Roku - Official Remote Control App Negative ReviewsROKU INC

Roku - Official Remote Control Negative Reviews

4.7
4.73513 star

Total 73 Negative Reviews

Roku - Official Remote Control App Complaints & User Negative Comments

Roku - Official Remote Control app received 73 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Can you share your negative thoughts about roku - official remote control?

Please wait! Roku - Official Remote Control Facebook comments loading...



SatisfactionUseless will not set up. I guess I throw it away now and tell as many people how poor it is as I can’t get it o work.Version: 6.1.5

Used to work really wellI like many people have the issue using the app remote, no wifi connection even though both my boxes have full signal, as does my device. All updates fail to fix it, and appears that non of the roku devs care that it’s a huge problem or can’t replicate it. Massive shame because the hardware itself is amazing and the best all rounder. Please try fix this roku..Version: 7.2.1

ConnectionWorks Great when it’s connected but it constantly says it can’t find my device. My internet connection is stable so it should be working fine but I have to keep deleting and reinstalling the whole app to use it again..Version: 7.4.0

GarbageAlways says to connect to WiFi when it already is! Never connects!.Version: 7.4.0

Connection problemsConstantly disconnects 3rd party apps work better.Version: 7.5.0

Constant buffering, terrible pictureIt worked for three months, now it keeps telling me that I’m not connected to the Internet, accompanied by constant buffering and terrible picture when it does work. All other devices in the home are connected to the Internet and working perfectly. I have fibre to premises, so I have a really fast and solid Internet connection with no dropout. It’s not my internet connection, it’s the Roku. I’ve tried all the things I can find advised online to fix it and none of them work..Version: 7.0.5

Does not connectI use the Roku app for the remote function solely because of our actual Roku remote which is broken. It’s a decent app when it works, but it hardly ever works. It rarely ever connects to the streaming stick on the first try and when you press “retry connecting” it just does the same thing and doesn’t ever connect until you unplug the streaming stick and plug it back in, which requires me to get up and walk all the way across the room, reach behind the tv, and reset it. It may seem like a minor inconvenience, but it gets extremely frustrating when it happens 5 times in an hour all day every day. You could be watching your tv show and not even using the remote but it will randomly disconnect and it DOES NOT reconnect until you restart the streaming stick. I don’t usually write reviews for apps unless I feel strongly about them as I do with this app. It is frustrating to use and needs to be fixed..Version: 4.2.13

SUCKSThis app sucks sooooo bad . Everyday you have to resent it I find . It rarely ever works . When it doesn’t I have to select the app and redownload and hope for the best . It takes forever to “search for device” . Hate this f ing thing ..Version: 6.3.1

TrashTrash trash trash only works sometimes. Trash.Version: 7.3.1

TCL Roku TV - RemoteI use the remote on the app for private listening using my Bose Quiet Comfort II headphones. When it works it’s fantastic! Lately I’ve been having so many issues with it doing this 30 second countdown to wake my tv up out of “eco mode” for no reason at all. My tv is not in eco mode. I wait the 30 seconds for it to connect and it starts all over with the 30 second eco mode stuff. I get so frustrated. I’m a techy. I know my way around these issues by searching from solutions from others. Currently I’m turning Airplane Mode on and off to reestablish my WiFi connection. That seems to fix the issue for a little while, but come on. Why should anyone have to do this? I’ve had this tv for two years now and have always had this issue with the remote feature on the app, but it’s gotten so bad I felt I needed to leave a review. The app remote has also started not working when I try to turn my tv on. And yes, both my phone and tv are on the same WiFi network. Major frustration. Please fix this issue already!.Version: 6.2.2

Latest update does not open app on 14.4Updated today to the latest app and does not open on 14.4 iPhone 12 Pro Max.Version: 7.5.0

Roku is internet required.I’m use to my old element tv that just connects and go. But this new “smart” tv requires internet for literally everything. Just to smart view it with a Samsung phone it must be connected via WiFi as well as the app, you can’t use your mobile hotspot for the app as both devices must be on same link. I don’t have internet hookup here so this tv is more or less a wall decoration and the app but wasted space on my phone. Don’t get me wrong most people have internet nowa days but it’s getting to the point everything is requiring it which is complete bs. Should at least write it on the box so people don’t have to go home with it to find out. Also you can Bluetooth to this tv! If you buy an additional sound bar for a hundred or so bucks.... reason it gets 2 stars is because I can at least watch a movie when some family stays over and we have 2 phones for one to cast WiFi to the tv and other phone so they are on the same link to connect...Version: 6.0.8

It doesn’t workIt doesn’t work.Version: 6.2.2

Eco-modeThe app does always said that my TV is in eco-mode, so I can’t use the application. Sometime it works and sometime not....Version: 6.1.4

From an accessibility standpoint, the watch app is pathetic!I haven’t found many issues with the iPhone app, but nobody, including me, has all day to read or in my case, write my entire review about what’s wrong with the Watch app. It’s so much easier to write what does work, and that’s kind of pathetic. Everything should work with voiceover, meaning this is an accessibility issue. Your TV talks, but you fail to understand how well accessibility needs to work on your apps. All I can say is, everything on page 2 of the app works, but nothing else does. I can switch from page to page, but heaven forbid I should touch the page chooser, because it ends up going back to page one, which is beyond frustrating! When I’m trying to do something on page 2, then I go too far and get to the page chooser, it goes back to page 1. That should not happen! When there are four pages, and only a quarter of them work with voiceover, you have a problem. Accessibility should be one of the first things you should check before releasing an app..Version: 6.1.5

Good app but needs updatesI lost my remote 2 - 3 days ago and I used this app! When I first did. It was okay. The next day I realize you need to have your tv on for the next day otherwise you have to get a remote. The channels are cool though however sometimes you want to watch something and then you have stuff you don’t like. That is just my opinion. I get the thing of it needing to connect. However don’t turn off you tv ever otherwise useless app! My mom bought 5 yesterday. Yes that is right, I said 5 just in case if I lose another one. I have another spare. Sometimes the needs connecting plays for no reason. And is this just my tv but the Roku TVs disconnect the WiFi after turned off for hours. Not even a day! You need to change this. Or make a button to turn it on when not connected. Other then that. It is a good app. Not the best though. If you make this app better. I will regret this message. But for now, this is ridiculous!.Version: 7.4.0

It won’t connectI’ve been using the remote for months and it was always a little janky but now it won’t even connect , tells me there’s “no devices connected” and to fix it by allowing it to my local network, I do that it finds it for a second and gone again over and over and over again it’s annoying.Version: 7.3.1

Cute out sometimesWorks great but sometimes service cuts out and doesn’t restart for a while no matter what I do, restart device, unplug Roku into TV, delete app and redownload. Very annoying..Version: 7.3.1

Can’t prevent phone from auto lock?One glaring omission from this app is that there is no option to prevent the screen from auto-locking. That seems like such an oversight of something so essential in a remote app. Imagine you have a physical remote that sleeps and may or may not reload when you want to use it. Behold Roku app. Turning off auto-lock for the entire device just to keep the remote open is really a bad and unsafe alternative. Unfortunately with all the great features this app provides (especially the swipe controls and keyboard) this app becomes completely useless because eventually you will find yourself taking the path of least resistance and just reach for the physical remote. Please please add an auto-lock prevention option. IOS has this capability and from experience it’s relatively minimal effort to implement this functionality. Also Roku doesn’t seem to have an email to suggest missing features, so I’m going to be pessimistic here and assume Roku probably won’t read this and this app will never get this option. I so hope I’m wrong because I really want to use this app 🖖..Version: 4.2.3

Useless appThe app’s purpose is to control a Roku device, specially if you can’t use the remote for some reason which happened to me when it stoped connecting for no apparent reason. After following every troubleshooting step available for the remote (which didn’t solve the issue), the app was the only options I had to control the device. Even though it finds the Roku device the app always errors out when tryin to connect, and wants me to navigate to the settings menu, with the remote mind you, to try and connect manually. According to Roku my only other option is to buy a new remote. When this one was perfectly fine the last time it was used, and hasn’t been dropped or damaged in anyway. This seems like a scam to me. Going through the app was just an extra slap in the face. Chromecast, Apple TV or even a Fire stick are better options (both the apps and the devices). Save your time and money if you haven’t bought one of these ..Version: 6.0.3

Terrible appDon’t use doesn’t even work. Can’t connect to my tv and use it. Terrible app..Version: 7.3.1

Doesn’t workCreated an account and attempted to stream Disney+; however, when I chose the video the app endlessly requests me to sign in. It just constantly pops up the sign in option and doesn’t allow me to watch anything..Version: 6.1.5

Issue with new updateThis app was working great but after most recent update it will not open. Roku comes up on screen with purple background n then app disappears. Keep trying to bring it up n keeps just crashing in less then a second..Version: 7.4.0

Nice app but has its issuesI really like the app and it has great features for controlling the Roku stick when the remote is lost. However, it constantly tells me I’m not connected to the WiFi! If I switch between apps it works for 5 seconds before telling me I’ve got no WiFi again! If this issue was fixed it would be a 5 star app, until then it’s just an infuriating app that I avoid if I can..Version: 7.3.1

The most frustrating remote everI’ve never written a review before in my life but this app has caused me so much frustration and anger that I feel I need to share. I lost my physical Roku remote, and have spend months looking for it. It’s no where to be found. So this app is my only hope of controlling the Roku. When I say that the remote disconnects at the most inconvenient times I am not kidding. Want to rewind a show for 10 seconds? Nope, the remote will freeze and you’ll be stuck rewinding your show to the beginning. Wanna turn down the volume of a unnecessary loud commercial? Can’t, remote needs 30 seconds to “wake up”. How about skip a intro on Netflix? Ahhh no no, the intro will be long over before you can even get the remote to connect to your tv, That you’re 2 feet away from. The frustration is unbearable I have torn my house up looking for my physical Roku remote. I can’t take this app anymore I wish the creators would look into getting rid of the “eco mode” because I surely never wanted my remote to take 30 seconds to turn on, every 5 seconds... it is horrible..Version: 6.2.2

Terrible appDoesn’t connect, this app literally does nothing..Version: 7.3.1

Keeps disconnecting!!The most frustrating thing ever, I can only click one or maybe two buttons if I’m lucky before something pops up to say there’s no connection. I then have to go to settings and click back onto the app and it lets me click another couple of buttons before doing the same thing. It’s not my WiFi connection because everything else is working just fine on the internet. Useless app! Only using until I can buy a new remote..Version: 4.2.17

It’s awesome... the 10% of the time it’s working.This app makes me want to switch to a different service altogether. I’ve been a huge Roku fan but this app is so poorly executed that I’ve lost faith in their ability to produce quality products. I’m seeing a lot of people on here with the same issue as me: constantly disconnecting/not recognizing that a device is on the network. It’s very clearly an issue with the app as other third-party apps like Rokie tend to work better than this garbage app. Only problem with Rokie is that nobody in the world wants ads playing on their remote control. Just get a different streaming device and hope their app actually works I guess..Version: 7.4.0

Bad copy pasteWhen you paste a password into the keyboard area, it coverts any upper case letters to lower case forcing you to tediously use the manual remote..Version: 7.3.1

Sound interuptionsLike i said in title it's happened sound interruptions.Version: 7.4.0

WAY too many adsIt works great except way too many ads.Version: 7.4.0

Worst app everThis app has stopped working suddenly it tells me Roku is not connected when it is connected and has excellent connection also says no roku device can be found when I type the IP address it tells me there is no device on this network when there is and tells me I need to enable permissions which have already been enabled and even when I turn the permissions on and back off it still won’t detect device even tried uninstalling and reinstalling the app still not working this app is beyond belief you would think after years of this problem Roku would have sorted it by now but no it’s a case of we have your money so stuff you we won’t bother fixing issues with our own app which means you can’t use your phone to control the device like we promise or use private listening never mind the fact this constitutes false advertising Roku have known about this issue for years now and still not sorted it customer service and care non existent with this company..Version: 7.2.1

ConnectionConstantly disconnecting while I’m in private listening mode, I can’t even get through a 20 minute episode of a show..Version: 6.0.13

Note To App DevelopersTheoretically, a brilliant app. The reality of it is that this app in the year+ that I’ve been using it has upgraded many times, each time seeming to get more and more glitchy...and not really adding anything of great positive change to the app. I’m at the point now where about half the time neither ios device I use is able to connect to my Roku tv and almost always at least one is unable to connect. Yes. I know about unplugging the tv for a few minutes to reset it but it’s rather annoying when I’ve just prepared a meal and I’m sitting down to watch something and have to wait an extra 5 minutes while my food gets cold for the connection to reset. So here’s the message I’d send to the developers: The app, while the other features are cool, is designed to be A REMOTE. If it can’t even be used as a remote then YOU ARE FAILING AS DEVELOPERS OF THIS APP. Forget the extra nonsense until you take care of these bugs preventing us from connecting the remotes to our roku tvs. Thank you..Version: 7.2.0

FreezeAs soon as it launches, it freezes. Unusable..Version: 7.5.0

Oh BotherWhy can’t we live in a world of continuity, from app to device, from screen to screen. Using app on iPad Pro & iPhone cannot for the life of me understand whereas my devices have touch as does the app - so why doesn’t the app reflect what’s on my screen? Not saying streaming content cause surely can do... but as a blind person it’s not altogether inclusive when interface isn’t same on divers devices. What truly bugs me most of all... truly has ruined streaming entertainment for me altogether is Roku’s insistence in changing advertising to point of blocking competitor ads AND preempting broadcast content to squeeze in as many its own ads as possible! Worse is when viewing paid services such as Spectrum app getting bombarded with one Spectrum ad after another. Including business and foreign language ads. Same watching Sling... nothing but Sling ads. Considered by most to be double billing I can’t help but wonder the FTC’s take on all this - especially when replacing competitor ads for its own?.Version: 6.0.8

The remote feature WAS better before.The most recent update to this app should be undone in the next. The remote feature was great and mirrored the hand held remote perfectly. But now the remote is pushed up and reduced in size. To make room or another remote button and the channel selection button. You pass the channels to get to the remote so why would I need that? And if I am IN and using the remote why do I need a button to get to where I am. I get that it’s for quick screen switching but really. Seems a bit redundant. Secondly. The headphone feature which was super awesome. (Especially with a child sleeping in the next room.) is unstable now. So I’m scared to use it because after a few minutes it will shut off and the volume of the tv will return to full and that is rather loud when it was silence in the room a minute before. Upgrades are fine but not one that are unneeded, and make the app unstable..Version: 7.0.1

:/Constantly disconnects from my tv and airpods 🙄.Version: 7.3.1

OkayI’ve had this remote since I got the tv, the actual remote is rubbish battery only last about two-three weeks so I decided to download this one. Was working perfectly without a hitch. And since I have two now tv sticks in the house it always picked up both fine. Than last week it just suddenly stopped working every time I go on to the app it would freeze and crash. And now it doesn’t even bother opening in up..Version: 7.5.0

New update is awfulHad this app for a while and always thought it was brilliant. Until the new update, I’ve got small hands so I have no clue how anyone with big hands can use this app. The buttons on the controller are so small it’s almost impossible to get to a film you actually want. Please just change it back.Version: 7.0.0

Not compatible with Sky Q remoteLike many I have discovered ROKU as an App on Sky Q. It is a nice idea with lots of free content. Watching The Village and loving it. Only problem is that it is impossible to fast forward or rewind using the Sky Q remote. It is very clunky to try to navigate through what you are watching. Also the i button does not work. Bit if a shame really and makes me less likely to use the app.Version: 6.3.3

Great app when it decides to workI mainly use this for when I lose my physical remote or private listening when I want to watch TV, but not wake up housemates. It seems quite frequently it has stopped connecting to my TV saying that my TV may be in “eco mode” and asks me to “wake it up.” My TV is never in “eco mode” and I’m usually in the middle of a show when this happens. The only way I’ve figured out how to get it to recognize my TV again is to completely unplug my TV for about 20 seconds and plug it back in to completely reboot it. Then it usually works, but will often disconnect during the same watching session. It’s very random, too. Sometimes I can go a whole day without this problem. Sometimes I give up and just watch stuff from my phone because I can’t get it to private listen for more than 5 minutes. I have a strong WiFi connection and my bed where I try to private listen from isn’t far from my Roku TV. I don’t think I’ve ever reviewed an app before, but this needs to be fixed. I’ve looked at reviews from a year (and longer) ago complaining of the exact same issue. PLEASE GET THIS FIXED, roku developers!.Version: 6.0.13

Only for USAA lot of the free movies will only work in the US. They even send me emails with the latest free movies and every time I go to them they say sorry only available in the US. Smarten up ROKU. At least don’t send emails with offers of free movies when you know very well I am Canadian!!!!. Don’t buy Canadians.Version: 6.1.2

Volume buttonsWho decided to flip the volume buttons in the last update? Now mute is one the left, volume up in the middle, and volume down on the right. That makes no sense and is very frustrating..Version: 7.1.0

UnresponsiveIt keeps freezing takes forever to load.Version: 7.5.0

Mostly smooth, but very clunky password systemThis can be an absolute life saver. I’m always losing remotes and the roku remote is no different but I always have my phone on me and this works most of the time. The one problem I have is changing the password using the keyboard. It either stops after a certain amount of characters. Or it doesn’t accept the iPhone password system and I’m never going to remember the strong password that it gives me. This is super clunky and needs resolving on the next update..Version: 6.0.4

What’s wrong with the new Roku express?So I’ll start by saying that I’ve had an old model Roku for years (I don’t even remember how long maybe 7 years) and I love it, I still do. I had this in my bedroom for Netflix mostly. I moved and because I no longer have Spectrum in the new place I decided to go with Xfinity and get Sling to see sports channels, they had a promotion where they’d give you a free Roku express so I jumped on this because I really enjoyed my old Roku and thought this newer version would be better... I installed it (super easy) and it worked for about 3 days then it started saying that the network is out of range, I don’t t get it! Where I have my router it’s not that far... At first I thought it was the actual provider (Comcast) I tried doing all the troubleshooting. But what didn’t make sense is I had a fire stick and it worked fine, So I even switched and plug my very old Roku and it works fine! So this is definitely the new Roku Express being horrible and frustrating..Version: 6.1.3

Not workingI have no clue why but it is not working it says you have to check up address and most of the times it says I’m not connected to the internet when I am but for the past few days I’m just deleting the app and reloading it I don’t know what is wrong.Version: 7.5.0

Good when workingI bought a Tv and was using the app to control it for the first 6 months, they then did an update and ever since it’s very buggy. It will show on the app the tv I want to use but it’ll not wake it up or anything and just says failed. I’ve been using an iPhone 12 Pro Max and an iPhone 7 Plus - happens on both of them..Version: 7.7.1

Useless & doesn’t connectThe first time I installed this app it worked perfectly. Now, after a month I haven’t been able to access my TV through this app for the past 3 weeks... garbage..Version: 7.5.0

Alright but not greatIt’s good for using it as a remote but for my I use blue tooth headphone and it always connects and reconnects and it’s so frustrating to get it to work again.Version: 7.4.0

Get a 3rd party app.If you want to stay connected to your roku devices. Or be able to connect to your roku devices at all. I have 5 I my house and this app will only connect to two of them consistently and even then it disconnects after a short and highly arbitrary amount of time. It won’t connect to my roku tv hardly ever and when it does it disconnects very quickly or won’t control all functions as it should. Most often it tells me to power my tv on via the app even though my tv is already on and all I’m really trying to do is use the QWERTY on my phone instead of the directional pad on my remote. This app is garbage. Has so many different menus and links to unnecessary crap that it forgets the main point of the app is to remotely control the device. Needs to be overhauled, streamlined, and functional or it’s just taking up space on my phone..Version: 6.0.8

Not pleased so farI’ve used this for a little over a month and while I was selecting channeled, the remote stopped working. I did all the things it said online to do. Nada. Unplug, plug back in. Nada. New batteries, per online instructions. Nada. The light to pair the IR won’t flash. There is no light when I push the power button. The remote is suddenly completely non-responsive. Downloaded the app because it said that’s a way to get around a non-working remote. The app won’t connect to the Roku...yet I even see the Roku on my connections. It’s active and working, I’m connected to the same WiFi...nada. I was super in love with it until the remote stopped working out if the blitz. I didn’t drop it or anything - I was literally using it when it went dead. If I can’t control the Roku, I can’t use the Roku...even though it’s obvious that the only problem is the remote. And of course I didn’t pay for the warranty. Stuff should work for more than a month. I couldn’t be more disappointed..Version: 6.0.5

Has some useful featuresI recently received a new Roku Ultra as a gift, with the latest remote. The Roku itself has some useful features, but doesn’t include many important channels like CNN, local CBS, C-Span and several others. But Roku does offer a choice of at least a few other additional channels, and gives access to some recent and past programs from PBS, NBC etc to partially compensate. The Roku App suddenly became indispensable for me for using my Roku because my new “state of the art remote” stopped working after less than 10 days of use. The App does some of the the basic functions of the remote and has proven useful when you don’t have access to the remote itself, but it lacks several functions of the real remote. But it is better in some ways than a cheap, crappy Roku remote which stopped working within a few days. My Roku remote reflects very poorly on the quality of a Roku product..Version: 6.3.5

Screen mirroringScreen mirroring is not working on this tv i tried million times and still not working from my iphone.Version: 7.4.0

Can be very frustrating at timesThe app is a great alternative to using the remote, especially if you are someone like me who looses it every 5 seconds. I have the app on a setting to where i can turn my tv on through the app. A lot of the times the remote is not connected so it doesn’t turn on my tv. The main reason I have this app is to listen to the tv with my headphones. A lot of the times it gives me problems and it doesn’t always connect to my headphones or it will connect for a little while and then start glitching later. This app has a lot of problems and its so annoying when I turn on my tv expecting to use my phone and its not connected. I don’t understand why its not connected when i have an internet connection. And also when the app starts glitching is causes my tv to glitch and turn off. And sometimes my tv doesn’t work unless i get up and unplug it and plug it back up again. As i said before, this is a good app and is very convenient, but at the same time it can still use a lot of work in the meantime..Version: 6.0.5

UnresponsiveUnresponsive app. It opens and when i click the remote. It is unresponsive..Version: 7.5.0

Useless appI am extremely disappointed in this app. When I first downloaded it and used it a couple of times, it seemed to work well. After that it took longer and longer for it to initialize. Obviously this is the worst thing you could have since you want to use it WHEN you want to use it. Now, it will NOT connect at all. My devices, iPad and iPhone will clearly show the Roku devices so it’s not a matter of the devices not being available. I’ve checked my signal several times and it shows it is STRONG. I even recommended it to a friend after the first couple uses and I am embarrassed that I did. You can still view stuff from the gallery item at the bottom, but I got it for the Remote feature. It just won’t connect. I did try some trouble shooting, but this is just NOT well designed and is garbage, as an app, as far as I’m concerned. Both my Roku devices work well, but this Roku app is pure crap. And after looking at a couple other alternatives shown in Apple App Store, they seem to have some major drawbacks, which I don’t want..Version: 6.0.3

Constantly DisconnectsWould be a good app but it constantly goes back to the home page when you leave the app and go back to it (leaving the app open in the background). Have to constantly select the channel you were originally in to get back to the controls..Version: 4.2.4

Held back slightly by interface short-term, immensely after thatThe connectivity to the Roku monitor is amazing, definitely a defining quality. Phone will disconnect periodically if you leave the app open and on for a long period of time, I’d assume to save phone battery. Props for pausing the connection to the tv when switching apps on the phone to decrease background tasks. Interface is appealing, the haptic response when pressing buttons makes sure of that. It performs effectively and does as is required by the tv as a regular remote would. However, it is not really necessary to preserve the layout of the physical remote, especially in the near-future. There is too much potential in viewing entertainment via remote-control to be held back by a design that’s held back by physical requirements. Such a design would make so that however someone interacts with Roku could pivot easily to be compatible with emerging entertainment platforms..Version: 7.0.5

Random disconnectingI love that there is an app to use with my Roku TV and most of it’s features work great. I love that you can use the app as a remote and redirect the audio to another device. However, this audio feature is very glitchy since the app doesn’t want to stay connected to my TV. I used to use it all the time but I got fed up with it disconnecting every 5 minutes. And if it wasn’t disconnecting, it’s cutting in and out in a glitchy fashion. The app seems to think the TV is going to sleep when it’s not or saying it’s completely off in the middle of a video etc. I would give it more stars but I would like to get the developers’ attention to fix this issue as it is extremely annoying after having spent this much money on a TV. The app’s been updated several times with no noticeable improvement in its connection stability..Version: 6.1.1

APP functions stupidlyWhy bother to have a mobile app that you can’t use unless you connect with a fixed wireless? I tried to go into update my payment information for my new credit card. I can’t accomplish this because it will not connect and less it has Wi-Fi. We only use fixed secure Wi-Fi because of data security issues. I certainly don’t want to break this rule in order to go on this app to update my credit card information. This is a stupid design that they need to fix. Most of us have unlimited data and are not concerned about whether we have Wi-Fi. Also if I were using this app on a road trip with my kids I would want them to be able to look on their iPad whether or not we had access to reliable Wi-Fi. Stupid stupid stupid design. Any app to sign her that is this out of touch with the purpose of its application needs to be replaced. Roku needs to fix this or I suspect it’s going to be replaced with the mini market alternatives that have now developed including Apple Watch doesn’t have this problem..Version: 4.2.19

Doesn’t work and freezes tvNot worth the download.Version: 7.5.0

Great except for on an open networkIt works really well on a private network and is a really good app because it is easy to use. However, the remote nor the mirroring function do not work over an open network, like in University halls which makes it useless for some people..Version: 4.2.4

Crash after crashNot sure what’s happening since the update but the app will not load anymore and just crashes. I was hoping to use Roku to upload AMC+ to my watching package, ready for TWD new season next month but saddened to find the app no longer loads on iOS. Currently running latest software updates so the issue isn’t my end. Hoping that the developers check out this issue promptly.Version: 7.4.0

SucksThis app sucks, it takes age to load, it just freezes and you have to wait around 5 mins for the app to finally do something. It just closes by itself. So basically you’re taking around 20 mins just trying to get the app to work to turn on your TV..Version: 7.5.0

Great apart from the one feature I wantedBeen suffering from audio issues when using headphones with the remote and one suggestion was to use the app instead. However, while the app looks like it would be great if I lost the remote, I can’t get the headphones working with it at all. The help/FAQ says to open the app and plug headphones in, but that has no effect. I’m on iOS and have the latest version of the app (it certainly says it supports headphones) but no dice. So kinda annoying. And remote batteries are fine, have restarted roku, and no I’m not fiddling about with wifi channels..Version: 7.2.1

TemporaryWhen I first got my Roku I used the app a lot to download new channels and pause the tv when my kids were watching and ignoring me. I really liked it. Today I’ve gone to use it to search for a channel after not using the app for a while and suddenly my device is no longer listed. When I search for the device it tells me it isn’t connected to the same network (it is), I’ve tried doing the manual option and it tells me the same thing. I’ve also done all the troubleshooting options to no avail. So now the app is redundant for me..Version: 7.2.0

Issues with private listeningI can go through at most half of a 10 minute YouTube video before the audio skips once, starting a rapid audio loop..Version: 7.4.0

Works sometimes.Only works maybe a quarter the time. Works great when it does.....but takes forever to connect/reconnect..Version: 6.0.5

Screen FreezesI purchased the Roku Stick about 1 week ago. Out of the box it worked fine. Then the remote would not respond. Spent an hour yesterday with a tech on online chat. Was able to get tv/remote working again. But this morning it’s frozen again. Roku is to send me a free HDMI extender that may eliminate Roku radio interference from the TV. Don’t know if it will work. Hope so. Here’s the problem-Roku has had “freezing” issues clear back to 2014 that I found. Still problems today. Not good. And if they have a known interface problem with the Roku stick and TV, why not include the extender with all stick sales? Major waste of my time. Also online chat is painfully slow and my original tech was dropped somehow to be then picked up by another tech. What a pain and not a good initial experience with Roku. Roku you can do better and I encourage you to do so..Version: 6.0.13

Crude software mostly designed for paid tv streaming.I was promised it would be easy to view my pictures from pad and phone via the Roku device. It is anything but!! Finally getting the pictures to just show on the smart tv with roku device connected, if I hit any other option like adding music I cannot find a way to get back. Pages keep freezing and the software options are very limited. The home page has every option for paid tv channels but no “Play on tv “ option. What with that, being forced to give my personal data and credit card details in advance and the difficulty to simply do what I wanted and thought I was buying.., this kit is a pain to use. What a big let down!! This app is incomplete there must be a better way..Version: 4.2.8

New update not workingWorks great until it updated. Can no longer find the wifi and will just close. Please fix..Version: 6.0.6


Why should I report an issue with Roku - Official Remote Control?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Roku - Official Remote Control to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Roku - Official Remote Control customer and are running into a problem, appsupports.co might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Roku - Official Remote Control.

Is Roku - Official Remote Control not working?

Roku - Official Remote Control works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Roku - Official Remote Control.

Applications with negative comments similar to Roku - Official Remote Control
Roku Channel: Movies & Live TV negative reviews, comments
Roku Channel: Movies & Live TV Negative Reviews

Stream hit TV shows, movies, news and more - all for free with The Roku Channel app. Access and enjoy our vast catalog o...