I log in on my laptop but I only have the problem when I use the app on my IPhone I don’t know if it my have problems with internet or the app any one have the same experience I have?.Version: 114.2

Can’t even functionI upgraded from a 7 to a XS last week. On the 7, the app worked amazingly with no problems ever. But since changing, the app freezes all the time. I will get two folders into navigating and it won’t respond until I restart and wait a few minutes. I rename a folder and all the contents of the folder disappear for several hours. It’s been infuriating. I understand that it’s a new device and it can take several weeks to optimise, but for it to freeze from basic usage is a bit absurd..Version: 114.2

Eh.... MehIt's ok, the biggest deal breaker for me is the god awful camera upload. Carousel was 100x better and more reliable. Had an easy to use UI, and while it wasn't perfect. It worked! Best of all it linked to all my uploaded photos from my computer and vice versa. Don't fix what ain't broke. Shame the carousel app is gone. Now we have this rubbish app that tries to bundle Dropbox camera upload with Dropbox. If your on the fence about investing in Dropbox online storage for photos from your phone, my advice (at least for now) use something else. Good for files not for photos..Version: 8.2

Playback is awfulApp is good to upload documents and make them available on the go or at your other computers, but this is hardly revolutionary in 2018. Dropbox has pioneered that and credit to them for that. What irks me about this app is that you have no good controls to playback movies or audio files. Try skipping back a few seconds and you find yourself swiping back and forth to seek to the right spot, wasting a lot of time. That should be as common in 2018 as making files available on the go..Version: 98.2

App crashes when clearing cacheGreat app except app crashes every time I try to clear the cache. Doesn’t even display the dialog box asking for confirmation. Just crashes once you hit ‘Clear cache’. Uninstalled & reinstalled the app but the problem remains. Using Mac OS 13.5.1 No problems on the iPhone though - works perfectly, along with the confirmation dialog box..Version: 192.2

Destroys battery lifeI was seriously about to return my iPad Pro for very poor battery life - it was dropping 40% or more overnight and normal usage during the day saw a terrible drop in battery life. Checked the battery in settings and found the culprit was the Dropbox app. Running in the background for up to 40 minutes every hour. Checked on Dropbox forum, not alone, others are seeing the same thing. Others also reported that turning off the background refresh didn’t solve the problem; deleting it however..... So, deleted app and so far, battery life normal. Needs sorting out - or just forget Dropbox, plenty of other providers available..Version: 202.2.2

Constantly crashingAfter logging on the app insisted that I was not logged in. Then logging out to reset the app I was not able to log back in. When later I was able to login and mistyped my password the app sort of froze in a state where no matter what I typed it told me the system wasn’t available. Today trying to login again the same freeze occurred. Deleting and reinstalling the app allowed me another chance to login but when again I mistyped my long password it again froze. One last uninstall and reinstall allowed me access long enough to download my videos and cancel my subscription.Version: 116.2

Look into this bug please 😩This app was a little clunky but straightforward nonetheless, now it’s just impossible to use. I can’t export ANYTHING, I have to email photos to myself which literally defeats the purpose of the app. I can’t even view a single document, just an endless loading wheel. My phone is up to date, I’ve deleted the app and re-downloaded it, logged off/back in and nothing is working to alleviate the issue. Please look into this bug, I don’t mind the app otherwise (when it works!).Version: 132.3

It would be nice if I could read the file namesIt would be nice if you could resize the side bar so you can read the file names. I know it scrolls, but it takes time and doesn’t feel productive at all. Or maybe an option to hide the preview screen and just have it as a file browser until you tap on a file... Other than that it’s a good app..Version: 124.2

Good features, horrible customer serviceI’ve used Dropbox for years with no issues, although it is overpriced and their peculiar insistence on landing you on “Recents” rather than “My Files” is annoying. However, if you must purchase Dropbox, do it on their site and not via the App Store. Here’s why: They sent me a note saying my payment method (Apple) was invalid and I had to “update” my payment method with Apple or lose my paid features on May 31st. Spoke with tech support via chat and confirmed that my payment info is up to date, and that it has successfully gone through for ApplePay, dozens of other apps, and a couple of streaming services. He escalated me to someone who days later sent me a boilerplate email that showed he hadn’t read anything from the previous conversation. I replied, explaining again. No answer. I wrote back asking for an ETA on a response, as May 31 was fast approaching. No answer. Then on May *29* — two days before the supposed deadline — I got an email saying “Your account has been downgraded.” Finally managed to resubscribe by severing my payment within Apple and purchasing on their site (although now I wish I hadn’t). And *still* no response from customer service..Version: 190.2

Garbage customer supportI am using it from 2 years. I have sync issue now Dropbox is not uploading files. I tried to contact support but they didn’t even help me to fix that. Garbage customer support..Version: 234.2

Could be betterI came from Google Drive and the Dropbox app (and web interface) are serious less refined. Maybe that’s to be expected though. The app takes 10mins to open any PDF and the web interface consistently fails to upload files (and it isn’t an issue with my internet connection in either case)..Version: 126.2

One year no changeA year ago I reached out for help bc all of my photos I edited on my phone or the hundreds of “portrait mode” iPhone photos were uploaded in their original mode and their “edited” portrait mode. When you click “automatic upload” it uploads your photos in chronological order with dates they were created. Which is great. On the portrait mode or any edited photo, it uploads two versions. I was going through and looking at file size and deleting the one that wasn’t edited so that my terabyte of storage wouldn’t be full. The tip they gave me was to click “manual upload” and manually upload all of the portrait mode or edited photos that I wanted to not have doubled. I did this. The photos were not uploaded by date taken and the file names were changed. But they were not doubled. Then, I clicked “automatic upload” to upload all of the other unedited photos and it still uploaded the edited ones I had manually uploaded bc the file names were different. I have reached out a handful of times about having an option to click or fixing the manual upload bug that changes the file names and causes more duplicates. No changes have been made. Dropbox is the most expensive storage app but don’t expect the most expensive quality..Version: 184.2

Dropbox has been hard, but paintings look amazingOk so really Dropbox is good at some things and amazingly competent at other things. They will not support the Dropbox app ( I didn’t know) the instructions are finally being edited for clarity and ease of understanding. Answers can be hard to get, although they reply fairly quickly, simple answers can take multiple emails. Now the amazing way they make my digital scans of paintings is off the charts!! Stratosphere type work. The files fit the whole frame for mobile responsive design. The file handling can be screwed up to easy( layers and nested files and folders) as you learn. I had a hard time learning Dropbox, but it was mostly my fault and now I’m really enjoying Dropbox and trying to explore all the options available..Version: 202.3.2

Useless/not neededMy smart phone has my resume in pdf. Form and that should be it. But no, these stupid app companies are in bed together and so I have to keep downloading app after app after app just apply for jobs. Each app just another security risk, just another way for my info to end up in the wrong hands. Might as well be you know what in a box, Totally unacceptable. Zero stars is the real review. Stop making cloud based crap we already have through oh idk the 16 other apps that do a similar job. This is an edit...after reading some reviews I ask those people if they are using windows 98? Do you not remember that our smart phones and their services were already doing all of this? Did you not already have cloud based service through your smart phone brand or google? Why accept yet another app that is cloud based for yet another way to have your private photos and documents out in another cloud. “The devs are smart” yeah after building the same features into every other cloud based app they realized they needed another job so here is Dropbox, next year it will be “boxdrop” or “doccushare3000”! I’m sure there is some feature that is unique to Dropbox that has you all saying that it’s totally different. You mean something that could have just been added to any other cloud based service? I know it’s free but I didn’t want another app on my phone, another account, another, another, another, another.......Version: 192.2

Horrific with Text FilesCreating and saving text files is extremely bad with this app. It doesn’t allow you to simply open the text editor and add text with autosave as most iOS apps do. You have to tap something before you can edit a text file and then remember to save any changes or edits, otherwise it’s all lost. The app constantly fails to load the latest version of text files. Instead you get the version last opened on the device, which could be days or weeks out of date. The app may or may not realise this after several minutes and ask you to ‘refresh’ the text file to get the newest version. This frequently causes conflicted copies of text files. The only way to bypass these problems is to remember to force quit the app whenever it’s used to hopefully get updated text files. Very unreliable and a terrible experience if you use it with text files..Version: 112.2

TerribleIt synced to my ex husbands phone without my permission and we made many attempts to disable his access with no success. They also make it ridiculous to cancel an account! Just awful..Version: 138.2

TERRIBLEOnly 2 GB of free storage! What a joke. Use google drive instead. Slow download speeds. One of the files I uploaded won’t even download anymore. Terrible app wish there was an option for 0 starts..Version: 188.2

SCAMMERSI upgraded for a month and as not wanting the extra bonuses I then downgraded. Dropbox proceeded to charge me for that month... that’s okay but then after cancelling Dropbox then charged another month for absolute no reason. I then contacted them to find out what was the issue and they explained how it wasn’t their problem and I would not be receiving a refund. If you get this app DO NOT upgrade as you will be charged even when you have cancelled!.Version: 180.2

Unnecessary changesSometimes simpler is better. WHYWHYWHY does everyone try to turn their apps into a social media platform? Why. I’ve tolerated the various updates and additions because Dropbox has done one thing extremely well: transfer files and sync them to my Mac desktop. In that one function Dropbox has an unparalleled lead. But Dropbox PAPER? No, we use google docs for that and always will. Sorry. Comments? Not needed, rarely used. Sharing? YESYESYES that’s what it’s for. Sharing files. Photo sync, sure why not? I don’t use it but good to have. I’ve watched many developers “upgrade” their apps right out of business, making them cumbersome and glitchy in the process. PLEASE STOP you have such a robust platform already! We don’t need the toys, it just makes the app messy and childish. It’s hard enough to keep things synced and shared over a variety of different uses. I’ve been using Dropbox for maybe 10 years and run a whole business with it. Has always worked properly and stood the test of time. Your desire to compete in areas where you aren’t needed is going to downgrade what you are #1 in—transferring and sharing files easily and without confusion..Version: 152.3

Can not get it to work properlyCan’t get it to work.Version: 242.3

Keeps running in the backgroundDropbox keeps running in the background, I have uninstalled the application multiple times and I do not have camera uploads enabled (I use iCloud photos). Due to running in the background practically 24/7 (as indicated by the battery menu) it drains around 40-70% of my iPhone XS Max battery. Making it last only 4 hours. Ridiculous. Uninstalled for now until they fix this bug..Version: 190.2

Great except keeps losing recent files99% of the time when I used this app, it is to do something with one of the three or four files I have most recently edited. For some reason this app keeps losing track of those, which makes it take much longer to use. Last time it was because they forced dropbox paper towns artificially find a recent list, this time the paper staff is back again and all my recent files have disappeared. There is no option to remove the paper spam from the recent list. For bonus points they say it’s easy to contact them if you have problems about the app. It isn’t. When I finally found a way, their support page doesn’t work; it won’t let me choose a device and therefore won’t let submit a ticket. This is of course on my iPhone, the same device the app is running on, using safari, the default and dominant browser. Ridiculous..Version: 118.2

AwfulAwful.Version: 226.2

A ridiculously limited app in 2020. Goodbye, Dropbox.I love that Dropbox is multiplatform and can be accessed from any device, however 2GB of storage free is laughably stingy in this era. What is anyone supposed to do with that in 2020? I would happily pay for more storage, but 15.99 a month is totally ludicrous! A one-time payment of 15.99 is still a bit expensive but would be 100% worth it; asking for such an amount monthly, on the other hand, is a joke. I must also mention that the Dropbox app now has a three device limit, as a result, productivity and seamless sharing takes a nosedive if you're using this app for school, work, or even as your main cloud storage (I'm sure most people, like myself, have more than three devices). I would recommend using Google Photos, Google Drive or Microsoft OneDrive for anyone looking for a better, inexpensive, unlimited app that is also multiplatform. Adiós, Dropbox..Version: 184.2

Can’t cancel subscriptionI got the subscription so I could download photos a photographer had taken and put in a Dropbox. Trying to cancel IS A NIGHTMARE! I signed up on a mobile device and have cancelled my subscription in my iPhone settings. I keep getting emails to update my payment method and on the Dropbox app it still says subscribed. When I try to cancel through the app they say go to the App Store. Such a joke. Don’t sign up, they make it too hard to unsubscribe. This should be criminal..Version: 218.2

10 years on STILL no improvementOMG I need to create an album and add to it several photos/videos from across the years in the upload folder and I STILL have to do each one one at a time! Why oh WHY have you still not made it possible to select all the photos to be moved and move them to a folder all in one go. I cant believe in all these years such a basic function is STILL not available. SORT IT OUT WE PAY YOU ENOUGH!!!.Version: 174.2

Camera Uploaded Misses PhotosI rely on Camera Upload to upload ALL pictures and videos I take, but recently Dropbox has begun to totally miss large numbers of photos and videos on my camera roll and never upload them. How in the world could this not have been caught during QA? Pretty huge failure for a backup feature to miss files..Version: 244.6

Automatic paymentHi can it be stopped on my phone i m not using this app.Version: 142.2

No editing on iPad - what’s the point?Dropbox whilst good in theory makes it so difficult to access on iPad. Not via a browser and so why they created a worthless app is beyond me. My MacBook Pro is currently broken and my files are in Dropbox. I normally edit via a browser in G Docs and whilst it works in a browser on my laptop, it doesn’t work in a browser on iPad. So of course, let’s go get the app..... nope! So again, why bother creating an app when it does nothing different? Such a useless platform..Version: 186.2

Missing simple features acknowledged in earlier reviewsA review by ‘SparkieGal’ dated a year ago (currently Dec 2019) mentions the lack of the ability to select all the files in a folder at once for export. And how you have to manually select each file in a folder, which is really frustrating when having to export folders containing many files. “Select all” has been basic UI functionality in apps for decades and this key feature is still not there in the Dropbox iOS app TEN YEARS after its 2009 launch..Version: 170.2

Can’t close file previewBeen using Dropbox for years & not had any real issues until last app upgrade. I now can’t close the file preview window, the x that used to be at the top on the left has disappeared, tried uninstalling, restarting iPad but to no avail. Most of my files have long file names which I now can’t see due to only having less than a quarter of the screen to use, probably going to delete app as it’s now unusable.Version: 160.2

Help - latest version is broken 😞Since the app update 4 days ago - circa 22nd April - my automatic photo uploads have stopped. I have repeatedly closed and opened the app to try and get them started. This morning I did this again and there was a progress bar with ‘backing up’ rolling back and forwards and that started with a number in the hundreds, then thousands, then 10s of thousands of files that were ‘backing up’ but they have already been backed up. They are all sorted in to folders under dates on my desktop as there are so many photos it is not good to have them all in one folder. So what the app is doing is now re-syncing photos from over 10 years ago and newer again and time stamping them all with May 2020 dates. This is a true nightmare - it’s really broken the app - and causing a massive double up sync disaster..Version: 232.2

Why do I suddenly need to pay for off line files?It was so handy being able to take files off line. And I love that I can view a document for a presentation without constantly having to wake up my iPad. But why do I have to pay for something that used to be free - storage in my own device? Love the app, not the subscription!!.Version: 112.2

Not uploading camera roll picturesThe app has stopped uploading a lot of the photos on my camera roll. It seems to be doing all videos but most photos or screenshots aren’t being uploaded. Update: have done what developer suggested and it is still happening. There are 7 photos from last night not uploaded but camera upload says it is done. It is only showing videos for the past week, no photos. When I “tap to view my photos” it takes me to a screen where it is showing photos from 2014 as “modified today”. I didn’t modify any of this photos. And yes I have given the app access to all my photos and videos UPDATE - I reached out to DropBox Support on Twitter 10 days ago as recommended but have heard nothing back..Version: 244.6

Major Glitch!Up until yesterday.. I have used Dropbox for work everyday all day long! And I love it. Easy to use.. never any issues. But now it won’t upload any of my files. It says it’s full , but also tells me I have only used 25% of my available space! So now you want me to pay for more space that I don’t even need? Not happy !!!.Version: 106.2

Update not goodOverall dropbox is excellent but the app 2 upgrades back was better than the latest version which makes photo uploading non-intuitive ie now it's choose your folder, then choose pics, then upload. It's backwards. Also can't take pics & upload from within the app anymore :-( Your pics must already be on the camera roll..Version: 1.4.2

Attach a Dropbox File to an Email from Within Gmail Not Supported on an iPadI am paperless and use DropBox for literally everything business and personal, therefore, I find it extremely annoying and cumbersome that when composing an email using Gmail on my iPad I cannot attach a file directly from Dropbox. When I select the attach function (paper clip), the only options for attachment sources that appear are Google Drive, camera roll, and recents. The online help forums state that I should approach the problem in reverse, namely, open my file in DropBox then select Open File in Gmail. While this does open a new Gmail message with the file as an attachment, this backward workaround is useless if I already have started composing an email within Gmail because the attachment cannot be assigned to another preexisting email within Gmail. Also, there seems to be no way to attach more than one file to the same email. Email attachments are a very basic function that every user needs so I would think DropBox would make fixing this issue a priority..Version: 184.2

Keeps getting worse over timeA great service and actively developed you would think the iOS app would get better over time? Nope. It’s prettier. But does not feel like an app made by people who enjoy spending time within a file browser. - Information density keeps getting worse at the expense of prettier. At the top of every folder: 1/3 of the screen is taken up by SHARE. Should that be the top priority? - comments on files load like a bad JavaScript web app. Randomly, comments don’t show up at all. - no ability to select all files? - no ability to refresh the view? It’s a syncing service. Shouldn’t it be assumed someone somewhere else is updating things?.Version: 96.2

Very disappointed- unsuitable for professional useWe pay a premium each month for a dependable and functional service. Clients have been left in the dark at the last hour when delivery deadlines and time is of the essence. When link sharing does not work, especially after chasing it up with Dropbox, all credibility is lost. We are not happy customers at all.Version: 202.3.2

Cut me off? Goodbye.Locked out of app on my older iPad, and won't let me use the web interface? Goodbye. I look forward to ending my paid relationship with Dropbox..Version: 242.2

Cash Grab. Now Limits to 3 devices. Find something else.Well you did Apple a big favour! I have switched to (payed) iCloud. Used to love DropBox (5 stars) but now won’t let me add new devices anymore without upgrading to $160/yr. I have made tonnes of referrals. No more. Who only has 3 devices these days? Try OneDrive or GoogleDrive instead for free, or iCloud if you are a big Apple user..Version: 164.2

App disables your account for no reasonI have had dropbox for years and one day i tried to login and it suddenly says log back in again. I do it several times and it doesn’t work. After the 3rd try it disables my account. I try to go to support to write to them and it also gets disabled which makes it impossible to tell them what is going on. You are voiceless if you get locked out. Then i go to Twitter and they don’t respond for days I try to send them a message from a different dropbox and it says it has to be logged in from the same email you need help from which they have disabled. I have been waiting for days and they have not emailed me back to solve the issues. I will call my legal team soon. They are horrible at helping you when you are stuck and no phone number to call. On top of that they keep charging me every month. I recommend working with a service that can be reached In crisis. Even if you have the plus account you cannot reach them unless you are logged in but if you are locked out how are you supposed to get through ??? They will say send us an email from the same account that you are locked out from but you cannot because they do mot accept outgoing emails. The staff is untrained and you can lose all your data. My legal team is ready to bash them for there shameful ways Very low grade system. I lost so much money losing access to my files these days. Horrible..Version: 230.2

Best syncing across multiple platforms. Worst sorting.Dropbox is amazing for syncing and sharing large numbers of files and folders across multiple users and platforms. The sync is totally robust and very fast even for large files and recognizes changes in the smallest of Metadata. The only thing I hate about it is that when you upload photos it can only sort by uploaded date, not created date. This is really frustrating and annoying..Version: 124.2

BugsStill the app is full of bugs and glitches.Version: 172.4

Utterly hopelessApp is clunky. Background photo uploading doesn’t work. My camera upload photo disappears all the time. Can’t believe I subscribe to this still but it’s difficult to transfer everything I’ve stored elsewhere. Uploading years of photos was difficult enough in the first place and perhaps that should have scared me off. Don’t get it. Use iCloud..Version: 160.2

Doesn’t workI have tried hundreds of times to use this application in different capacities, and it does not, to even a slight extent, serve the purpose it’s intended for. My hatred for this stupid website and this stupid app goes beyond words. The frustration is difficult to articulate. The frustration is furthered by the fact that an app that can do what Dropbox is intended to do would be remarkably helpful. I have tried with four different email accounts. I’ve tried not using an email account at all, but even the simplest of tasks do not work on this useless pathetic excuse for a file storage site. If you don’t have an account and all you want to do is download or view a file in someone else’s Dropbox, forget about it. You’ll just be continuously harassed to pay for the service. If you do pay for the service, the same issue, constant notifications asking you to pay more or telling you your storage is full even when it’s entirely empty. You will find more joy and success doing something like jamming a screwdriver into your eye socket..Version: 218.2

Absolute GARBAGE App ZERO Stars.Why is the entire sidebar restricted to phone-screen size? I didn't buy a 12.9" iPad in order to have file lists in a strip down the left side of the screen. You obviously did't spend the extea $5/hr to get coders who could conditionally resize screen elements. Why no ability to select and copy FOLDERS? Why no 'select all' functionality within folders? It's an absolute travesty that the lowest possible 'star' rating is a ;1', implying a mark of 20%.; if I delivered a piece of software this hopeless I would not expect to get [aid. I guess you guys are about 10th in the desirable career destinations for coders (both Apple and DropBox, I mean)... so you get second- and third-stringers. Even Microsoft garbage is better than this app..Version: 164.2

It doesn’t even have select all.I want to upload more than ten thousand photos in one of my album and I have to select one by one..Version: 154.2

Needs a redesignThe app works great however the iOS interface needs a complete redesign. Viewing photos as small thumbnails is difficult, no ability to increase the size or change the layout. While the integration is market leading the overall layout and usability is outdated and needs to be modernised..Version: 168.2

Only one overpriced storage schemeJust scoped out all the main photo backup apps as my 0365 subscription expired and my OneDrive storage shrank. My main archive is about 350 GIG so 500 GIG would be perfect. Dropbox only offers 2 terabytes for £9.99 a month which is way over what I need price and capacity wise. If only there was a 500 GIG storage option for £2.50... Are you reading this Dropbox people!!?. It’s actually far cheaper for me to go back to 0365 for £5.99 a month which gives me all the office apps/bells and whistles AND 5 terabytes of storage for my files and pictures. Can’t believe I’m bigging up Microsoft but you get a lot more for your money with them 😂.Version: 226.2

Great but has limitsIt’s a fantastic app, truly, I use it a lot. But it seems to lack some polish when integrating with iOS, and just support for modern video standards. My main gripe is you can’t export Live photos from iPhone, something Apple have supported for years there’s not really a good reason for not being able to export the mov file associated with Live photos. It means you still have to sync to a Mac and then export to Dropbox if you want to retain them, a major additional faff. Also the lack of support for HDR video previews is a little baffling, HDR has not really snuck up on us, it’s been coming for a long time. I’d like to be able to watch HDR without then looking like a washed out mess please..Version: 230.2

Take care, you may be paying twice!I am a long time Dropbox user with a Dropbox professional account. I used this app to connect to my existing Dropbox account. No problem with that, that is how you would expect to use it. However several years later, I have just found out I am paying twice for it. Apple has placed a subscription in my iTunes account. No idea how it got there. I have been paying around £10 per month for the privilege of connecting to my Dropbox Professional account which I am paying £199 a year for. I have never taken out another account, why would I? My account is directly with Dropbox. I don’t recall any messages in the app saying a subscription would be applied either. So take care with this app and check your subscriptions from time to time. The app works fine, just not at all happy about this scam..Version: 202.3.2

App Broken Since iOS13I've either been unable to upload any files from my iPhone since September 2019 - or uploads were painfully slow and required the app to be open and the screen on. Background uploads DO NOT WORK. After a very unhelpful exchange with Dane from Dropbox Support he confirmed that it was no longer fully compatable since the intro of iOS13! I was told that my paid subscription is for the backup servers only and not the App. His advice was to resort to the desktop software and that my paid subscription does not involve any support. This was the end of our correspondence and no assistance was even given to obtain the files. Very disappointing as I've been paying for something I can't use as intended for 10 months. No offer of a refund was provided..Version: 196.2

Thought this would help!I downloaded this app and initially thought it was great to hold my school support documents on, making it easier to send information straight from my phone to parents, during the Covid lockdown I am supporting families and children especially with their transition anxiety to their next school. I have some very supportive documents which I had hoped I could send to parents and you have not allowed me to attach them unless I upgrade! I am really disappointed that during this very difficult time that your company are not supporting us key workers to help support families by lifting this fee. Truly disappointed. This could have been a really good tool to help us but instead the greedy fee has been your only interest..Version: 190.2

Outdated garbageForcing me to download your garbage app because some people live in the past is completely unacceptable. Tying to access my contacts is also not acceptable. Dated platform that shouldn’t exist anymore. Terrible and pathetic..Version: 222.2

Worst service ever!!!!!I have been a Custumer for over 10 years no problem. I have a yearly contract with them. This year they took the money out of my account. In June 2018 and turned off my service in July 2019. I have been fighting with them for months I gave them the receipt from my account and the Apple store. The app say active until June 2019 but when I go the the app it say full must pay money. They said they didn’t get a payment so I need to pay again. I have tried to contact them. You can only talk to them though email or twitter they will not call you. They don’t respond or slow to respond. After months of trying to get in touch with them and proving I paid. They still did not turn on my service. I called the BBB on them and they never responded. Something so simple to solve has turn me off from this product and has made me find other services better than this..Version: 124.2

Terrible customer support and fraud !Buyer beware - I did not opt in for a package and they billed me through apple. Then I cancelled it and received a copy of cancellation and they still charged me. This IS FRAUD!!! They also make it impossible to locate anyone for support - clearly on purpose..Version: 244.2

Painfully annoying.I’ve been a paid dropbox user for years and years and almost every time I use it I question why I’m such an idiot. It’s painfully annoying to use and update after update only changes the interface to make it yet again a step more annoying. Do yourself a favour and seek out another file transfer system because Dropbox is awful..Version: 228.2

Best in class syncing, not enough space.Syncs well, seamless operation between desktop, phone, iPad and the application is one I prefer...But 1TB is not whopping anymore. To get 2TB you need a business account which is horrendously expensive. I need 2TB. Other cloud providers are offering 2TB on a lifetime subscription, with an excellent app and security. So back to the free Dropbox account, which is so small to be all but useless..I’ll keep the account, one day you’ll be competitive again..Version: 132.3

App freezesApp freezes and will NOT load images, export, or even view the images with out the loading image. The only way to obtain images is to log in the old school way and through a web browser.Version: 126.2

Large uploads very inefficientI generally have a good experience with dropbox which supplants a lot of the inadequacies of the ipad operating system. but i’ve found that large uploads take an extremely long time. i suspect there’s a problem in breaking files down. currently uploading a single 2.5gb file and it has taken +12 hours to get to not even get to 90%. i understand download and upload connections are optimised differently by infrastructure but this looks more like a problem in the app. the app runs extremely sluggishly in this time and like it’s consumed the device’s entire memory. i’m on ipad pro and i expect better. as i say generally very good. the upload handling though seems like it needs attention..Version: 202.3.2

Fills your email with upgradesContinuous email about upgrading or box is nearly full, This is the same as Downloading a virus..Version: 244.5

Default upload folder change missingI've been using Dropbox for around 7 years. And I can't believe I still have to manually struggle with all my 10k+ photos every time I get a new phone. Simply because I can't change the default upload folder. Like that I could just make a new folder every time I change my phone. And I change it very often..Version: 140.2

DropboxTarif totalement ridicule et exagéré pour le service rendu. LoLoLoL .. Puisque que le script de note m’oblige à donner un minimum d’une étoile afin de prendre en charge mon commentaire,je me résigne à le faire malgré tout mais qui ne le mérite pas.Juste le script lui même qui force un minimum d’une étoile manifeste absolument un manque de respect au utilisateur. :/.Version: 226.2

Horrible Background Battery UsageI really love the app and it gives me the ability to share my files between my iPad and my desktop computer easily. I originially got Dropbox because Google Drive was draining my battery by constantly running in the background. Well, my battery has been draining again over time by almost 30% or more at times. I checked my battery usage and Dropbox was running in the background for 7 hours straight. Why? I looked up the issue, and someone mentioned the only way to fix it was to disable it in the File app on my device, but I don’t want to do that, because sometimes I do need to access things from that app, or move things that way. I understand that it checks the folder in Files and makes sure everything is synced to the actual Dropbox app, but 7 hours? There’s also an issue where if I upload items to Dropbox within the app, if I close the app, it stops uploading. I have to have the app open for it to finish uploading. I’ve never had to deal with that before. Not sure if these are Apple issues or Dropbox issues. I hope there’s another fix for it though, because I shouldn’t be going to sleep with my iPad at 100% and waking up to it already down to 70%. I guess I will do the temporary fix in files for now, unless I find another cloud service that doesn’t drain my battery all day..Version: 218.2

Very slow uploadDropbox is super slow at uploading videos. I have fibre internet fastest available at the moment and it still didn’t work. Downloaded Google Drive and with in 2 minuets all files were uploaded. Definitely deleting Dropbox!.Version: 132.3

So much potential, very buggyI’ve been using this app daily for work, for over a year now. Every single time I create a folder and select upload photos, I will be scrolling on my camera roll and it if I’m not actively clicking photos right off the bat, it freezes and jumps to the start of my camera roll (I have 20k photos in my camera roll, going back to 2017). The only way to avoid this is by clicking upload photos, and immediately start rapidly tapping random photos until it unfreezes. I have always updated the app, and it’s done this on more than one iPhone. Still happening on my 12 Pro. 2nd issue that just started happening: I name every folder by date. Suddenly almost all my folders are out of order. They randomly just start not being organized by date as I scroll down. I make sure to select “sort by date modified” and it does nothing. No matter what I sort by, nothing changes in the order. It’s becoming very frustrating as I rely on this app for work. I’m confused by all the positive reviews because my experience has been this for several months now..Version: 224.5

AverageThe app functionality is very limited. You can't share multiple files from your phone or just a folder. You can only select and move stuff but not share. Better off using mobile version of the website. Please Dropbox update the app.Version: 2.0.1

Picture & Video upload is brokenPicture & video upload now constantly crashes. Very slow upload when it does work. Refuses to upload when the battery is low (even if its plugged in and currently charging!) If I have low battery don't you think it would be IMPORTANT to be able to upload/backup what I can before it dies?!? At the very least they should be an option that says 'continue anyway'. And if the phone is already charging I don't see why that matters? I can't upload a SINGLE picture? Really? Why does dropbox decide when I can or can't upload pics? This used to be a great app but recently it's falling apart. The media player is missing many desired features like fast forward/rewind 15 seconds, etc. Please fix the app! I've been a long time customer but I'm finding more frustrations than conveniences. Please fix the pic and video upload! App constantly locks up and crashes..Version: 118.2

Pas très pratique!Partagez des fichiers text à partir d’un iMac sur un iPad , des problèmes de caractères accentués quasi illisible. La version Dropbox sur Apple store devrait être compatible avec les caractères accentués..Version: 246.2

Refuses to sign inI have been trying to use this app on my IPad and it absolutely will not let me sign in or even tell me what is wrong. I get an error that it can’t sign in but the only options to even try to fix this unknown error are forgot password or single sign in which also doesn’t work and it’s absolutely stupid..Version: 230.2

Downloading flies to send to people is painfulThe assumption that every file I share will be shared via a link and new user account being setup for the recipient on devices leads me to use other methods whenever possible. If the one remaining method of downloading files is removed I will be stopping my paid subscription and moving to another service..Version: 98.2

Fix the cache clearing please90GB of cache that can’t be cleared unless the app is removed and reinstalled is not reasonable..Version: 244.2

Background UploadHi team, Can you please setup the background auto upload to continue uploading rather than keep going back to dropbox and reopening it everytime just to continue uploading pictures/videos..Version: 3.9.5

Great, but lackingDropbox was good, good for storing all my files, but it had too little space. 2 GB. For all the files I need stored, I had to make 4 TOTAL Dropbox accounts. At a certain point I realized I can’t deal with this anymore. And I look into transferring my files to Google Drive. Giving me 15 GB of storage FOR FREE! I try to export my files to drive, only exports one file. I search all around! Nowhere does it say “export to drive”. I get I could have done it manually, but we’re talking folders and 6-8GB’s worth of documents, data, pictures, and whatever else. No way. I find a chrome extension, connect the account, let it sync my Dropbox to my drive! All of my dropboxes are COMPLETELY useless now! Don’t get me wrong, Dropbox is great. But hey lack in storage and refuse to give you options to transfer elsewhere. They don’t want to let you go..Version: 142.2

TerribleI’ve had a Dropbox for years now and I’ve loved it! It wasn’t until last week when I attempted to open up my Dropbox app that it showed I was logged out. I did not think anything of it until I attempted to log back in. I tried multiple times until I finally did reset password. I did reset password and Dropbox gave a message saying if we find an email associated with the account then you’ll get the reset email. I waited 5 minutes and got no email so I repeated the process multiple times and got no email. I know it’s the right email because I screenshot my Dropbox account one day! Ive tried reaching out to customer care on multiple social media platforms as well as the Dropbox website and no one ever contacted me back!! It’s nearly impossible to talk to a real representative of the company!! Don’t download this app if you like poor customer service and having ur account deleted.Version: 240.2

Larger quantity of picsIf you have too many pics (250-300) to upload together, Dropbox organizes it according to its own algorithm (not even chronological). Maybe it works better from laptops as opposed to handheld devices though (?).Version: 244.6

Bug in most recent updateThis used to be brilliant. I’ve reported several times that since the last update the app is using ENORMOUS amounts of mobile data, even with cellular data off for photos and videos. The app has used 12gb of my mobile data in a couple of days since I switched it back on, despite mostly being connected to WiFi, and video/photo upload off. I barely use the app most of the time so this is inexplicable. What the hell is it doing?! That’s the size of 3 full length DVDs or a large PlayStation game! It did the same in May and cost me a fortune in extra data charges until I realised the App was using it all. It got through 5gb in a hour that time, although admittedly I had photo uploading on, it seemed to get stuck loading 1 photo constantly. No compensation from Dropbox for all the wasted money on EE data top ups. I’m a paying user and I’m losing my patience with Dropbox for not sorting this out, if it is not sorted I’ll take my money elsewhere. SORT IT OUT DROPBOX.Version: 98.2

🚫 Not upgradingAfter looking down the long list of seriously bad recent reviews, I’m NOT doing the latest upgrade (operating under the theory “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”). What I’m using now, while far from perfect, is adequate; I don’t have to wrestle constantly with the software, and I know what workarounds I need to employ to get ‘er done, so…its not a perfect world, but no new surprises. I already knew their customer support was nonexistent; I have a “story” of my own. I hope someone sues them for false advertising (for claiming they have customer support). I’d say it’s possible to win that in a court of law: if someone pays for a product and substantially relies on the written description of something (“we have customer service available to serve you,” or whatever is written), there’s a case to be made if the person or business incurred a provable loss due to that reliance. Hmmm… 🤔 Dropbox appears to have gone the way of so many apps - it’s all about the Benjamin’s (as opposed to quality, reliable customer support). But, of course, the less peeps employed, the better the bottom line looks. I noticed, however, that their marketing department must be working overtime. How a 4.7 star rating is possible with as many really bad (recent) reviews is absolutely beyond me. Of course, no one would ever skew the review numbers to make an app look more attractive, would they? 🙄.Version: 118.2

Drop great, but update is disappointingDropbox in an excellent way to store files and move them effortlessly between computers. It is worth paying for increased capacity. However, since the recent update, it has become less easy to use. For example, uploading files is more difficult and indexing is not as good. This is disappointing, but does not detract too badly for its overall usefulness..Version: 178.2

Not worth the hassle if your expecting to store things long termThis was one of the first file sharing cloud apps. However, there are much better more efficient apps out there now as the way they promote cloud is old news. Now with cloud you can usually use the storage with or without being active for x amount of months etc. it will always be there so long as you don’t delete from it . That is not the case with this app and seems to be a common complaint . Many have lost important files including myself on account of not seeing a deactivation email. Moral of the story is drop box is out google cloud and icloud are in . Drop-box May as well be obsolete when compared to the other Choices now , that don’t delete your files just after 12 months of inactivity.. 🤷🏽‍♀️.Version: 170.2

It deleted my entire DesktopAfter a recent computer crash I had I was attempting to put things back to normal and reinstalled Dropbox. After it installed and logged in it was already full but attempted to copy and sync my entire desktop. This didn’t happen before when I first installed it and it began lagging my entire computer. So I tried deleting the folder but it took my entire desktop from my computer and multiple files ranging from personal and work. Trying to recover failed because there file box it was trying to sync was only a partial download and only had file folder names and none of the content. I’m not gonna pay for an app that will try to take on more than it can handle on the free plan. I’ve only used this app to make it easier to share files between computer to phone not entire programs from the desktop nor did I ask it to sync. I might have screwed by a simple update for the sync computer but I never had an option for how to sync it and I usually have to initiate it but this was unexpected and stacked up on current problems..Version: 186.2

WorstWon’t let u delete it and keeps billing you impossible to cancel free trial.Version: 230.2

Account restriction work aroundThe app was updated a while back to restrict the number of devices that can be connected to an account. Probably because quite a few people have a large chunk of free storage which they share across a number of devices which brings little or no revenue into Dropbox. The work around is to create a shared folder and create a second account. Log some of your devices into this second account. You are then back to sharing the data across 6 devices. Create a 3rd account and this gives you 9 devices and so on. If you have buckets of data this won’t work but 2GB is quite a sizeable chunk to share. For archive info use One Drive or some other slower package and keep Dropbox for the current on the fly info you need. It can be a bit of a faf to set up but it keeps it free to users. If you need access to lots of large data over the web consider using something like Western Digital Cloud. There is an initial outlay but the data is stored in a known location - your home. It can be configured to auto backup you PC and give remote access to all of your files. You could also share the space with your friends and everyone wins..Version: 218.2

Why?Thanks for removing ‘Sort by Date’ in files. Great move! Now I can’t see what I’ve recently uploaded, without scrolling back through hundreds of pics! Also cannot move separate pics between folders anymore. It always reverts to the folder you’re sending from or gives you a limit of 5 other folders to choose from. The folder you want cannot be found. BTW: when are you going to fix Dropbox’s inability to select ALL pics/screenshots from the camera roll? Most times, the last pic or screenshot on my camera roll is either missing, or shoved hundreds of places farther back in the camera roll!!!!!!!!!!! My god this is a frustrating app to use now. I truly hate it. Gonna have to look at other options now..Version: 102.2

Worst file storage appJust tried to use Dropbox after deleting it years ago, I should have left it deleted. After opening it up it says I have apparently used 98% of my 2Gb space but when I go to my files I can’t delete anything, the only files there are images other people have shared with me, are these taking up space in my storage? Who knows. It’s impossible to tell at a glance with the app’s terrible UI and usability. Overall a poor file storage app, many other apps developed by kids work far better, or just use google..Version: 152.3

Good before they got greedyI was one of the early adopters of Dropbox and also used their top tier payed plan. These guys eventually got greedy, doubled all of their prices and forgot about the people who made them. Anyway then I looked at Microsoft again. Wow the office 365 suite has come a long way since I first looked at it and integrates well with PC and Apple well now. For half what I had to pay Dropbox I can put my whole team on 365 with unlimited storage, plus the full office suite all included. One Drive and Onenote are awesome. I also shut my Evernote account and switched to OneNote. I work paperless on an iPad Pro + PC and everything syncs beautifully. Short answer, you don’t need this greedy company anymore. Ditch em..Version: 158.2

Getting better, media player needs improvementThis app continues to get better, but please be careful about not letting the data footprint becoming too bloated like so many other apps. in addition, the media player, audio specifically, could use some work either using the native iOS version or something better than the existing one. the current player has simply a play/pause button and a difficult to use seek bar and also does not allow seek function in the iOS control center or in the lock screen. only the play/pause button function. it would be great to get the +/- seek/skip button and allow speed adj and other common functionalities available natively in the iOS system.Version: 240.2

LameThey make you register an account and if someone sends YOU a file is over 7 gigs they make you pay monthly 16 bucks… that is very lame.Version: 238.3

Continually fails to connect to serverI've had the Dropbox app on my ipad for several years now, but hardly ever use it. I was recently sent a Dropbox link to download some files that I had purchased. It took me a while to work out hw to do this because information on how to use the app is non-existant. Once I knew what I was supposed to do the next issue was that the app continually failed to link to the server. I finally found a workaround and had to use it after each file download. It will be a while before I ever use Dropbox again..Version: 196.2

Dropbox doing everything they can to devalue the free accountI know that Dropbox needs to make money to survive but going from $0 to $120/yr is a huge leap for what is now a commodity service. I don’t need 2TB of storage and there’s nothing in between. For cloud storage all I need is like 20GB (which Dropbox doesn’t even offer). For secure cloud backup use something like Backblaze. The new-ish three device limit is so annoying I am likely to just swap over to Box and be done with Dropbox. I have like 6 devices that I used to sync up. Removing free features certainly won’t “convince” me of the value of Dropbox paid plans and is more an indicator of how little I can trust Dropbox. Perhaps it’s intended to get rid of customers who won’t pay $120/yr. At least they haven’t had a security breach (that I’m aware of) for a few years. Please remember to encrypt any files on Dropbox that you don’t want someone else to read..Version: 200.2

I really wanted to like DropboxThis is a review on Dropbox in general. I wanted to use Dropbox to back up files I accumulate on both my phone and my computer over time onto a cloud. This includes work files (minimal though) and (mostly) personal photos/videos. But I have so many issues syncing files whether it be from my phone or my computer, I just can’t do it anymore; it takes way too much time. And I’ve had the paid version for a couple months now! I thought maybe Dropbox just had a learning curve but the issues are perennial. I constantly have to troubleshoot the syncing and google solutions for things like clearing the cache on my Mac. It’s like I have to treat Dropbox like a baby, only back up 50 photos at a time or it glitches and never uploads at all. Even troubleshooting pages from the Dropbox website don’t solve my problems, even if it’s only 4 simple steps. I don’t understand—I thought DropBox was a large and reputable company used by professionals. I’m using Dropbox for mostly light, personal reasons and it doesn’t work properly. Looks like I’m going to have to back up the old fashioned way: external hard drives..Version: 174.2

I have cancelledI have cancelled this subscription numerous times can you please confirm it is cancelled I keep being bombarded with message, and I verging on harassment I don’t want the subscription and I cancelled it and I have received another email this evening threatening if I haven’t cancelled I will be charged why am I getting this if I have cancelled? It said it was a free trial and you can cancel with in the time frame which I have done.. I am not happy. © 2019 Dropbox.Version: 138.2

Great App... but...Been using Dropbox since the beginning and can’t fault the app, however, now I’m restricted to 3 devices only (I used 5 with my band) I need to upgrade. The price plans are still too much though. I’m not fussed about getting 2Tb of storage, more than happy with 8Gb as I use iCloud for most other things. If DB offered a monthly price of <£5 just for adding more users, that would be great, but £7.99 is just too much... hence not 5* review..Version: 206.2.2

SupportDon’t have the business Dropbox I have the lower one I don’t need a business one because I’m a single person that does not work but unfortunately there’s no support for anybody that pays $118 a year instead of the $200 a year of having a terrible time I accidentally canceled my subscription and I’m trying to re-activate it and pay and there’s absolutely no way to get a hold of anybody in the business account people will talk to you but they won’t help you because I’m not business you should have support for us as well we’re not that penny-ante that you can help us. Your response to me was do I want to change my review the answer is no and you’re not getting it I never had a business account with you ever only the personal account can you send me the splitting things to get help by upgrading it’s all about the money with you people instead of actual business in the care of the actual person insane every year I’ve been with you for over 45 years I’m done hopefully my pictures will be safe.Version: 218.2

“Free” trialSomeone sent me photos via Dropbox and I thought I had to have Dropbox to access or use the photos. So I downloaded the app and chose the free 30 day trial but couldn’t figure anything out so I “upgraded” I truly despise “free” 30 day trials that require your credit card information to begin and that should have given me pause before I went ahead and entered it, but these were pictures from my grandsons 1st birthday party. Now that I am trying to cancel the “free” subscription so I’m not charged at the end of the thirty days, it’s not such an easy process as to click a button. Tech savvy I’m not and navigating and trying to use Dropbox was/is not simple for me and canceling definitely is not! This is a great reminder to me to NEVER get a free 30 day trial of something that isn’t truly free. Still haven’t managed to use the app in any useful way that makes sense or is easy for a non tech person. I’m sure it’s wonderful for some folks I just don’t happen to be one and won’t recommend it to others..Version: 228.2

Amazing app but the feeI love love this app, one of the easiest storage apps but my goodness the fee. You only get 2GB for free which is too little for most people but then if you want to subscribe the only option is to get 1TB. Realistically no ones going to use up that much space straight away. I’ve had my paid account for about 2y? now and I’m not even half way (just checked and I’ve used up 7.5% of my paid storage, 7.5!!) it would have been logical to have different paid options so everyone can choose what suits them best. If you need more storage down the line you just get a more expensive option. I’ve contacted the CS numerous times regarding this but they just say we don’t have another option for now so it’s no help. Once I clean up my phone and back up all my photos onto my laptop I will be unsubscribing unfortunately and only use the free option if I need it..Version: 204.2

💩 Bonus Storage 🤬Funnily enough I was miffed into believing that recommendations to friends (that DID sign up new accounts), linking apps such as Facebook and/or pretty much writing a review like this would all lead to my Dropbox account being credited extra storage space 🤥 Fool me ! I whole heartedly recommend installing and making the very best use of Dropbox FOR FREE, please don’t expect the promised rewards. So now I have clarified the pitfalls .... allow me to regress and highly recommend the use of this FREE tool..Version: 106.2

SubscriptionAwful!.Version: 242.3

Great for storage but that’s about itBeen yang DB for a couple years now as a paid subscription instead of using a hard drive. It’s great for storage but as I use it for all my media, photos, video and music have found that it lacks a lot in terms on media functionality. Would be great to have integrated media player with editing software, photo editing even being able to carry out simple tasks such as rotating images instead of having to export edit then save again and delete original unedited files. Also truth to batch move multilevel files in the app occasionally crashes and files are not moved and deselection of files and attempt to move again is required..Version: 194.2

Disappointed after 3 years on itLost my trust in Dropbox when I earned all this "free" space by recommending it to people and doing little things the space was great! Was too much so i started to back up my photos, now I got an email recently saying that my "space expires" $149 per year? #studentlife and I don't even have wifi anymore, and no space on my iPhone because I have to keep taking pictures for my study... To afraid to delete Dropbox in case I lose all my extra photos that now "over %" in storage space ... 😭.Version: 6.2

I'm quitting Dropbox 👎Can't wait for the iCloud folder sharing service that's coming this fall. Dropbox used to be my favourite productivity app (by a mile). I've been a paying subscriber for 5+ years. I recommended it to so many people. But now, for some reason, you decided to transform a perfectly seamless experience into a disaster. On the Mac and the iPhone. Now your app is annoying. Now your app now gets in the way. We didn't need a file directory and a dock icon. We needed a simple and seamless solution. You already had it and now you've lost it..Version: 152.3

Not well integrated in iOSIt’s not possible to add pictures directly from Photos nor is it possible to import them from the Dropbox app. Also I cannot create new folders, many the function is hidden somewhere. The app is now pretty useless on iOS..Version: 242.3

A step backwardsThe new UI really is a step backward. The old UI allowed to easily switch between favorites and files online. The entire experience feels a whole lot less professional than earlier, more casual/social network like. Needs a whole new thought on or reverting back to old interface would be a better option Background updating is most welcome however.Version: 0

HorribleUseless app. Not user friendly. I spent an hour just trying to figure out how to open a file, seriously an hour, and could not get past “download Dropbox paper”. Never succeeded in opening one file, much less sharing files between devices. Googled help for this app and was told to click buttons that did not exist (but clearly should exist!). You would think an app that is supposed to help you manage documents would at least have a straightforward way to open a file. That’s the most basic thing most users would want to do and after one hour a person of at least average intelligence can’t do it. I typed the name of my document in the search bar and it told me it wasn’t found. Double checked for typos, again it wasn’t found. Tried with just one word which I knew to be contained in many of my document files... still “not found”. Ridiculous and frustrating..Version: 124.2

Slow to uploadI’ve used this app in the past and it was ok. I needed more storage recently and downloaded it again. 1900 + pics and here I am a week later still waiting for more than 90% to upload so I can remove the files from my phone. Pics only upload when the app is open on your phone. Yup you have to stare at 2000 + to upload to their server. If your anything like me and normal, not doing anything else while waiting to upload is extremely hard to do. I use my phone for business and I could be looking at the files being uploaded only to get an email I have to respond to and then 2 hours later go to check drop box and only one file was uploaded. If the app is launched why do I have to stare at files being uploaded? Makes no sense. I should be able to do other things on my device while things are being uploaded..Version: 228.2

Never liked Dropbox and still don’tThis app is confusing and hard to use. A friend sent me a Dropbox link of a song file, and when I clicked on it I got the option to either get the song in the browser or “download the app,” which I had already done. I clocked the latter option, and it just brought me to the App Store. When I clicked open no notice appeared about the download; it just took me to the app. As far as I can tell there’s no way to search through emails or Facebook messenger from the Dropbox app to download the link. I then went back to the link and clicked the other option, “open in browser,” which took me to a playable file but again gave me no options to download the file. I’ve always had problems with Dropbox, and the only time I use it is when someone shares something with me on it. This was one of those times, and though this was my first time using the iPhone app, I came away from it disappointed as usual..Version: 134.2

Latest update = big problem with photosIt seems a significant portion of my camera roll is re-synching with the date/file names all the same and unrelated to the actual date photo was taken. Please fix developers before my photo organization is a total mess!.Version: 244.2

1 little part of the app causing a big issueCurrent version on some devices ignores mobile upload settings and uploads over mobile data anyway. Have burned through over $100 in data top ups. Gave up and have stopped it using mobile data via iPhone settings. I love Dropbox and have been a customer from the start (business and personal products), so it pains me to give it less than a 5. Giving it a low score because support is basically ignoring the issue in the forums despite plenty of complaints and maybe they value their star ratings more?.Version: 114.2

Slow to uploadI have been trying to upload all my pictures from my phone to Dropbox and it takes a long time to do only a few pictures. I feel like there has to be an easier way to get them all downloaded and with 3 kids under 4 I really don’t have time to figure it out. I used to enjoy plugging in my phone and the download happened. Now it just seems like since I’ve added storage this isn’t the case anymore. I am not too sure why..Version: 232.2

Great app. Can't upload some picsThis is a fantastic app, however since the last update I have been unable to upload some pictures. Going to the 'upload file' tab and selecting 'photos' only shows about 50 photos when I have hundreds. And the ones I want to upload don't show up..Version: 3.9

Review DropboxThis is the ABSOLUTE WORST App I’ve ever worked with. Completely loath Dropbox.Version: 214.2

The worst app I have ever usedThis app is an absolute joke. It constantly crashes, takes such a long time to upload photos or even to make one folder. It’s not user friendly. But the main thing is it that it can take me an hour just to make a folder and then upload 20 photos because it crashes at least 10 times in the process. Considering drop box is used so much by businesses I’m sure you can create an app that can function efficiently..Version: 118.2

Easy to use, but false sense of security.I signed up for dropbox paid version in the hope of being able to sync and share my files across all my devices and be fully up to-date. Imagine my shock when having saved my spreadsheets to drop box that I’d spent hours working on my mobile pc, looking at the dropbox tray utility to confirm everything was synced, and opening up the same files on my internet enabled home pc to find that not only had my dropbox files in the cloud not been updated but the old files on my home pc overwrote the mobile laptop files destroying hours of work!! I would have been better off with a usb keyfob! (That is where I am now). No conflict resolution or management and no previous versions offered. Nada. Hugely disappointed. * No detailed file list with date & time * No effective conflict resolution for concurrent changes on more than 1 device..Version: 96.2

Don’t trial or use this as impossible to cancelI tooka one month trial and thought I had cancelled it . But it moved to Dropbox plus subscription of $21 month which I do not want . I followed all instructions but cannot see any Cancel Subscription button. I emailed them to cancel it but no response . Apple store will not let me cancel my credit card to stop ongoing payments . This feels like a scam . How do I get assistance ???.Version: 188.2

Expensive$12.95 a month for 2.5 GB???? Or $155 per year. Come on!.Version: 224.5

DropboxDisappointed. I try to asking them to cancel my account but continue taking money for my credit card, please don’t want to continue subscribing and you can’t take anymore money for my credit card because I cancel it and can’t take the money anymore. Thank you!.Version: 236.2

Great app on business planWe use dropbox for storing all our work files, no more server! Only issue i have is a feature that has gone missing... there needs to be a badge on the app icon and on the photos tab to show how many photos are left to upload.Version: 156.2

Too slow.The whole Dropbox is too slow particularly when you want to download from it. Most times it places you in a download queue so you can wait up to 10 minutes before it trickles the file to you eventually. After uploading a file it can take another 10 minutes for the system to register the upload on other devices no matter how much you refresh the screen. Not something I would consider paying for in an upgrade..Version: 172.4

App OK but not compatibleThe app itself has always worked fine, but I can’t rate it any higher than two stars because the browser version- on my tablet at least- is so slow as to be unusable. It’s not my browser/tablet as this is the only website I have a speed problem with. Two test runs to access two different files took more than half an hour (and I still can only open them on the screen, not download!). If you only want to use the app it’s ok, but if you ever want to be able to access your files from any device that doesn’t have it, I strongly suggest another cloud storage provider..Version: 206.2.2

Used to like this serviceNow it seems like nothing but a pain. I have lost a lot of files, but I will be moving what is left out and closing dropbox. I don't want to loose any more memories i have chosen to save on the cloud. So disappointing. Oh, and based in the reviews, I’m late to the fame on that one (no recent reviews that I could see).Version: 244.5

Deleted all my photosI received emails from Dropbox saying my account was being deleted due to inactivity. (This is a data STORAGE service. How active is one supposed to be?). Their website said data would not be deleted for 2 weeks after the user’s account was closed. I contacted customer support the day I received the email that my account had been closed. I followed the online instructions to reactivates account. However, my photos were gone!! Customer service was not able to help retrieve the photos, nor provide an explanation as to why they were deleted within hours after the account was closed. Your data is not safe on this site, especially with the free version. Dropbox, don’t offer a free version if you are not going to protect the user’s data. I am not referring to the security of the site, but rather the lack of regard they have for the data of people using their site. Two words: Google Drive Bye Dropbox..Version: 160.2

No more Free Dropbox?Back in its first appearance, Dropbox was free. How the Hey! Can a superannuant afford this? It's the equivalent of two weeks' groceries!.Version: 112.2

Could be MUCH betterI have close to 100 photos I shared with myself - I run a photography Instagram & like to edit the photos, watermark & upload them via my phone - I sent them to myself after uploading them from my camera to laptop, and now I have to click each one in the folder individually to “export” them to my phone. Surely there’s a better/quicker way where I can select either all in the folder, or just the folder from my files & “export all” to my phone? It’s so incredibly time consuming, but it’s the only way I can do things. I have some very powerful editing apps on my phone, and nothing on my laptop (it’s a work laptop anyway!) so there is no way I can do all the work via my laptop..Version: 122.2

DropBox Complicated & DifficultNot even worth a star it’s too complicated and I’ve been trying to Cancel my free trial and subscription which is just so Frigging annoying that they make it DIFFICULT to achieve Do Not install this app it’s NOT worth the HASSLE.Version: 170.2

Improvements neededI do not know if it is my account alone but when I go to delete photos off my account, I expect them to be deleted and not reappear if I close and reopen the app. I try and free space up for new photos to be added but it is impossible to happen with this issue..Version: 136.2

So difficult to cancel.I have been trying to cancel my subscription (I don’t recall signing up) and it just takes me in circles. Says I cannot cancel. To manage my subscription in App Store yet does not appear under subscription in App Store. Non responsive customer service. Doesn’t merge easily with WIX. Starring photos doesn’t mean anything. Waste of time. Many other programs that I have had ease with that I would prefer to use moving forward like google drive and one drive..Version: 162.2

Suppose to be a trialMy credit card is charged already. I tried filing for refund on iTunes and apparently I don’t qualify. I thought trial wasn’t suppose to be charged until after?.Version: 154.2

Background uploading turns itself offAfter certain updates, Dropbox turns off the background uploading feature. Make sure you check your Dropbox frequently if you want your photos backed up. I checked today and over 100 photos were waiting to upload (I take maybe 10 -20 a week)..Version: 122.2

Approaching greatness but..Dropbox has always been the go to standard for cloud storage and finally they recently added offline folders for IOS (Box and SugarSync had for ages) Great now finally happy to pay for Dropbox. But then you run into the craziness of shortness of file names on the iPad which makes locating files a mission sometimes. Sure you can click a down arrow on individual files but lets be reasonable and provide options for readily extending the area available to view lists of file names. While at it be nice to have option to sort files with folders grouped at top like Windows rather than strictly alphabetical files mixed with folders. So so slow at getting the basics sorted it seems. So Dropbox is not perfect but they are currently ahead of Microsoft OneDrive and Google Drive with folders offline (it's coming for OneDrive and their file layout is good). The new priced 128GB iPad makes offline folders a basic necessity in this humble reviewers opinion. Thank you Dropbox but don't stop there - work it,work it ahead of the big boys!.Version: 40.2


Why should I report an issue with Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive customer and are running into a problem, appsupports.co might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive.

Is Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive not working?

Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive.

Applications with negative comments similar to Dropbox: Cloud Storage & Drive
Dropbox Passwords for Safari negative reviews, comments
Dropbox Passwords for Safari Negative Reviews

Dropbox Passwords provides secure password storage and syncs your passwords with all your devices. It autofills username...

Dropbox Passwords - Manager negative reviews, comments
Dropbox Passwords - Manager Negative Reviews

Dropbox Passwords provides secure password storage and syncs your passwords with all your devices. It autofills username...

Paper by Dropbox negative reviews, comments
Paper by Dropbox Negative Reviews

You can work with everything from video and images, to code and soundall in a single place. And it comes free with Dr...

Dropbox Scan - PDF Scanner App negative reviews, comments
Dropbox Scan - PDF Scanner App Negative Reviews

Never lose track of an important doc again with Dropbox Scan, a document scanner app that lets you quickly transform all...

Dropbox EMM negative reviews, comments
Dropbox EMM Negative Reviews

Dropbox EMM is designed for Dropbox Enterprise customers who have EMM enabled. If youre unfamiliar with EMM, we recom...