Microsoft Authenticator App Negative ReviewsMicrosoft Corporation

Microsoft Authenticator Negative Reviews

4.7
4.78558 star

Total 123 Negative Reviews

Microsoft Authenticator App Complaints & User Negative Comments

Microsoft Authenticator app received 123 complaints, negative comments and reviews by users. Can you share your negative thoughts about microsoft authenticator?

Please wait! Microsoft Authenticator Facebook comments loading...



Used to work fine......but no longer gives push notifications, so the app has to be manually opened and refreshed before receiving the 2FA challenge. Previously, they would appear on the lock screen and Apple Watch, which was much more convenient. Not a patch on Duo, but of course MS are using their own proprietary protocol which isn’t compatible with anything else..Version: 6.0.5

Apple WatchAlready have accounts on my phone and can’t find them on the Apple Watch and when I try to approve from my Apple Watch it’s says there’s an error. Please fix it..Version: 6.5.4

New problems?After the recent update, I’m finding that any attempts to add mfa for an email that’s already inside of the Authenticator for a different site, it wants to wipe the one already saved, instead of adding it as an additional mfa account like it should be. As an MSP that is onboarding new clients with multiple sites using the same account, this is a major problem. As it stands, we have to use a different Authenticator at this point just to access all of the accounts we manage. Great for personal use, but for professional use, I’m having a hard time recommending this as it stands..Version: 6.5.4

Work account not workingI’m experiencing the same issue as Mr Carrington…. I have recently got a new phone and on the begging all was fine, then it just stopped working with my work account, instead only works with my private one… now I’m logged out of everything… Seriously that’s completely useless as an app and not performing at all.Version: 6.5.76

Works against itself, stupid softwareAfter changing phones I tried signing in. It asked me to click a number on the Authenticator app, although I’m obviously already using the Authenticator app and can’t click the number to sign in unless I’m signed in. It’s like saying “ To discover your password, first type in your password “ It makes no sense at all..Version: 6.1.11

Randomly deletes data just because !!Not sure if it’s the latest release or a more fundamental Microsoft issue, but the app just came up with a message and deleted accounts so then have to re verify account via different means. App is only useful if it can be used. Restart maybe nice on a pc but I don’t expect to have to reset the app every few weeks on here.Version: 5.5.1

NEED DEVELOPER RESPONSE - Locked of all accountsAfter upgrading to a new iPhone today, I restored everything from a backup earlier in the day. After installing everything I begin to login to several different accounts like discord, Twitter etc. I didn’t get very far until I got the request to confirm my identity via my Authenticator app. I opened my app to find NOTHING. All of my accounts were gone. I click “begin backup” and get the message that I don’t have a backup on my iCloud account, the same one I had been using for years. I’m completely at a loss. I’ve been frantically trying to contact support from Azure to Microsoft and haven’t found anyone who can or would be willing to help me. I have no idea what to do - this is an atrocious, horrific flaw with this app and I would never have downloaded it if I knew this could possibly happen. I desperately need someone to reach out to me to help correct this issue..Version: 6.3.19

BrokenThe last update bricked my app, so I re-installed it and now it all looks different, and isn’t making a whole lot of sense. I don’t care to spend time researching how to fix it, particularly since I only use it for a single account and use Google Authenticator for everything else. Will be good also to not have to worry about my IT department being notified of fraud every time I reject a sign in request that was likely generated from a timed out browser tab somewhere. The point being that if I always approve every request I get it defeats the purpose of this low quality app..Version: 6.4.7

Good, but doesn’t work on Apple Watch since WatchOS 7A good and useful security app, which I have used for a long time and thankfully continued to work on my phone since upgrading to iOS 14. Unfortunately, since also updating my watch, I can no longer respond to notifications on my watch, it just says “failed”. The “app support” goes to Microsoft’s websit and will I bother reporting the problem there? LOL No. Not for want of help, or my own laziness, purely for the sake of my sanity because, from MANY past attempts to get support from them, Microsoft have a “wonderful” way of throwing you through endless, circular loops when you request support for anything other than one of their most expensive flagship products or services and also do not respond to support requests submitted by email or via Windows 10 feedback, etc. Just fix it please..Version: 6.4.36

Sync is awfulIf you have acompany email account it won’t work, and if you have a personal one it won’t pull your accounts through.Version: 6.5.67

Double-edged SwordMade the critical mistake of not calling Microsoft and asking them permission to buy a new phone. Oops. Now Authenticator won’t work on new phone. Completely locked out. Called Microsoft and was on the phone for over an hour. They finally reset the Authenticator for me, but there are no work around. No other options. Be VERY careful or you could lose your emails. The guy on the phone even asked me if I can just forward the emails I need into my gmail account and he would reset the email. Um, first of all, I can’t sign in to that email which I why I called, and second, no F thank you! I pay for this email account. It’s not attached to any business. If they can’t find an easier way to authorize your account, I’m out; gmail it is. (which is total crap)..Version: 6.5.34

Just horribleI am all for security measures. However my job in no way handles sensitive material. Initially it was extremely frustrating to have to receive a text every time I wanted to navigate to a new website through work. Now it has gotten even more cumbersome. Somehow I have to be okay with facial recognition software that only works sporadically. Overall this app is buggy, invasive, and simply makes it much more challenging to complete my work. It is incredible to me that instead of enhancing back end security measures we inconvenience the end user to this extent..Version: 6.5.15

Worked well until iOS 14 updateThe app still works well, however the watch approval for office 365 account approval has stopped working both for my business and for my personal 365 accounts. Both accounts show up on the phone and watch, and I get an alert on my watch to approve the login, however I get a message on my watch that “something has gone wrong”. I have removed both the App from my watch and my iPhone. Otherwise worked great to approve login!.Version: 6.4.26

Does what it is designed for, but could be betterI use the app each day to authenticate logins. The only problem I have is when the Authenticator is launched via a push notification, it requires your finger print to unlock. However the finger print unlock screen disappears instantly and you have to send the app to the background and reopen it to force the prompt to open again. Easy but annoying work around..Version: 6.5.38

Be VERY CAREFULMicrosoft will NOT remove this off your account under any circumstances if you change your phone or your phone number before removing this you will be permanently locked out of your account. Microsoft will not help you recover your account there best suggestion is to go and try to get your old phone or your old phone number back. Had a horrible experience with the customer support. Microsoft needs to change they are so rude to there customers.I was told it was my fault because I turned it on. Even if you have all information for your account they do not care and will not help you..Version: 6.3.23

Terrible App - Unable to SyncI have been locked out of my service for a year because of this app. I guess it did not sync properly with my iphone and I am unable to get a working verification code. Even after deleting and redownloading it still won’t sync. I also can’t remove the stupid 2FA because I need a code to remove it. I want to make a human version of this app so I can strangle it..Version: 6.5.53

What wrong?This was a good and reassuring way of securing my email accounts, but in the last week it seems not to be any use keeps saying there is problems with one account, have to go sign in on a browser, is it that Microsoft are trying to get everyone to use their own browser or upgrade from free accounts? But either way they seem to have made the authenticator app now useless and why on their own browser account login is there no way to any longer see my iOS devices that use it, it’s like they begrudge you using more than one device if it’s not a windows one which they aren’t.Version: 6.5.67

Consider others firstI used to always use Microsoft suite of apps for everything including the Authenticator... But having worked on a non-profit researching the privacy policies of apps, as well as being disabled and having a visual need to be met in my apps, I no longer use this app for personal or business... The app lacks overall readability and ease of use I expect in all accessibility friendly apps. The links for legal documents are often not correct or lack required information. And most of all... why Microsoft made GitHub their only means of secure account recovery I do not know, but for a year it has been this way for me and I’m moving on to other apps!.Version: 6.5.53

Fine when it works, frequently crashesIt’s a fairly simple app so hard to understand why it crashes so much. Mine probably crashes about 5 times a week when switching back and forth between Outlook and Authenticator to log into my work account. I send a diagnostics report every time but subsequent app releases have made no difference..Version: 6.4.26

Requires me to “approve request on my Microsoft authenticator app” to sign in.Not sure what else to say. Title says it all. Im unable to sign into any Microsoft app (including the microsoft authenticator app) without verifying my identity through the microsoft authenticator app. I assume this is because i have a new phone, and may not have signed up the app on this device initially, however this shouldn't be an issue. There should be another way to verify your identity for THIS app (ie email, sms ect). The only options I am receiving are; 1) “Approve my request on my Microsoft Authenticator app” and 2) “approve my request on my mobile app”. Ridiculous that you have the *use* the app to sign *into* the app..Version: 6.5.14

ComplicatedI thought this would be great for extra security but omg it’s so darn complicated. I can’t open messenger now and it’s making me nervous because I don’t know how to go back to before Authenticator! Yikes!.Version: 6.5.4

When it want'sWork when it wants what a secure way to open all kinds of different accounts.Version: 6.5.29

Why is there no login information providedWhen getting multiple requests it makes it very difficult to tell where the requests are coming from. Why aren’t the login from details provided? This would make it a much better experience..Version: 6.5.53

Poor user experienceI haven’t logged into my Microsoft accounts in a long time on my computer - and when I do, it asks me to authenticate using the authenticator app. Download and install the authenticator app - authenticator app asks me to authenticate using the authenticator app... It’s been the same for months and I see no revisions or any real improvements for this two-step authentication issue. Uninstalled immediately. A small note: MS security may be good at the enterprise level, but the UX is no longer the standard and is becoming ancient at this rate..Version: 6.2.5

Awful migrationNew phone setup, and I am trying to move all my 2 factor authentication. In contrast to Microsoft I have moved all my personal 2 factor authentication to new phone instantly using google authentication. Microsoft Authenticator doesn’t seem to support this, so I am now moving each work account manually..Version: 6.5.14

Breaks after every update to app or systemThis is such a pain to use. Works really well but then after every OS X or app upgrade get repeated you have changed Face ID message please reenable. Nothing ever works to reenable (can usually reset for other apps). Only solution is to delete and reinstall. Please get it sorted apple and Microsoft.Version: 6.2.5

Not working after latest Apple Watch updateHope there is a new version coming. Authenticator on Apple Watch is no longer working..Version: 6.4.26

Horrible appIt is clear Microsoft on apple products are garbage. In order to use MS Teams I need Authenticator and every other day I have to delete and reinstall MS Teams and Authenticator in order to log on. It would be nice if Microsoft spent more investment getting their products to work on Apple products. This is one of the reasons I stay away from using Microsoft software on my Apple devices..Version: 6.4.41

UselessI go around in circles as it asks me for codes that it doesn’t provide. Locked out of work accounts. Tried deleting and reinstalling but didn’t work either. Very frustrated. No star rating if I could!.Version: 6.5.53

Fluid at its Best, Sometimes Not WorkingThis app is is a seamless way to authenticate your logins most of the time. I use this for a personal account, and for a corporate account which is also linked to Azure. The latest update seems to be causing users to need to re-authenticate multiple times, after three attempts it is usually quicker to select an alternative authentication method such as receive a phone call. More often than not it is the corporate/ business account which has issues with authentication, however, the personal account still has intermittent issues too. Looking forward to an update, so this app and signing in will return to a fluid process..Version: 6.0.5

Please stop blinding me.When are you going to give us a dark mode so I can stop blinding myself at night time while authenticating? I'll happy up my star count then..Version: 6.4.26

Push notifications do not require AuthenticationSo I have setup push notifications for office 365. When I get a notification on the lock screen I am able to approve the request without Touch ID. This is a major vulnerability..Version: 6.3.19

Worst appThe worst possible app used. Cant add multiple companies keeps me on the same server with my other job. Customer service is useless as humanly possible no one understands how to operate it..Version: 6.5.14

Great app, but missing a key feature.I absolutely love the app but as someone who has NUMEROUS accounts(I’m talking 20+) accounts with two factor authentication, having an outline of a human next to every single one of my accounts except Google and Facebook and Twitter is unacceptable. I have three Outlook accounts and not even those accounts have the Microsoft logo next to them and it is a Microsoft service! I really love this app and really hope to use it again when Microsoft catches up to Authy who has a logo for every single one of my accounts. It makes sorting and finding accounts a million times easier. Adding logos of companies would make this a 5/5 for me. Until then, I’m switching over to Authy..Version: 6.4.22

This authenticator doesn’t workThis authenticator keeps taking me around in circles over and over and over and over I keep putting in everything asked me to and when I put it in the fingerprint it just disappears and I have to start over. This is the way every Microsoft product works for me. I don’t know if I’ve been hacked I don’t know if Microsoft hates my guts. I was I know is Microsoft makes it so that I can’t use my computer that I have paid for. If there was another platform besides windows I would go for it Microsoft is ruining my life.Version: 6.5.38

Doesn’t work when you upgrade iPhone.Was working fine on my old iPhone. I could access my work email and Teams accounts. After Thanksgiving I upgraded to new iPhone 12. Been trying to get this to work for almost 2 months. I no longer can’t get into my work Outlook and Teams. Now I can’t remote access on my phone and can only check in from my laptop. Every bit of info including from Microsoft is based on first time new account set up. Can’t even find where to register my new device as I think that’s the problem..Version: 6.5.15

Why do I have to download ANOTHER app just to get on my email?Seriously your messages are not this important to anyone the amount of security required is unnecessary and this app is an INCONVENIENCE, something else tells me this could be a functioning part of their Mail app easily..Version: 6.5.4

AuthenticatorNext to useless.Version: 6.5.67

Moving app moving to a new deviceIt is impossible to do this when you do something as simple as get a new phone. This needs to be addressed urgently. I should not have to keep my old iPhone purely to access my authenticator app. Really unhappy..Version: 6.4.16

New phone - just can’t get it to workIt did work great!…but then I got a new phone and I feel like I’ve tried everything but I can’t get it to work. I’ve removed the old phone as a device in my Microsoft account (and everywhere else), added the new one and it just isn’t working…to make things worse when I click to say ‘I can’t use my Authenticator app right now’ the alternative methods are both…the app?! so I’m now locked out of everything too. I’ve followed all the support online but nothing is doing it..Version: 6.5.63

Locked AppThe app has been great and convenient; as long as there’s access to the internet, it works. But today when I try to use it, it is locked. It requires Touch ID to unlock the app (or enter the passcode but there isn’t an option popped up for that), while my Touch ID is currently broken. So I can’t verify my email from now on until the problem is fixed. I deleted the app and reinstalled it, which allowed me to enter it without requiring Touch ID. I went settings and wanted to turn off the requiring-Touch-ID feature, yet it wouldn’t let me do it because turning it off also requires Touch ID. I try to seek support but it seems difficult to find where I can report my problem, so I write it in the review. Please fix the bug to enable people to enter passcode. Only allowing Touch ID is highly inconvenient..Version: 6.4.22

Awesome but not easyMy users complain and I think it’s due to the UI, I’m 50/50.Version: 6.3.7

Great app but doesn’t workAfter the iSO 14.2 update app doesn’t send notifications to my Apple Watch! Also I can’t approve from my Apple Watch anymore!! Please FIX ASAP!.Version: 6.5.4

Forced to use this for teamsStop forcing people to use your authenticator app over other 3rd party apps.Version: 6.5.4

Cautionary taleIf you restore your phone from local backup and you’ve got other Microsoft apps on your phone for work, be very careful. Your work account will show up at first launch. The restore option didn’t prompt me to choose an account to restore from, so I backed out and added the account associated with my iCloud data. That was exactly the wrong thing to do and I lost everything. I imagine the right way would be to remove your work account, then force quit and restart. Then you could enter the right account at next launch for restore..Version: 6.3.13

Warning! This can be used steal acct infoHello, This is a PSA for parents. This app can be used to authorise account info to be shared. A person tricked my son into download this app and sharing my account info. In minutes purchases were made on my Xbox account off my CC. Took awhile to to recover my Xbox account and they deleted my Microsoft account email. So watch out! Don’t know much about the app except this was able to easily send my info to someone else password and all! I’m sure if used correctly it’s just fine. Not downing the app just a PSA..Version: 6.4.3

There were no instructions on how to useBack to the drawing board at MS..Version: 6.5.15

Misleading infoI was guided to microsoft authenticator via appstore. It didn’t say there was a charge for this. i downloaded it and a message said “purchased”. I didn’t want it if it was a pay for app! Even so, i’ve now bought it and it still hasn’t downloaded! I would like any purchase refunded please. thanks.Version: 6.4.9

Causes phone to run very hot.Whenever I have to use this and then leave it running in the background it causes my phone to excessively heat up and drains the battery. If I remember to close the app and this doesn’t happen..Version: 6.4.16

Seems fine until you change phone!Despite the app claiming to have backed up your accounts - when you come to restore them, you will find this is not the case! Authenticator Cannot find backup! This has resulted in days of work re-verifying accounts! There are much better reliable apps which work! Also it claims to be compatible with Watch - I could not get it to work - you can open app on watch but cannot get codes!.Version: 6.4.3

Good however has a little bugInterface looks a good, however I’ve noticed that the passcode doesn’t change after its first countdown cycle. You have to leave the app and come back for it to refresh and give the correct number at the same countdown level. I’ve had to use the Authenticator app a few times and apart from this issue, it seems to work as intended..Version: 5.6.1

Backup/restore still don’t workIt is easy to get locked out of your MFA accounts. If you replace your phone, or have to wipe and restore your phone from backup, you have to use Authenticator’s own backup/restore system to get all your MFA credentials back. The problem is that their backup/restore system DOESN’T WORK. It says your stuff is backed up. When you actually try to do a restore is when you find out that it hasn’t been backing up properly the whole time..Version: 6.4.9

Into the loop we go!Got a new phone. You forgot the password. Asked to reset password. You need the app. The app requires the forgotten password. Then asked yet again to reset the password. And into a limbo. Crazy like the movie!.Version: 6.1.11

App lockDreadful, this is automatic and not my choice, the app does not set out how to unlock and the bio key is not an option causing me to get my company IT department to recall my phone to unlock the app.Version: 6.4.22

Phone app is fine, Apple Watch app DOES NOT WORKI thought Microsoft were supposed to be tech giants? The wizards of making all that fancy computer stuff work? Hah, clearly this is no longer the case. A simple google search shows this app hasn’t been working on Apple Watch since September 2020 (WatchOS 7 update month) and no surprises that Microsoft haven’t bothered to fix it yet. The watch app constantly freezes when trying to link to the phone app. Then, if you delete and reinstall the watch app, it lets you progress a little further with the linking of the apps, before getting stuck on a screen saying: “Get started by adding a personal Microsoft account on the phone app” But of course I’ve JUST ADDED A SODDING PERSONAL MICROSOFT ACCOUNT ON THE PHONE APP TO GET TO THIS POINT WITH THE APPLE WATCH. Seriously. It’s 2021. Have we not been through enough rubbish over the past 12 months to just warrant us owning technology which works as it’s supposed to? Now yeah, I can approve sign ins on my phone. But it would be handy if I could do the same with my watch, as you advertise I can, which is a massive lie..Version: 6.5.22

Doesn’t work, hasn’t worked in monthsI get a notification on Authenticator when signing into my account, but when I try to verify it’s me and unlock the app the Authenticator screen is super enlarged and doesn’t fit my phone screen. I can’t see or trap the numbers needed to unlock it..Version: 6.5.14

Backup is a good feature but needs improvement.Great to see we can now backup our authentication entries but we really need to sync the same entries to all our devices when we add a new entry without having to uninstall the app & re-add it. Also when adding the app it will overwrite a backup created on another device with the one from the newly added device which imo defeats having a backup..Version: 5.8.0

Do you have a backup?When trying to add an account, I am prompted with “if you add an account you will be no longer able to recover from backup” what backup are you referring to? Stop me dead in my tracks. Won’t use the app until this is explained properly..Version: 6.3.7

Works ok until you need to recover from a backupMicrosoft’s authenticator apps claims to be able to back up your accounts/data to icloud, and that would be a nice feature to have. I made sure my icloud backup was enabled in the authenticator app and then reset my iPhone and restored from a backup. When it came time to open the authenticator app, it had no accounts in there, so I clicked the Restore accounts from backup option, and it claims I have no icloud backup :). So then I get to have the lovely experience of trying to get into all my accounts that have 2 factor authentication enabled without the authenticator app. Super fun, thanks Microsoft! Great app here, if you care about not getting locked out of your accounts, don't use this app! ICLOUD BACKUP DOES NOT WORK..Version: 6.4.7

You may get locked out of your accountsI used this to sign in conveniently while setting up 3 new devices a few months ago. I have a new windows10 machine and instead of signing in as normal I am being forced to use this Authenticator app that does not keep records. I opened the app and I am having to setup as if it is brand new however, because it did not keep my information I can’t sign in to the new machine, Microsoft account or any thing else because I am being forced to use an app that i can’t use.... I use several different machines mainly Linux but enjoy the convenience of Microsoft..Version: 6.3.19

Why are the release notes so bad?Imagine: you have a major regression, preventing a whole category of logins, but neglect to actually put the fact that you've made changes to the process in your release notes. Nor do you mention that you've fixed the problem in the hastily-released patch days later. Now imagine you're one of the biggest software companies on the planet with, from one point of view, near-limitless resource. Fix your release notes. It shows utter contempt for your users..Version: 6.5.38

Weirdest experience on a Microsoft programI have to link my Uni Microsoft account but instead you’ve said to link personal or work/Uni account and I chose to use the work:Uni seeing its a Uni address assigned by my school. I can’t use the documents without my email access and I firstly can’t even open my email and your codes are providing access somehow to the back end of the Azure program I don’t know where it’s gone- I’ve received spam emails and people making personal observations not to expose my stuff to the unmonitored area of Azure SharePoint at the Uni? How am I suddenly instead of accessing outlook on a Uni compatible Microsoft address do you figure to connect me and take me inside the Azure end of the site? What do I do? Your support says call my admin of the Uni. What do you suggest other than that one thing- it’s not their fault they’ve got no idea- sort it out please?.Version: 5.9.1

No notifications receivedI was quite happy with the app except the fact you have to log after accept the connection. But since my new phone I can’t received anymore the notification only the one to pair the phone with the account. Thé configuration is correct I can still received the phone call to authorize the connection but I hope the notification will work soon. iPhone 12 pro iOS 14.1, app version 6.4.41.Version: 6.4.41

IOS 14 breaks watch appFix the watch app.Version: 6.4.26

Just doesn’t work.Approving sign in requests from notifications is broken way more often than it actually works. Often there are internal errors that you are only made away of if you open the app, then it asks you to restart the app. After which it will finally work but my primary experience with this Authenticator is that it just silently fails a lot..Version: 5.6.1

Works but is buggyHas an frustrating bug when you get locked out of the app after responding to a 2FA request. Have to close and re open for it to allow you to unlock it. Generally annoying because once you do you then have to double authenticate your creds to even approve the login request. App does what it says on the tin, but getting on being very annoying if you have to use multiple times a day..Version: 6.5.4

Backup does not save keysI had to bring in my phone to apple to get it repaired and they gave me a new phone for me to restore my backup to. The backup ended up wiping all my keys. I never had this problem before with google Authenticator so I thought my keys would be safe after restoring a backup. They need to fix this.Version: 6.3.19

QRHard to find where the QR code was stored..Version: 6.5.4

Backup recovery is brokenLost all my codes. Have to go through a very annoying and time consuming process to fix all this up. Another amazing Microsoft product making everything difficult. Well done..Version: 6.5.38

Finding a deleted accountI accidentally deleted my account on the app and I cannot access O365 anymore. I was looking for a QR code and don’t know what happened. Is there a way to get back my account on the app?.Version: 6.4.39

Excuse meI didn’t even want to download your app but my Microsoft account “required” it and now you want me to have it constantly updating in the background even though I’ll most likely only use it once a millennium? Absurd..Version: 6.4.41

Clumsy unhelpfulContinuously locks me out of outlook and MS Teams. Only solution offered is to use safari instead of apps..Version: 6.4.41

Qr scan disappearedI was enjoying this app, however the QR scan feature has been removed. Please reinstate..Version: 6.4.22

Can’t restore my backup anymoreCan’t restore from backup.Version: 6.5.15

Annoying!Now it’s not enough that I authenticate a request. I have to authenticate my authentication with my Touch ID. And then half the time, it refuses to accept the authentication. There is such a thing as exaggeration, guys..Version: 6.4.22

Doesn’t Work And Locks Me OutThis app is horrible in its execution. As a freelancer my entire business depends on access to LinkedIn and other MS products. Unfortunately they keep telling me to use the code sent to this app to login. But there is no code. Ever. There’s no customer support available. None. No way to reach Microsoft. Microsoft basically laughs at you. Now I have to switch my entire business over to Apple because this one app won’t work. Worse yet, I lose LinkedIn. Avoid this app like the plague!.Version: 6.5.14

No responses to my bug reportsThe app works well enough for authentication for Microsoft work accounts and third party applications. Unfortunately, I have had ongoing issues using the app with my personal Microsoft accounts as well as the Apple Watch app. I have submitted a couple bug reports but have never had a response..Version: 6.5.15

The worst yet!This app is not useable because for some reason Microsoft cannot figure out how to allow a user to have an email address that can be securely used if they have an organizational email, such as a university, but are an individual account. They first forced me to use two-factor authentication which seemed like a great idea, but if you use it, you cannot reset the password for your Xbox without canceling your gaming system and reinstalling it! It takes you in circles changing your passwords! It would be great if they could make their system work, but now it is only an illusion! There is not any person available to tell the problems..Version: 6.5.51

Possibly the worst Authenticator available on any phone.Literally does nothing at all and just gets itself caught in loop thinking that accounts that have already been added don’t exist and won’t let you use any of the codes provided It makes me physically sick that I have to use this as a mandatory piece of software for my works phone..Version: 6.3.24

For codersWell, I tried giving up feedback, but that link is broken. I like this app, but I have used it for several accounts, and two of those are for the same website, so for different accounts. This app shows the same name for both, and I have no way of putting a nickname on them to tell them apart. Please add some sort of nickname feature, so I can distinguish several accounts..Version: 6.2.8

Hate it.Deleted my MS Exchange email because I hate all of this. Probably good for micro managing morons at the office..Version: 6.5.4

Doesn’t workDoesn’t work. It’s a waste of time..Version: 6.5.4

Decent but needs workI really like the MS Authenticator and the setup works well and it’s easy to use. The issue is when you juggle multiple devices with differing OS’s or you get a new phone or device. You basically have to setup many or most of your 2FA’s all over again. I have a backup on iCloud from my iPhone but it does not seem to have a way to just open that backup or import it into my iPad Pro. I like it overall but it honestly has a ways to go before I can fully use it..Version: 6.5.38

Wanted it to work but...I set it up on my iPhone, and wanted to be able to also use on my iPad. I could find no instructions on how to pull my info that I entered on the iPhone into the app on the iPad. There is no recovery option on my iPad app, only the iPhone app. There should be a way and I am sure there is, it is just not answered in any FAQ I saw. Most apps when you set them up on multiple devices you use and sign in, all your stored info is there. Not here and once something gets this complicated I lose interest. So I will try other apps to see if any work across all my devices. I should not have to have separate accounts or re set up all my accounts each time I go to another device..Version: 6.3.23

Locked app allows approvals :(“Fingerprint [...] will provide a second layer of security...” - NO, it totally DOES NOT on iOS: the approve/deny prompt appears IN FRONT OF the app’s lock screen, so locking the app provides no additional security. Please fix this, preferably without requiring an extra set of touches. Please also add the option for a sound and/or vibration alert when a new approval request is received: currently it’s easy to miss the narrow window of opportunity provided by my VPN login process, because the notification is silent..Version: 6.4.3

Well, it’s a startNot quite the useability of its competitors, but would love to see MFA push auth approvals to be granted directly from the Apple Watch..Version: 6.5.4

Boo! What happened to Apple Watch?Raved about this to everyone at work about how convenient it was having this on my Apple Watch. That functionality has gone with the latest update. Will rate this 5 stars again if the functionality comes back otherwise it’s a just 2 from me!.Version: 5.4.3

Useless messAs is often the case, Microsoft once again gives us yet another app that only works with SOME of their products. It’s not at all clear that this doesn’t work at all with office365 login verification..Version: 5.4.3

UselessMy company changed of it’s protocols and one of which was the need to use this app to authenticate my outlook business account. From what was before an easy set up of my work emails on my phone and tablet, has now be come impossible. Been onto the app support and my IT department and between them, it has not been rectified for some 9 months +. I am one of those who needs access via my emails either by phone or tablet (as I have so many emails a day) and do not have my laptop with me at all times but need to be reactive. Would be no star review if it was an option.Version: 6.4.41

A strong negativeI strongly agree with Ramal Eidwod’s review. I had to restore my phone recently. As soon as It happened, I’ve downloaded Microsoft Authenticator app and Outlook which I use as my university accounts. Literally, when I’m trying to sign in to the authenticator app it requires me to approve request either on authenticator app or on mobile app. Seriously, this makes it so uncomfortable. When I try to log in Microsoft Outlook it requires me to continue in authenticator app. Just in case, my semester commences tomorrow, so I guess I simply won’t be able to attend the online classes due to inability to access University accounts in MS Teams and Microsoft Outlook..Version: 6.5.15

Not Working !!!!With the new version update ... now i can not connect to vpN from work !!! i am hopeless now !!.Version: 6.5.53

Notification bugI’ve done a “reset” on my iPhone, which removed all my app notification permissions. However unlike most apps, Authenticator never re-requests permission to enable notifications so now I can’t login to corporate apps because I never get the “Approve” notification. Please fix..Version: 6.4.22

IPhone app works; watch, not anymoreThis app used to be great. Somebody recently got the idea to add some additional “security theatre” to it, and now it’s a mess. Used to be you’d get a notice on your phone and after FaceID, you could just approve from the Home Screen. Now, you have to swipe and click your way through into the app to approve. Same used to be true on the watch. Used to be able to approve with the tap of my watch; no more. Now it displays no account information from the phone, and basically just announces the approval, which you have to approve in the phone app. As an added bonus, if you dismiss the approval on your watch, the announcement on your phone goes away too. So, the app functions, but usability is gone..Version: 6.5.4

6.4.1+ Interface BloatThis app was great until 6.4.1 at which time they decided to hide the main feature (the login keys) behind each respective account. So now instead of quickly opening the app ti grab your key you need to drill into each account. For those people that access multiple keys each time this becomes needlessly cumbersome. This feels like change for the sake of change without any forethought into how this will impact user workflow. In other words, it feels like a team of developers trying to justify their existence by running out of things to do. Come on Microsoft, seriously? When something just works why can’t you just leave well enough alone? I get that you wanted to add all the other functionality and it is useful in certain scenarios, but at least give users the option of what screen the app opens up to so we can have the old view where we see all account keys in one view..Version: 6.4.3

Recursion - Do you actually know how to use this to authenticate itself?Absolutely ridiculous programme. I upgraded my iPhone and the app locked out. I cannot now access it as, when I try to log in it insists I use the Authenticator app to do so. How in hell’s name do I unlock an app that requires me to use that app to unlock that app. This is a serious design fault that has rendered the app unusable and thus lcoked me out of my own documents! Pathetic..Version: 6.5.34

Watch OSWatch approval stopped working for me. I only can approve from the phone..Version: 6.4.26

Faulty/weak backup service of AuthenticatorI did the right thing and backed up my Authenticator to my iCloud account. When I recently had to restore my iPhone due to corruption, everything came back to my phone EXCEPT my Authenticator accounts. I was unable to recover my Authenticator backup from iCloud, with no explanation. It just says, “There is no backup stored in your iCloud account”, which is not true. I am now totally locked out of multiple important online accounts with no way to fix it..Version: 6.3.23

Confusing layoutI’m going in circles trying to set it up for school and I’m stuck in the same place. The code and URL given aren’t valid for some reason.Version: 6.5.53

What’s going on??App doesn’t open. I press the unlock button and nothing happens!!?.Version: 6.5.4

Another poorly-designed Microsoft appWhile Authenticator more or less works as intended, it’s a typical Microsoft app - which is to say, almost entirely ignorant of any software outside the Microsoft universe. It’s built like Windows 98 is still a thing. For instance, when you upgrade your phone and re-load your apps, Authenticator will lose all of the logins you have loaded ... except the Microsoft ones. All those third-party 2FA logins will have vanished in the night like they never existed, and will need to be setup again from scratch. For reasons known only to Microsoft, they choose to believe that the Internet and cloud services don’t exist. They see no purpose in saving the third party logins to their own servers and making the process transparent to users; instead, they seem to think any login to a non-Microsoft site is a form of disloyalty and should be expunged. As it turns out, you can backup your logins to your iCloud account - but the option is buried in the bowels of the app, and in my case at least, throws an error every time I try and activate it. YMMV. All in all, this is a perfect 2FA app ... if you’re still using Windows 98..Version: 6.5.14

No Touch ID/Face ID to lock the app?There is no lock protection on this app, meaning that if your phone is unlocked you can just open it and look at all the codes inside it. Very poor. Also the removal of the Apple Watch app is lazy as instead of updating it to the latest version of Watch OS they chose to just remove it instead..Version: 5.8.0

Crappy applicationUseless. I’m trying to add my Microsoft account to Authenticator and its telling me to authenticate first before I can add it. Is this like the ultimate stupid update? I’ve used this before without any issues. Edit: it looks like I need to use my old phone to authenticate the app on the new one. How am I supposed to know? There is a lot of empty space on the screen. Maybe some suggestions would help us non-corporate users? Everything support related online seems to be for people using azure. But I’m a lowly consumer! Wake up Microsoft. Apple MacBooks are getting cheaper. Might be time to switch to all apple products..Version: 5.4.8

Can’t log inIt was working but i had to delete some apps because i had to reset all of it and sell my phone and bought a new phone and i tried to download it on my new phone but it had that two factor and now i can’t even open my acc.Version: 6.5.29

The most useless piece of software ever invented!I have no clue how to make this app work and I would call myself tech savvy. It is completely counter-intuitive when using on the phone. My only guess is that you have to have both desktop AND phone on at the same time in order to get it to work which in today’s world of mobile applications, is completely pathetic! What has happened to Microsoft is anybody’s guess but their products - for me, a long time user since the days of DOS - have gone down the toilet..Version: 6.3.29

Ok but what are in the updates?The app works fine and provides secure two-factor with for Microsoft account. But I have to ask - what are in the updates? Saying “we’re always working on new features and improvements” is not a chandelier. This is a security app - please list what has changed between version. I will not update to a version I know nothing about..Version: 5.4.4

Broken conceptGone are the days when you decide who is in charge of you getting into your own email account. Don’t have an app? Can’t get in. Need to make storage on your phone? Delete things you actually want in favour of useless apps you shouldn’t need, cheers Microsoft 👍 maybe you should decide my password and preferences for me aswell as when or how I can log into my accounts. Broken system..Version: 6.4.39

New version is annoyingThe new version requires you to unlock the app after unlocking the phone, which seems pretty redundant and has broken the Apple Watch app, which I rely on because it's so convenient. Or at least was :/.Version: 6.4.26

Authenticator LoopRecently changed password, now whenever I try to use the Teams app it has me in an infinite loop of 1. Login to teams 2. Sends me to authenticator 3. Login to authenticator 4. Authenticate teams login 5. Sends me to teams 6. You need to authenticate, go to step 2. This is only on mobile teams, I can still authenticate my laptop login. Is there a solution for this?.Version: 6.5.4

QR scan is buggyYou will need to manually enter data.Version: 6.5.15

App doesn’t even know I’m using itEvery time I need to use this truly terrible app, I cringe. It never goes well, not once. But alas, I need to every two months when my company requires I change my password. When the dreaded times come to use this, I constantly have to log in over and over. I need to fully close and then re-launch the app to receive the approval message. This is all to log into Outlook, but despite Outlook prompting me to open the app, it never registers that I’ve successfully authenticated. So, I’m never able to actually do anything. Not sure if Outlook is terrible or this, but either way, I don’t understand why anyone chooses to use Microsoft apps..Version: 6.4.7

Beware: Account recovery does not workJust takes you to a blank page within the app. A shame, because the rest of the app works well..Version: 6.3.27

Flaming garbageIt took 6 tries to get this stupid app set up. I was trying to set it up for teams, but every time it sent me the code, the app would crash. Making me restart the whole process every time. If you can find a way to AVOID this app, I strongly advise you do.Version: 6.5.4

Please get a UX designerAccounts show start of address email, but then show ... at the end. Hmm. Most of my accounts will all start the same and end differently. But there’s no way to hover or scroll to see the entire account name. And of course, the app is just a front end to launch a bunch of web pages in safari. I’ve seen 10 year olds write better applications..Version: 5.8.0

Watch app makes this!This app makes using Microsoft SSO extremely fluid. Having approve/dent on the watch is very smooth and fast. There are a few rough edges though. The new update to having “App Lock” on by default breaks the usefulness of the watch app. Since it’s already linked to my wrist, it shouldn’t be impacted by the App Lock toggle. Second issue is that I’ve yet to have the iCloud backup recover successfully. When getting a new phone I inevitably have to do recovery methods and reset it in horribly confusing backend of Microsoft’s identity management..Version: 6.4.26

Make it even better with Search functionAs an admin I have many MFA accounts and having the ability to search would be great. 1 star hoping this will get noticed..Version: 6.5.15

Not receiving any notificationI set up the account according to guild line and it worked initially. After a while it stopped showing any notifications and pass-codes. Cannot access my work email outside work anymore. Really frustrated..Version: 6.2.8

Backup Doesn’t WorkAfter i erased my iPhone and restored from a backup i was left with no codes in authenticator. No problem i thought as i had ensured that the backup option was selected prior to backup, clicked restore and was told i had no backups in iCloud etc. 20+ accounts I now need to recover... Think twice before you trust this app, ensure you record any one time use recovery codes or link with SMS Do NOT have this app as your only source of two factor....Version: 6.3.19

Incorrect codes generatedI added my Facebook account to the app and the code generated by this app are always wrong. I tested this app against google authenticator and google authenticator codes worked 100% of the times.. now I have to switch to Google authenticator on all of my devices..Version: 6.5.15

Permalocked Account?I’ve been using this successfully for several months after my company required it. A few weeks ago, on a Saturday, I received an authentification alert on my phone. I wasn’t working and wasn’t trying to log in so I thought, “oh no! Is someone trying to hack my account!? I’m glad I have this handy app that will let me deny the request and block them! Ha take that hacker!” The next time I tried to check email in Outlook, Authenticator immediately said that I denied the request, even though it never gave me the option. I’ve tried uninstalling and reinstalling this app and Outlook, called my company help desk, tried the Microsoft Support option, so far, no one has been able to fix it. So, from my experience, if you block unauthorized access to your account, which is the sole purpose of this app, your account will be permalocked and will be very difficult or (so far for me) impossible to unlock. I can still access my work account through my laptop, I’m just locked out of the Authenticator app and thus Outlook, on my phone..Version: 6.4.7

New update doesn’t present QR code.New update doesn’t present QR code..Version: 6.5.34

Doesn’t always work the first timeThe Authenticator works, but most of the time when I login to my organization VPN and get push phone notification to authorize myself, clicking approval does nothing. Occasionally I don’t even get the approval request on my phone until 2 minutes later. In these cases I would have to refresh VPN login page a couple times to relogin and maybe on fourth or fifth try I finally get the approval which works. It’s frustrating if I need to access VPN in a pinch. Hope it gets resolved in future.Version: 6.5.29

I don’t understand anything that you need to doDon’t know why it keeps giving me different pins all the time how you to log in to your account.Version: 6.5.14

Excruciatingly painful to useWhen you’re though with using this piece of garbage, turning it off on your account so it no longer asks you to use the Authenticator app is a whole new level of pain. At least it serves as a reminder why I moved to a Mac environment..Version: 6.2.8


Why should I report an issue with Microsoft Authenticator?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Microsoft Authenticator to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Microsoft Authenticator customer and are running into a problem, appsupports.co might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Microsoft Authenticator.

Is Microsoft Authenticator not working?

Microsoft Authenticator works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or contact Microsoft Authenticator.

Applications with negative comments similar to Microsoft Authenticator
Forza Street: Tap to Race negative reviews, comments
Forza Street: Tap to Race Negative Reviews

Race through the ultimate street racing scene at dizzying speed with the tap of your finger! Have fun winning the racing...

Microsoft To Do negative reviews, comments
Microsoft To Do Negative Reviews

Stay organized and manage your day-to-day with Microsoft To Do. Make shopping lists or task lists, take notes, record co...

Microsoft Lens: PDF Scanner negative reviews, comments
Microsoft Lens: PDF Scanner Negative Reviews

Microsoft Lens (formerly Office Lens) trims, enhances, and makes pictures of whiteboards and documents readable. You ca...

Microsoft 365 Admin negative reviews, comments
Microsoft 365 Admin Negative Reviews

Manage users, groups, devices, reset passwords & receive critical notifications. The Microsoft 365 Admin App enables y...

Microsoft SharePoint negative reviews, comments
Microsoft SharePoint Negative Reviews

Find files, news, sites and people - personalized for you and your organization. SharePoint infuses AI into the mobile a...

Yammer negative reviews, comments
Yammer Negative Reviews

The Yammer mobile app helps you stay connected from anywhere - driving employee engagement and participation across the ...

OWA for iPad negative reviews, comments
OWA for iPad Negative Reviews

IMPORTANT: You need to have the latest update of Office 365 for business to use this app. If youre not sure about yo...

Microsoft Remote Desktop negative reviews, comments
Microsoft Remote Desktop Negative Reviews

Use Microsoft Remote Desktop for Mac to connect to a remote PC or virtual apps and desktops made available by your admin...