Google Podcasts App Negative ReviewsGoogle

Google Podcasts Negative Reviews

4.6
4.67407 star

Total 151 Negative Reviews

Google Podcasts App Complaints & User Negative Comments 2024

Google Podcasts app received 151 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Have you ever had a bad experience using Google Podcasts? Can you share your negative thoughts about google podcasts?

Please wait! Google Podcasts Facebook comments loading...



Google Podcasts for Negative User Reviews

Keeps CrashingReally enjoy using this app but lately it keeps crashing shortly after I begin playing a podcast and lock my phone..Version: 2.0.21

Poor appNone of my subscriptions ever show up in my subscribed group no matter how many times I click ➕!!!.Version: 2.0.20

I’ve never used any other app with so many bugsNo idea what your staff are doing.Version: 2.0.23

So many bugsI am now trying other podcasts apps- I like the design of this one but the constant bugs (playback error, podcast shutting down 20 seconds in, etc) are so irritating, I can’t use this anymore..Version: 2.0.15

I decide what to subscribe toSo hard to find a podcast player that doesn’t have glitches. Apple’s offering is full of them. Google Podcasts was working extremely well for me, but today I’ve found the app has subscribed me to a podcast that I did not agree to. When I unsubscribe, it remains subscribed. Makes me wonder if the app has unsubscribed me from any shows I did subscribe to. Also, is 24 hours in Google Podcasts a different measure of time to what the rest of us use? Setting played podcasts to delete after 24 hours seems a bit hit and miss. I might as well do it myself..Version: 2.0.13

Can’t remove watched castsPodcast apps have two jobs. Play podcasts and get you access to podcasts to play. This app does a decent job of the first, but drops the ball on the second.Version: 2.0.20

Needs iPad supportWhy does this not have iPad support?.Version: 1.0

Fine for casual useI guess this app is fine. But once you have subscribed to more than 20 or so podcasts it becomes tedious to find a podcast that you have subscribed to. I think I have over 100 podcasts that I subscribe to at the moment and the only way to organize them is in one straight line. This is embarrassing for Google. Other podcast apps that you organize by tag or by category or by folder. My other main concern is that it is not possible to limit your search by language. I suppose Google thinks it has such an amazing search algorithm that all you need is one search box. ButThis is far too limiting and its algorithm is constrained by the experience of its own developers, Most of which I assume are monolingual. Or at least only searching in one language. Do they think I want to change the language of my phone in order to tell the search box in my Podcasts app what languages I’m looking for? This is ridiculous..Version: 2.0.19

HorribleHorrible podcasting app that will constantly freeze and lock you out. Forget about any kind of seamless transition from car to AirPods it’s a total mess. I’m running an iPhone 12 Pro to new AirPods to a 2020 high end German car and it’s a frustrating mess even attempting to use this useless google app. I find myself using Spreaker and direct rrs feeds more and more in order to avoid this platform..Version: 2.0.18

Missing Custom URLCannot add a podcast from a URL? This is a necessity in a podcast app..Version: 1.0

Stop after phone is lockedPodcasts pauses after phone goes to sleep, this is on the iPhone 7.Version: 1.0

Why people love watching sports?Just listened to this podcast and it has nothing to do with the title it was a tirade about people “not” watching women’s sport. Now before you “Tate” me , the reason why guys don’t watch women’s sport is that it’s because of the lack of the excitement magnet. For example, Watching a women’s tennis Game where every, and I mean every hit of the ball comes with the highest pitched scream - simply makes us guys cringe! Then of course If we watch a women’s game with our partners we get accused of enjoying it A little too much. Another concern I have is the female commentators. They seem to predominately criticise the players and the games whereas the male commentators rev up the game with their witty poetic commentary ~ “cometh the time, cometh the man” Sports, and sport players, get the money when there is broadcast sales. The more viewers, the more the broadcasters will invest into making this a major spectacle. Simple formula. Even the million dollar ads feature make sports stars, WHY? Because that’s what the women want! So the first question is why aren’t more women watching women’s sports? Why is there always a Lack of sisterhood. My suggestion? Work the problem, not the emotion..Version: 2.0.20

Not made for iPadThat UI looks like it is made for iPhone not iPad. Just make it for iPad and I will be the first one download it..Version: 2.0.25

Many improvements needed for this app+ play at faster speed function + need to update automatically instead of waiting user to press “add queue” + need a function for user to bookmark the audio need to keep to listen again in later time.Version: 2.0.12

Crashes.Crashes.Crashes! Deleted!I like it, but a few major issues: (1) the app just keeps crashing randomly when playing in the background; (2) it loses it’s playback spot for longer podcasts like “No Agenda” when continuing playback after stopping the app (or crashes); (3) can’t find some podcasts that show up in Apple podcasts or Spotify..Version: 2.0.18

Absolute trashI can’t stop the app from auto playing in my car, so I am deleting it. There’s nothing on the web that addresses this issue properly..Version: 2.0.19

Missing featureI’ve been searching for the best Podcast app. I thought I might have found it, clear interface, option to alter speed - all good. However, I listen regularly to a language learning app where text is embedded and should appear on the screen. I could find no way to make that happen. The search goes on..Version: 2.0.14

Buggy and missed opportunityAlmost every time I try going back 10 seconds it will go back 5 minutes or more. The bar is constantly jumping around. This is a promising app with a better interface than Apple Podcasts but it needs to do its basic function well to be useful. Also, one of the main reasons I downloaded this was so it would integrate with Google Home, but the integration is completely useless. I can’t ask Google to play a podcast from my queue, in fact even though I have Google Podcasts selected as my podcast provider it just ends up playing a random podcast I don’t subscribe to. What’s the point??.Version: 2.0.8

Apple CarPlay & GPodThe interface of CarPlay and GPod don’t seem to work. When I click on a show it often plays some other random episode from another podcast..Version: 2.0.19

No reply to help requestGreat app if it worked properly. My finished podcasts are not deleting after 24 hours, automatic playing from queue keeps turning itself on despite me turning it off. I have asked about these issues but no reply from the podcast people so I am plodding on with it but it’s very frustrating. The app feels old fashioned..Version: 2.0.20

Only plays if screen is unlockedThis has been my favourite podcast app for years. Until this week. Now it will only play if my phone is unlocked. I’ve tried every setting I can think of. Still nothing works. Very annoying! UPDATE: apparently restarting my phone fixed the issue!! Haha. I can’t delete this review..Version: 2.0.19

Keeps crashingThe app keeps crashing.Version: 2.0.20

Worst than the app baladosThere's no options to see the episodes you always heard, there're no options at all. You have to scroll all the episodes to find the one you didn't listen yet.Version: 2.0.27

Good app but issues with crashingApp crashes at least a couple times when starting it at the start of the day. Hoping this gets fixed over time as it is a good app otherwise..Version: 2.0.19

App keeps crashingJust updated but still app crashing ! Can’t search any podcast and still hasn’t been fixed yet ? ( when u click explore and hit search , it crashes).Version: 2.0.25

Crashing A LotMoved from Apple Podcast app and I’m seeing a lot of crashing, bug that also stops playback when phone screen locks..Version: 2.0.14

Can’t listen to explicit podcastsGoogle is gatekeeping explicit podcasts because they’re “not sure” if I’m over 18. I think they just want my government ID which I will not be giving them. Garbage..Version: 2.0.23

Stops randomlyFor podcasts that are subscribed to, the episode will stop randomly and the progress bar will reset. Strange bug on the iPhone that wasn’t on the one plus 6t.Version: 2.0.21

Crashes every timeLove the UI, but every time I use the app it crashes 5-30s after it loses screen focus (either screen off or open different app). Then I have to press play from the control centre, and it works fine unless I open the app on-screen again..Version: 2.0.20

Google PodcastsGoogle Podcasts is a simple podcast application that will allow users to search for and manage their podcast library. It is easy to navigate whether by category headers or the search box. The app differs a little bit from some of the competition in offering more initial listed categories to browse for podcast shows. The UI design as stated before while easy to use is somewhat bland and ordinary. I would recommend this application as a supplementary to a regular podcast listener’s main source of content..Version: 2.0

Subscriptions lacks maturityThe recent update has led to the app hiding my subscriptions and all episodes of my favourite podcasts… with a reference to not being over 18… which I have been for well over 18 years… after searching apparently I had to add my birthdate to my google account… which fixed the problem yesterday. But today the issue has returned… and as my birthday is already recorded I can’t resolve it. 🤬.Version: 2.0.15

Good but needs workI have a suggestion which is a needed feature. Make it easier to mark all as played and download all episodes instead of doing it individually.Version: 2.0.15

Frequent crashes, no way to clear playback errorOften crashes after just start playing for several seconds, once an episode is failed to load there’s no way to clear it unless I play some other episodes first to potentially clear the cached error..Version: 2.0.20

Barely Even FunctionalIt’s as if google is trying to make this app worse and worse so we will all thank them when they eventually discontinue this app and put us out of our misery of having to use it. The app crashes multiple times per podcast, many times it doesn’t keep track of where you left off, and there are many times an episode of a podcast just fails to load. I end up going to Apple Podcasts multiple times a week just to finish an episode. The only logical conclusion is that google is trying to discontinue this app and get out of podcasts. I would already leave this app behind if it wasn’t for the layout or more customizable playback speeds than other apps..Version: 2.0.23

Started crashing and now won’t play on Google HomeThis was my preferred podcast app but it has been crashing after I start a podcast and giving playback errors at an increasing frequency. I put podcasts on to sleep so it’s not very relaxing to get up three times to restart it 😑 Also, why does this Google app no longer cast to my Google home player. That was the reason I switched from the Apple app in the first place! I liked the sleep timer and playback speed features so it’s a shame..Version: 2.0.18

Very buggy appWas absolutely fine on my S105g phone, but after changing to an iPhone, the app has become really buggy - often saying ‘playback error’ for multiple podcasts, even when I’m halfway through an episode. Am slowly changing over to Apple Podcasts as a result..Version: 2.0.21

Absolute buckwass for IOS usersCrashes multiple times / playback errors / do not put this onto App Store if app is not fit for purpose..Version: 2.0.19

UnstableI originally liked this app but started encountering reoccurring issues such as unable to playback or audio stopping when the app is minimised. Worst issue is crashing every time a search is conducted, this breaks a central component of the app. Would expect better from a company with so many resources..Version: 2.0.23

Crashes a lotI have this on an iPhone and an iPad and it crashes a lot. I have to try about 5 times to start it to get it to stay on screen. This is a very repeatable bug that needs to be fixed..Version: 2.0.22

Great for Podcasts, bad for batterySuch a shame as I’m an avid Google Home user and really wanted a way in which I could easily listen to my podcasts as you canny sync/use the Apple podcast app. On the surface, this app solves that issue with a nice interface, all the podcasts I want, good suggestions and complete sync with my smart home. However, the battery drain is real bad... listened to a 30min podcast (screen was locked and only app running) and my iPhone 8 battery lost over 15%. If Google can develop the app so it’s the same efficiency or better than the native apple app, it’ll be a low rating..Version: 2.0

Doesn’t Remember PositionI’ve just started using Google Podcasts and I’m having a hard time with it. If I don’t use the app for a couple of hours, when I return to continue listening to an episode, it’s reset it to the beginning of the episode and I have to spend ages figuring out where I was. Makes it very hard to consider continuing to use the app..Version: 2.0.9

Adds random podcasts to your feed without permissionThis was my go-to podcasting app until about a week ago, when my feed was suddenly filled with two daily podcasts to which I’d never subscribed. Every attempt to unsubscribe, both here and on the web, is unsuccessful. I can unsubscribe from every other podcast without any problems. I’ve tried everything, and there’s nothing in the help documentation or forums except hundreds of other people complaining about the same problem. I’d be able to ignore this, except none of my other podcasts are daily, which means that to find the ones to which I’ve actually subscribed, I have to look through a feed that is literally 80% spam. The unavoidable podcasts are both news podcasts (Slate and CNN), so I doubt it’s some kind of secret sponsorship thing. It seems like some major bug in Google Podcast’s handling of feeds. Either way, it makes this app suddenly unusable, which is unfortunate..Version: 2.0.13

CrashingIt constantly crashes.. it has a great interface, i moved from apple podcast to this, and overall i prefer this app. But it is constantly crashing and overheating my phone. only way it plays is if i leave my screen on, and keep it open to the app..Version: 2.0.19

App stops playingRecently the App has stopped playing when the phone screen locks or when I switch to another App. It never used to do this. (iOS15 on an iPhone XR).Version: 2.0.14

Almost GreatFrequently craps out on my iphone as I listen with airpods, which never happens when I use apple podcasts. No idea why..Version: 2.0

Crash all the timeApp crashes everytime it starts to play a podcast. It is broken for more than a year and even after several updates..Version: 2.0.19

Good When It WorksWhen it works it’s fine till than you get a “playback error”.Version: 2.0.10

Skips backwards when pausing/skipping/restartingSwitched from Apple Podcasts because their latest update was garbage. I pause in the middle of podcasts a lot, or want to skip back/forth to hear or skip something. Most of the time when I do this, the podcast jumps backwards several minutes, or to somewhere close to the beginning (but not the beginning). It’s super annoying because then I have to try to find my place again. Now I try to pay attention to where I was up to in case it happens again but when you’re out running, that’s a royal pain..Version: 2.0.18

Solid basic player, lacking a few key optionsThis is a no frills basic podcast player that works well. It is missing some key functionality that would greatly increase usability: there is no option to “Mark all as Played”, which makes it almost impossible to clear the home view of old episodes of subscribed shows. Also, shows from RSS feeds (you know, the ones I pay for and care about the most) do not pull into the home view as new episodes become available. It’s still better than the bloated monstrosity that Apple podcasts has become, but just a couple of little additions would go a long way..Version: 2.0.10

CrashesKeeps crashing–can’t get 5 minutes through streaming or playing a podcast without it crashing and having to hit play again. Over it..Version: 2.0.22

Always forgetting where I left off.It’s really annoying to come back to an episode of my favourite podcast only for it to start playing from the beginning and the app not remembering where I was up to. So frustrating as I like the app otherwise..Version: 1.0

Pad version PLZ!I like to use it on my phone, but on the iPad, it shows disaster. Is it so hard to make a pad version? Just lay the screen down please..Version: 2.0.14

Shuts offMost recent update: podcast stops playing when the screen is off. Get it sorted google..Version: 2.0.10

Buggy as…Stops playing when you lock phone when new episode selected, constant Playback Error whenever you try to continue listening to a previous episode etc… It’s happening more and more often, it’s defeating the purpose of having a podcast app, will be looking for a better one..Version: 2.0.21

UselessJust plain useless. So very late to the podcast game and left behind in the dust with missing basic features/functions. Don’t waste your time..Version: 1.0

What happened here? App is now not functional.This has been the only app I have been using for podcasts. So, recently, it has begun to take longer and longer to launch and would crash within 30 seconds of playing any podcast. This was not a problem as if you just reloaded the app and restarted the podcast, everything was as normal. Today, an update was pushed out, and I was hoping this would be addressed. Nope. App crashes in under 10 seconds and will only play if you stay in the app and not let the phone do any other operations. Very disappointed here..Version: 2.0.11

Pause doesnt workIf you pause a podcast to finish later the podcast will restart from the beginning.Version: 2.0.12

Nice but buggyThe app design is great, fast and what you need. However it’s still too buggy, if I forward or pause a podcast it forgets where I was a jumps back to the beginning of the session. I’ve changed phones and even on the iPhone 13 the bug remains..Version: 2.0.18

CHRONIC CRASHESI originally switched to GOOGLE PODCASTS after a series of buggy iOS updates rendered APPLE PODCAST unusable. But GOOGLE PODCASTS crashes at least three times each time I start listening to a downloaded show. I’ve grown so tired of having to constantly re-start (often while driving) that I’ve finally switched back to APPLE PODCASTS, which seems to be working better now. Apart from the crashes, another area for improvement with GOOGLE PODCASTS is the QUEUE. I don’t understand why it’s not possible to manually rearrange the order in which you’d like the downloads in your queue to play. Instead, you’re simply stuck with the order in which they were added to the queue..Version: 2.0.14

IOS version has been very unreliableI used Google podcasts on my s21 for years without any issues before switching to an iPhone. I've been using this app for a month now and it's very frustrating- randomly shuts off, buggy when pairing with Google home (stops tracking playtime intermittently, so if I try to disconnect from speakers to play on my phone it will not resume playing at the same point of the podcast), inconsistently displays on the home screen, and does not linger in the "dynamic island." Hope they address these issues in the next update..Version: 2.0.21

CrashConstantly crashes making it almost unusable.Version: 2.0.21

MehI’ll be honest. I’m super surprised that omnicorp can’t muster up a better podcast app than Overcast but hey, here we are. Now I pair both my home minis manually via the home app so I can enjoy my favourite pod’s.Version: 2.0.15

Great app design and function but frequent crashesEverything about the search and find functionality of the app is great. It's very easy to find and create a queue of podcasts, as well as downloaded them. Unfortunately, at least on iPhones, the app frequently crashes in the background. I haven't been able to figure out when or if there's a pattern to it. Generally I just have to keep reopening the app and trying again until it stably remains open..Version: 2.0.21

IPad version needed!Overall a great app! Just needs a native iPad version! It’s annoying to use the app in emulated iPhone mode. It’s only locked in portrait mode and not able to be viewed in landscape..Version: 2.0.8

Crashes when trying to use search functionAs above. App is awful and you cannot search shows..Version: 2.0.23

Constantly crashes on iOSEvery time I launch the app and start a podcast, it crashes 2-3 times after playing for about 30 seconds. It starts working properly after the third crash, but it’s extremely annoying to have to relaunch it multiple times. It’s been acting up for the last year or so.Version: 2.0.19

5 ⭐️ until last week…. Repeatedly crashingI have used and preferred Google Podcasts over all other outlets available going on 3 years now. However in the last week or so the app has been having playback errors constantly and crashing several times a day… sometimes within just an hours time. I hope this issue is being looked at and that a resolution is found soon because I really dislike other podcast apps and strongly prefer not to use them..Version: 2.0.18

Keeps crashingCrashes now so often almost going to give up. Usually 3 clashes and a playback error then might work. Getting the feeling apple don’t want people using a Google app.Version: 2.0.19

Needs to improve fastLacks many basic features other apps have. Like mark episodes as played, bulk mark as played, import from other apps. These are just a few examples. Cmon google....Version: 1.0

Needs iPad and Google Home supportVery disappointing that there is no iPad version and I am unable to play on my Google home via the app.Version: 2.0.15

Needs iPad versionSeriously guys, when are we getting an iPad version WITH landscape view???.Version: 2.0.10

I’ve had enoughI’m going somewhere else. The app crashes every 30 second chunk of audio in power saving mode, which is what I use during sleep time, when I want to relax and listen to something. I don’t want to babysit my podcast app. Stuck with it for months - what a fool. No benefits over other apps that I can see, don’t bother..Version: 2.0.22

Such a shameI love Google and I love podcasts so I was thrilled to find this app. It works well but is really buggy and not intuitive. Added all the podcasts I like and some I love, and they all appear muddled together, would like to split the podcasts out, one group of podcasts I don’t want to miss, another for ones that are ok when I’ve nothing else to watch! Also app closes on its own, usually not long after pressing play when I’m just a few seconds in, and it drives me crazy! Also sometimes it just refuses to play a podcast even when there’s signal, it says it can’t be played and just flatly refuses to try! What a shame, really hoped for better!.Version: 2.0.20

Great app but doesn’t find Google speakersGreat app, I have actually started using this over Apple Podcast purely for the capability to cast to my Google Best speakers around the home, the main gripe with this is finding the speakers, there seems to be a 2/3 minute delay in picking them up, yet my Apple and Sonos speakers are there instantly! Not sure if it’s a bug or just poor connectivity from the cheap Google speakers.Version: 2.0.15

Keeps on crashingOn iPhone the app opens up fine and plays podcasts fine for the first minute or so and then crashes. Happens all the time. Had to change my rating to 1 star as the above-mentioned crashing became so annoying that I deleted the app and reinstalled it. Now it keeps on crashing when trying to search for podcasts and I haven’t been able to listen to any. Super crashy app. Would not recommend it..Version: 2.0.23

Was my favourite podcast app until…It started randomly crashing so often that I can’t even use it anymore..Version: 2.0.18

Please optimise for iPad!Great app generally, but on the iPad the appearance is like it’s through the window of a TikTok video - it’s fully functional, but doesn’t fill out the whole screen, and it seems like it’s at lo-res. It just needs to be optimised for the iPad screen and more user-friendly and it’ll easily be 4/5 stars!.Version: 2.0.10

Pretty good alternative to Apple podcast appI’ve been using this app for a couple months now, and I do like it better than the Apple podcast app. However, I experience a handful of issues / annoyances. First off, it seems like the skip forward 30sec button doesn’t always function properly —— often times it rewinds my position in the episode by many minutes, and then I have to go manually forward to find my previous position in the podcast. This is an issue via my iPhone 12 Pro and Apple Watch. An annoyance I’d love to be eliminated is that there’s no way to dismiss / delete / clear out podcast episodes in my main feed. Some topics I don’t care to listen to from an otherwise good podcast, and would prefer thru just get wiped from that feed..Version: 2.0.12

Please fix the bugsApp used to be great, now I can’t play a podcast without it crashing (unless I keep the app open). It’s bizarre. My phone is new..Version: 2.0.19

Restarts podcastsFor RSS feeds it restarts podcasts from the beginning if you don’t finish the podcast and click away. No good..Version: 2.0.23

Constantly crashesTakes me having to open the app a minimum of 3-4 times before it eventually stops crashing. Please fix..Version: 2.0.23

Should be 5 star but constant crashing latelyA nice ,clean, simple podcast app that for the most part does what you want and doesn’t clutter up your world with other features, However in the past while, maybe 6 months, it has started to randomly pause on my iPhone 14 pro. I haven’t been able to figure out the problem. Tried many things. All I can think of is that’s it’s cumulative since it’s getting worse. Was 1-2 times per day months ago, now 1-2 times per episode. Actually just now it kept happening but fully resetting my progress - so restarting the ep after 10-15 min…. Restarting iPhone does nothing. Deleting and reinstalling app does nothing. If I can’t fix this I will have to delete and never use again which will suuuccckkkk because I listen to a lot of archived stuff so forgetting which I’ve already heard is a big bummer. Anyway hope this gets to the devs so they can help me and likely others..Version: 2.0.21

Why can’t I cast to Google home? Need improvement.I switched to iPhone but much prefer Google tech and apps where possible. I use Google podcast as my primary podcast app but a few features are missing; 1. Why can’t I cast to my Google Home Speaker? Spotify allows this functionality, I can’t understand why this app won’t. 2. Needs Force Touch / holding down on an episode to mark it as played/unplayed..Version: 2.0.23

Still has bug, good app but need to updateWhen you listen to a podcast, it gets stuck even if the audio is already downloaded!.Version: 1.0

Cannot add custom RSS feedsDoes not support important functionality of adding any podcast RSS feeds. Can only add Google's approved podcasts. Limits selection and prevents me from listening to podcasts I have a private subscription to..Version: 1.0

To BuggyBugs have gotten worse. Just closes itself. Used to happen once in a blue moon. Now it’s every second time I use it. Don’t want the hassle anymore. Trying a new app..Version: 2.0.17

Keep crashingApp keep crashing on my iPhone the past year. So frustrating!.Version: 2.0.23

App crahses alot - unusableKeeps crashing, more so after the latest update! Please fix it.Version: 2.0.10

Crashing randomly over & overHard to rate anything more than 1 star when the app doesn’t really work for more than a few seconds without crashing, unfortunately. When it works - I’d probably give the app 4 stars overall. I WANT to like and use the app, but at this point, I’m deleting it because there are other podcast apps I can use that function. I first tried the app months ago, & was having the same issue (app crashing and not loading without crashing 2-5 times first then it would work for a bit, then crash again) so I deleted it. Thought I’d give it a try again recently cuz I was trying to keep my apps more organized and connected with my laptop if possible, and Google is good that way. But deleting it after I write this. I’ll come back and re-try Google podcasts app in a few weeks to see if anything changes. (Written on May 31, 2022 - I will update my review/rating accordingly in the future, if required).Version: 2.0.18

Retry DownloadRetry Download Retry Download Retry Download Retry Download Retry Download Cancel Download That about sums it up..Version: 2.0.21

Great App, but Playback Error is getting extremely annoyingI like listening to Podcasts when I’m driving around. The biggest feature that I love about Google Podcasts is that if I am listening to an episode and start another one, the episode I was listening does not get taken off my queue. With that being saying, my BIGGEST ISSUE is the playback error message that I keep getting at the most random times when I am trying to start an episode, when I skip to another episode, or when I skip minutes of an episode. I like listening to Podcasts when I’m driving around..Version: 2.0.15

BROKEN - the time scale is wrongGetting fed up with how many times if forgets where it is playing after coming back to a paused podcast and it starts in the wrong place (earlier start point)..Version: 2.0.13

Unable to subscribe to my favourite podcastsI have been unable to subscribe to podcasts. I always see the subscribe button unsubscribe after a few seconds. I don't know if it's only me facing this issue and would appreciate it to be corrected in future updates..Version: 2.0

Cannot play anything without a playback errorThis app doesn’t work for me. It hasn’t been able to successfully play a podcast episode in months. The episodes either crash or are unplayable due to playback errors. Avoid using this app until it has been patched..Version: 2.0.21

Full of bugsConsidering google is world leader in software, this podcast player is full of bugs and glitches. Keeps shutting down. Very tedious to keep a podcast playing..Version: 2.0.10

Crashes and playback issuesI'm on my 5th podcast app after Acast dropped their app. I thought I liked Google Podcasts until about 2 weeks ago when the annoying playback issues increased in frequency (crashed three times so far whilst writing these 2 sentences). Then there are the times it refuses to play certain podcasts at all. I don't ask much of a podcast app, but the ability to play podcasts is high up the list..Version: 2.0.21

Really needs an iPad VersionThe existing app is basically unusable on iPad, which makes Google Podcasts as a service much less appealing, even on the platforms with proper native app support. This would be fine, if it wasn’t for the fact that Google Home doesn’t support most third party podcast apps—as is, I’m stuck with either not being able to listen to podcasts properly on my iPad, or not being able to listen to podcasts properly on my Google Home..Version: 2.0.10

Issues with streaming, otherwise a great appI’m seeing issues when streaming podcasts as opposed to downloading them first. The audio glitches frequently, to the point where it’s unlistenable. If this gets resolved, it’ll be the perfect podcasting app, as having the google recommendations engine showing me things that I might like, is fantastic. Already discovered new podcasts I’d never seen before :).Version: 1.0

Still better than apple podcast appCrashes every single time I start a podcast. It usually starts up a minute or so behind where it stoped playing, unlike apple podcasts which crashes and starts you over at the beginning of your show..Version: 2.0.15

Issues that never get fixedWhen I play a podcast it either won’t play or it plays for a few minutes then turns off When I sort out my queue it just reverts back to what it was previously. I stick with the app as I figure the issues would be resolved but it’s been months and it’s still not working well..Version: 2.0.23

App keeps crashingAs of recently this app keeps crashing. Is there a fix coming?.Version: 2.0.15

FrustratingI’ve had the app for a year now and I like the interface and ease of use. What I don’t like it the app crashes 9 times out of 10 after 30 seconds of playing an episode. Then I have to reopen it, and if the episode isn’t downloaded I simply get a ‘playback error’ and cannot listen to that episode until a few days later. Even if the podcast is downloaded it may do this crash and restart multiple times before an episode will actually play through. It’s infuriating . Put a podcast on whilst doing a task, walk 5 feet away and it’ll cut out. Go back and restart and repeat. Please fix this!.Version: 2.0.23

I Actually Really Like it but…I actually really like this app, but it doesn’t seem to know where I leave off. If I pause it or try to skip time it tends to go back in time, like it isn’t keeping up with where I am. I do have background app refresh on, but that doesn’t make the difference. It’s very irritating trying to find where I left off even if I just pause the episode… Otherwise it’s the best I’ve seen as far as features and episode organization abilities..Version: 2.0.18

Shocked how bad this isWe got a bunch of google nest mini’s for the holidays so I started looking for apps that I could cast my podcasts through. Naturally I figured google would have the best app for this. While it’s the best app for casting podcasts to their speakers, the actual interface is infuriating. Organizing new pods is so confusing, things don’t download, and the worst feature of all: when pressing fast-forward on a Bluetooth speaker instead of advancing the podcast 30 seconds like literally every other app, it’s skips to the next podcast and marks the podcast as finished. Add in that it just randomly starts playing and when casting it forgets your progress. With podcasts as huge as they are right now I’m dumbfounded that google’s official app for them could be THIS bad. Scrap it and start from scratch..Version: 2.0.15

Always forgets my progressThis is an infuriating bug. I'll pause my podcast, go do something else, come back, and it thinks I'm only a minute or so in. Please fix before I jump ship!!.Version: 2.0.15

Gets worse with each updateIn terms of how it’s set up, I really enjoy the idea of the queue, especially if you subscribe to a lot of podcasts. Browsing for new podcasts is somewhat difficult, I think Apple has a better setup there. The app tends to crash when launching at times, and goes through periods where most the podcasts have playback errors. I think overall, it remains the best podcast service I’ve used. However, it is very surprising that’s it’s not compatible with google nest hub and will instead display a blank black screen. Edit: now podcast won’t download, and the app crashes when you try to a show page for a podcast.Version: 2.0.27

Unable to skip? ios 12.4Does the job, but I seem to be unable to skip to the next podcast in my queue. This leads to me just playing the next podcast that I want to listen to and having to remove the duplicate in the queue, which is also quite tricky to do for some reason. Also sometimes the stream seems to get stuck in low quality, and I have to restart the app to get back to high quality stream..Version: 2.0.10

Cannot auto-download podcasts added via RSS feedWould be great, but seems unable to enable auto-downloads for podcasts added via RSS feeds. This works OK for podcasts added through the app..Version: 2.0.18

Unlistenable - does not save my placeAfter listening to something for an hour, pausing to answer a call, speak to a human in real life or some other reason... then I find my place has been lost and suddenly I’m listening to the last 10, 20, 40 minutes again. Pretty key feature of a podcast app. I’ll be switching back to Overcast where I never had this issue. Google are probably harvesting my data anyway to make money from what I’m listening to I’m probably better off with a different, less evil platform..Version: 2.0.5

BugsGreat layout but new version closes all the time and states playback error. Have been using this app for ages but might need to switch.Version: 2.0.18

It's a great app.. if it will work 🙄I never leave reviews on apps, and this is a first because this app is so disappointing. The app itself would have been great, if only it will work consistently. The app crashes within seconds of opening it most of the time. I have deleted the app and reinstalled it so many times but that didn't fix the issue, I've tried just leaving one downloaded episode at a time, but that didn't work either. None of the other apps crash like this one. I love listening to podcasts on my way to and from work and this app used to work well, but it hasn't worked for weeks now. Hope Google fixes the issues because it could've been a good app..Version: 2.0.18

Not good after last updateCrashes all the time! Please fix it!.Version: 2.0.25

Very buggyThe user interface is the best of all the podcast apps I’ve tried. Its easy to build and rearrange playlists and very difficult to accidentally clear the whole playlist (like on apple podcasts). BUT! Is it just me, or is this app super buggy? First use of the day, it crashes while loading 5-10 times before it loads all the way. Lately, its had trouble loading episode lists from a show’s page, and some things I’d downloaded suddenly have a download error. Sometimes the app will crash after playing for 5 minutes. Is it too much to ask for the app to just work?.Version: 2.0.10

Frequent CrashingThe app crashes a good three or four times when trying to start a new episode of something, especially if it’s a longer episode (iPhone 12). Has been like this for a while and never seems to get patched. No good reason simple audio playback should be crashing this often on modern phone hardware..Version: 2.0.19

Crashes frequentlyThe app frequently crashes after a few seconds of play on a regular basis..Version: 2.0.21

Every episode stops playingEvery single episode of every single podcast I’m subscribed to, downloaded to my phone or not, stops playing at the half way mark and at the end of every episode. Without fail..Version: 2.0.21

Keeps wiping my history!SO FRUSTRATING how it keeps wiping my listen history. Makes it really tough keeping up with the podcasts I'm trying to catch up/binge!.Version: 2.0.10

Playback errors all the timeEvery now and then you try to play it shows playback error and doesn't play anything even after you close and reopen the app..Version: 2.0.20

Garbage - no stars - unusableI’ve been trying for ten minutes now to start playing a podcast. It has started playing, then had the app crash FIFTEEN times. This app only works reliably if you leave your screen open on the app - you can’t lock your screen or swap to another app. If you do, 30 seconds of podcast, then crash. Even when you do leave the app open, you’ll get random play back errors. If you enjoy podcasts, do not ever download this terrible, brain-breaking app..Version: 2.0.22

BuggyGreat UI but so buggy! Often crashes 4 times consecutively on IPhone SE.Version: 2.0.19

Constant crashingI have to restart the app at least a handful of times when I start to use it. It’ll play for five seconds then crash. Over and over and over..Version: 2.0.17

Very badGlitchy and beyond annoying. Freezes pretty much every single first time I turn the screen off. Unintuitive interface and awkward to find your downloaded podcasts. I hate this app so much it’s unbelievable..Version: 2.0.17

IPad and Apple Watch version please?I like the app and service, but the lack of iPad and Apple Watch support is what made me uninstall it. Would definitely install it again if support for those 2 platforms would be added!.Version: 2.0.23

Playback error (almost) every timeI switched to google podcasts about five years ago for the ability to easily queue up podcasts. However, recently I have been getting a playback error within the first 30 sec of playing a podcast and this makes the title unlistenable for some time, even after a restart. My fix has been to add it to a queue and often it will reset when it autoplays. Would love info on how to fix this..Version: 2.0.26

Pauses when screen locksUnlike other audio apps, this pauses playback when the Lock Screen is displayed. Basically unusable. Going back to using Apple Podcasts instead..Version: 2.0.20

Crashes constantlyPlayback error when reopening. Was so good… moving to another platform now.Version: 2.0.21

Persistent BugsI don't remember the app always being so buggy but in 2022 I've been having bad luck with it. The app crashes after a few seconds every other time I launch it and start to play something, having to then relaunch the app. Many relaunches for specific shows lose the last played position, so I'm constantly fumbling with the audio scrubber, or eventually realizing the app has gone too far back in a track that I'm hearing parts of an episode over and over again, or I lose the last played position altogether, forced to restart episodes from the very beginning. Also seeing with specific shows that if I download an episode and add it to my queue, it fails to load the download when it comes time to play. So I have nothing playing for whatever’s next in my queue if I’m in an area with poor reception. I have to undo the download for the episode in order for the on demand audio to then actually play. Please, dev team, help iOS users out..Version: 2.0.19

Just use Apple PodcastsIf you have Apple Podcasts already installed on your iPhone you might as well use that, there’s no point in downloading this..Version: 1.0

DisappointingMy favourite casts are mostly missing. Others are showing only historical episodes. This app needs to be pulled. Everyone check out Pocketcasts as the current best podcast app..Version: 2.0

App is greedy with screen spacePlease revert to previous screen visual, V2.0.24 overwrites the Lock Screen AND the Home Screen which means I can’t see any of the widgets I’ve loaded into each of those screens. The app is unnecessarily greedy with screen space now..Version: 2.0.24

So much crashingI actually love, love, love how this app’s interface and functionality. After Apple aggressively trashed its podcast app, I needed something that would let me subscribe to podcast without downloading every single episode. Google was my knight in shining armor. But then… the app started crashing. Initially, just once or twice in the morning, but now it can be six times or more just to start the day! It’s so very frustrating. And don’t even think about listening to a podcast while using another app! Even the weather app is too much. I don’t know why Google doesn’t just fix it. Surely they have the resources!.Version: 2.0.18

Casting is super buggyLock Screen controls cause playback to start unexpectedly.Version: 2.0.27

Needs lots of bug fixesNew review: Reinstalling the app again has resolved the issues with the crashing. There are two main issues now that need to be resolved 1. Listening location of an episode within the app and syncing to other devices is erratic. 2. Most of my Completed episodes are not showing as completed in the app. They show up fine in the web interface. Original review: I’ve been using 3rd party apps on the iPhone since before the App Store even existed. This is the worst app I’ve ever used. I mean you have ONE JOB! To simply play audio files. You’d think we’re trying to fly to the moon. The app constantly crashes and forgets locations. On occasion I have had to attempt to start a podcast up to 5 times. I want to use it because the layout is great and like having it tied to my Google account so I can listen through the web and keep things synced. Please fix the app!!!!.Version: 2.0.22

Auto download does not work!!!!!!I want to like this but the auto download “feature “ absolutely does not work. Fix it please..Version: 2.0.21

I remember this app being betterI use to use Google Play to manage my podcasts, switch to Apple, then Spotify. I recently switched back to google podcast because I wanted something that would work with my Google Home. But for some reason if I pause the podcast too long it doesn't remember where it was after being paused for more than a few minutes (maybe it only effects custom RSS feeds, but still). The interface doesn't support as much custom settings for individual feeds and no support from Google Maps for integration (but support for Spotify?!). Interface is clean though. Edit: for some reason it won’t let me auto download custom rss feed podcasts either..Version: 2.0.26

Forgets where I left offWhen I stop a podcast and want to continue listening the next day, google podcasts just restarts the podcast. This is such a basic function, fix ASAP!!!.Version: 2.0

Crashes 30secs after playing pod, then can’t play podcastAs the title states. This is what happens each and every time I play a podcast Open the app Choose app Press play After 30secs the app closes completely Re-open the app Press play on same podcast “playback error”- can’t play pod, now or ever. I tried downloading the podcast first, same sorta thing happens..Version: 2.0.25

Issues with playbackGreat app, but will stop after launching the app within a few seconds when connected via Bluetooth devices..Version: 2.0.26

Worst appOne of the worst apps I’ve used in general, not just for podcasts. Clearly the developers don’t even use this app to listen to podcasts, otherwise the outstanding issues would have been addressed. It crashes constantly. I will be able to listen to about 10 seconds of a podcast and then it crashes. Sometimes I reboot a podcast upwards of 10 times before giving up. There doesn’t seem to be any kind of trigger for this; just sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. It also has a terrible time remembering where you’re at. If you are someone like me who fast forwards through ads, good luck using this. Often it will fast forward at one point just fine, but if later on you press any command (rewind, pause, fast forward), it will jump backwards to the last place you hit a command. Very strange, and happens every time I listen..Version: 2.0.15

Meh 😒But there is a need for a native iPad App. Also add an ability to ‘Mark as Played’ past episodes, otherwise the Home Screen becomes overwhelming. Needs to feel like an iOS App. It doesn’t right now..Version: 2.0

L’application crash à chaque utilisationElle ferme tout seul environ 13 fois de suite avant de pouvoir l’utiliser normalement , et cela à chaque jour.Version: 2.0.23

Crashes all the timeWould be good if it didn’t crash on me every day!.Version: 2.0.21

Keeps getting cleared from RAMThis is my favorite podcast app, but it doesn’t seem to keep itself in RAM very well. If you don’t keep the app open for several minutes after starting a podcast, iOS will clear it from memory and stop playback. If you lock your phone or switch to another app too soon, your podcast will suddenly stop in less than 30 seconds. The solution is to leave your screen on with the app open for a minute or two after pressing play. Please patch this bug!.Version: 2.0.21

Frustrating bugThe app crashes after 10-30 seconds play time of a podcast, it will do this continuously without reprieve. Sometimes turning my phone on and off will fix it, sometimes it won’t..Version: 2.0.10

Sometimes doesn't play minimized or with screen offWhen my screen turns off or I minimize and open another app...playback stops basically rendering the app useless to all listeners except those dedicated to staying transfixed to their podcast's episode description...and ensuring their phone's screen never turns off. With billions in profit every quarter, you'd imagine they could afford afford QA testing... Come on Google, I use Google Podcasts so my listening is seemless across my phone and my Google home speakers...but this is NOT seemless. Also, when we have a playlist built up, when we double tap on a playlist item...it should start playing the item...not take us to the podcast show page. How is that not obvious? You guys need proper UI experts on your dev team! Not everyone has to be a dev..Version: 2.0.15

Constantly crashes, then playback error.I got this app coz the podcast app for iPhone was terrible. It was okay at first, but now it just crashes and then says playback error all the time. It’s even worse than the other app I was using!.Version: 2.0.19

AngryI listen to podcasts all the time. I loved Google Podcasts. It was an easy and intuitive app to use. Almost perfect. Then one day almost all my subscriptions disappeared. I searched for them but “no results” kept coming up. I looked into this and it turns out that Google doesn’t think I’m old enough for some of the content. I’m 47 years old! If I want my subscriptions back I have to prove my age with either credit card details (no chance!!) or a government issued I.D. What a horrible thing to do to people. I’m very angry, upset and disappointed by this. What a shame as this was a brilliant app ☹️☹️.Version: 2.0.13

UnreliableThis has been my go-to app for podcasts since it debuted… I recently made the switch to iPhone after a lifetime of androids and this app has been the only consistently negative aspect of the transition. Some days I will get about an hour into a podcast with no problem, lately I have lost count of how many times PER HOUR I am having to pick up my phone to restart the app to continue listening to a podcast. I have uninstalled several times and tried a few tweaks to my phone but it is such a disappointing experience that really ruins my ability to give my Apple iPhone experience an exceptional review..Version: 2.0.21

Nice but failsIn the user interface this app very well designed. I find that it is easier and more intuitive than Apple Podcasts which used to be the easiest to use, but after several bad choices in interface change, Apple Podcasts is just a confusing mess that I never got used to. The reason I am giving Google Podcast a one star is because Google decided to remove the ability to add your custom RSS feed. I subscribe to some paid shows that are not available for free and require a personalized RSS feed URL, and Google decided to remove this essential feature that effectively renders this app completely useless for me. If Google brings back the ability to add custom RSS URLs, I would be happy to revise my rating..Version: 1.0

App crashes when you searchCan you please fix this. I can’t search for anything on the app. When ever you search the app crashes.Version: 2.0.23

Buggy and BasicI've used this app for about 10 months since Apple's made their iphone 12s burn up when in use. It was fine at first - very basic and I don't think the organization of the podcasts is stellar, but it's free so whatever. Now for the past many weeks it shuts down the first play of the day when the screen sleeps. That, coupled with an awkward organization, means I'll try Apple again. Meh. I read here in reviews that I can delete and reinstall but won't that delete my downloads? Eh, it's time to walk away anyway..Version: 2.0.15


🙂 Google Podcasts Positive Reviews
Is Google Podcasts not working?

Google Podcasts works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Google Podcasts.

⛔   Google Podcasts Problems
Applications with negative comments similar to Google Podcasts
Google Cardboard negative reviews, comments
Google Cardboard Negative Reviews

Cardboard puts virtual reality on your iPhone. The Google Cardboard app helps you set up a Cardboard viewer and includes...

Google Analytics negative reviews, comments
Google Analytics Negative Reviews

Google Analytics: Your Business Pulse, In Your Pocket Never lose sight of your website and app performance with Google ...

Wear OS by Google negative reviews, comments
Wear OS by Google Negative Reviews

The Wear OS by Google app, previously Android Wear, syncs your smartwatch and phone so you can get more out of your watc...

Google Slides negative reviews, comments
Google Slides Negative Reviews

Create, edit, and collaborate on presentations with the Google Slides app. With Slides you can: * Create new presentati...

Socratic by Google negative reviews, comments
Socratic by Google Negative Reviews

Need to get unstuck? Socratic can help! This learning app, powered by Google AI, helps you understand your school work a...

Google Meet negative reviews, comments
Google Meet Negative Reviews

Google Meet is a high-quality video calling app designed to help you have meaningful and fun interactions with your frie...

Google Pay: Save and Pay negative reviews, comments
Google Pay: Save and Pay Negative Reviews

Important update: The U.S. version of the standalone Google Pay app will no longer be available for use starting June 4,...

Google Fit: Activity Tracker negative reviews, comments
Google Fit: Activity Tracker Negative Reviews

Get to a healthier and more active life with Google Fit! It’s hard to know how much or what kind of activity you need t...